Recent Searches

Northern Lights Wilderness Small-Group Tour from Rovaniemi

Badge of Excellence
Rovaniemi, Finland
Northern Lights Wilderness Small-Group Tour from Rovaniemi

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

icon4 hours  (approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds


Maximize your chances of seeing the Northern Lights on a small-group wilderness tour from Rovaniemi, accessing remote viewpoints easily with included round-trip transfer from your hotel. Admire the Finnish landscape by night, hear local insights by a traditional fire, and enjoy grilled sausages as you watch for the natural phenomenon.
  • Benefit from the small-group size for an intimate experience
  • Maximize your chances of seeing the spectacle with a professional guide
  • Travel with ease to remote wilderness viewpoints via private vehicle
  • Keep warm round a traditional fire with complimentary grilled sausages
Saved to wishlist!
All taxes, fees and handling charges
Professional guide
Transport by private vehicle
Hotel pickup/drop-off
Coffee and/or Tea
Cold weather clothing
Photos sent the next day
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Kansankatu 14 , Kansankatu 14, 96100 Rovaniemi, Finland

If you are staying in the city center, we would kindly ask you to come to our office (our address: Kansankatu 14, 96300 Rovaniemi) and start the tour from there. If you are not staying in the city center and your pickup location is not listed as an option, just send us an email!

  • Arctic TreeHouse Hotel , Tarvantie 3 Arctic Circle, Rovaniemi 96930 Finland
  • Lapland Hotels Sky Ounasvaara , Juhanuskalliontie, Rovaniemi 96400 Finland
  • Santa Claus Holiday Village , Tahtikuja 2, Rovaniemi 96930 Finland
  • Apukka Resort , Tutkijantie 28, Rovaniemi 96900 Finland
  • This activity will end right where it started.Your guide will come to pick you up from your hotel between 5 and 30 minutes prior to departure. Your exact pick-up time will be confirmed by email at least one day prior to each activity. Please wait at the reception so your guide can easily find you.
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Most travelers can participate
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
    • A maximum of 8 people per booking
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
    • OPERATED BY Wild About Lapland
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More


    109 Reviews

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    We perform checks on reviews

    Showing 1-5 of 109 reviews
    Highly recommended
    , Jan 2022
    We went on a clear night but the northern night just wasn't showing intially. We took photos with the stars, had a delicious sausages n bread in front of the campfire. However, our guide keep checking the sky and forecast and told us that he believe the northern lights will be out. He then told us that we will be going to the 3rd location and that it will be very cold and we have 15min to go. He gave us his assurance that we will be able to see it. Upon reaching the 3rd location, the aurora really came dancing. We were so grateful towards our guide for his persistency knowing that we will be disappointed if we did not manage to see it. His assurance meant a lot to us and glad that the night ended well :) our guide (forgot his name but sound like gaps 😂) provided us with valuable information and theory on northern lights as well. Thank u for the great photo n the great night!
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
    Hi Kelene, Thanks so much for your feedback. Really happy to hear that Gabs did such a good job, persistence is key in nature :) Safe travels Br, Theo
    Excellent Tour
    , Dec 2021
    Excellent tour from top to bottom. The tour was not easy because of the temperature (-25 C) and the group, we were with young kids but the guide did a great job.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    Gabor was a great tour guide
    , Nov 2021
    We travelled to Rovaniemi to see northern light. Gabor was our tour guide and he was amazing. Although it was snowing the entire week but he made the most of out of the experiment by explaining the culture, history, science etc. It was a great expedition I would call it, I would definitely recommend him for your trip.
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    Northern lights
    , Nov 2021
    We had the best guide ever-Ella! She was wonderful! We Would highly recommend her to any activity. Great experience
    , Nov 2021
    We were so disappointed. Our guide Gabor didn’t say anything on our hour ride to the first stop. He did speak however with certain individuals. Also the roads were icy and he drove way too fast. We barely got any information about the lights and the pictures we received the next day looked like my iPhone took them. They are dark and somewhat blurry. This is a huge thing to do and we are very thankful to have been able to see the lights but the pictures are grossly disappointing. On our second stop we walked down this dark path to a field Gabor our guide just took off and my wife and I were in the back trying to keep up. Luckily one of the other tourists was so nice and thoughtful enough to give us his light and check on us. When we got to the second spot we didn’t really see it which isn’t Gabor fault but he just overall failed with communication, excitement, personal detail with the photos and the way too fast way he drove. This was a huge disappointment. We relied on Gabor for professional pictures which is stated on your advertisement and that fell so flat.
    icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
    Hi Lisa, Thanks you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear you had a bad experience, our aim is to give all our guests a great time, I am sorry we have failed you on this! We take matters like this seriously. I have sat down with Gabor to discuss how the evening went, his perspective and what he has to do to improve the experience when he is running the tour in the future. I understand your point on the pictures, I also picked up that they were quite dark. We have now remedied this with some extra training on this camera which he was not used to. For the Blurry result, this was due to the exposure he set, he had increased the exposure as the aurora's were so weak that night. It was his attempt to actually capture you with the Auroras in the background. It is very hard for anybody not to breath and be completely still for 13seconds! He has also noticed that he may have driven fast that evening and he apologises to you for that. We always stick to the speed limit but guests who haven't driven on icy roads before do sometimes feel uncomfortable if we drive at normal speeds. When driving here at night on icy roads it is quite important that the guide concentrates on the road rather than entertaining guests, I hope you can understand this is a safety aspect. I am sorry that you left our tour with a bad feeling, it is not the way we want anyone to be left! But I would like to point out that we got quite the contradictory review on the same night for the same tour saying it was the best experience of their life! Please also note that this is the first complaint we have had about the quality of our pictures and we will ensure that we spend some extra time training our staff. Br, Theo

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Northern Lights Wilderness Small-Group Tour from Rovaniemi
    Northern Lights Wilderness Small-Group Tour from Rovaniemi


    4 hours

    Free Cancellation




    Free Cancellation



    5 hours

    Free Cancellation



    4 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation



    3 hours

    Free Cancellation



    4 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation



    4 hours

    Free Cancellation



    2 hours

    Free Cancellation

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Explore Similar Things to Do

    Why you are seeing these recommendations