Recent Searches
Clear

Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch or Breakfast

star-4.5497 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Sydney, Australia
Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch or Breakfast
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Enjoy a whale-watching cruise that begins with a breakfast or barbecue lunch onboard the boat while in the calm waters of Sydney Harbour.  After breakfast or lunch, your boat glides past Sydney Head into the Pacific Ocean in search of the humpback and southern right whales that migrate along this coast from May to November. Keep an eye out for whales and dolphins as you learn about them from your naturalist guide, who provides fascinating commentary about Australian marine life during your tour.
  • Sydney Harbour sightseeing and whale-watching cruise
  • See top Sydney sights like the Opera House from the water
  • Watch for whales in the open water of the Pacific Ocean
  • Enjoy an onboard breakfast or BBQ lunch and listen to live commentary
  • Guaranteed whale sightings or enjoy a return cruise for free
  • Smaller numbers ensure a more comfortable whale-watching experience
Saved to wishlist!
BBQ buffet lunch or breakfast (depending on departure time selected)
Tea and Coffee
Live commentary on board
Humpback whale watching
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
Gratuities
Eastern Pontoon, Circular Quay , 7 Macquarie St, Sydney NSW 2000, Australia

Wharf 1, Eastern Pontoon, Eastern side of Circular Quay The pontoon is located in front of Searock Grill Restaurant Please check in 15-30 minutes before departure time

This activity will end right where it started.
Make your own way to King Street Wharf to board your whale-watching vessel. Numbers are restricted on this whale-watching cruise, allowing for ample elbow room in the cabin and on the outside decks of your boat.

Get comfortable and enjoy a buffet breakfast or barbecue lunch while gliding on the calm waters of Sydney Harbour. Take in landmark waterfront sights with great photo ops of Sydney Opera House, Sydney Harbour Bridge, and Fort Denison. After breakfast or lunch, your boat cruises past Sydney Heads, Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, and The Gap as it leaves the harbor and enters the Pacific Ocean.

From May to November, as many as 15,000 humpbacks and southern right whales pass by this stretch of Australian coast during their migration between Antarctica and the Great Barrier Reef. Typical whale behaviors that you might witness include breaching (jumping) out of the water, hitting the water’s surface with their tails and spouting as they surface. Your naturalist guide provides informative commentary about whales, dolphins and other marine life that you might see during your whale-watching cruise.

While sightings are almost guaranteed, wildlife is unpredictable. If your naturalist guide does not find any whales during your trip, you can return for a complimentary whale-watching cruise on another day.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Sydney Harbour Bridge
Once on board you will enjoy a scenic harbour cruise while enjoying a delicious meal. During this time you will take in all the iconic sites of Sydney
Duration: 45 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
Royal Botanic Garden Sydney
As you enjoy your lunch you will take in such sights the Botanic Gardens before heading out to the Whale Watching.
Pass By:  
Manly Beach
As you enjoy your lunch you will take in such sights Manly Beach before heading out to the Whale Watching.
Pass By:  
Sydney Harbour
As you enjoy your lunch you will take in all the sites of Sydney Harbour before heading out to the Whale Watching.
Pass By:  
Watsons Bay
As you enjoy your lunch you will take in such sights the the famous Watsons Bay before heading out to the Whale Watching.
Pass By:  
Oz Whale Watching
Oz Whale Watching 4 hour Cruise.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Seasonal product available from May to November
  • Please dress appropriately with comfortable shoes and warm clothing depending on the time of the year
  • Please bring a camera and sun protection
  • If you require motion sickness tablets please visit a pharmacy or seek advice prior to your cruise departure
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 96 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Sydney Princess Cruises
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch or Breakfast?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch or Breakfast.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch or Breakfast?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch or Breakfast.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Waters were rough, plan on taking seasickness medication before you are on the water or you will feed your breakfast to the whales." See review
  • "They suggest seasickness pills when you check in and that's a great suggestion, because it does get bumpy out there." See review
  • "The water was rough and chairs and tables were not safe." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
497 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 497 reviews
star-5
Saw whales!
David_L
, Aug 2022
We were headed back to dock when we finally spotted a whale but we spotted on or two and followed them for a bit! Good day!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hi David, We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review and we are so glad you have a great day and sighted whales! Sydney Princess Cruises Team
star-4
Fantastic
Trina_F
, Jul 2022
Seeing the whales and dolphins. The weather was perfect and other whale watchers friendly. Nothing more to say!
star-1
Cancelled
Rinta_R
, Jul 2022
Cancelled trip. Has not replied to my inquiry about the refund. They cancelled only the day before, had to scramble to make other plans
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Rinta, we apologise for not being able to operate the cruise. Unfortunately due to severe sea conditions this cruise had to be cancelled for the safety of both our guests and staff. All other Sydney whale watching operators also cancelled their cruises for this same day (Sunday 14 July). We endeavour to give as much notice as we can if we need to postpone a cruise due to sea conditions however as we monitor conditions daily we do need to act accordingly if there are any changes for the worse. A full refund was also issued.
star-1
Whales
Karina_M
, Jul 2022
We didn’t see any whales. The trip was too expensive without the whale watching. The food was not that great
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Hi Karina, We are very sorry to hear that whales were not sighted during your cruise. Unfortunately we cannot guarantee the sighting of wild animals however this is a very rare occurrence in whale watching season. Whenever whales are not sighted, we offer a free return cruise which is valid for three years. All bookings were contacted after the cruise with the instructions on how to rebook. Please send an email to info@sydneyprincesscruises.com.au and we can get this free cruise booked in for you!
star-1
Worst boat trip ever
Monica_P
, Jun 2022
The seas were so rough that most people on the boat vomited over and over again. The smells and sound of this was most unpleasant. We eventually fleetingly saw two dorsal fins in the distance and a minor part of a tail for no more that 2 sec. Many of us, including me had taken sea sickness tablets but few to the swells still got sick. Very disappointing experience after spending that money. The crew knew the seas were really high and should have cancelled the trip as other whale watching companies do in dangerous or rough conditions.
star-2
The boat was not designed for whale watching
Sarika_S
, Jun 2022
The most disappointing thing about this trip was the boat. It had very little space for outdoor viewing areas. The boat was not designed for whale watching at all. Also the trip is advertised as 4 hours, we were only out on the ocean whale watching for only 2 hours, the other 2 hours were delays getting on the boat and travelling slowly to and from the viewing areas (probably to try to keep the boat stable for lunch). On a positive note, we did follow a total of 7 whales and a bonus pod of dolphins that got incredibly close to the boat.
star-5
Simply amazing. The best.
Roslyn_D
, Jun 2022
This was a simply perfect event. The staff were so helpful and well organised; everything was done to provide a smooth and enjoyable experience. And seeing the whales was awesome. All was done to be respectful towards these beautiful creatures but they came up close and showed us just how majestic they are. It was a wonderful day.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Good morning.
Emma_L
, Jun 2022
I had a lovely day, the swell was interesting to say the least and many, including the other three of my party were susceptible to the conditions, regardless of taking travel calm prior to the excursion. A bit disappointing that the weather and the whales weren’t playing the game either, but we did see a few. Overall I had a great day, breakfast was good and the commentary was informative. The other three probably can’t say the same, I’ll go on my own next time!! Thanks.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Going out in rough seas,...
Jane_W
, Jun 2022
Going out in rough seas, when we shouldn't have, watching people throwing up around us and seeing terrified children crying their eyes out. Terrible
star-4
do it
Alberte_S
, Jun 2022
it was i good trip, the first 1,5 hours we didn’t se anything but for the last hour we followed one whale, which were amazing. the captain was very protective about it; didn’t scared it by speeding up, or hunted it down, the whale came to us, and almost touched the boat, that’s how close it came.
star-3
Whale watching - an Average experience
Sudhir_K
, May 2022
I would rate this an average experience for a couple of reasons. I understand that Whale watching is not like riding a speed boat for 15 minutes to get that adrenaline rush, so certain things are expected like spotting a whale in the open sea is an exhausting experience, it takes time and you cant get that national Geographic channel kind of view of the whales coming out of the water and jumping 50 feet over the water. What we could see is only the water fountain from its nostrils and its humpy back which would last for about 2 seconds max. and then it's the same repetition after regular intervals if the whale is still around. But it gets boring after the first few sightings. It's a good idea to mix it up with breakfast or lunch and have that extended 4 hr trip, but the excitement dies down after probably 2hrs. The food was disappointing and the boat was fully packed with at least 5 or 6 people at each table. It was quite congested as to the information provided on the website, where it claims to have ample space onboard for everyone to experience. The Staff members were good and the commentary on board the cruise was very informative. Somehow people were not very happy when the trip was over, I saw everyone was mostly sleepy or tired by the end of the trip. Though it's a great thing to have in Sydney, I suggest it should be limited to 2.5Hrs Max. People become seasick because of the pitching movement of the ship which makes the trip more uncomfortable for many. So in my opinion its a 3-star experience
star-5
Great experience
Anonymous
, May 2022
All round great day. Crew did an awesome job. We found whales and they put on a show. Lunch was really good and harbour and whale commentary informative. A few people didnt read the advice given in the booking confirmation and did not seek seasick medication before boarding. But the whales made up for everything. Highly recommend.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great afternoon of whale watching
Elizabeth_M
, May 2022
We really enjoyed this cruise. We enjoyed seeing the coast of the Harbor on the way out to the ocean. The crew gave us information about whales as we searched. The captain kept the boat near, but not too near, the whales after we spotted them. Important note - this cruise happens in the open ocean where the seas are rough…take the recommended dose of sea sick medicine! Many people were seasick in our cruise and missed the whales and dolphins!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Great cruise but take the nausea medication
Tony_B
, May 2022
First time going on a whale-watching excursion, so we had a great time. Seas can get a bit rough and I am glad that we arrived early to check-in so that they could remind us about getting some nausea medication. Even though I do not usually get seasick, I wanted to make the most of the trip so went ahead and took some as a precaution. By the time we made it out to sea about half of the ship was sick but thanks to the quick medication, we got to enjoy quite a few humpback whales and dolphins from the boat.
star-1
Nightmare
Riley_M
, May 2022
Everybody vomiting because they allowed the cruise to go out in rediculous swells because they were too greedy to cancel it. Everybody but 3 people where constantly throwing up for the entire 4 hours. Absolutely horrible experience and I want a refund.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Riley, Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback and write this review. We are very sorry to hear that you were seasick on this cruise. In all our pre departure information we highly recommend all guests to look into seasickness prevention measures due to the cruises going out into open water. Even on the calmest of days there is movement on the ocean. When sea conditions are severe we will postpone cruises in advance for the safety of our guests and crew. On the date of your cruise there were three different whale watching operators also out. We apologise again that this wasn't the experience you were hoping for. Kind regards, Sydney Princess Cruises.
star-1
A long winded email has...
Matthew_T
, May 2022
A long winded email has been sent to princess cruises they need to rectify this, worst experience on a vessel I’ve ever had at some point these things need addressing
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Matthew, Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback and write this review. We are very sorry to hear that yourself and family were sea sick. In all our pre departure information we highly recommend all guests to look into seasickness prevention measures due to the cruises going out into open water. Even on the calmest of days there is movement on the ocean. We apologise again that this wasn't the experience you were hoping for. Kind regards, Sydney Princess Cruises.
star-5
Great day out
Sarah_B
, Oct 2021
We loved the lunch cruise. Gorgeous views of our beautiful harbour , staff were very helpful and friendly and we saw lots of dolphins and whales !
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
First experience
Chunxia_J
, Oct 2021
It was a great experience for me and my family to observe the active whale. We also saw dolphin and seal.
star-3
Average at best
Jo_G
, May 2021
Small older boat with chairs incredibly close together. Nice upper deck area. Someone spoke for nearly the whole time but the speakers are of such poor quality that, over the engine noise, we only picked up a few words here and there. Food was lovely. Didn’t see any whales.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Hi jogreen, We are sorry to hear that you didn't get to see any whales. Hope to see you again and our crew will be doing there best to find you some whales next time.
star-5
Great tour with an excellent crew
Chris_J
, Aug 2020
This was an excellent trip. The crew are friendly and knowledgeable, and the vessel is relatively small so viewing the whales was easier than on bigger, more crowded boats. The lunch provided was simple and flavoursome. We had plenty of time “on station” once we left the harbour to see several dolphins and humpback whales up close. Thumbs up all round - I’d definitely join this team again for future whale-watching trips.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Morning Chris, I hope you are well. We are so happy to hear that you found our crew friendly and knowledgeable. It is great to hear you would give us a thumbs up all round and that you would come back on board with us and our team for future whale watching trips. Stay safe for now and we look forward to seeing you on board with us again in the near future!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch or Breakfast
Likely to Sell Out
Sydney Whale-Watching Cruise Including Lunch or Breakfast

star-4.5496

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$71.64

star-4.596

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$61.51

star-5217

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$86.12

star-3.511

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$50.61

star-4.510

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$177.30

star-516

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$50.66

star-4.5146

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$64.41

star-578

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$91.91

star-4.555

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$57.89
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations