Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice

|
Venezia, Italy
Special Offer

From $149.83 per group (up to 2)

$176.27  Save $26.44

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 traveler2 travelers
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon25 to 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
Good for avoiding crowds

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Treat a loved one to the ultimate Venice experience with a private, 30-minute gondola ride along the Grand Canal and smaller side canals. Pass elegant Venetian palaces, colorful facades, and some of Venice’s most iconic landmarks. This private gondola tour is perfect for capturing photos of your time in Venice, and both morning and evening departures are available.
  • 30-minute private gondola ride
  • Romantic experience, perfect for couples
  • Ideal for special occasions: birthdays, anniversaries, and proposals
  • Experience a piece of Venice history and culture
  • Morning and afternoon departures available
Approx 25-30 minutes private gondola ride
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Food and drink
This is not a guided Gondola ride

Departure Point

Campiello Traghetto, 2467, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Book your Venice gondola experience in advance, and experience the city at its most romantic. Simply make your way to a dock in central Venice (exact location will be available after booking), arriving 10 minutes prior to departure time. 

Soak up the atmosphere as your gondolier poles the longboat along the Grand Canal, which has been the bustling heart of the city for centuries. Turn off the Grand Canal to explore the quieter waterways where many Venetians live, and take advantage of your personal tour to chat with the gondolier, or ask any questions you have about Venetian history and culture.

This 30-minute tour concludes at the original departure point, at a dock in central Venice.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Grand Canal
Pre-book your gondola tour for just the two of you! Enjoy a 30-minute relaxing journey through the tranquil canals of Venice, away from the tourists and see Venice as it should be seen. Glide through centuries of history, allowing yourself to be captivated by the glamour and elegance of the Venetian Palazzi. The perfect way to appreciate the beauty, charm and colour of this unique city built on water. Board your private gondola and emerse yourself in this ancient Venetian tradition, experience Venice as the locals have for more than a thousand years. On this unique exploration of the Venetian romantic canals, unwind and relax into the gentle rhythms and movements of the Grand Canal, appreciating the skill involved in steering the gondola through the intricate waterways of the city. As you sit back and take in the views, you will inevitably become involved in the friendly banter of the gondoliers - as much a part of Venetian culture as the gondola itself! This charming tour will take you one step closer to the romantic facades of Venice and will enable you to understand what it was to be truly Venetian.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
Gondola Station - Santa Maria del Giglio
Departure and drop off for the tour
Pass By:  
Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute
Basilica della Salute and Punta della Dogana on the Grand Canal
Pass By:  
Teatro La Fenice
Fenice Opera House
Pass By:  
Scala Contarini del Bovolo
Bovolo spiral staircase in campo Manin
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • This tour is not guided, although the gondolier may chat and give you some local history;
  • This activity is not wheelchair accessible;
  • Check in is 15 minutes prior to the booked tour start time.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Venice Events srl

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 2 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Private Gondola Ride for Two in Venice.

Traveler Tips


  • "The canals of Venice are crowed with other gondolas so don't expect a very private ride." See review
  • "You'll need to take a water taxi to get to the train." See review
  • "Make sure you do get the No 1 water bus as mentioned, else it's a long run through the streets and over bridges." See review

Reviews

3.0
star-3
59 Reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
12
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
16
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 59 reviews
star-2
Don’t use - pay when there
Kevin_B
, Sep 2020
27 minutes total time and taken down waters that has nothing that you could say worth seeing at all. I’d wait and book yourself when in Venice paying direct around €80. Never fiver negative about Viator before and have used Viator many times in past.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Dear Kevin, we are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the tour. The duration for this tour is 30 min, but during the ride can happen to do few minutes more or less, in fact in the tab "inclusions" it's written "Approx 25-30 minutes private gondola ride". It's weird to read that you have not seen nothing that you could say worth seeing at all, we think that Venice is beautiful in every corner. We hope that you had a nice stay in Venice Best regards Venice Events
star-5
Must do in Venice!
Lucy_H
, Sep 2020
Our gondolier was lovely and told us facts about Venice as we floated around. The grand canal was beautiful and peaceful, it was funny watching the gondoliers try and pass each other and turn corners in the smaller canals - lots of skill involved! We were in the gondola a little over the time we expected which was a good surprise. A great experience!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Dear Lucy, we thank you for this positive feedback and we hope to have you back in our wonderful city again Best regards from Venice
star-4
Decent Experience
Explorer373431
, Nov 2019
Overall we had a decent time with the Gondola ride. I think it really does depend on your gondolier as to whether they sing or chat. Our Gondolier wasn't chatty. Additionally know that you'll spend 90% of the time going through various small canals and rather limited time in the grand canal. You get what you pay for though, if you want a lengthy engaging ride you'll need to pay a decent amount of money.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Partner, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are happy to see that you had a good experience with us. Kind regards, Venice Events
star-5
Fantastic!
Pamela F. I
, Nov 2019
Such an attentive staff! They went above and beyond to make this experience one to remember. Our gondola driver was extraordinary! I know this is more on the pricey side, but if you are on your honeymoon, definitely worth the experience!
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Pamela, Thank you for your awesome review. We are are really happy to see that you had an awesome experience with us and we look forward in seeing you again touring with us. Kind regards, Venice Events Team.
star-1
Gondola not good book elsewhere
Slipperyhills
, Oct 2019
Booked this as a surprise for my partner and the person in charge said they’d stopped giving out Prosecco in August. The gondolier took us into a side canal and was on he’s phone via Bluetooth the entire time he turned right and pointed out the opera house then turned right again and we were back out on the main lagoon and he pointed at a church on the opposite island, he then had to go slow and we were overtaken by other gondoliers as he was hanging out for the half hour ride There are better and cheaper gondolas locates all round so don’t book this and just go into the back streets around st marks square and you’ll find a decent and cheaper gondola
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your Feedback. Since the 9th of August it's forbidden to drink any type of alcoholic drinks inside the gondola. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the tour. We do our very best to make sure the gondoliers offer a quality service. We will certainly be discussing this with them at our next meeting. Best regards, Venice Events Team.
star-5
awesome experience
joe k
, Oct 2019
Viator did a great job getting us on the gondola ride. They are very professional and made sure we were taken care of. Awesome experience on this ride for two.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Joe, Thank you for your review. We are happy to see that you had a nice experience with us on our private gondola ride and we look forward in seeing you again. Kind regards, Venice Events Team.
star-1
dont waste your money!!!
David H
, Oct 2019
after watching other gondolas all week we were excited to have a romantic ride on the last night of our trip. turned out to be the exact opposite! we were lead to the worst looking boat in the fleet, our driver had the personality of a turnip, he barely said a word to us because he was too busy eating and drinking from a plastic bottle that he crinkled the whole ride, and he came back after only 20 min (10 min) short. I would never use this outfit again!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
We are sorry you did not enjoy your ride and will pass your comments onto the Gondoliers at our next meeting and hope that we can improve there service.
star-1
Overpriced
Priya P
, Sep 2019
My husband and I booked a bunch of viator tours for our trip to Italy and most of them were great. This specific tour is definitely a rip off though as other mentioned. The gondala drivers will take you and whoever you want on the same private tour from the same port for 80 euros which is far less than the $155 USD I paid. We heard another couple talk to our same driver and he said only 80 euro for the same. I'm guessing the tour group pockets the remainder of the money but you could basically take two trips.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Priya, Thank you for your feedback. We will take in consideration your suggestions about the price. Kind regards, Venice Events Team.
star-1
Waste of time.
Live-Life-MicNic
, Aug 2019
We were supposed to get a bottle of Prosecco and two glasses but were told that it had recently been made illegal to drink on the gondolas. I asked if they were just going to let us take a bottle (they had a few bottles in their office refrigerator) and the fellow doing the dispatching just laughed, Our ride was supposed to start at 6 and we got on at 5:58. I tried talking to the guy rowing the gondola but he said he didn't speak any English, He rowed about as slow as he could up the channel. We were passed by 3 other gondolas along the way. We went around about one city block then came up the canal and he parked it at 6:17. I said something to my wife about what a rip off that was and then he said, in perfect english ..., "The time starts when you get on." I told him what time we got on and what time it was when we parked and he just shrugged his shoulders. Total waste of money. I am going to try to see if I can get my money back if I can figure out how to request that on the Viator site.
star-4
Gondola ride
Mary F
, Aug 2019
Once you get top the location you still have to wait on line. There will be a bunch of other people with the same time slot. It depends what gondolier you get. Some will sing or tell you about what you're seeing. Ours didn't talk, he just smoked during the ride. This tour also was supposed to include prosecco. We never received it. If you are supposed to get any extras make sure you ask about it before get in the gondola. We thought they would have put it inside the gondola before we got on but they didn't! If you are taking a day trip, the meeting point for the gondola is 30 minutes from the train stop. You'll need to take a water taxi to get to the train.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Mary, Thank you for your feedback. Since the 9th of August its forbidden to drink any type of alcohol inside the gondola. The gondolier is not a guide so he is not obligated to give any type of informations. Kind regards, Venice Events.

Product code: 3303P32

Explore Similar Things to Do