Recent Searches
Clear

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik

|
Reykjavík, Iceland

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Watch for minke whales, dolphins and humpbacks on a whale watching cruise from Reykjavik, and take in views of the coast from an open viewing platform or an enclosed cabin. Get the ultimate whale watching experience during the peak season from April through October, when over 20 kinds of whale flock to the North Atlantic. Cruise the harbor in comfort and style, enjoy access to an indoor saloon stocked with snacks and drinks (sold on board), and spot Iceland’s diverse aquatic species with help from the experienced crew.
  • Reykjavik whale watching cruise on a comfortable boat
  • Enjoy access to outside decks and an enclosed cabin
  • See Iceland's wildlife in a natural environment
  • Explore the coast from the water
Saved to wishlist!
Informative, friendly and professional guide
Warm flotation overalls
Heated indoor cabins with toilet facilities
Wireless internet
Seasickness tablets, if needed
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Drinks and snacks (sold on board)

Departure Point

Hlésgata, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please be at the departure point the latest 30 minutes before the scheduled cruise time.
  • Please, CHECK YOUR VENDOR account or at tour operator DAILY DIARY before you come to tour operator office; all the important daily information of all our tours will be notified via vendor and on tour operator website. We recommend to contact tour operator if you wish another way to get in touch with you.
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Please note: Whale watching is a natural activity governed by the laws of the weather. If the trip is canceled due to bad weather, the whale-watching ticket is refunded
  • If you don't see a whale, you have the option to take the tour again for free
  • Please be aware that due to environmental reasons during certain times of the year our trips may be delivered on a shared boat with one of our partners. At Reykjavik Sailors we are committed to ensuring the environment is kept pristine by making sure fewer boats are on the water during slower periods.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 60 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Reykjavik Sailors

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 60 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Whale Watching Tour from Reykjavik.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "This is a good trip for someone who has never seen a whale in the ocean, but maybe not so good for someone who has been on other tours that were closer to the whales." See review
  • "Was end of season though, so not as many as summer, but still great experience, whale watching in Iceland is a must!" See review
  • "Even if you do not get a sighting you will love this excursion." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
151 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 151 reviews
star-4
August 2020 whale watching
Luke_D
, Aug 2020
Great views, informative staff and a nice boat. The marine biologist was excellent. We saw dolphins and mink whales. . Do not go on any whale tour expecting to see large whales such as the humpback though, chances are you won't see them. That said it was good value and enjoyable.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Not worth it
Carole_D
, Aug 2020
3 and half hours boat ride to eventually see a black dot at the horizon, and our guide told us we were lucky to see a whale (I saw nothing). The journey was very boring. I would skip it, not worth the time and money at all.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Hello, Thank you for taking time to write your review and letting us know your experience. Whale watching tours take place on the open ocean in wild nature so each tour is different and the sightings can not be predicted or arranged to be spectacular everyday unfortunately. Tour guidance should be interesting and informative - regarding wildlife and surrounding scenery, therefore we are very sorry if that is something you did not experienced. We are sorry your experience wasn't entirely satisfactory and we hope you will have an opportunity to join another tour in the future and maybe experience more spectacular show!
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Not worth it
Carole_D
, Aug 2020
The guide told us that we were lucky to see a whale going out of the water 3 times in a row, it lasted maybe 8 seconds, i could see it from very far during 1 or 2 seconds, it was like a black spot. 3.5 hours boat ride with nothing to see apart from this black spot is really not worth the trip and the money.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Hello, Thank you for taking time to write your review and letting us know your experience. Whale watching tours take place on the open ocean in wild nature so each tour is different and the sightings can not be predicted or arranged to be spectacular everyday unfortunately. Tour guidance should be interesting and informative - regarding wildlife and surrounding scenery, therefore we are very sorry if that is something you did not experienced. We are sorry your experience wasn't entirely satisfactory and we hope you will have an opportunity to join another tour in the future and maybe experience more spectacular show!
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Disappointing - No Whales
Lucy_K
, Mar 2020
Really disappointing .... quite an expensive trip and 3 hours at sea but no Whales only ‘sea birds’ ....
icon Response from Host , Jun 2020
Hi, We are sorry there were no whales on your tour. Unfortunately, we cannot control them and guarantee sightseeing. We do offer however a complementary tour in such a case, so don't hesitate to contact us whenever you are back in Iceland! Have a good day!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Just Amazing
Monkeygal24
, Mar 2020
Amazing experience to see a Humpback whale, great tour. The boat was great and the knowledge of the lady leading the tour was amazing.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi, thank you so much for your review!! We are so happy you liked the tour and saw some humpback whales! we have had amazing sightings these past weeks ! Have a great day ! :)
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Awesome
Juthier_J
, Mar 2020
Beautifull we were lucky and enjoyed a long moment with 2 beautifull wales... That was amazing and so emotional. Etienne the guide was great!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi, Thank you for your review, we are so happy you had a good tour! :D Have a great day!
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
A trip well worth trying.
Allan_T
, Mar 2020
The trip was well organised and the boat provided a good level of protection when you wanted to escape the cold. Overalls could be borrowed for those who underestimated just how cold it was going to get out at sea. Snacks and refreshments were available at a reasonable (by Iceland standards) cost. The scenery was spectacular as we were fortunate to have a sunny day with great visibility. We saw a Minke Whale on a few occasions and also porpoises. It was made clear before hand that this was not guaranteed. The guide was very knowledgeable and all of the staff good both on the boat and at the booking office.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi Allan, thank you so much for your review, we are glad you had a good experience with us! Made our day! Have a great one!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Minke whales
Lynn_N
, Mar 2020
We had a fabulous day trip out to the bay and we actually saw a whale and a few porpoises. The boat has a couple of guides on board who explain abouth the life of the whales and use the 24 hour clock to identify the whereabouts. This was hilarious as you can imagine when they said whale at 1 oclock and every single passenger ran to the same side of the boat. Drinks and food are available and even if it is cold outside once you sit inside it is toasty warm. Plenty of toileta too.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Not a very good memory
La_M
, Mar 2020
The boat and facilities are okay. We did not see any whales and were proposed a rebook: of course we couldnt bécasse we were not planning to stay in Reykjavik longer... we tried to change our ticket for the Aurora one at night but couldnt... Not a really good expérience in the end, quite a disappointment at the end of a beautiful trip.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Seeing the harbour porpoises
Daphne_W
, Mar 2020
We went out in the afternoon of 3/3/2020. Boat was big enough to have plenty of room for those on board. Staff were knowledgeable and friendly. Sadly we didn’t see much activity. Just a few harbour porpoises. Offer to go again if we ever return to Iceland which we hope to do one day.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Hi Daphne, sorry the whales were not here this time but we are glad you liked the tour anyway. Let us know when you are back in Iceland! Have a great day!
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 21533P4

Explore Similar Things to Do