Recent Searches
Clear

Savannah Civil War Guided Walking History Tour

|
Savannah, United States
Savannah Civil War Guided Walking History Tour
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Travel back in time to Savannah’s Civil War era on this guided walking tour. Take a leisurely stroll through the Savannah Historic District, one of the largest National Historic Landmark Districts in the US. See the houses of the south’s most famous generals and visit the buildings from the war years of the 1860s. Listen as an expert guide speaks of the town’s storied past, its military strategies and the Confederate States’ place in the war. It’s a great tour for history and Civil War buffs alike.
  • Guided Civil War walking tour of Savannah
  • Explore the Savannah Historic District, one of the largest National Historic Landmark Districts in the US
  • Pass the houses of the South's most prominent generals
  • Learn about the Confederate states' role in the Civil War
  • Hear stories about Savannah's military strategies and civilian hardships
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
History of Savannah's role in the Civil War
Small Group experience
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off
22 Habersham St , 22 Habersham St, Savannah, GA 31401, USA

In the middle of Warren Square, at the intersection of Congress St. and Habersham St.

14 W Macon St , 14 W Macon St, Savannah, GA 31401, USA

The tour ends at The Green-Meldrium home also known as Sherman's headquarters, located on the west side of Madison Square, at the intersection of Bull and Harris St.

This educational and entertaining walking tour of the Savannah Historic District begins at Warren Square, where you will meet your guide and group.

The Savannah Historic District was the center of colonial government in the 1700s. It was where the first reading of the Declaration of Independence took place in Georgia. Much of the town’s historically significant buildings are located here, in one of the largest National Historic Landmark Districts in the US.

For Savannah, the Civil War began in January of 1860, with the seizing of Fort Pulaski by Georgian troops. It preceded the attack on Fort Sumter in Charleston, often-recognized official start of the war, by three months.

Learn about Savannah’s role in the Civil War, the military strategies of the north and the south and how the locals dealt with the many hardships during this time of tribulation in the south. See the houses of the South’s most famous generals and marvel at the architecture that was present during the Civil War era.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Warren Square
"I beg to present you, as a Christmas gift, the city of Savannah....". So reads the opening lines of General Sherman's telegram to President Lincoln on December 22, 1864, after the occupation of Savannah. See Civil War era Savannah and the houses and buildings involved in the conflict. You'll hear about the strategies of both sides and learn how Savannahians endured the hardships of The War. This tour begins in Warren Square and ends at The Green-Meldrium house, which is the home where Sherman was invited to stay and penned his famous missive.
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund.
  • Comfortable shoes are recommended
  • Pets welcome
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Savannah Walks
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Savannah Civil War Guided Walking History Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Savannah Civil War Guided Walking History Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Savannah Civil War Guided Walking History Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Savannah Civil War Guided Walking History Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.0
star-4
193 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 193 reviews
star-5
Fun facts in savannah
Sherwood_S
, May 2022
Very entertaining and fun. Bring water! It can be hot and humid this time of year. Lots of cool history to see
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for the review!
star-5
Really enjoyable, historic and educational.
Shawn_S
, Apr 2022
It was an excellent blend of Savannah and civil war history. Guide was amazing and enjoyable. Actually seeing historical places and hearing about facts and people from a local perspective make this a must do!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you so much for the review! Your experience is exactly what we strive to achieve on the Civil War tour!!
star-5
Great tour, loved Savannah
Grace_L
, Mar 2022
Enjoyed the parts by the waterfront, pointing out civil war info , good pace, right size group. Guide very knowledgeable
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you for the wonderful review! We certainly hope you’ll come back and visit Savannah again!!
star-5
Interesting and informative
Sandra_M
, Feb 2022
Learning about the Old Pink House and the history of the Cemetary. Seeing all of the old architectureof the city.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you so much for the review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the Civil War tour!!!
star-2
did not meet expectations
Bonnie_P
, Jan 2022
I had been recommended this tour from my parents who loved it and had an extremely informative experience concerning the civil war with tour guide Kelsi. We did not have the same tour guide unfortunately and had a completely different tour guide. Three things about the civil war even mentioned in the entire hour and a half, and these were brief (abes on lincoln pub, Margaret house, and colonial cemetery where Union troops housed horses). Cotton, slavery, battle strategies, the riverfront area, president Lincoln, the status of Savannah during the civil war were not once mentioned. This would've been a great tour if it had a different title, such as general walking historic tour of Savannah instead. I just saw all the other poor reviews and agree with them, wish I had looked ahead of time. We learned more about the civil war from our st. bonventure cemetery tour through Dash Tours with Timothy Rowell which I highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
We are terribly sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy the War tour. The guide who trained Kelse to give the tour is the same guide who gave your tour! We have been giving the War tour daily for well over 25 years and it has always received great reviews. The few reviews you are referring to are absolutely absurd and were absurd when the reviews were written and sadly there is a lot of unbridled ignorance when it comes to the War. There is only so much a guide can cover in a 1.5 hour tour but we do offer private tours for those that want to dig in deeper than most care to or have time to. Especially on busy holiday weekends. If you’re in the area again, we’d be glad to offer you a private tour complimentary. Simply text us and we’ll set up the reservation!
star-3
Don't get me wrong, the...
MarieJosee_G
, Dec 2021
Don't get me wrong, the Guide was very nice. Seemed knowledgeable for the most part . There was only 2 of us in the group. Being Canadian I didn't know much at all about the civil war....guide couldn't remember the name of the Confederate guide opposing Sherman in Savannah....hope it was just a memory fart.....
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you for your review. It appears you had a nice private tour! In a detailed tour like the Civil War tour it isn’t unusual to forget a name or a date. Especially when there are dozens of names and dates given on a tour but total recall isn’t always possible. I seem to always forget Francis Barton’s name on the history tour! There are days when all guides wish they had notecards and a teleprompter like the President has!
star-2
Your guide could not...
Paul_C
, Nov 2021
Your guide could not focus on the topic. Pleasant with some suppressed anger at loud trucks wherein he would stop and wait for the noise to pass. Highly tangential if he only had an outline to follow he’d be brilliant
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
In the walking tour industry, loud trucks and leaf blowers can be very distracting and can compromise the quality of a tour. Your guide cares deeply for the quality of his tour and did the very best job possible under the circumstances. According to further review, the other guests on the tour had a wonderful experience. We are saddened that you did not have a similar experience. But we do thank you for your patience, feedback, and understanding!
star-5
Savannah survives and thrives
Catherine_M
, Oct 2021
This tour covers the history of the city, the local personalities, hauntings, life during wartime and Nature’s effect on the city’s history, all while enjoying the architecture and beauty of the squares of Savannah. We’ll researched, wonderful!!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you for the kind review!! It was such a pleasure having you on the tour!!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
It’s all about the guide
Jasyon_M
, Oct 2021
Beautiful city and weather, however the tour did not quiet meet basic expectations. Not a lot of personality with guide nor knowledge and fun facts or stories to help the walking tour seem worth it.. could have googled the site and walked it on our own.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
If you had stayed for the duration of the tour, you would have visited 19 points of Civil War interest including a confiscated map in possession of the Confederate Army but on some one else’s wall. But you chose to leave early. ☹️
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Recommend this to everyone interested in Savannah history!
Connie_L
, Oct 2021
Abe’s on Lincoln backstory! Wow! I enjoyed the details shared of the Cotton exchange, it’s facade and the cemetery.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you for your kind review! It was such a pleasure to share Savannah’s unique Civil War history with you!!
star-5
Civil War Tour
Sarah_K
, Sep 2021
We had a great and super informative tour of the Civil War and history of beautiful Savannah. Our guide was awesome. Unfortunately, I had a health issue and had to leave the tour about 30 mins early. Our guide was caring and compassionate. Would recommend!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are delighted you enjoyed the War tour and we hope you are recuperating and feeling better!!
star-1
Don't Waste your money!
Justin_O
, Sep 2021
Unfortunately, we didn't have a very knowledgeable tour guide. He seemed to be more focused on talking about himself growing up in Savannah, then leaving and traveling around the US. Also, was bashing the current president. I'm not a fan myself, but his personal political views have nothing to do with the Civil War. Also, was obsessed with talking about Dogs eyes falling out (super strange)? We were expecting civil war facts and he didn't seem to know many. The most disappointing part of the whole experience was him leaving us 3 miles from where we began the tour! We have NEVER been to Savannah before and had to figure out how to get back to where we started! What kind of tour doesn't end where it started? Totally ridiculous and would NOT recommend this tour and we personally feel the guide should be fired and we should get a full refund!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Justin Omlie, Your guide gave you the same War tour that we have given since 1995. Not the woke version, but the version people have come to expect for 25 years. Your guide did touch on yellow fever on the tour as it was a problem during the War. Humans and dogs both contracted the disease and he was describing the symptoms. He ended the tour at the Green Meldrium home. Sherman’s headquarters. 4 blocks from the meeting location. Not 3 miles. Finally, your guide responded about the current president when the guide was asked about Georgia being a red state. Perhaps you should stick to the trolley tours!!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great tour.
Coralee_P
, Aug 2021
Brad was our tour guide. He did an excellent job. Gave us information that was relatively new to us( being Northerners). I am a retired teacher, so I appreciated the way he explained the history of Savannah. Very good details about the Civil War. I would highly recommend this tour. In fact, we had done a ghost tour, which we could have skipped as Brad gave us some of the same information. Loved this tour.
star-5
SCWT
David_K
, Jul 2021
Great guide! Very knowledgeable! Went above and beyond with more information. Definitely worth the time!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you so much for your War tour review!
star-2
So-So
Kristina_S
, Jul 2021
It was a little disappointing how little the Civil War was talked about. I think there was 2 references and the rest am was about the revolutionary war. It was extremely difficult to hear our tour guide at times and we were standing right in front of him. He was trying to project his voice, but it’s impossible with all the traffic noise:
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for the review. For the past 25 years our Civil War tour has been our most popular tour. Each guide covers all of the sights pertinent to the Civil War and will add other interesting tidbits about Savannah’s rich history including the Revolutionary war as opportunity permits. In regard to hearing, each guide does their best to address the group in the quietest locations. Whether it be a Square or on a street corner. We always ask before a tour starts that any guest who fails to hear something a guide said to ask them to repeat it. That will be more than happy to do so!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Fun history tour
Steven_L
, Jun 2021
Although not really a “civil war” tour, the walk was very good and the guide was excellent and knowledgeable. Highly recommended.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you for the review. Your guide included all the Civil War history including a stop in Vic’s on the River to see the Yankee map. The Civil War tour has been a Travel Channel favorite for over 20 years!
star-5
Would recommend
Julie
, Jun 2021
I really enjoyed this tour! Lawlesse gave us a lot of interesting facts around town and I loved getting so much history.
star-2
Disappointed
Thomas_L
, Jun 2021
We were disappointed in our tour. We were asked to be there early enough to check in. The only one that wasn't on time was our guide who also showed up in a dirty t-shirt - not what we expected in Savannah (saw other guides more appropriately dressed). We received more information on our Hop-on Hop-off tour.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Your guide showed up properly dressed and we contacted you and told you he would be a couple minutes late due to a funeral at the Catholic Cemetery and the residual traffic. A company shirt with khaki shorts and tennis shoes is appropriate dress in Savannah in the summertime when the temp exceeds 105 degree heat index. Out of curiosity, I checked his t-shirt and it smelled like Tide and Snuggle fabric softener. A hop-on-hop off tour is a scripted tour where you look at the back of the guide’s head foe an hour and a half. That is not the case in this walking experience. It’s been a Travel Channel favorite for well over 20 years.
star-1
Don’t waste time or money on this
Mark_P
, Jun 2021
The guide could not put a coherent thought or sentence together. The information had little to do with the civil war. He told us a random thought that included the titanic that he said sank in 1918ish. We walked away after the third stop. Don’t waste your money, wish we could get a refund.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Are you sure you took our tour? There is nothing here that suggests you did. Our War guise has been a Travel Channel favorite for over 25 years. We will ask TripAdvisor to review this questionable review
star-3
Average- not worth price
kaye_m
, Jun 2021
Tour was ok, guide was very nice & seemed to be very knowledgeable about the history. When booking I thought we would actually get to visit a museum or something for the price we paid. One recommendation is giving guide a microphone of some sort so people can hear them over top of the noisey traffic because we couldn’t hear half of what he said. Lastly we we arrived on time without issue but guide made us wait for 30 minutes so 2 others could join because they were running late and was from some big company. Sorry but don’t think our time should have been discarded like it was no big deal. Won’t use company again for a tour.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you for the review! The Civil War tour doesn’t visit any specific destinations but your guide did take you in a Cotton Warehouse to see a Circa 1865 map drawn by the Union Army and the Colonial Park Cemetery. He did wait 10 min for two guests who arrived to the tour late but it didn’t stop him from covering all the material and allowed him to give the background history of Savannah. Microphones are not allowed by city ordinance but guides are more than able to project their voices regardless of noise conditions. The Civil War tour has been a Travel Channel favorite since 1995! We are sad that you didn’t find it as amazing as the many guests who have come before you!!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Savannah Civil War Guided Walking History Tour
Likely to Sell Out
Savannah Civil War Guided Walking History Tour

star-4193

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$24.99

star-5198

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$30.77

star-4.5298

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$24.99

star-4.541

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$35.00

star-5668

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$25.65

star-519

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$34.00

star-51187

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$25.65

star-5612

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$32.10

star-5296

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$25.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations