Recent Searches
Clear

Saint John Walking Tour

star-4.513 Reviews
|
Saint John, Canada
Saint John Walking Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon2 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Explore the historic architecture and charming atmosphere of St. John during this walking tour. Travel 1.5 miles (2.4 kilometers) with a nationally-certified guide as you discover the city’s bustling market, tour its collection of Victorian-era structures, and check out highlights including Trinity Church, the 225th Anniversary Clock, the Policeman’s Museum, and more.
  • Explore the historic highlights of St. John on a city walking tour
  • Walk through 1.5 miles (2.4 kilometers) of historic Saint John
  • Visit King Street, which is home to one of the largest collections of Victorian architecture in Canada
  • Tour Saint John highlights like Trinity Church and King's Square
  • See Saint John's 225th Anniversary Clock and Barbour's General Store
  • Great way to get a more intimate look at Saint John
Saved to wishlist!
Port pickup
Hotel pickup (selected hotels only)
Headsets to hear the guide clearly
Food and drinks
Drinks

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered

Ports

  • Marco Polo Cruise Terminal, 111 Water St, Saint John, NB E2L 0B1, Canada


Discover Saint John and experience a city that has evolved with time, yet still keeps its unique character. Your tour guide will show you the many sights that Saint John has to offer while explaining the city's rich past and current challenges.

Meet your guide one hour after your ship’s arrival at 100 Water Street, a meeting point within walking distance of the cruise port.

You’ll start the exploration by following your guide to Prince William Street. This well-known strip, once considered the “Wall Street of Canada” has long been known to have one of the best collections of Victorian-era architecture in the country. Proceed down King Street to Market Slip, a site where Loyalist settlers from the United States first arrived in the late 18th century. Also along King Street are the 225th Anniversary Clock, Barbour’s General Store, and the Policeman’s Museum.

Continue past Trinity Church, a religious structure built in Gothic style, and head to King’s Square to to visit an authentic 19th-century country general store. This square is a leafy green space covered in elm trees and begonias is also home to the Imperial Theatre from 1913 and one of the world’s only two-tiered bandstands. Leave the square and continue to City Market, a center of commerce that survived a large fire in 1877.

You’ll finish your excursion back at your original starting point.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Freedom Tours by Maritime Travel
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
13 Reviews
3 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-9 of 13 reviews
star-5
Guide was knowledgeable, personable and enjoyable to be with
Bruce_M
, Sep 2021
Our tour guide was knowledgeable, answered our many questions and clearly enjoyed what he was doing.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you glad you enjoyed ART
star-5
This was a great tour by Art, a retired school teacher and native to St. John.
Judith_C
, Sep 2021
Art was enthusiastic and accommodating. His grasp of local history was terrific. Our only regret is that we forgot to offer him a tip!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
We love him too, he will give you a great tour
star-5
Great little tour!
JoshandLynne
, Oct 2019
Art was our tour guide. We were late and so we had a personal tour (3 of us) with him. Very knowledgeable, very nice, lots of stories and anecdotes!
star-5
We took a really well paced walking...
Scott F
, Oct 2017
We took a really well paced walking tour of Saint John with Byron. He took us past places of interest, pointed out various architectural styles and brought it all around by connecting the history with all we saw. Interesting, informative and with the perfect drop off at the city market. Loved it! Byron was pretty great as a guide. Our family of four highly recommends!
star-5
Our tour guide was very...
Sandy S
, Oct 2017
Our tour guide was very knowledgeable with short humorous stories about the history of Quebec City. Viator tours are the best bet no matter where you are!
star-5
Our guide was very well informed and it...
Linda E
, Sep 2017
Our guide was very well informed and it was easy to note how much he loved his city.
star-5
This tour was just as we...
Raymond B
, Sep 2017
This tour was just as we anticipated. Our guide, Willow, was a wealth of knowledge about the history of St. John.
star-5
A very interesting tour of downtown...
Ron B
, Aug 2017
A very interesting tour of downtown St John. Historical information was provided that brought to light the quite amazing history of the city, including the 1877 fire that destroyed 90 of the city. Our guide answered our questions, and if we asked one where he was not sure of the correct answer, he told us so. The tour was well worth while.
star-4
It was easy to find our tour. The...
karen
, Jul 2017
It was easy to find our tour. The directions were very clear. We had the best tour guide. His name was Dave and he has even written a book about Saint John. He was very accommodating. The town itself isn't as exciting as some other places we have been. We mostly looked at buildings and talked about the history of the town. We did end in the Market Place. The only down side which had nothing to do with the tour or Dave, was that for this native Californian, it was so cold! It distracted me a bit from the tour. Our tour was at 8:00am. Maybe later in the day when it is warmer.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Saint John Walking Tour
Saint John Walking Tour

star-4.513

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$41.36

star-4.538

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$91.00

star-00

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$45.66

star-56

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.16

star-4.52

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$165.06

star-00

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$550.00

Explore Similar Things to Do