Recent Searches
Clear

Skip-the-Line Pompeii Express Tour by Train from Sorrento

star-4.5228 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Sorrento, Italy
Skip-the-Line Pompeii Express Tour by Train from Sorrento

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
Professional English speaking guide
Guaranteed to skip the long lines
return train tickets
earphones for groups more than 15 people
Food and drinks
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Pompei entrance tickets (16€)
Piazza Giovanni Battista de Curtis , Piazza Giovanni Battista de Curtis, 80067 Sorrento NA, Italy

Customers are kindly invited to be at the Sorrento CIRCUMVESUVIANA TRAIN STATION by the Newsagent EDICOLA ERCOLANO, which is by the steps to the track not later than 9.30am.There they meet our assistant,wearing a red polo shirt, who gives them assistance

9:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • not recommended for travelers with other serious medical conditions
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Belmare Travel srl
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Skip-the-Line Pompeii Express Tour by Train from Sorrento?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Skip-the-Line Pompeii Express Tour by Train from Sorrento.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Skip-the-Line Pompeii Express Tour by Train from Sorrento?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Skip-the-Line Pompeii Express Tour by Train from Sorrento.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "The train was not airconditioned but this was not problem at 23C in late Oct but it would be uncomfortable in mid summer with many more tourists." See review
  • "We had to stand, but if you get there a little earlier, you are much more likely to find a seat, since the train sits there for a while before leaving." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
228 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 228 reviews
star-4
Very good tour with Josie
David_H
, Jun 2022
Our guide, Josie, was really good and knowledgeable. Tour meets at the train station, ride together to Pompeii, get the guided tour for 2 hours, and when it's done you can either stay and look some more at your own pace, or leave with the guide. Either way, you have your own return train ticket, so it is very easy. If you're only doing the tour to "skip the line", I'm not sure you need it -- I didn't see any line at all at the ticket booth. But the tour itself is very good, and then you still get to go at your own pace afterwards if you wish. (And all of the logistics are taken care of). I'd recommend this tour.
star-4
Tiring 2 hours
Alan_A
, Jun 2022
The brothels and the frescos. Tour guide Josie was very good and informative in the limited time. Staying in pompeii after the tour we saw some interesting parts that were not included in the tour due to time schedule.
star-5
Guides were amazing! Gino...
Grace_M
, Jun 2022
Guides were amazing! Gino our tour guide was the best tour guide I’ve ever had! They made sure we got on the train and off but also looked out that we were all together at the park
star-5
Excellent experience. Both Amelia and Gino were very impressive and informative.
Patricia_S
, Jun 2022
Gino the experienced tour guide made all the difference to our tour with his excellent information and sense of humour!
star-5
Great guide with loads of information and interesting information
Robin_M
, Jun 2022
Great and interesting information amazing remains and great guide with super information and very knowledgeable
star-5
Impressive
Christine_S
, Jun 2022
Gino was a fabulous guide, he was very knowledgeable, funny and moved us through the tour well under the hot sun!
star-1
Hello, we weren't able to...
beth
, Jun 2022
Hello, we weren't able to attend because our cruise ship had to change ports from Sorrento to Amalfi. I was in contact with the tour guide to let them know our situation and asked if we could get a credit toward another tour since it was not our fault. They said we could not get a refund or credit. We have 6 more days on the cruise and would definitely be interested in booking a different tour in another port if we were given some credit for a situation out of our control.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear beth, we are always very helpful to our customers, but the first time I personally heard from you it was Saturday morning when I called you on the contact number you provided to check where you were, as the train was leaving.No reply, just an automatic voice message. I left you a message. I also sent you a txt. Only at that time you replied and said you had the problem with the boat. By the way I offered you to go another day,besides it was beyond the cancellations terms, but you declined We accept your 1 star review, but this's not fair. Kind Regards Fatima Belmare Travel
star-3
Awesome Family memories
Darren_L
, Jun 2022
The Guide was first class and great fun. The heat destroyed my experience, but that is my problem. Will revisit in cooler months.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Darren_L thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad to hear that the tour and the guide were first class, but we cannot control the hot weather. We hope to see you on your next Holidays, but in April or October. That will be better fopr you. Kind Regards Fatima
star-5
Excellent
Sarah_R
, Jun 2022
Gino our tour guide was fantastic. Great sense of humour and very engaging. He was extremely informative and looked after us brilliantly. Would highly recommend .
star-5
Excellent tour, highly recommended
valeriegoodman75
, Jun 2022
This tour was extremely well organised, highly enjoyable and excellent value for money. Our guide Geno, was very informative, giving us a wonderful introduction to Pompeii and its history. Highly recommended.
star-5
Informative tour
Marla_S
, Jun 2022
Josey was an excellent guide. She targeted the highlights of this large city and was very knowledgeable.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Perfect half-day excursion to Pompeii from Sorrento
Melissa_M
, Jun 2022
We only had a short time in the area, so we were looking for a way to see highlights of Pompeii from Sorrento without excessive investment of money or time. We were nervous about taking the Circumvesuviana on our own and wasting time getting our bearings at Pompeii, so this trip fit the bill. We were there extra early and finding the tour group in front of the train station was easy, they gave us our tickets and then we waited acrosss the street in the shade. Our guide Geno was the best, knowledgeable and personable, and gave an informative, fun and efficient two-hour tour. He was also able to gently but firmly control the more rambunctious members of our group as well as the line-cutters at the narrow passageway to view the brothel (and he spoke to them in several languages), helping to make the morning more pleasant for all. Sorrento is the beginning and end of the train line, and since we were there early, and on a Saturday morning, we were able to find seats both ways on the train. Tips: Wear comfortable clothes and sturdy hiking shoes with traction, as the site is cobblestone and a hike up a cobblestone hill begins the visit. There is a quick stop after you arrive while the guide purchases tickets, when you can use the rest room and purchase water and snacks. We bought a large frozen bottle of water from the vendor across the street, which is highly recommended on a hot day. There are obnoxious vendors calling out to you on the street leading up to the site, but follow the guide and wait until you get there to purchase anything. Overall fantastic experience and a great value.
star-5
Pompeii
Dave_H
, May 2022
Did the two hour tour, from Sorrento train station, very well organised and clear instructions. Geno the tour guide was superb, his knowledge of the site and the history was excellent, a very nice chap, cheers
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Ciao Dave_H Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience on our 'Pompei Express' tour! Visiting Pompei is an amazing experience!.Our guides are professional and experts in their knowledge Best wishes to you from Fatima at Belmare Travel.
star-5
Pompeii
Laura_M
, May 2022
Amazing to think how old the story of Pompeii is and that they are still excavating. Also, great that they are leaving excavation work for future generations. An incredible experience that will stay with us. Our guide was excellent, personable, and extremely knowledgeable. Thank you for sharing your knowledge.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Ciao Laura_M Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience on our 'Pompei Express' tour! Visiting Pompei is an amazing experience!.Our guides are professional and experts in their knowledge Best wishes to you from Fatima at Belmare Travel.
star-5
Great trip
Geoff_K
, May 2022
Great informative trip with our guide Gino. He made it fun and educational well worth it. Glad we didn’t just do the tour in our own.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
CiaoGeoff_K Thank you so much for your lovely 5 Star review & recommendation of our "skip the line Pompei Express tour by train"! It is so nice reading how much you appreciated our tour and our guide.Thank you. We hope to see you on your next trip to Sorrento. Best regards from Fatima at Belmare Travel
star-5
Fascinating and Informative
paul_r
, May 2022
Most excellent guide Gino - very informative and a great experience! Small group was much better and the level of Ginos knowledge was outstanding - would highly recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi again paul_r thank you for your 5 star review and recommendation of our "Skip-the-Line Pompeii Express Tour by Train from Sorrento. It is nice when customers appreciate the efforts we make to organize a good tour.Gino is really one of the best guides in the area. We hope to see you on your next holiday. Kind Regards from Fatima at Belmare Travel
star-5
Geno is the Man
Michael_P
, May 2022
To start, Geno the tour guide was the absolute man. He moved around Pompeii effortlessly and through crowds, and his tours all go with the flow of traffic. He stops to point out things in less busy areas. For example. MOST of the structures in Pompeii are a shop, a bar or a house. So he utilized less populated areas to show us these things in more detail. The big attractions is where Geno truly shined. The mosaics, the brothel. They are basically lines of people all trying to see it. Non groups try and cut their way to the front, and act ignorant as if they don't understand what people are saying to them. Well when you speak Italian, English, French, Spanish and German good luck getting by him. He was a wealth of information, and also does a double trip to Hericleum which we did solo but I wish we had him there. Great tour, and very easy to get set up and ready to go at the train
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Michael_P thank you so much for your lovely 5 Star review & recommendation of our “Skip the line Pompei Express Tour by Train “. It’s nice you tell us how highly organised is our tour & how professional and knowledged is our guide Gino.Thank you We hope to see you on your next trip to Italy. Best wishes, from Fatima at Belmare Travel
star-5
Must Do Tour
Laura_H
, May 2022
This is a great tour and highly recommended. Our guide, Gino, was extremely knowledgeable and taught us many things I didn’t know previously. I believe he was involved in the excavation that has taken place in recent years. Personable guy too with a sense of humor.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Ciao Laura_H Thank you for sharing such a wonderful feedback! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our Skip-the-Line Pompeii Express Tour by Train ! Your detailed feedback is very much appreciated We hope to see you on your next trip to Italy. Best wishes, from us all at Bemare Travel
star-5
Train journey a good way...
Mari_R
, May 2022
Train journey a good way to travel from Sorrento to Pompeii as station just outside the entrance to the famous site. Gino our guide was informative and humorous and very willing to answer any questions. Would highly recommend as good value for money.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Mari_R Thank you for your 5 star review & recommendation of our “Skip the line Pompei Express Tour by Train“. Nothing could make us happier than reading your wonderful feedback.Gino, is a very knowledged guide and we are glad you appreciated him. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you on your next trip to Sorrento. Best regards Fatima / Belmare Travel
star-5
Excellent guide
Dragana_F
, May 2022
Very knowledgeable guide with great sense of humor. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Would highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Ciao Dragana_F Thank you so much for your lovely 5 Star review & recommendation of our "skip the line Pompei Express tour by train"! It is so nice reading how much you appreciated our tour and our guide.Thank you. We hope to see you on your next trip to Sorrento. Best regards from Fatima at Belmare Travel Show less

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Skip-the-Line Pompeii Express Tour by Train from Sorrento
Skip-the-Line Pompeii Express Tour by Train from Sorrento

star-4.5228

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$22.48

star-4.521

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$26.76

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$64.23

star-4.52

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$58.88

star-4.569

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$73.86

star-55

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$123.11

star-41

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$74.93

star-00

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$101.70
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations