Recent Searches
Clear

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour

|
Rome, Italy

From $291.20

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon12 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Regular temperature checks for staff
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Take off from Rome for the day and hit the enchanting Amalfi Coast and haunting Pompeii on this small-group day trip. After the comfortable ride south of Rome, stop in Pompeii to get a guided tour of the amazing archeological ruin before heading off to striking seaside Positano for lunch and then amazing Amalfi to explore.
  • Full-day semi-private trip from Rome to the Amalfi Coast
  • Take some time to wander around the well-preserved ruins of Pompeii
  • Have lunch in the dramatic seaside town of Positano
  • Spend some time in the relaxed and beautiful town of Amalfi
Saved to wishlist!
Transportation
Hotel pick-up and drop off in Rome ( hotel inside aurelian walls )
English-speaking tour leader
Official guide at Pompeii
Small group limited to a maximum of 14 people
Lunch
Gratuities

Departure Point

Rome, Metropolitan City of Rome, Italy

Traveler pickup is offered
We offer pickup in Rome from all the accommodation within the Aurelian Walls.

Departure Time

7:30 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • We suggest you wearing comfortable clothes and shoes. In summer, bring a bottle of water; in winter, don't forget an umbrella
  • The pick-up is included for all coomodation inside aurelian walls
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
  • OPERATED BY ROMAETRAVEL

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Day Trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast departing from Rome - Semi Private Tour.

Reviews

4.0
star-4
49 Reviews
3 stars
0
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 49 reviews
star-1
Horrible experience
tinaotero
, Jan 2020
Our tour guide only showed us what he wanted too. I felt like there was a lot more to been seen, he only showed us one of the bodies and I have seen lots of the history in others pictures. We should have had a longer time walking around touring Pompeii on our own since they changed my day to Sunday and most of the coastal town of Amalfi was closed. I don't think this tour should be available on Sunday, we spent 3 hrs. sitting around cause not much was open
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy the tour. The guides in Pompeii are all certified professionals, they always make sure to let you see the most important things while explaining their historical importance. Pompeii is as vast as it is beautiful, so it is unfortunately not possible to see all the available locations and bodies in a shared guided tour. In addition, please notice that, in an effort to preserve them, not all the bodies and locations are available to the public and can only be seen through pictures.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Bellisimo - A memorable tour of Pompeii and Potisano.
mariacaufield
, Nov 2019
Our driver Andreas was wonderful . Pompeii was such a historical wonder. Our tour guide had much knowledge to share that added to the wonder of Pompeii. Andreas our driver was waiting for us when we finished the tour and took us to a wonderful restaurant by the ocean where we had a wonderful meal. He patiently waited while we shopped. He was a careful driver and had great manners. Would it be possible to get the same driver if we re-visited?
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thank you very much for your review! We're glad to hear that our guide helped making the experience even more unforgettable and that Andrea provided excellent service. Our drivers and guides are always very happy to hear about the positive feedback!
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Beautiful positano.
newens2019
, Sep 2019
Family of 5. Pick up at hotel with one other couple. Driver and "guide". He was learning English to be a real licensed guide. He really didn't talk much during trip. We driving fast like 75 to 100 miles/hr. Long drive. Our second guide at Pompeii was late and we were on a strict time table to make it to amalfi, positano. Pompeii guide was rushed but pretty good. Not much time to take pictures since it was from one station to next. We chose not to goto amalfi to enjoy more time in beautiful positano. We had 1.5 hrs free time No guide. Long day but enjoyed positano the best.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Thank you for your review. We always want to give the chance to visit as many places as possible in our tours, while also learning about their history. We're happy you enjoyed the beautiful Positano and hope to welcome you again in Italy in the near future!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great Day Out
Aireta12
, Jul 2019
Day trip to Pompei and the Amalfi coast. Transportation was very comfortable and tour guide Debra and the driver Nico could not have been more accommodating and helpful. Pompei was amazing and the local guide Hector provided a fascinating insight into the history of the city and eruption and what presently remains of the city. Amalfi and Positano were included as part if the tour and the views were breathtaking. Although there is free time in both Amalfi and Positano, our host Debra went out of her way to provide insight and explanation of the key points of both cities. A great day out and highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Thank you very much for sharing your beautiful experience with us. Our guides are really happy to know that you have enjoyed the tour in this wonderful location in the Amalfi coast!
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Disappointing!
Road62331563481
, Jun 2019
We couldn't go to Amalfi Coast due a road closing, so we ended up going to Naples and walking around for 4 hours without any direction at all...I wasn't even able to get a partial refund because in order to get a refund, "I would have had to tell them before the trip started." The guide hadn't even been to Naples before except when she was a kid she said. So basically I paid 560 dollars (for myself and my fiance) to get dropped off and forced to walk 10 miles in a city that I didn't even want to go to. Lunch wasn't even comped. Trip was so disappointing!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
We are sorry about your disappointment. Due to road closing, not depending on us, we had gave you the opportunity of visiting Naples, one of the most beautiful and famous city in Italy. Please notice that as written on your rservation voucher lunch is not included in the product you have booked.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Pompei and Amalfi
Melva6995
, Jun 2019
Magnificent!!! From our pick up to our return to the hotel the experience was excellent. Our guide Lore and our driver Diego provided an excellent service. The ruins, the view of the lovely Amalfi and Positano are still theme of conversation in our family. 100% recommended!!!!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Thank you for your beautiful review, we are so happy to know that you had an excellent experience with Lorie and Diego. Pompeii and Amalfi coast are among the most suggestive places in Italy!
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Good day tour
Mithradates87
, Jun 2019
The staff was super freindly and engaging. Two tour guides, and a driver. The main tour guide spoke good English and the driver and the tour guide trainee spoke Spanish. As a person who is bilingual i found this very helpfull and made for a more fun excursion. In transit to our destinations there was plenty of time for rest, bathroom stops and food stops at said rest areas. The only complaint I had is that we did not get enough time at our second stop and third stop. I would have liked more time at the city of Amalfi. That said, highly recomend this trip.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Wonder Tour with great tour guides and a great driver
dmd195
, Jun 2019
Would highly recommend taking this tour. The only negative is the tour guide in Pompeii should have a microphone or provide audio equipment. She spoke excellent English but we could not hear her at times. The walking tour was 2 hours. The driver was excellent and private tour guide accompany us was very informed during the ride. We totally enjoyed the day. They picked us up at our Airbnb @7 and dropped us off at 9:30pm. It was quite private; only a total 6 persons.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Choose a different tour
Travel166590
, Jun 2019
The first part of the day at Pompeii was great - our guide there was Ana Sophia and she was terrific. Very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the afternoon stops at Positano and Amalfi was awful. We were given only 45 minutes at Positano to have lunch, use the facilities and visit the town - an impossible feat. We managed to find a restroom, choke down a panini on the run and stop into one shop before getting back in the car. At Amalfi we were given only 25 minutes to visit. Our guide for the drive was awful (can't remember her name). She gave us no information and when we asked questions she made up answers that were not true (as compared to guide books and plaques we saw on the walls). Our driver Diego was great and tried his best to give us information but his English wasn't that good so he was limited in his descriptions. The girl guide who was awful made the trip boring and frustrating. Other than Pompeii which was great thanks to the local guide Ana Sofia, the rest of the day was spent 90% driving in silence. Would absolutely not recommend this tour. Do Pompeii on it's own and spend a whole day (at least) on the Amalfi coast.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Excellent
Experience149985
, May 2019
This was my favorite visit out of all of Italy. Amalfi Coast is wonderful and Pompeii was fantastic. Our tour guide was fantastic. I felt I was on a tour with a friend. I was picked up and dropped off at our Airbnb and the best part was the small group. We didn't have to travel in a huge tour bus but two small mini vans. It was much nicer. Only caution I would throw out there is if you get car sick, bring something with you. The roads on the Amalfi Coast are like a roller coaster!
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 12855P3

Explore Similar Things to Do