Recent Searches
Clear

Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik

|
Reykjavík, Iceland
Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Watch for minke whales, dolphins and humpbacks on a whale watching cruise from Reykjavik, and take in views of the coast from an open viewing platform or an enclosed cabin. Get the ultimate whale watching experience during the peak season from April through October, when over 20 kinds of whale flock to the North Atlantic. Cruise the harbor in comfort and style, enjoy access to an indoor saloon stocked with snacks and drinks (sold on board), and spot Iceland’s diverse aquatic species with help from the experienced crew.
  • Reykjavik whale watching cruise on a comfortable boat
  • Enjoy access to outside decks and an enclosed cabin
  • See Iceland's wildlife in a natural environment
  • Explore the coast from the water
Saved to wishlist!
Informative, friendly and professional guide
Warm flotation overalls
Heated indoor cabins with toilet facilities
Wireless internet
Seasickness tablets, if needed
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Drinks and snacks (sold on board)
Hlésgata , Hlésgata, Reykjavík, Iceland

Boat departs from the Old Harbour in Reykjavik, Reykjavik Sailors office is located at the water front.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please be at the departure point the latest 30 minutes before the scheduled cruise time.
  • Please, CHECK YOUR VENDOR account or at tour operator DAILY DIARY before you come to tour operator office; all the important daily information of all our tours will be notified via vendor and on tour operator website. We recommend to contact tour operator if you wish another way to get in touch with you.
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Please note: Whale watching is a natural activity governed by the laws of the weather. If the trip is canceled due to bad weather, the whale-watching ticket is refunded
  • If you don't see a whale, you have the option to take the tour again for free
  • Please be aware that due to environmental reasons during certain times of the year our trips may be delivered on a shared boat with one of our partners. At Reykjavik Sailors we are committed to ensuring the environment is kept pristine by making sure fewer boats are on the water during slower periods.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 60 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Reykjavik Sailors
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "This is a good trip for someone who has never seen a whale in the ocean, but maybe not so good for someone who has been on other tours that were closer to the whales." See review
  • "Was end of season though, so not as many as summer, but still great experience, whale watching in Iceland is a must!" See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
189 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 189 reviews
star-4
Got to see whales at the expense of an egocentric tour guide
Carrie_H
, Nov 2021
We were directed to a different port than we thought we needed but it was easy to find. Our ticket wasn't enough to get on the boat, even though we had booked via Viator we needed to go to a sales office to pick up a paper ticket. The tour guide on the boat was a bit of an abrasive young woman. She clearly knew what she was talking about when it came to whales and the sea but she didn't really have a friendly manner about her. She was very openly talking to one of the passengers, who didn't suffer with seasickness, about how pathetic the people downstairs were who obviously didn't have sea legs. My boyfriend had never been on a boat before so took the free seasickness medication and it actually put him to sleep... later I heard the tour guide talking to another passenger about how the medication works because it makes you drowsy! Because of this my boyfriend was asleep for half the duration of the trip, which incidentally was his birthday present - THANKFULLY before he fell asleep we got to see 3 humpback whales so we weren't totally put out. I think of myself as having a fairly thick skin and I wasn't personally offended by the tour guide but I don't think her behaviour or demeanour do this company any favours. She came across as egotistical and smug. There are overalls inside the boat which are free for everyone to use. Pay attention to the label inside the overall when picking your size as when people return them they don't pay any attention to which size section they're putting them back into. Overall I would recommend the tour despite only finding the tour guide barely tolerable.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hello, Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate your feedback. We're very sorry to hear about your experience of the sea sickness medication on our tour. Like all medicines, this one can cause side effects as somnolence, sedation, fatigue and weakness, although not everybody gets them. We will look into the case of the tour guide manner. We are happy to hear that you were able to see 3 Humpback Whales on your tour with us. We always want passengers to enjoy their tours with us and therefore we do our possibly best. Best regards Reykjavik Sailors team
star-5
Whale watching
Stephen_F
, Nov 2021
Seeing 3 humpbacked whales swi.minf together for around 20 minutes. The experience was unbelievable .......
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hello Thank you for your kind words. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your experience with The Reykjavik Sailors. Best regards Reykjavik Sailors team
star-4
A very fun cruise. Well worth it.
John_S
, Oct 2021
The cruise was excellent. We also had a very nice, well informed guide. An excellent ship with a very nice snack bar. I got some great pictures of whales.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hello Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you had a good time with us on your tour. Best regards Reykjavik Sailors team
star-5
Do it!
Graham_F
, Oct 2021
Marvellous. Constantly updated. Looking for sitings. Saw some amazing,ing dolphin... white beaked, I think they were called. Soooooo cute. Jumping and playful. Leaping in the prow of the boat. Helpful team. Keen to chat. Inform. They even carried my tea upstairs!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hello Thank you so much for your great review, such a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and our service. Best regards Reykjavik Sailors team
star-4
Enjoyable but frustrating
rose_h
, Oct 2021
Nice boat ride but very little Whale action. Nice to see Reykjavik from the ocean. I think you would be very lucky to see a Whale let alone the action shots as shown in the marketing
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hello Thank you for your review. We do offer always all passengers a free tour if their tour they joined was not successful, it is according to our conditions and best solution for everybody as we do provide you a 3 hours tour by boat with the crew and we do our best to make your time on the boat enjoyable with information provided by guide about ocean mammals and we also do our best to spot the whales, sometimes without a success but this is the risk everyone consider while booking a Whale Watching tour which takes place in wild nature and any human is not controlling, as the ocean is not a zoo or aquarium with entrapped animals. Best regards Reykjavik Sailors team
star-1
Cancelled trip? No refund or response to emails
Marc_B
, Oct 2021
Very Heavy seas and told would need sea sick pills, friends trip was cancelled on same day also. No refund or response to emails. Very poor. 😡
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hello Our passengers are more than welcome to reschedule their reservation to another day, simply contact us by email or by phone. We did not receive any emails from you, we always respond to emails in 24 hours. If rescheduling is not an option and you have not joined a tour before, please contact our team at info@reykjaviksailors.is or your agent to claim refund. We are really sorry for any inconvenience this may have cause you. Best regards, Reykjavik Sailors Team
star-4
Great chance to see some whales
Marla_C
, Oct 2021
First time whale watching for a few of us and it was worth it. Nice comfortable boat that gave several types of opportunities to see the whales. The tour guide was very informative, friendly and enjoyable to listen to. Would recommend to anyone.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hello Thank you so much for your review. We love getting our guest feedback. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us. Best regards Reykjavik Sailors team
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Disappointed
Jamie_S
, Oct 2021
Pretty rocky ride. Didn’t see anything. No whales, dolphins, etc. little explanation, would have preferred a partial refund for not seeing anything. Won’t be able to use the return ticket.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hello Thank you for your review. We do offer always all passengers a free tour if their tour they joined was not successful, it is according to our conditions and best solution for everybody as we do provide you a 3 hours tour by boat with the crew and we do our best to make your time on the boat enjoyable with information provided by guide about ocean mammals and we also do our best to spot the whales, sometimes without a success but this is the risk everyone consider while booking a Whale Watching tour which takes place in wild nature and any human is not controlling, as the ocean is not a zoo or aquarium with entrapped animals. Best regards Reykjavik Sailors team
star-4
Chilly but worth it
lesley_h
, Sep 2021
Seeing dolphins and the coastline of Iceland . The commentary of the guide . It was very cold but we were provided with warm clothing which was helpful
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hello Thank you so much for your review. We love getting our guest feedback. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us. Best regards Reykjavik Sailors team
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
Ship should not have gone...
janet_j
, Sep 2021
Ship should not have gone out that morning. Was was too rough, saw nothing. Understand tour does not control weather
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Hello We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your tour with us. Whale watching is a natural activity that is subject to the weather. If there are no sightings during the trip, you can use the booking number to reschedule the tour for another time. The ticket is valid for another tour with the tour operator in the future. Best regards Reykjavik Sailors team

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik
Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik

star-4189

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$82.00

star-4383

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.02

star-4.580

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$150.84

star-4.5544

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$87.00

star-4.536

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$187.28

star-558

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$156.00

star-3.58

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.02

star-512

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$206.81

star-427

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.00

Explore Similar Things to Do