Recent Searches

Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Te Puia Geothermals, Maori and Kiwifruit

star-4.539 Reviews
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Te Puia Geothermals, Maori and Kiwifruit

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Free cancellation before December 30Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon7 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English


Discover geothermal activity among top North Island attractions in New Zealand on this full-day shore excursion to Te Puia from Mt Maunganui Port. Visit a kiwifruit orchard with your guide in Te Puke. Head through the geothermal valley of Whakarewarewa to the mud pools in Te Puia and see the famous Pohutu Geyser erupt. Discover ancient Maori arts and crafts, and watch a performance of the ‘haka’ — the traditional Maori war dance. Take in top Rotorua attractions including the Government Gardens, the Bath House and Rachel's Pool.
  • Informative, friendly and professional guide
  • Small-group tour
  • Perfect introduction for first-time visitors
  • Free port pickup and drop-off included
Saved to wishlist!
Experienced, professional driver/guide
Port pickup and drop-off
Comfortable air-conditioned transport
Entry to Te Puia including Maori cultural performance
Visit to a kiwifruit orchard
Visit to Okere Falls
Food and drinks

Departure Point

4 Salisbury Avenue, Mount Maunganui 3116, New Zealand

Please meet the Shore Trips and Tours representative at the Shore Trips and Tours sign board situated just outside the port gates. Walk through the information marquee and out through the gates - a short walk from your ship.

Departure Time

9:30 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • At time of booking, cruise ship passengers must provide the following information: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • This tour is not suitable for users of mobility scooters (unless very small collapsible ones) or wheelchairs. Folding walkers/frames can be accommodated but passengers must be able to enter a coach or minibus using the standard steps. Please notify us at time of booking of any mobility issues.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • This tour runs with a minimum of 4 fare paying passengers. We will advise on the day if the minimum hasn't been met, and offer alternative options if necessary
  • Please purchase a ticket for all travelers in your group - including 'purchasing' a ticket for all infants. NZ transport law requires us to count all heads on board. One child or infant max per adult ticket.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a Pre Booked Tour Only!
  • No sales on the day of the Tour!
  • 9.30am is the regular tour start time. This may be adjusted for early/late arriving ships. We will advise any time change at time of booking.
  • This tour is for passengers arriving on a cruise ship into the Port of Tauranga
  • Please ensure you have provided a contact phone number and/or email address that you will have with you and/or checking whilst on holiday so any last minute tour time changes can be notified.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Shore Trips and Tours
You can cancel up to 3 days in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 3 full days before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 2 full days before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on sanitization during Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Te Puia Geothermals, Maori and Kiwifruit?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Te Puia Geothermals, Maori and Kiwifruit.
What is the social distancing policy during Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Te Puia Geothermals, Maori and Kiwifruit?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Te Puia Geothermals, Maori and Kiwifruit.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Te Puia Geothermals, Maori and Kiwifruit?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Te Puia Geothermals, Maori and Kiwifruit.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More


39 Reviews
2 stars

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 39 reviews
Too rush
, Dec 2019
The guide rushed us in every sight for no reason. We finished the tour and arrived at the cruise port 50 minutes early. Very disappointed.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Hi Tour 45. As we do not know who you are [it would be great if reviewers on Trip Advisor actually used their own names] we can not look into the tour you took with us. All our tours follow a set itinerary and keep to the published time frame. Often we make the tour a little longer so our clients are NOT rushed. There are some days when due to the ships limited time in port we do have to condense the program so we are back at the port in good time. The "on board" time is normally 30 minutes before sailing and our policy is to be at the port at least 30 minutes before the "on board" time. Most clients are very nervous about missing the ships [despite the fact that we have give shore excursions for 19 years with tens of thousands of passengers per year and never missed a ship]. So if you would like to make contact with our company direct i am happy to look at the tour you took to see if there was an issues, if there was then we are more than happy to offer you compensation if this is warranted. A one star review we think is not justified, easy to do anonymously though. Regards
Time was changed so we didn't get tour we booked.
, Nov 2019
The time for the tour was changed to one hour earlier. We were not informed so we were not able to go on the tour we booked. Could have made the earlier time if we had been notified. We were able to go on a similar tour because they happened to have space. There was a claim that they emailed change but that DID NOT happen, plus since we were on the ship we did not have internet anyway. VERY UNEXCEPTIONABLE!
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Hi Judith [we have looked at the bookings for the 6th November and we think your review relates to this day when you booked a tour with us, code TRG-8] This goes to the Geothermal and Maori cultural centre at Te Puia. As we have to do for many ships, we adjust the start and end times for the tours so that they fit within the window the ships ETA and ETD allows. There are 1071 ship visit days in NZ this year and we have specifically developed our own online web site and database to manage the many changes and keep our clients fully informed when changes are needed. Looking back at the records we see that we made contact with you via the TripAdvisor/Viator message board on the 3rd July to advise the tour would start at 0830. You indicated that you thought the ship was due to arrive at 0900, but we responded confirming the ship was actually arriving at 0515 [we also provide some of the official tours for the cruise line so we have access to the correct data]. You then confirmed that you had received the updated time and would meet us at 0815 for a tour start at 0830. On the day we departed at the revised time of 0830 with all our clients except you 4, we were unable to wait as other passengers had all arrived at the correct time, we could not delay as this would have meant getting back to the ship to late. When you did check in with us it was well after your tour had departed, so the only option we could offer was to put you on a shorter 6 hour tour that was departing at 0930. This tour visiting almost the same places, instead of Te Puia it visited the Living Maori Village of Te Whakarewarewa which is next door. You still saw the Maori concert and also the geysers, this tour also included a free hangi lunch. So unless we have the wrong person [please contact us to advise if this is the case] then we do think that your comment about not getting the tour that you booked, while technically correct, was that you did not arrive at the correct time as advised and agreed to by you. We moved you to an alternative similar tour without any additional cost to you, the cost to us was that we then lost the opportunity to sell the 4 places you took, the cost of which was $580 NZ lost to us. We do everything we can to keep clients fully advised of any changes to the tours, in fact Viator does advise clients to reconfirm details with us 48 hours in advance but very few people do. Our database automatically sends out an email the day prior to reconfirm the bookings you have the following day with any time changes clearly shown. On the morning of the tour we also send a text message to again remind clients. But many clients do not access their emails or have phones with them that operate here in NZ, so when they say they were not told about a change, there really is little more that we can do. So we are sorry that you missed the trip that you had booked but do hope that the alternative we offered without any additional charge to you was a good substitute. Please confirm that we have correctly identified the correct booking. Regards Ian
Very Good
, Apr 2019
It was a good tour. The sights were enjoyable. The tour guide was professional and very good. Thank you. I recommend this tour.
Learning about Kiwi fruit and the Maori Tribe
, Jan 2019
What a fantastic tour. We learned a lot about the kiwi fruit, tasted various kinds of the fruit and later we learned about the Maori tribe, their customs and dances. Fun tour.
A MUST do tour...especially if your short on time.
, Dec 2018
Our guide, Graeme, was excellent! He is extremely knowledgeable and has such a love and passion for the land, history and culture of the land. He covered everything in good time without sufficient time for us to enjoy all the highlights. We also managed to catch the eruption of the Te Puia geyser which was the icing on the cake.
The geothermal valley was expansive...
, Feb 2018
The geothermal valley was expansive and very interesting. If you've been to Yellowstone National Park you won't find the geyser regularity of Old Faithful, however, the entire area is neat to visit in this part of the world. Loved seeing the Maori Arts Institute! The Maori show was similar to and as enjoyable as the one at the Oahu Polynesian Cultural Center and what we experienced on the Noordam cruise into Rotorua. Also enjoyed stopping for a quick visit to the Kiwifruit orchard. Our guide was knowledgeable and considerate.
Graham our host was informative...
, Feb 2018
Graham our host was informative, interesting and personable! Comfortable coach, easy walking and beautiful sights. Lunch at Te Puia poor , not enough food or staff on site, but Graham said they are doing Renos and it should improve.
Very interesting tour with a very...
, Nov 2017
Very interesting tour with a very knowledgable guide that made all the difference. We learned so much about NZ and the Maui culture. Really enjoyed the Kiwifruit orchard as well. Had no idea that they grew on vines like grapes. Great job and a great tour.
It was good to be in a small group...
Bruce E
, Apr 2017
It was good to be in a small group tour as it is much easier and more efficient. After a quick tour through Tauranga, we headed to the kiwifruit orchard. This was very instructive, though the sampling of kiwifruit was limited due to the number of visitors. Lunch at our own expense in Rotorua was in a nice location with reasonable choices. Following lunch, we made a brief stop in a city park where there are steam and mud pits right in the park. Very interesting. We then proceeded to Te Puia to see the geothermals and also the Maori show. The visit to Te Puia was worth the trip, seeing the geysers, the blue lagoon, etc.
A very enjoyable day at Rotorua...
, Mar 2017
A very enjoyable day at Rotorua visiting the hot springs and the Maori experience. We ran out of time and our Kiwifruit Orchard visit was very rushed, that was the only down side.

Compare Similar Experiences

Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Te Puia Geothermals, Maori and Kiwifruit
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Te Puia Geothermals, Maori and Kiwifruit


7 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do