Recent Searches
Clear

Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour

star-4.5170 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Salem, United States
Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 30 minutes  (Approx.)
iconOffered in: English

Overview

The Salem Witch Trails was a period in history that is misunderstood easily. On this walking tour, follow a guide to main sites such as the witchcraft memorial and courthouse, as you hear stories from accusers and victims to gain a better understanding yourself. Plus, this Salem walking tour starts in the late afternoon leaving you plenty of time to fill up the rest of your day with activities.
  • Get closer to sights in Salem by exploring the city on foot
  • A guide knows the best spots to see in order to get the most out of your visit
  • Hear personal stories of actual accusers and victims of the Salem Witch Trials
  • A convenient meeting spot for this Salem tour makes it easy to get started
Saved to wishlist!
90-minute Salem Witchcraft Walking Tour
Local and Professional Guide
Gain detailed insight into the infamous 1692 Salem Witch Trials
Gratuities
Hotel Pick-Up/Drop-Off
Parking

Departure Point

8 Central St, Salem, MA 01970, USA

4pm Tour Departure Point: Salem Historical Tours office at 8 Central Street. (part of the pedestrian walkway downtown at the corner of Essex and Central Street). Address: Salem Historical Tours 8 Central Street, Salem, MA 01970 Return point: Returns to downtown area. Guide can direct you to where you want to go. *Please plan to check in 15-20 minutes prior to your tour. **Please call office at 978.745.0666 if there are any questions on where to meet.

Return Details

Salem, MA, USA

Return point: Returns to downtown area. Guide can direct you to where you want to go.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Tours depart at 4pm. Please plan to arrive 15-20 minutes prior to your tour. Check in at Salem Historical Tours Office at 8 Central Street, Salem, MA.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Please be advised that the state of Massachusetts and the City of Salem are requiring masks to enter business establishments. You will not be able to enter our business without a mask or face covering. Until further notice, a mask or face covering will be required on tours since we will not be able to stay six feet away from each other. Salem Historical Tours LLC reserves the right to deny service to anyone refusing to wear a mask or face covering. This requirement is subject to change based on orders by the state and the city.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Salem Historical Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
See all safety measures taken by Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
170 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 170 reviews
star-5
So so
Martha_R
, Nov 2021
Guide was good, kept u interested ... Historically informative. Gift shop kind of bla.. n small not much variety
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thank for the review. We're glad you enjoyed the tour. Our expertise is more in historical tours than gifts. Our gift shop does offer a variety of t-shirts, mugs ,bags ,and other unique gifts for purchase.
star-5
Insightful witch tour
Nicole_A
, Nov 2021
Great tour. Tour guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the Salem witch trials. The tour itself doesn’t really have too many stops at the historical houses but well worth it for the information about the history.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thank you for the review we're glad you had a great time! We wish we could go into the historical places as well. Please come back again soon!
star-5
Even in the rain our...
Carson_M
, Nov 2021
Even in the rain our experience was wonderful and exciting. Lots of details, lots of stories, it was so enjoyable. Thank you!
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thank you so much for a great review! We're glad to hear you had a great time even braving the New England elements. Hope to see you again soon!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great tour for Halloween!
Delaney_J
, Nov 2021
Our tour guide, Bob, was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable. I learned a lot on this tour. Would recommend doing this earlier in the day before you walk around a lot because this tour is a lot of standing/walking!
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thank you so much. We're glad you enjoyed the tour. Bob does an incredible job. He's spooky and has great stories.
star-1
Worst tour guide ever.
Jenelle_E
, Nov 2021
We ended up ditching the tour after 30 minutes. The tour guide didn’t share any history details about the witch trials but force feed us his political views on his dislike for religion, the people of Salem and Massachusetts in general. He took us into smelly dirty allies and in the 30 min we literally walked in a circle.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Our witchcraft history tour deals with what happened in Salem. How it started and ended with stories of people and incidents in between. We do not get into politics. We discuss the religion of the time. We go to several places. The alley is where the first church was located. We also go to the court, Judge's locations, Corey pressing site, Bridget Bishop's location and more if there is time.
star-5
Great Experience
Lexi_Y
, Nov 2021
Our tour guide was hilarious and an absolute joy to be around. John was amazing. My husband and I very much enjoyed all the history we learned and how it was told.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thank you so much. We're glad you enjoyed the tour. Our guides do an amazing job.
star-2
Eh
Shelby_M
, Oct 2021
We had 48 people in our group. It was just way to big and couldn't even hear the tour guide. Wasn't a good or fun experience at all.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
All the tours go out with 50 or more people and we try to go out with less. However, this one unfortunately had more people. But the guide uses an amplifier so everyone can hear
star-1
I want a refund-Paul White
Paul_W
, Oct 2021
I went on the 4 pm 10/28/21 1692 Salem witch trails tour. It was poorly handled by the guide. Her presentation was scattered, she gave very little info, and she allowed the presentation to be taken over by a 7 year older kid that asked endless questions about witches. We didn’t even walk thru the cemetery like other tours, only outside it.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
This tour has achieved the Badge of Excellence from Trip Advisor and is head and shoulders above the other tours in the city. It is a deep dive into the facts of the witchcraft trials of 1692. The tour does not go in the cemetery because there is no real witchcraft history significance to the cemetery. We encourage questions about the trials from a guest whether they are 7- or 70-years-old. And asking questions about witches seems appropriate on this tour.
star-1
Horrible experience
Maegan_S
, Oct 2021
My trip was a disaster. I missed 2 of the tours I paid for because there wasn't any good directions on where we had to go. The dates weren't on the page so I paid for 2 tickets that didn't even start till next week all together I lost over 200 in tickets not used cause there was poor directions.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Our address is on the voucher at the very top of the page . and every page of our website. Your name is at the top too. All the details are in the voucher. A quick google search can find our location easy enough.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
James aka Jeff was very...
Alicia_Y
, Oct 2021
James aka Jeff was very informative! We enjoyed our guided tour through the city, while learning the history of the town .

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour
Salem Witch Trials Historical Walking Tour

star-4.5170

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$25.00

star-585

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$26.00

star-4.516

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$18.00

star-5541

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$30.00

star-529

1 hour 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$25.00

star-32

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$18.00

star-4.511

45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$70.00

star-5317

5 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$20.00

star-523

45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$70.00

Explore Similar Things to Do