Recent Searches
Clear

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Small-Group Tour of Vatican City: with Skip-the-line Tickets

star-4.5
|
Roma, Italy

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon3 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Explore the treasures of one of the world’s greatest art collections with this expertly guided small-group tour through the Vatican museums. Skip the long lines to head straight inside the labyrinth of galleries, where your knowledgeable guide leads you to ancient and Renaissance highlights including the Raphael Rooms, Belvedere Courtyard, Laocoön sculpture and, of course, the magnificent Sistine Chapel. Learn the stories behind the masterpieces, and then get direct entry into the stunning interior of St. Peter’s Basilica.
  • Small-group tour of the Vatican Museums
  • Skip the long lines with priority entry
  • Hear the stories and scandals behind some of the world's greatest masterpieces
  • Gain direct entry into St. Peter's Basilica

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Mix main Vatican sights with lesser-known gems like the red sarcophagus of Constantia.
Saved to wishlist!
Skip-the-line admission
Full tour from an expert guide
Small-group tour of max 10 (but 12 for the Early Morning option)
Headsets for groups of 6 or more
Languages: English
Gratuities (optional)
Hotel pick-up and return
Food and drink

Departure Point

Via Santamaura, 3, 00192 Roma RM, Italy

Return Details

Saint Peter's Square, Forum Sancti Petri, Città del Vaticano, Vatican City
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Max 10 people groups allow us access to a privileged line for faster than skip-the-line entrance. (Only for the Early Morning option we are in a group of 12)
  • Please note: On rare occasions, St.Peter's Basilica may be closed without prior notice, in which case a partial refund might be acknowledged
  • A dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. No shorts or sleeveless tops allowed. Knees and shoulders MUST be covered.
  • Near public transportation
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY RomaExperience Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Small-Group Tour of Vatican City: with Skip-the-line Tickets?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Small-Group Tour of Vatican City: with Skip-the-line Tickets.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Do not plan to visit the Vatican the day before a holiday." See review
  • "FYI - Picture taking and videos are not permitted in the Sistine Chapel." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
176 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 176 reviews
star-5
Excellent
Ingrid_G
, Mar 2020
Our guide Nadia was lovely and very knowledgeable which made the whole experience unforgettable and amazing, all the stories she told us about the incredible art pieces and the grounds helped us understand some of the history behind this unmissable place. I’m not usually that much into museums but this visit was very enjoyable, 10 out of 10!!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Professional Guide
Tourist603545
, Dec 2019
I forgot the name of the lady guide so sorry but she’s very professional. We only have 2 groups total of 6 people. The 1st group got an appointment and we left 2 to enter the Basilica but still she explain and proceed as usual. Kudos!
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Stole my money
mcfoerster88
, Dec 2019
I sign up for the 7:30am tour. I show up in time. I get greater by a representative for the company. He tells me that my guide called in sick, so I either can come back at 1:30pm or he can let me in now. I decide on the now since it is expensive to go back and forth from the Vatican. I get told I will be refunded. I have not yet. This is super frustrating and this was the tour I was most looking forward to
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Hi, thank you for your note. A refund has been issued a few days after the tour date, as per our agreement and our policy in the rare event of tour cancellation --
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Excellent Tour!
Cruiser285154
, Oct 2019
This was our first time to Rome and this tour was excellent. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and was able to navigate our small group through the large crowds that day to make sure we were able to see all of the “must sees”. She kept the pace steady but did not rush us. We have used Viator for other tours on this trip and they have not disappointed. Will definitely book again.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear Cruiser28, Nothing beats the memories of setting foot in our beautiful city for the first time, and we are pleased to see we got to contribute the memories you acquired here. The Vatican state is so impressive and a good guide can certainly make or break the experience. Brilliant to read that regardless of the crowds our guide did a a great job! We truly hope to see you return to the eternal city and would love to host you upon return!
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Busy day
margragona
, Oct 2019
Well spoken and knowledgeable guide. Moved us to great viewing areas to see and get the most of the Art work and other items.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear margragona Our Small Group Vatican Experience whisks customers past the massive crowds on a busy day and due its intimate setting enables guides to make the most of your time spent in the Vatican state. We are glad to read your positive comments, and would like to thank you for leaving us a review!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Wonderful Tour even better guide
jaclynpomer
, Oct 2019
Amazing experience, the tour was just the right amount of time and extremely informative! Everything was checked off our list in relation to what we were expecting/wanted. Small group was great as well!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear jaclynpomer, Brilliant to read our Vatican Experience small group tour ticked all of your boxes! Our guides aim to take participants past all of the Vatican most important monuments (Raphaels rooms, hall of the maps, Lacooon, Sistine Chapel, Saint Peter's Church etc.) and are glad you felt everything on your list was covered. The skip the line access and small group setting makes it easy to cover a lot in a small time frame. Thank you very much for sharing your kind words!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great tour!
B9593UEkarenp
, Oct 2019
It was five of us and felt like a private tour. She was great and knowledgeable and would definitely go back!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear B9593UE, We would love to host you again and show you more of Rome's beauty! There is so much more to discover, like the Ancient Harbor port Ostia Antica, the Roman Catacombs or perhaps even a day trip to Tivoli and its remarkable gardens! Thank you very much for your kind words, we are glad to read you've enjoyed our Vatican Experience and its small group setting, and truly hope you will keep our company in mind for future visits!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
The only way to see these treasures
mjdill42
, Oct 2019
Our guide, Ariana, was knowledgeable, kind and wise. We learned a lot from her, and she helped us better appreciate everything we saw and experienced. Also, I cannot imagine trying to navigate the crowds without her!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear mjdill42, A guided tour does create a more relaxed experience when navigating through the Vatican state, doesn't it? Lovely to read our guide allowed you to enjoy these majestic hallways packed with art and enhanced your day with her knowledge.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Roma
jpindras
, Oct 2019
The guide was wonderful and very knowledgeable. Her insight brought more meaning to the artwork, buildings and culture of that period.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear jpindras, Our early morning Vatican Experience allows customers to enter before the general public, and has a tranquil athmosphere to it. We are glad to read our guide added to your visit and enhanced the experience with her extensive knowledge. We hope you will remember our company for future visits and would love to show you around more of Rome's unique features, like the Catacombs or our brand new Caravggio Experience that includes visiting his artworks with a meet and great with the person having restored mutiple of his artworks in her restoration lab!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Amazing, informative and passionate
jennypassaniti
, Sep 2019
It was wonderful to be able to skip the lines. Maria our guide was very informative and passionate and highlighted pieces throughout our tour which brought so much meaning and emotion to our experience. Thank you Maria.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear jennypassaniti Amazing, Informative and Passionate, we are honored to read such kind words about Maria Libera. Visiting the Vatican state for many is a memorable experience, but going around with a guide allows you to really submerge yourself in their knowledge and be able to fully concentrate on the beautiful masterpiece displayed within these walls. Thank you very much for leaving us a review - not only does it allow us to learn from feedback, but it also makes us appreciate the guides that work hard to satisfy our customers from day to day.
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 8305P1

Explore Similar Things to Do