Recent Searches
Clear

Jerusalem and the Dead Sea from Tel Aviv

star-4.5295 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Tel Aviv, Israel
Jerusalem and the Dead Sea from Tel Aviv

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon10 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more

Overview

Visit ancient Jerusalem and the extraordinary Dead Sea on this action-packed day trip from Tel Aviv. Traveling by air-conditioned coach, venture to holy Jerusalem to see its most revered religious sites. Enter the Old City to view the Western Wall (Wailing Wall) and Via Dolorosa. Then, drive to the sparkling Dead Sea for free time to luxuriate in the salt-rich waters, sunbathe and take a therapeutic mud bath. Ideal for first-time visitors to Israel and anyone short on time.
  • Jerusalem and Dead Sea day trip from Tel Aviv
  • Explore the Old City of Jerusalem and see historic holy sights such as the Western Wall
  • Float on the salt-rich Dead Sea and experience the therapeutic qualities of the mud
  • Transport by air-conditioned coach
  • Relax with hotel pickup and drop-off included
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop off
Professional guide
Air-conditioned vehicle
Entrance fees
Food and drinks
Gratuities

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

6:40 AM
Depart your central Tel Aviv hotel by air-conditioned coach and journey toward Jerusalem to begin your full-day trip. As you travel, listen as your guide explains Jerusalem’s ancient past, and how the city is a hub of the Jewish, Christian and Muslim faiths.

Enter the city walls into the atmospheric Old City to see the Western Wall, effectively an open-air synagogue for thousands of worshippers. Walk along part of the Via Dolorosa pilgrimage route and see some of the 14 Stations of the Cross that mark different stages of Jesus’ route to his crucifixion site, where the Church of the Holy Sepulchre stands.

Back aboard your coach, take the scenic drive to the Dead Sea, the salt lake located at the lowest point on Earth — around 1,312 feet (400 meters) below sea level.

On arrival, enjoy approximately two hours to bathe and laze on the mineral beach as you wish. Experience a ‘swim’ in the salt-rich waters, admire the gorgeous desert setting, and if you wish, enjoy a mud bath in the world's richest source of natural salts.

Later, drive past the historical city of Jericho on your way back to Tel Aviv, where a hotel drop-off ends your trip.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Mount Scopus National Botanical Garden
Get a panoramic view of Jerusalem from Mount Scopus
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
Dome of the Rock
View Dome of the Rock and Temple Mount
Pass By:  
Garden of Gethsemane
See the Garden of Gethsemane
Pass By:  
Church of All Nations (Basilica of the Agony)
See the Church of All Nations
Pass By:  
Kidron Valley
Pass through the Kidron Valley
Stop At:  
Old City of Jerusalem
Walk through the streets of the Old City of Jerusalem
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Jewish Quarter
Visit the Jewish Quarter and walk in the Byzantine Cardo
Duration: 40 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Western Wall
Visit the Western Wall
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Christian Quarter
Visit the Christian Quarter
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
The Way of the Cross - Via Dolorosa
Explore and walk through stations of the Cross - the Via Dolorosa
Duration: 40 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Eglise du Saint-Sepulcre
Visit the Church of the Holy Sepulchre
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Muslim Quarter
Visit the Muslim Quarter and Walk through the Bazaar
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Dead Sea
Visit and float in the Dead Sea
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • A moderate dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. Please refrain from wearing shorts. Knees and shoulders must be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements
  • The tour includes a reasonable amount of walking; comfortable walking shoes are recommended
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • We recommend that you bring hats, bathing suits, towels and sun protection for your visit to the Dead Sea
  • Please note this tour is not suitable for children under the age of 4
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Bein Harim Ltd
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Jerusalem and the Dead Sea from Tel Aviv?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Jerusalem and the Dead Sea from Tel Aviv.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Jerusalem and the Dead Sea from Tel Aviv?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Jerusalem and the Dead Sea from Tel Aviv.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Jerusalem and the Dead Sea from Tel Aviv?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Jerusalem and the Dead Sea from Tel Aviv.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Jerusalem and the Dead Sea from Tel Aviv?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Jerusalem and the Dead Sea from Tel Aviv.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Jerusalem and the Dead Sea are very hot during summer (90+ F) so be prepared." See review
  • "I would suggest staying close to your guide because it is very easy to get mixed up with other things going on and miss something." See review
  • "Excellent choice of tour if you don't have much time to visit the country." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
295 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 295 reviews
star-5
Fantastic tour
Kelly_D
, Jul 2022
Daniel and Havi were fantastic Daniel our tour guide was so well versed in history and truly so kind. I originally was going to tour without a guide but I'm so glad I booked this ...worth every single penny. CANNOT WAIT TO COME BACK AND DO IT ALL AGAIN
star-5
Best Experience
Esther_Z
, Jun 2022
Amazing trip. The tour guid is super funny and knows a lot. You get chance to see the whole history and all the stories from Bible.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
thanks Ester for this rave review of your tour and guide. We are so happy to read you have come away with a memorable tour experience to cherish.
star-4
Perfect day trip for Israel first-timer
Qifeng_H
, Jun 2022
When we didn't show up at the appointed pick-up point, we weren't proactively contacted. There was no lunch time listed on the itinerary but there was time set aside for lunch later, so I wish that were conveyed beforehand.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Quifeng, Thanks for acknowledging that the tour and guidance were of good quality. The non showing up at listed pickup point is an issue daily especially if you have an international cell phone with limited reception. There is an obligatory lunch stop on every tour. For restrooms and guide's time out on a 12-hour day schedule. Sincerely, Bein Harim team
star-2
I have done a tour of...
Douglas_S
, Jun 2022
I have done a tour of Jerusalem before and sadly that one was much better than this. Overall poorly organised, executed and showed very little of what the city has to offer. The operators picked us up about 25 mins late and we were then taken to a park to get on another bus which would take us to Jerusalem. We drove around the Jerusalem for a long time once we got there. On arrival to Mount Scopus there was already another event there so we were then taken to a mall for coffee and most if not all of us missed out on those iconic panoramic Jerusalem pictures. The tour was very busy so getting everyone out and back to the bus wasted further time. We didn't enter the Old City till about 1020 having been picked up over 3 hours earlier. We didn't see the garden of gethsemane just drove past it (blink and you miss it). In the old city we saw very little as well but did do the western wall and church of the holy sep. My partner and I, along with another couple, broke away from the group as there was so much standing around going on. We were told to be back at jaffa gate by 1145, and then 1215 but the tour operator didn't show up till about 1320. Although we saw more stuff than we otherwise would have done, and those who stayed on the tour said we did the right thing by leaving, we could have seen even more had we been given the correct time. Asked the operator for a partial refund and they refused, just saying situations are beyond our control and as we decided to leave the group for a while any disappointment is down to us not them! The dead sea part was fine.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Douglas, We are most regrettable that this was the nature of your tour experience. We can firstly say that moving a group around, however skilled the guide is, needs a certain understanding by the traveler who has joined a group tour. Yes, there are delays. You chose on your own responsibility to separate from the tour. The guide cannot be held accountable for an exact schedule in order to meet a deadline he set for in this instance. No doubt it s an approximate meet-up time. He has a group to move along and a time framework. Not nice to mention that others thought you did the right thing. They made their choice. You got to the Dead Sea and enjoyed it meaning you took part in the services the tour offered, so on what grounds is a refund owed..? (It cannot be a choice-based operation) Surely one cannot be given refunds for matters one doesn't like as part of the whole day package. Simply not possible. We try our very best daily wit hour hundreds of travelers and however hard it is understood not everyone is satisfied. Reviews before and after yours indicate we offer high-quality services and memorable tour experiences all round. Sincerely, Bein Harim team
star-4
Rushed but very good
Bryan_M
, Jun 2022
Our guide, Omri, was excellent - very knowledgeable and eager to share. Jerusalem is a beautiful, historic city, and Omri provided useful background information at the outset which put into context to all the wonderful sites we were about to see. The only negative is that the tour felt incredibly rushed and the group size of about 40 was way too large and unmanageable. As a result, there was hardly any time to stop for a photo, read information placards, or buy snacks or drinks along the route as we were always in a hurry to walk to the next point of interest. Also, the Dead Sea portion was quite disappointing. In retrospect, we wish we had spent the entire time in Jerusalem so we could explore the Old City at a more leisurely pace.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Bryan, We thank you for this review and compliments for Omri. Large groups are mainly due to the busy season since the resumption of operations after the Covid lockdown and our need to provide services as logistically smooth as possible. Sorry that you felt rushed, but there is an itinerary and schedule, and then we can get complaints if we don't stop as listed. Will pass this info on for the guides to be more attentive to a pace and stopping for refreshements. Sincerely, Bein Harim team
star-5
Eyal was an amazing tour guide
Mary_S
, Jun 2022
This tour was amazing! We were picked up right at 6:40am from the hotel and there was no traffic heading out to Jerusalem. In other reviews people complained about the Elvis Diner stop, but it was only 20 minutes and was nice to be able to get a quick pastry, coffee, and use the restroom. It was definitely a welcome stop for our group. Eyal was our tour guide and was so great. It was a very hot day and he did a great job of keeping us in the shade as much as possible while also giving us an incredible amount of historical information about everything we were seeing. He even got us all in line to see the cave/tomb within the Church of the Holy Sepulcher and then told us all about the church while the line moved along. The trip out to the Dead Sea was a nice break from being on our feet in the sun and when we got there, we had a little over an hour and a half to soak and relax, which was plenty. The drive back to Tel Aviv was fast and we were back in the city by 6pm.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Unmissable excursion!
Pascal_T
, Jun 2022
Fantastic excursion and insight thanks to our sympathetic very qualified tour guide Harim! We booked very last minute and are not usually into guided tour, but this was unmissable and we enjoyed thoroughly our day trip to Jerusalem and the Dead Sea learning about history, religious facts, geopolitics but also about the geology and geography! It was a great balance of learning, visiting and rest. Thanks Harim, you made our day and definitely a highlight from our visit to Israel!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thanks very much for this rave review of your tour with our guide.Clearly they preformed to the high standard we strive for. We are so glad you came away with an enlightening tour experience and hope to see you again.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Good day trip
Regina_C
, May 2022
The tour of Jerusalem was great, very informative and interesting and we saw the Jewish, Muslim, and Christian quarters. The two hour time limit at the dead sea was enough to enjoy the beach. I was disappointed we didn't get any free time in Jerusalem and were taken to a specific tourist shop for 15 min that the tour company has an arrangement with. I also did not appreciate being taken to a specific restaurant at the dead sea that was an extremely over priced buffet. Having some free time for a quick lunch in Jerusalem would have been better, no one in the group wanted a huge $23 lunch at the dead sea, we just wanted a quick lunch and to spend the time in the water.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Regina thanks for this detailed feedback and your satisfacition with our guide for the locations visited. Free time to roam off is a huge issue and mis expectation.especially when doing a group tour and 2 distanced locations in one day.Very easily people get lost in the old city, causing delays to schedule and make others wait! We have tired this many times. An arranged stop for lunch is at a location that caters for a whole group- volumes of travelers. It is totally acceptable practise for tour groups. Places to stop at the Dead Sea are very few(many didnot survive covid 2 year shutdown) we need to use what is available. We are happy that the swimmng in the Dead Sea wa a great experience for you.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Perfect Tour
Diana_F
, May 2022
Really nice tour. Udi was a very nice guide. Loved everything. Just wished We had a bit more time in the dead sea.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for this 5* review of your tour guided by Udi.He is worthy of your sincere words. Yes the tour schedule and the distances covered take time.There are constraints. Come back again for a whole day there at the Dead Sea,!
star-1
The terrible experience
Yulieth_C
, May 2022
The tour was awful, the tour guide was terrible, treated so bad an old woman whitout reason and said that he could send her in a taxi alone if he wanted and end the tour, He was so violent. We lost so much time. He never went us to the Mont Scopus as said the tour. He included a stop in an Elvis' bar and we lost so much time there. NOBODY WANTED IS IN THE BAR THE ELVIS PRESLEY. He promised carry on to the Shopping center in Jerusalem for buy the souvenirs, but he didn't do that. The tour guided changed us the bus three times. I BOUGHT A FULL TOUR IN SPANISH AND THE SECOND PART THE TOUR WAS IN ENGLISH.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Yulieth, We are sorry that this was the nature of your experience. We will certainly check out what happened with this guide on your day. We very clearly state that our tours are always in English and a second language. So be sure to read all the info and know what to expect! We were not at fault, you got Spanish guidance, just it was also with English. When and if there are a certain number of only Spanish speakers, we DO provide Spanish-only guidance, but it has to be viable! We will investigate why the tour stopped at Elvis restaurant for a bathroom and coffee en route to Jerusalem. We are regretful that this was your day. As you can see from all the other reviews we certainly don't operate how you describe. Vehicle changes are constraints we face with many travelers and different tour combinations. Sincerely, Bein Harim team
star-5
Such an amazing day. The...
sujatasontakke
, Mar 2022
Such an amazing day. The tour guide, Ami was AMAZING. He gave us so much information about the history and culture of Jerusalem. I would highly recommend this tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Jerusalem and Dead Sea
Krishan
, Feb 2020
Great guide and driver. Good crowd. Enjoyed both parts of the trip. Will recommend to others. Could make it an hour or two longer.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing Tour and Guide Itamar
Eli_Y
, Dec 2019
We unbelievable time on this tour, so much information. The Guide was Amazing Attentive and Informative on all Subjects. I even called him Amazing Itamar Thanks and Make sure to keep Itamar, because he is the best at his JOB
star-3
Good tour bad guide
Sara_M
, Nov 2019
The tour was very nice, the places speak for themself, very spiritual and interesting. I wish we had a different guide, I think his name was Avi but I cannot be sure. He made inappropriate jokes about the historical facts and we had this poor lady that was placed by mistake on the wrong tour and he was so rude to her, even unwilling to take a call with his own office in order to rectify the mistake, he was so disrespectful to her, I was shocked!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Jerusalem&Dead Sea
annaszuecs
, Nov 2019
Jerusalem tour was really interesting, our guide was well prepared. The prescribed time was sufficient at the Dead Sea to have a bath.
star-5
Jersualem on a shoestring
miaaberg
, Nov 2019
A lovely day with a good guide who knew a lot and also gave us some time to spend both in Jerusalem and at the dead sea
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
AMAZING TOUR
Luis_C
, Oct 2019
This was a amazing tour. Your guide Jadir was the best we ever had. He even debated to go to bethehan. Explained the tour in Spanish very fluently.
star-4
Great Day Tour
Akyra D
, Aug 2019
This was a really good tour if you are trying to see a lot with a little time. We saw a lot of interesting things even with it being a holiday. Jerusalem was beautiful and the guide had a lot of interesting facts and information. With the amount of people around and some of the locations it was difficult to hear him within all of what was going on. I would suggest staying close to your guide because it is very easy to get mixed up with other things going on and miss something. Overall this was a good beginner's guide to the city and I wish I had more time. The Dead Sea portion was nice as well. It was something to check off the bucket list. I think I would have liked to start there and then work our way back to Jerusalem. The company was great and answered questions that I had beforehand very quickly and professionally. Would use them again for another tour.
star-5
Nice tour
Teodora_I
, Aug 2019
We had a great day touring the great city of Jerusalem. It felt a little rushed at times in the old city but the organisation was very good.
star-4
Fantastic Experience
Laurenteeling
, Jul 2019
The perfect tour to experience Jerusalem and the Dead sea! I thoroughly enjoy the tour and the tour guide was excellent. The only thing that spoilt the trip slightly was the group size. There were 41 people and it was like hearing sheep. Constantly waiting for people! Having said that, I would highly recommend this tour!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Jerusalem and the Dead Sea from Tel Aviv
Jerusalem and the Dead Sea from Tel Aviv

star-4.5293

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$133.00

star-4.5781

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$120.00

star-4.579

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$94.00

star-51

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$94.00

star-4.558

3 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$151.00

star-4.5233

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$94.00

star-45

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$133.00

star-432

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$93.00

star-463

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$119.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations