Recent Searches
Clear

Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city

|
Venezia, Italy
77

From $160.13 / person

Price details
Lowest Price Guarantee
1 Adult
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance

icon3 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

If you’re looking to see most of Venice’s well-known sights all in one day, put your trust in this fun combination day tour. This package includes a walking tour of the city away from the crowded streets into the treasure filled pockets of the Castello area, a skip-the-line privilege at Doge's Palace (Palazzo Ducale) and at St. Mark's Basilica and a gondola ride on the Grand Canal and smaller canals.

Additional Details

  • Half-day tour package to see the highlights of Venice
  • Includes a skip-the-line admission ticket to St. Mark's Basilica and Doge's Palace
  • Enjoy a walking tour of Venice, and see some of the city's must-see spots
  • Cruise through the Canal Grande and some of the smaller canals in a gondola ride

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

See the iconic sights of Venice from the land and the water
Saved to wishlist!
Headsets to hear the guide clearly
30-minute shared gondola ride (no guide)
1-hour 30 min external walking tour from St Marks square to Castello area
Skip the line and entrance fees for the St Mark's Basilica and the Doge's Palace
Correr museum entrance ticket to visit on your own
Gratuities
Hotel pick up and drop off
Food and drink

Departure Point

P.za San Marco, 15, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy

Departure Time

9:00 AM

Departure Point

Calle larga de l'Ascension, 1256, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy

Departure Time

9:00 AM

Departure Time

9:00 AM

Return Details

Calle Larga XXII Marzo, 2091/b, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Please arrive at each meeting point 15 minutes before the departure of the tour
  • Large bags and rucksacks are NOT allowed inside the Basilica or Doge's Palace
  • Knees and shoulders MUST be covered inside the Basilica
  • On occasion, Saint Mark's Basilica may be closed due to public holidays, religious ceremonies, private events or high water and the local service provider is not always informed in advance
  • For children document required
  • All the late arrivals or no show are NO REFUND!
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Venice Events srl

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Venice in a Day: the main highlights of the city.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "It is difficult to walk with umbrellas in Venice as most of the streets are narrow not to mention the crowds of people." See review
  • "Everyone is right , the gondola ride is only about 20 minutes long, but that’s not the problem (mine anyway)." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
130 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 130 reviews
star-3
Basic Venice
tucci642019
, Nov 2019
This tour did show the basics when touring Venice. Because we could only do Sunday made for a very long day - gondola at 11 and then wait until 2 to continue the rest of the package. There were too many people in the group for the St Marks and Palace tour - could not see what guide was referring to as we were at the back of the pack. The gondola and canal tours were very good!!
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. On sundays the Saint Mark's Basilica opens at 2pm that's why we have a break between the tours and also because our travelers enjoy to have free time for the lunch. Our groups are not large as we have a maximum of 25 persons per group for the Basilica and Doge's Palace Tour. Still we are happy to see that you enjoyed the Grand Canal boat tour and also the gondola ride. Best regards, Venice Events Team.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
venice was great
R2277BWjeffreyh
, Oct 2019
this tour was very well done, enjoyed every bit including the gondola ride and canal cruise, our tour guide regina was fantastic
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to see that you had a nice experience with us and we look forward in seeing you again. Kind regards, Venice Events Team.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Eh ...
trierholloway
, Sep 2019
Everyone is right ... the gondola ride is only about 20 minutes long, but that’s not the problem (mine anyway). Our guide was mediocre. For the gondola ride, the listing states to be there 15 minutes before the actual tour starts. We got there at 0925 ... but the guide was late. I called the number, and another lady told me the guide will be there in five minutes (sounded like she was sleep). The guide finally walks up; barely says “hello,” “good morning,” or “how ya doing.” We had to ask her was she the person we were waiting on. Gondola ride: short but peaceful. Enjoyed it. (0940-1000) Next stop, St. Mark’s and Doge Palace. On the way there, she would say things, but we could barely hear her. She didn’t explain anything, and her instructions were weak. I felt like the couple times I asked her for clarification, she seemed bothered. Luckily, the lady take took us inside was excited about sharing information about the two monuments. (~1040-1300) Yes, there’s was a three and a half hour gap to do whatever else you wanted but then come back to finish the tour with the boat ride. We got there about five minutes til so I could get magnets that was literally 12 steps away from the meeting place. I thought she was polite when she began waving at us, but she wasn’t. She was trying to rush us even though we still had a couple minutes to spare .... ironic, right? Mr. Gionne (Johnnie) was fabulous on the other hand. The boat tour was great and we go to see the other side of Venice.(1630-1730) She was literally a guide. She did not go on the gondola ride. She did not take us in the basilica or palace, or go with us on the boat tour. All she did was walk us from point A to B and told us to meet her at point C. After the boat ride, she was nowhere to be found. If that’s what you’re looking for, this is it. But don’t expect to have any conversation with her and ask about anything.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. The person who met our guests at the beginning of the tour is not a guide but our assistant who is there to coordinate your day and to follow you with instructions. By law the assistant is not allowed to make any kind of explanations, that's why you had a guide for the Basilica and Doge's Palace tour and also for the Grand Canal Boat Tour. The assistant is there to take you from point A to point B and to show where is the meeting point for point C. Kind Regards, Venice Events Team.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Good, but it could of been better if we had someone help us find the meeting spot spo
cgscion
, Aug 2019
Good but it could of been better if we could have had someone help us find the meeting spot!.. Being that it was hot and time was clicking
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. On the vouchers you had our emergency numbers so you had the possibility to call us and ask for help or indications. Still we are happy to see that you had a good experience with us. Kind regards, Venice Events Team
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Venice in a Day tour
IrwinG3
, Aug 2019
The guides on the tour were excellent, great sense of humour combined with great knowledge of the city. The tour had allowances for some slight bits of run over which is always great so that you do not have to such a tour in a mad rush and end up missing things !!!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Dear Irwin, Thank you for the awesome review. We are really happy to see that you had a nice experience with us and we look forward in seeing you again touring with us. Best regards, Venice Events Team.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Terrible
CritterVet
, Aug 2019
Tour guide had no interest in talking to us, was on his phone texting the entire time. The gondola ride was a joke, no conversation or history from him either. After the tour of palace you have 3 hours to kill before the boat ride...didnt bother to even do this part given the experience we had up to that point
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Dear guest will be possible to have more details regarding the date and your book ref so we can check? best regards
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Perfect Excursion
746marthap
, Jun 2019
Tour guide was very knowledgeable and trip was the perfect amount of time. Highly recommend to anyone..
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Dear guest, thank you for your awesome review. We are really pleased to see that you had a wonderful tour in Venice and we look forward to seeing you again.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Venice Day Tour
Fearless19975174171
, Jun 2019
This was to be an exciting tour but unfortunately it rained most of the day. We were prepared with ponchos. It is difficult to walk with umbrellas in Venice as most of the streets are narrow not to mention the crowds of people. We met the tour guides in St Marks Square and they were great. They were not going to let the rain ruin our tour and explained what we were going to do. Our gondola ride was cancelled due to the rain and asked if we could re-schedule that part of the tour. We were leaving early the next morning so they offered and gave us a refund which showed up in my credit card account a couple of days later. The rain was not their fault and I don't feel that it caused us to not see any of our tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the church and palace in St. Marks Square. The next part of our tour was an hour boat ride around Venice starting in the Grand Canal and through some of the smaller canals and back to St. Marks. The Canal was a little rough due to the rain, but that did not stop anyone from enjoying the Guide telling us all about the city and the buildings we were passing. Dispute the rain, this was one of my favorite tours.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Dear guest, thank you for your awesome review. We are really happy that you had a great tour in Venice despite the bad weather, and we look forward to seeing you again.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Perfect way to see key parts of Venice in a day.
ghardgrove
, Jun 2019
We absolutely enjoyed this package. Our tour guides were well trained and informed. They gave just enough information to be interesting but not over the top. All parts of this package were well planned and executed.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Dear guest, thank you for your great review. We are really pleased to see that you had a wonderful tour in Venice and we look forward to seeing you again.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
In general we were very pleased with...
Donald G
, Sep 2018
In general we were very pleased with the tour. The highlight was the tour of St. Marco Church and the Doge's Palace. The tour guide Andrea ?? has a degree in architecture and shared many interesting insights into the buildings and the general construction of the city of Venice. He was fabulous. The gondola ride is a have to do in Venice, but was pretty underwhelming. The canals are jammed with other boats. Our boat driver never spoke a word to us, but spent plenty of time talking with the other gondola drivers. The boat tour of the Grand Canal was interesting.
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 3303P29

Explore Similar Things to Do