Recent Searches
Clear

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

The Best of Rome and Vatican Shared Shore Excursion

star-4.5
|
Rome, Italy

From $453.05

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon9 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Face masks provided for travelers
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Regular temperature checks for staff
Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Experience the best of Rome in just one short day with this shore excursion from the cruise port at Civitavecchia. You'll join a small group and an English-speaking driver and guide as you head out to the heart of Rome. You'll see many of the Eternal City's most iconic attractions, including the Pantheon, the Trevi Fountain, and the Colosseum, with time left over for lunch and an exploration of the Vatican before returning to your cruise ship.
  • See many of Rome's greatest attractions in one day
  • A guided tour through the Vatican is included
  • Discover the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter’s Basilica with a guide
  • Round-trip port transfers in a Mercedes minivan are included
Saved to wishlist!
Port pickup and drop-off
Private air-conditioned minivan Mercedes
English speaking driver
Guaranteed to skip the long lines (headset included if group is more than 8 people) )in the Vatican
Vatican licensed guide included
Sistine Chaple Vatican Galleries Saint Peter Basilica Vatican Museum
Lunch
drinks
Gratuties

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
The english speaking driver will pick you up just below your ship

Ports

  • Civitavecchia


Departure Time

8:00 AM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Please Note: on Sunday the Vatican is not available
  • A dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. No shorts or sleeveless tops allowed. Knees and shoulders MUST be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Best Rome Travel

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during The Best of Rome and Vatican Shared Shore Excursion?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by The Best of Rome and Vatican Shared Shore Excursion.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during The Best of Rome and Vatican Shared Shore Excursion?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by The Best of Rome and Vatican Shared Shore Excursion.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during The Best of Rome and Vatican Shared Shore Excursion?
A:
The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by The Best of Rome and Vatican Shared Shore Excursion.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during The Best of Rome and Vatican Shared Shore Excursion?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by The Best of Rome and Vatican Shared Shore Excursion.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during The Best of Rome and Vatican Shared Shore Excursion?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by The Best of Rome and Vatican Shared Shore Excursion.

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
4 Reviews
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
1 star
0
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews
star-5
Perfect way to see Rome in a day!
Joan S
, Aug 2019
Our driver/guide, Massimo, was excellent! He was very prompt and made sure we hit all the high spots in the morning - Colloseum, Forum, Circus Maximus, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps and more. He suggested a lovely small restaurant for lunch & it was delicious. In the afternoon he arranged for us to be guided through the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel, and St. Peter's with a very able guide, Nadia. We skipped the lines and were treated to a first class tour. He returned us to our ship in plenty of time. It was the best excursion of our trip!!!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Dear customer Thank you so much to find the time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed our tour. Hopeful to see you again. Kind regards Max
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
ROME tour lunch Vatican
Mobile67254806050
, Jul 2019
The driving tour of the city of Rome was outstanding! The young man new to this job was excellent. We got to see major site up close and he was always patient and understanding about my knee surgery. I was extremely unhappy with the promise by Viator to be on our own. Instead the opposite happened. We were delivered to a Italian restaurant in walking distance to the Vatican. The owners and hosts were rude and unwilling to allow us at first to see the menu. Next we were told food had been prepared for the tour groups, but our offering was less than other tables. Yet the lady owner/cook decided to charge us more than the other tour tables. Finally it was quite apparent that they were not welcoming of people of color. After being seated out of the way they proceeded to ignore us until we made a serious effort to get their attention. Never again would I agree to being treated so inhumanely. It seems obvious there was never any intent on letting tour groups to be on their own for lunch. The business connections we witnessed suggested Viator may not be aware of what's truly going on. The walking tour of the Vatican was NOT good experience. Push by a huge crowd, thousands of people were jammed into walkways and rooms. It was very difficult to understand the tour guide because the equipment used them was subpar and unreliable. It was hot, very humid and the rush to keep the crowd moving cheated visitor out of a meaningful tour. Very very disappointing. Finally, as a person with a disability it should be noted that the walking tour planned for us was insensitive and unprofessional. I had to ask to use the elevator at the Vatican. The tour guide seemed annoyed by the request. She also made the full group wait until the end of the laborious tour to go to the restroom inside a gift shop she clearly preferred. I would never ever recommend this tour to future visitors to Rome.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
hello dear customer thanks for writing a feedback to us, we are very sorry you did not enjoy our excursions many visitors do. it seems to strange for us you had hard time at the restaurant because we choose that place right because the employees are so polite and welcoming! Beside of this, usually the food is top quality and the price are quite affordable, although being next to a very important location as the Vatican. This is the first time we hear the experience over there was unpleasant. We were also informed that you didn't have lunch, but that happened because your group spent too much time around the city tour, despite the guide-driver kept telling you to follow a certain schedule. About the Vatican tour, you cannot expect to be not in the crowd while visiting the Vatican complex! Maybe you were looking for a different experience. Also the bathroom for visitors is not available in the structure, and the chance to use it is right where the guide took you. We are sorry you were not happy about the guide too. She is one of the most appreciated our partners. however we use your feedback to improve our service. sincerely Romano
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Excellent service
Meander14973944778
, Jun 2019
Both the driver and tour guide did an excellent job. We did not care for the meals at the chosen restaurant.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
This tour was the highlight of our...
deezldub
, Oct 2018
This tour was the highlight of our trip. Matteo our driver/guide was incredible. Got to see so much and never felt like we were being rushed. Ilia our Vatican guide was the best. She gave us so much background info before going in. We never went into information overload. Highly recommend this tour.
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 70968P7

Explore Similar Things to Do