Recent Searches
Clear

Snowmobile Adventure on Langjökull Glacier from Gullfoss

star-4.597 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Iceland, Iceland
Snowmobile Adventure on Langjökull Glacier from Gullfoss

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Cruise through snow and ice on Langjökull, one of Iceland’s largest glaciers, on this guided tour. Take a ride in a 4x4 monster ice truck and enjoy the Icelandic scenery on the ride to the glacier. Then, suit up in the provided gear, learn how to drive the snowmobile, and follow your guide as you speed through ice and snowfields.
  • Drive a snowmobile through icefields on a glacier
  • Ride in a 4x4 monster ice truck
  • Includes hassle-free, round-trip transportation
  • Stress-free package ideal for first-time visitors
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Pickup and drop-off from designated meeting points Gullfoss Southwest of Iceland
Driver/guide
Snowmobile tour
Food and drinks
Mountaineers Meeting Point , Gullfoss, Iceland

Gullfoss Café upper parking lot, about a 2-hour drive from the capital Reykjavík.Do not turn right by the first turn, continue straight and you should find us as you drive on to the upper parkin. Big black trucks or Super Jeep.

12:00 PM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Dress accordingly to weather conditions.
  • Age limit is 6 years and older.
  • Please note the price is per person and there are 2 passengers per snowmobile.
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Skalpi ehf Mountaineers of Iceland
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Snowmobile Adventure on Langjökull Glacier from Gullfoss?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Snowmobile Adventure on Langjökull Glacier from Gullfoss.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Snowmobile Adventure on Langjökull Glacier from Gullfoss?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Snowmobile Adventure on Langjökull Glacier from Gullfoss.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
97 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 97 reviews
star-5
Off my bucket list
Charito_A
, Jul 2022
Scary at first but staff was very supportive and stayed until I get the hang of it . Beautiful landscape
star-5
Can’t miss tour
Paul_S
, Jun 2022
Memorable trip to the glacier on snowmobiles. Ride to the base camp was scenic and enjoyable as well. Highly recommend!
star-5
Great experience!
Mark_N
, Apr 2022
Amazing, memorable experience. Guides were professional, and made for a very fun time. All the equipment was provided (helmets, gloves, full body parkas) that fit adults and kids, and kept us warm and comfortable despite cold temps and crazy winds. Only caveat would be that the day would have been a no-go for our 6 year old, whom we were considering bringing. Weather was pretty harsh, and don’t think he would have been able to hang on for the hour on the snowmobile. But for older kids and adults, would highly recommend!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review. We're happy that you liked the tour.
star-5
Worth every penny!!!
Amber_C
, Apr 2022
It was a great fun and exciting day trip!!! Would do it again!! The beauty of this trip is once in a lifetime. Spend the money, go have an adventure! Well worth it!!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your kind review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your day with us.
star-5
Awesome
Tomas_M
, Apr 2022
Going off-road in the monster bus and the overall experience of the snowmobiling across the snow covered mountain and glacier.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your day with us.
star-5
A must do on your Iceland trip
Daren_B
, Apr 2022
Family trip including our two grand daughters aged 10 and 6. Very well organised and safe, even for the little ones. Views from the Glacier were great in the breaks in the cloud. Definitely on to try if your itinerary allows!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your day with us.
star-5
Great fun and never to be forgotten.
DEBORAH_H
, Feb 2022
The staff were amazing especially ‘Sniper’. He was funny, kind & very helpful. Would love to do this again on a clear day, the weather was just not in our favour & made you appreciate how brutal Mother Nature can be!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review. I will make sure that Sniper knows about your kind review.
star-5
Totally worth the time and money!
Jason_L
, Jan 2022
Would have stayed up there all day if they'd let us! :). Staff was great and the equipment was in great shape too. My 9 year old son rode with me and loved it!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review. We're happy that you enjoyed the day with us! We welcome families, however, there is a 6 year age limit to join the snowmobile adventure.
star-5
Our family enjoyed it
ROMELIZA_T
, Jan 2022
Enjoyed the lot. Worth it.lovely views, Luckily it was a nice weather when we are there. Mobile tour guides are good. A bit worried though using their winter/snow gear and helmet as it looks like not been disinfected prior to next batch.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review! Equipment is cleaned daily. Parts in direct skin contact are provided clean/new to each customer, e.g. buff and gloves.
star-5
Must Do in Iceland
Shonquanisia_D
, Dec 2021
They provided snow suits and gloves that kept us warm. It was an amazing experience to remember. I was excited that there were hand warmers on the handle bars. It was about 2hrs drive from Reykjavik but totally worth it. And the monster truck through the snow was cool! The driver handled it well!!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your day with us! Please come back anytime!
star-3
Fine, nothing to blow your socks off
Michael_S
, Dec 2021
A perfectly fine trip but not really worth the money, it was rather expensive to sit behind an instructor for 40 minutes pootleing along in a circle around the base camp at 20kmh. Staff were all very polite and all equipment provided was good. The trip up on the 8 wheeled monster bus was also comfortable, but this wasn’t great value overall.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review. Our standard tours may seem slow to experienced motorists. We recommend that people check out our Glacier Rush tour for a faster pace. We try to operate our standard tours to suit everyone of all ages.
star-1
NOT a dynamic tour
Mattia_P
, Nov 2021
You have to know what you are getting out for this: this is NOT a dynamic tour but more like a little train of snowmobiles for every age. Unfortunately the tour was with around 20 snowmobiles and the speed was VERY slow. Also, the weather was awful with snow pouring down and very low visibility. Still, the tour operator went ahead with the experience and it made us feel like a money machine (especially given the price tag). I would definitely discourage anyone to do this experience as if‘s going to eat 4 hours out of your day for 40 minutes on a very slow snowmobile.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy the tour with us. You're right. Our standard tour is geared towards all ages at all skill levels. For more experienced riders we recommend our Glacier Rush tour. We cancel all snowmobile tours when the weather conditions make the snowmobile tour unsafe. If people would only like to come in certain conditions, then we encourage them to check the forecast the day before. Then either reschedule or request a refund if the conditions are not to their preference.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
We had a great time but...
Lauren_R
, Sep 2021
We had a great time but unfortunately the day we went was a total whiteout and we weren’t really able to see anything. 4 hours is a little misleading as you’re only actually on the snowmobiles for about 40 minutes, the rest of the time is spent driving and prepping.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your day with us! When the wind blows from the southwest we usually get a total whiteout. It's a completely different experience than when the sun is shining. The tour, from Gullfoss waterfalls, is approx. 4 hours from start to finish. It should be 1 hour on the actual snowmobiles. The drive to and from our basecamp, prepping and safety briefing takes up the rest of the time.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
War nicht so toll. Die...
Martin_R
, Nov 2021
War nicht so toll. Die Gruppe war viel zu groß (50) und man hat immer angehalten. Zwar war des Wetter nicht so toll, aber mit kleineren Gruppen wäre es viel besser gewesen
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
I'm sorry for writing this response in English. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy the day with us. Yes, the groups can sometimes be up to 50 people in our meet-on-location tours. For smaller groups, we recommend our tours from Reykjavik or that you contact us and get a quote for a private tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Snowmobile Adventure on Langjökull Glacier from Gullfoss
Snowmobile Adventure on Langjökull Glacier from Gullfoss

star-4.597

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$194.11

star-4.553

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$230.64

star-4.5350

8 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$73.05

star-4.560

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$200.37

star-4.590

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$327.69

star-5259

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$65.77

star-473

11 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$227.51

star-5132

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$155.00 $124.00

star-54

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$365.26
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations