Recent Searches
Clear

Private Customized Washington DC City Tour by Van

star-4.549 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Washington, United States
Private Customized Washington DC City Tour by Van

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 to 4 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Experience the very best of Washington, DC, on a fully-customizable, 4 to 5 hours private tour with a personal van and driver. Create the perfect route for your interests, choosing from over fifty points of interest. See the city’s political, historical and scenic highlights, or focus on a single theme, with plenty of time to explore the sites that appeal to you most. Take in Capitol Hill and the Supreme Court, gardens, Presidential memorials, War Memorials and landmarks, or head outside the city to see Arlington National Cemetery and Mount Vernon Estate.
  • 4 to 5 hours, personalized tour of Washington DC
  • Enjoy the flexibility of a private tour
  • Visit city landmarks and highlights
  • Get inside tips from your driver
  • Hotel pickup included
  • Great overview and orientation of the city
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
FREE PICKUP WITHIN 7KM RADIUS OF WASHINGTON DC
Private tour
Transport by private vehicle
Food and drinks, unless specified
Gratuities
Trolley Tickets for Arlington Cemetery.
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
400 New Jersey Ave NW , 400 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington, DC 20001, USA

Hotel Lobby

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

10:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.VACATION RENTALS,POINTS OF INTEREST WITHIN 7 KM RADIUS OF WASHINGTON DC.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in most weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Minimum of 4 people per booking is required
  • TOUR IS APPROXIMATELY 3HRS PLUS TIME OF TRAVELLING
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY TOUR BUY THE HOUR LLC
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Private Customized Washington DC City Tour by Van?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Private Customized Washington DC City Tour by Van.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Private Customized Washington DC City Tour by Van?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Private Customized Washington DC City Tour by Van.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Private Customized Washington DC City Tour by Van?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Private Customized Washington DC City Tour by Van.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
49 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 49 reviews
star-2
Booby trap with Bobby
Pat_Z
, Jul 2021
Bobby was very unprofessional as a tour director. Most of his jokes we’re inappropriate. He took private phone calls when picking us up. On several occasions, prior to this trip, I inquired and stressed that we wanted to go to Arlington National Cemetery and Vietnam Memorial since this was to be a CUSTOMIZED private tour. When Bobby picked us up, he proceeded to tell us where we were going and our time limit at each place. This was to be a 4-5 hour tour. When I asked about Arlington National Cemetery, he said we didn’t have time for that since we only had a 3 hour time limit. He told us that we had to have a DDC, designated door closer. The door was difficult to open and close. Bobby’s driving skills scared us and his windshield was cracked. Makes me wonder if we got the wrong tour? On a positive note, he was informative with historical facts and provided us with small bottles of water. Definitely, did not get what we paid for. Disappointed!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
We appreciate your review and business,we promise to investigate this matter so that this doesn’t happen in the future.
star-5
Private tour DC
Kalpa_R
, Jul 2021
Excellent trip wonderful driver as we had a short stay best way to see the city. Very informative and knowledgeable.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thanks for your review we appreciate your business.
star-3
DC tour
Gloria_M
, Jun 2021
The Most memorable was seeing the monuments, capitol, Lincoln memorial, wwii memorial, and White House. The guide was the worst we have had with Viator. He was hard to understand. The guide gave us very little information of the City. The info we receive on tours is why we pay to do tours. He also told us at first it was a 2-hr tour. We had paid for a 4-hr tour. He did call company and yes it was a four hour tour!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
We’ve taken to account your concerns and we hope to improve on them. Thanks
star-5
Would definitely recommend this tour and guide!
Norene_B
, Jun 2021
Driver was fun, knowledgeable, and very accommodating! We saw many great sights in 4 hours and learned a lot. Bobby was an excellent guide!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thanks very much we appreciate your Business and hope to see you again
star-1
Tour guide Bobby
Caprice_C
, Dec 2019
Out tour guide Bobby told very inappropriate and crude joke throughout the tour and was not interested in anything that we had to say or ask questions about Washington. Very disappointed in this whole experience. Plus we had to call because no one showed up on time even though it was already charged to my credit card. Waited for 1 1/2 hours after scheduled pickup time.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thanks for sharing your experience,we have investigated and taking action so that no other customer had to go through the same experience.With immediate effect the guide has been released from our company . Moving forward we intend to do better and we promise someone from the management will be getting in touch with the customer.Sorry for the experience.
star-5
Marilyn McCloud 64th year young Birthday celebration
mac474789
, Oct 2019
party of 4 we all was extremely pleased Tunde the guide was professional, knowledge, friendly, can operate any camera, request him you will be happy that you did, thank you Tunde, Be Bless
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thanks so much for your business we hope to see you again.
star-4
Very good
David_B
, Oct 2018
Our driver was very knowledgeable and did a very nice tour of Washington, DC. I've been to DC several times, but my lovely wife has been here only once before. She also enjoyed the tour. Our driver was also very pleasant and friendly, but her was somewhat difficult to understand due to his accent. That is our only complaint.
star-5
DC tour with Friends
Becky_A
, Sep 2018
Awesome way to visit specific memorials! Traffic issues, lack of parking for handicap needs, directions ALL LEFT TO THE DRIVER!Comfortable ride, knowledgeable informative driver! Very attentive!Great way to truly enjoy DC!
star-1
Do not do this tour if you expect your...
Kaylene F
, Aug 2018
Do not do this tour if you expect your guide to be informative and guide you around the monuments. It is nothing more than a pick up drop off service with limited commentary between sights. Our driver slept while we tried to negotiate the sights on our own and yawned his way through his less than average commentary all the while asking if we were listening as if we were school children and being very condescending and rude. Our tour lasted less than four hours while advertising a 5-6 hour tour not a professional company in our opinion.
star-1
One's tour experience is absolutely...
Carolyn_D
, Aug 2018
One's tour experience is absolutely dependent on the guide you end up with. Unfortunately, our guide just wasn't up to par. I had previously had positive experience of a Viator private tour in Paris in 2016, so I paid the required 380 min 4 adults though there were only 3 of us: my son, grandson and me. Our tour started about 30 minutes late because our tour guide called from another hotel parking lot asking where we were. I had to hand my phone to the doorman to help the tour guide pick us up. Basically we were taken to and dropped off for photos and a quick walk through then picked up at about 7 sites. Either the guide was not comfortable with the material or was distracted, but we didn't learn anything more that we could have read in a brochure. The Vietnam memorial was confusing because we didn't know anything about how it was organized prior to walking through. My expectation was that we would have been given information prior to being dropped off. Our guide highly recommended a food court for lunch which Im guessing worked out better for her than for us. Needless to say it was extremely disappointing so we finished earlier than the 60 minutes set aside so we had to wait about 15-20 minutes for her to pick us up. We happily ended this tour early in favor of seeing a museum where we asked to be dropped off. All in all, our 6 hour tour ended up being about 4.5 hours, minus 1 hour for lunch and 15-20 minutes at each of the 5-6 sites where we were dropped off. Hop on Hop off or even Ubers would have been equally as good and certainly a great deal more satisfying and cheaper.
star-5
Wonderful Washington
drevie2018
, Jul 2018
Don was terrific. He was polite, thoughtful and kind. He had good ideas as to what off the regular tour would appeal to my college aged grandson. He gave us perfect suggestions because he was a good listener. He was kind to me as I could not walk easily and he made approoriafe accommodations, we enjoyed our time with Don, and there are no complaints, Ge was great for us.
star-2
Washington DC
Edward K
, Jul 2018
When we booked the tour we were told that the cost would include pickup at our hotel in Silver Springs. When the tour company called they said we had to pay an additional $40 to get picked up. At this point it was too late to change to a different tour so I paid the extra money. The driver was knowledgeable about the area and the historical significance of the buildings. Over all the tour was okay.
star-3
Make sure all costs are confirmed before you leave on this tour.
Lisa_B
, Jun 2018
1st, if you wan't someone to take pictures for you at the attractions, they don't do this. 2nd, make sure you know all the charges before leaving. I got a surprise by the driver telling me that I owed an additional $85 because our pickup location was 2 miles out of the 7 mile radius!! An additional $21.25 per person for traveling and extra 2 miles?! I could have walked the 2 miles to meet them or called a cab and met somewhere for much less than that. After a phone call on speaker phone with the owner, I ended up paying an additional $40 for the 2 extra miles which was $10 more per person!! Still ridiculous 3rd, make sure you are prepared to tip. I gave our driver $20 at the start of the tour, another $20 for his lunch and at the end we only gave him an additional $20 because of having to pay the extra $40. Well, he wasn't happy making $60 in tips that day! He actually looked at the $20 like he was looking for more and make a scoffing noise and was on his way. At the beginning of the trip I was definitely going to book another tour with this company when we came back to DC in a few months. Now, not so sure, probably will find another company.
star-5
What can I say - dexter is the man...
Marie_T
, Feb 2018
What can I say - dexter is the man! What s great guy and guide he was. He listened to our requests and did exactly what we wanted. If you have limited time and want to get the most out of your time - make sure you book this tour with dexter. We had a great time with my husband and two boys 18 and 20!
star-5
Seen most of the main landmark, tour...
Siew Hoon H
, Jan 2018
Seen most of the main landmark, tour guide is informative
star-5
As others note, this must be the...
Peter_W
, Jan 2018
As others note, this must be the essential contact for a visit to DC. Totally flexible and a wish to see your requests met - all without a rip-off price-tag. We had very niche sites we wanted to see and Dexter was patience itself. My one piece of advice for anyone visiting DC - contact Dexter!
star-5
The tour was a mix of our choices...
richard s
, Nov 2017
The tour was a mix of our choices and the guide's recommendations. we visited all the places on our own wish list and Dexter was expert in organising the route and the visits and fitting them in within the timescale. Dexter was also very knowledgeable and was happy to answer our questions. It was an excellent day in a beautiful city and we enjoyed it thoroughly. Many thanks to Dexter.
star-5
We were extremely pleased being...
Carol O
, Oct 2017
We were extremely pleased being dropped off and picked up close to sites. And especially happy with Dexter. He loves his subject Washington, DC and was very knowledgeable. And enthusiastic. And a patriot. He loves the USA as we do.
star-5
There is certainly no better way to...
Camryn_T
, Oct 2017
There is certainly no better way to see Washington than this tour particularly if you only have a short stay planned. Our guide and driver Dextor happily allowed us to customize and prioritize exactly what we wanted to see without the hassle and time wasted of tagging onto a bigger shared tour. We were interested in going out to the Air and Space Museum at Chantilly - no problems for Dextor who took us out there after showing us through Arlington. We then returned to Washington where he took us out to the National Cathedral, all the monuments / stops we wished to see as well as driving lots of interesting streets in Washington which were too far for us to walk to. We were able to set the pace at each stop and we covered off everything we wanted to do in the 7 hours allocated. Dexter was an excellent and safe driver, professional, kind and extremely knowledgeable. We certainly join with everyone else who have recommended and rated this a 5 star tour!
star-4
Excellent tour tailored to what we...
Kris_H
, Oct 2017
Excellent tour tailored to what we wanted to see. Since wed already been in the Didtrict 5 days before taking the tour, wed already taken in the easystuff. Dexter did a great job of listening and found a days worth of new and interesting places for us to explore. My only very small reservation has to do with with the small amenities water in the van would have been a nice addition and the van itself could have been slightly more comfortable.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Private Customized Washington DC City Tour by Van
Private Customized Washington DC City Tour by Van

star-4.549

3 to 4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$102.74

star-491

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$59.00

star-3.534

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$59.00

star-4.512

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$97.27

star-51294

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$66.00

star-56

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$81.77
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations