Recent Searches
Clear

Rio Celeste Hiking, Sloth Sanctuary & Llanos de Cortes Waterfall Tour

star-4.5287 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Rio Celeste Hiking, Sloth Sanctuary & Llanos de Cortes Waterfall Tour
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

From $135.00

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon12 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Get an up-close look at Costa Rica's hidden natural wonders on this Rio Celeste and Llanos de Cortes waterfall tour. Follow an expert local guide through breathtaking scenery, rugged trails, and truly beautiful attractions. This is the perfect way to explore outside the city and see what makes Costa Rica a top attraction for nature lovers.
  • Tour of Rio Celeste and Llanos de Cortes Waterfall
  • Experience the beauty of Costa Rica's natural landscapes
  • Follow a local guide through stunning rugged terrain
  • Round-trip hotel transport and lunch included
Saved to wishlist!
National park fees
Lunch
Driver/guide
Professional bilingual guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Gratuities

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

6:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.Self Drive Option: SELF DRIVE OPTION - Meet Guide at 10:15 am @ Tenorio National Park and follow your guide throughout the tour in your own vehicle. Pick up offered from: JW Marriott, Tamarindo, Langosta, Grande, Conchal, Flamingo, RIU Guanacaste/Palace, Catalinas, Playas del Coco, Playa Hermosa (Occidental, Villas Sol, Condovac), Playa Panama (Secrets Papagayo, Mangroove) Fours Seasons, Andaz, Planet Hollywood & Liberia. Please see extra fees below.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 12 hours of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Native's Way Costa Rica
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Rio Celeste Hiking, Sloth Sanctuary & Llanos de Cortes Waterfall Tour?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Rio Celeste Hiking, Sloth Sanctuary & Llanos de Cortes Waterfall Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Rio Celeste Hiking, Sloth Sanctuary & Llanos de Cortes Waterfall Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Rio Celeste Hiking, Sloth Sanctuary & Llanos de Cortes Waterfall Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Rio Celeste Hiking, Sloth Sanctuary & Llanos de Cortes Waterfall Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Rio Celeste Hiking, Sloth Sanctuary & Llanos de Cortes Waterfall Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "The hike required some physical activity as it is all steps but it was worth it for us!" See review
  • "If you are looking to truly take in the sights, I would advise doing this on your own." See review
  • "The Rio Celeste hike was pure torture for this old lady, but so worth it." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
287 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 287 reviews
star-5
Amazing
Dalila_O
, Jul 2022
My family and I were so pleased with this tour. It’s a must do! The drivers were on time, and very tentative to passengers. The tour built in plenty of rest stop while providing the full experience of Rio Celeste, sloth sanctuary, and waterfall.
star-3
Not the best
Judi_S
, Jun 2022
The morning trip ... the bus was almost an hour late they only had 2 seats left one in the front and the very back which I had to take squeezed in between People that I didt know, nobody was wearing a mask there was no wiggle room at all, it was the worst bus ride I ever experienced, finally getting to the transfer point my daughter and I were able to sit together after breakfast and they split up the tours which they put us on the wrong bus but thankfully we realized after asking and they put us on the right bus we were able to sit together. The tour was ok we only got to do the Rio Celeste hike and the sloth Sanctuary. Rio Celeste was great, the sloth sanctuary I wasn't impressed with and we weren't able to do the llanos de Cortes waterfall because of the weather which I was very upset about. Jorge ws a great tour guide took us almost to the border of Nicaragua where we were able to feel the magnetic force of the Volcano.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hola Judi! You were staying in Huacas, about 20 minutes out from Tamarindo. Your estimated pick up time was 6:50 am, as we sent you, but as stated on the confirmation email, this is just an estimate and asks that you please give us up to a 20 minute window. We were there around 7:15 am, you called and said we were 30 minutes late, and wrote the review that it was almost an hour, which is false, we have a report of the time each customer was picked up. With shared tours, pick up times can vary and we do our best to be there at the estimated time. In Costa Rica, masks are no longer required, and on a shared tour is should be expected that you may have to sit next to people you do not know. For people that wish to have an exact pick up time from a certain location that do not want to sit next to people they do not know, we recommend our 'Private Guide and Transportation' option. As far as Llanos de Cortes Waterfall, it was indeed closed due to flooding and while unfortunate, it was something outside of our control. We are happy that you enjoyed the rest of the tour, as it is one of the best experiences in Costa Rica and we are extremely proud of our tour guides. Pura Vida!
star-5
Rio Celeste Jungle Tour- fun!
Johanna_D
, Jun 2022
Excellent experience. 2 hour drive to the park each way, friendly people, the waterfalls were beautiful, lunch was towards end of day and delicious. We saw monkeys, sloths (up high in trees), tropical birds. Definitely bring what is asked. Recommended!
star-5
Amazing tour
Ciara_T
, Jun 2022
Amazing tour! You see so many beautiful things, 2 waterfalls, frogs, sloths. What an wonderful experience! Our tour guide, Alejandro, was able to show us interesting plants and animals throughout the tour. I highly recommend this excursion!
star-3
The experience at the...
Jeremy_B
, Jun 2022
The experience at the waterfall, Rio Celeste and sloth sanctuary were between 4 and 5 stars. Río Celeste is magical. And, the variety of exotic animals at the sanctuary made for a fantastic experience. Unfortunately, rain put a bit of a damper on things. But, such is life in a rain forest 😊 However, the reason I rated the tour 3 stars is due to the driver. My driver sneezed several times and stopped at a pharmacy during the tour. However, he wasn’t wearing a mask. That evening, my throat was scratchy. I believe I caught a cold from him. I was sick the next day and basically lost 1-2 days of my vacation due to illness. Which is disappointing on vacation. I understand sometimes we have to work when we’re sick. However, I think drivers should wear a mask when they are sick… particularly in the age of COVId.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
The trip was great. Our...
David_F
, Jun 2022
The trip was great. Our guides were very helpful and knowledgeable. But what I didn’t like is that the trip was cut short. We never made it to the swimming under the waterfall. Several in the group spoke with our guide to end the trip early. My self and others weren’t happy about this. Even more so that we weren’t asked.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hola, maybe you misunderstood, but Llanos de Cortes waterfall was closed for swimming that day due to flooding. Please contact us for a partial refund of the tour.
star-5
Great mix of nature, wildlife, and food
Cintia_N
, Jun 2022
Wilmer and Jose were great--despite pouring rain during part of the hike--the waterfalls were stunning, seeing sloths in their natural habitat was a unique opportunity, and the lunch stop was delicious (including for vegans, they had rice, beans, avocado, salad, and plantains).
star-4
Too big of a group
Peter_v
, Jun 2022
It was 3 hours of being in the van with 17 other people. We have been split already but this new group with us has 19 people. That’s a lot when going on a hiking tour. It’s hard to hear the guide/ to see what everyone is trying to see. The views were cool and lunch was great but with it was a smaller group!
star-4
Waterfall sloth sanctuary
Donna_D
, Jun 2022
Rough start to the tour as the driver did not pick us up on time I recommend confirming pick up with Local tour company first. Seeing the beautiful waterfall and rainforest was awesome Once on the tour all was good Hugo our tour guide was terrific !! I would recommend this tour
star-3
Full price for half a tour
LloydandDiana_S
, May 2022
The guide, Hector, was 5-star helpful, conscientious, informative, and personable. The tour itself I'm giving 3 stars because we paid full fare for half a tour. The weather flooded Llanos del Cortez, which cannot be controlled by anyone, but the tour operators sold it knowing the risk, with no consideration or compensation for not fulfilling the transaction. All in all, I'd recommend Native's Way, but do not expect them to look out for you. Do your own research and decide if you are willing to pay full fare for what might amount to less than a full tour.
star-5
Rio Celeste family day
Carrie_S
, May 2022
Jorge was our guide and Paulo the driver took great care of us all day and ensured we had a safe and enjoyable day. The hike to the waterfall was challenging but totally worth it. The rainforest is beautiful and definitely something to experience. The sloth tour was lead by a very knowledgeable young max who k we right where to look and was so passionate about sharing his facts with us. The lunch was great- perfect service and beautiful scenery there. We missed the swimming due to it raining but felt like it was a full fun filled day regardless - would highly recommend this day trip to anyone visiting Costa Rica
star-1
I was very unhappy with...
Kassandra_V
, May 2022
I was very unhappy with our tour guy we had to leave early because we were extremely uncomfortable..
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Awesome trip!
Trisha_H
, May 2022
Tour was amazing, so many beautiful sights! HUGO WAS A GREAT TOUR GUIDE! The first waterfall was turquoise just like the photos, our guide took us to a little part where we can actually go into, you can not go into the water in the national park.
star-5
We had an amazing day!...
Dina_H
, May 2022
We had an amazing day! Jorge and Diego were terrific guides and drivers. The experience was perfect from beginning to end. We especially enjoyed the sloth sanctuary. We highly recommend this tour!
star-5
Amazing views! Enjoyed the beauty of Costa Rica
Erica_D
, May 2022
Breathtaking views! This was a great hike, loved the sloths and the local restaurant for lunch was great. Our guide Hector was knowledgeable and super friendly.
star-5
The best experience ever!!!
Manuel_H
, May 2022
This tour was amazing, you get to see Mother Nature in action. The color of the water in rio celeste is out of this world. Awesome trip.
star-4
Long day but worth it! Rainforest is must-see
Marcia_O
, May 2022
Really glad we made the trek to see the rainforest. The waterfall is just stunning. Hiking in the national park to reach the waterfall is not as rugged as it sounds...most of the way is a paved path. There are a lot of stairs down to the waterfall and, of course, back up from it (I think it was 253 stairs, over 500 round trip, with a place or two you can stop and catch your breath/take photos). The stairs stay wet so having some good tread on your shoes is helpful. Sloth sanctuary was fun. We saw several sloths way up high in the trees but they have these great tripod viewers so you can see them up close too. You can even put your phone up to it for pics. We saw tiny little frogs, a toucan plus other creatures, etc. It was beautiful and just down the road from the national park. Lunch was great and has a beautiful view of the volcano mountain w/ surrounding area. Then finished the day at the 2nd waterfall where you can get in the water if you want. Short path down to this waterfall. There's a place to change if you didn't wear your swimsuit or if you want dry clothes before heading home. The trip home was where things went awry. Our hotel was a bit off the beaten path so we were first to be picked up (5:45am) and of course last to be dropped off. There's a meet-up point on the way to/from where you join up with various other excursion groups. One of the groups was about an hour late returning. This made the long day way longer than it should have been. We weren't back at our hotel until after 8pm. It was worth it but really frustrating to be at the mercy of other tour groups, especially on top of the extra distance to our hotel. It would be nice if the pickup/dropoff order was reversed, especially given the circumstances of one tour mismanaging the return time.
star-5
Great experience
juan_c
, May 2022
Beautiful place. Our guide Jorge was great and very knowledgeable. Always eager to help with pictures. It was a great experience. The sloth Sanctuary was alsot could of been David, was also very good and enthusiastic about the sanctuary
star-5
A full day of adventure
Paul_F
, May 2022
We had a great guide in Gus who provided vast knowledge of the region and made sure we were having a good time.
star-5
So much fun!
Ainsley_G
, May 2022
So much fun! We had an amazing time! The waterfalls were beautiful, lunch was delicious, and we saw 3 sloths! One had a baby with her!! I would definitely recommend!!
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Rio Celeste Hiking, Sloth Sanctuary & Llanos de Cortes Waterfall Tour
Likely to Sell Out
Rio Celeste Hiking, Sloth Sanctuary & Llanos de Cortes Waterfall Tour

star-4.5286

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$135.00

star-4.575

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$46.16

star-422

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$135.00

star-00

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$353.85

star-4.552

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$130.00

star-4.541

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$60.00

star-57

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$180.00

star-53

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$61.54
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations