Recent Searches
Clear

Maori Rock Carvings Scenic Cruise

star-4.5305 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Taupō, New Zealand
Maori Rock Carvings Scenic Cruise

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon1 hour 40 minutes to 2 hours  (Approx.)
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Carved in the 1970s by one of Aotearoa’s master Māori carvers, the Mine Bay rock carvings are a striking Taupō attraction. They’re also impossible to access on foot, so hop on board a charming replica steamboat and take a scenic cruise out to the carvings instead. Learn all about the history and the myths behind the carvings from your steamboat crew, and along the way enjoy pristine views of Lake Taupō and beyond, including the nearby volcanoes Tongariro, Ruapehu and Ngauruhoe.
  • If the weather’s fine, summer cruisers can even take the chance to swim in Mine Bay
  • Free coffee, tea and snacks on board – and hot chocolates for the little ones
  • Upload your photos to Facebook instantly with free WiFi on board
  • Easy to find departure point near the Taupō visitor center
Saved to wishlist!
Coffee and/or Tea

Departure Point

Berth 2/65 Redoubt Street, Taupō 3351, New Zealand

Please go to the black Booking Office, 65 Redoubt St Taupo Marina to pick up your boarding pass. The Booking Office is by the coffee caravan at the Marina.

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Well behaved dogs welcome.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 38 travelers
  • OPERATED BY ERNEST KEMP SCENIC CRUISES

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Maori Rock Carvings Scenic Cruise?
A:This activity will have a maximum of 38 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Maori Rock Carvings Scenic Cruise.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
305 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 305 reviews
star-5
Awesome experience
Helen_F
, May 2021
Fabulous experience. We enjoyed every minute. Even the wet weather didn't spoil it. Highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Thank you very much for your recommendation Helen! It is always so nice to hear how much our passengers loved their scenic cruise with us here at Ernest Kemp. Much appreciated :)
star-5
Definitely a must
Donna_F
, Apr 2021
We had a lovely trip . The crew were friendly and helpful. A taupo local for 12 years and never been out on the boat. 5 stars
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Glad you finally managed to enjoy a bit of your own backyard! Thank you very much for joining us for a scenic cruise, we appreciate your support.
star-5
Londoners in Taupo
njdrakeirons
, Feb 2020
Really relaxed and friendly trip , and a chance to swim in the lake aswell .My elderly mum and myself enjoyed it very much and would recommend to anybody visiting Taupo . Book online with Viator is a must as this trip is popular for a reason . Like being out with our mates .
star-4
Maori Carving by cute boat
kylacapecod
, Jan 2020
Beautiful boat ride across Lake Taupo! The carvings were magnificent. Would have liked more commentary along the way back.
star-4
The carvings
angelamccabe8
, Jan 2020
Nice cruise, carvings were amazing. Free tea, coffee, water and cookies. Wine, beer, cheese board and other snacks were available if you wish to purchase them.
star-5
Maori Rock Carvings Scenic Cruise
harriettferfoglia
, Dec 2019
That was a very entertaining and wonderful scenic cruise. Very informative, the whole experience was great. Loved the carvings and the whole atmosphere was great. Great crew very helpful and kind. Thank you for a very enjoyable afternoon.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Thank you Harriett for the lovely review. We are pleased we could provide such a well rounded experience. Our pleasure to have had you onboard!
star-5
Lovely Sedate Trip
Lindolo
, Dec 2019
This was such a lovely trip. the boat is a mock steam boat so looks authentic but without the steam! There was a good amount of commentary about different areas of the lake. What was really well organised was that each tour company staggered the time that they got to the rock carvings so that you were the only boat there at that time taking photographs so you didn't feel crowded or rushed.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Hi, Thank you very much for the positive insights to your cruise, we love the feedback. Ernest Kemp has had a major reburbishment earlier this year, to keep her looking authentic and pristine! We are glad you found both our vessel and tour to be worthy of a five star rating. Thank you!
star-5
Lake cruise
alisontatlock07
, Nov 2019
This was a lovely lake ride. We were able to to get great pictures of the Maori rock carvings. Friendly, helpful crew on board.😊
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thank you Alison, Very happy to hear you had a lovely experience cruising the Great Lake with the Ernest Kemp team! Enjoy your photos!
star-4
Cruising Lake Taupo
Helen P
, Oct 2019
Had a lovely leisurely cruise around the shores of Lake Taupo - we were lucky as the weather was perfect and it was interesting to see the town from another perspective. Information given on board was interesting and not intrusive.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
We are glad to read that you've enjoyed your time spent cruising around the bays of Lake Taupo with us, Many thanks Helen.
star-3
unfortunate
deidrehalton
, Oct 2019
Unfortunately our cruise was cancelled due to bad weather. We were not able to reschedule due to other commitments. The cruise organiser very promptly advised us by email of our full refund.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hi Deidre, We apologise that you could not take your scheduled scenic cruise due to the adverse weather conditions - the wind on this day prevented all scenic boats from reaching the Maori Rock Carvings. We hope the rest of your day spent in the region was enjoyable.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Maori Rock Carvings Scenic Cruise
Maori Rock Carvings Scenic Cruise

star-4.5305

100 to 120 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$25.11

star-4.5203

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$25.11

star-5480

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$35.15

star-510

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$29.43

star-5266

2 hours 55 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$28.69

star-58

2 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$36.05

star-546

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$82.49

star-5125

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$82.49

star-4.513

9 hours 50 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$176.57

Explore Similar Things to Do