Recent Searches
Clear

Snowmobiling on Langjökull Glacier and Bathing in the Secret Lagoon

star-4.590 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Reykjavik, Iceland
Snowmobiling on Langjökull Glacier and Bathing in the Secret Lagoon

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon10 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Combine a snowmobile glacier ride with a bath in thermal hot springs on this full-day tour from Reykjavik. Traveling by super truck, pass the Geysir geothermal field en route to the Langjökull glacier, Europe’s second-largest. Zoom over the ice on a snowmobile ride and then break for lunch and dip in a thermal hot spring.
  • Langjökull glacier snowmobile and hot springs tour
  • Travel through Iceland’s rugged landscapes by super truck
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
  • Small group of 10 people or fewer

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

A visit to the Secret Lagoon is a nice added perk to a fun-filled snowmobiling trip.
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Professional snowmobiling guide
Use of helmet, warm overalls, hat and gloves
Towel at the Secret Lagoon
Breakfast
Lunch
Bathing suit
Gratuities

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

9:00 AM
Begin with morning pickup from your Reykjavik hotel. Bring your bathing suit, and meet your guide and small group of no more than 10.

Then, settle inside your super truck, whose large tires are designed to negotiate challenging terrain. Relax in your spacious seat and enjoy the onboard Wi-Fi and views as you set off into Iceland’s lava-sculpted countryside.

Along the way, listen as your driver-guide shares facts about the country’s volcanic geology, including background on the Langjökull glacier. Drive through the Geysir hot springs area, seeing the mud pools and water spouts from your window, and on arrival at Langjökull, don your provided thermal coverall, hat, gloves, and helmet.

Once you’re ready, hop on your 2-person snowmobile, and after driving and riding instructions, set off on your expedition. Follow your guide vehicle across the spectacular glacial landscapes, admiring the vast ice expanses around you.

Pick up speed as your confidence builds, and midway through, make a quick stop to take photos of the glacial wonderland and swap driving or passenger positions with the second person on your snowmobile.

After your ride, reboard your truck and head to one of southern Iceland’s most popular restaurants for lunch. Savor the Icelandic dishes, which vary from season to season, but which are always delicious and energy-boosting.

Next, head for the village of Flúðir and visit the Secret Lagoon (own expense), a natural thermal spring surrounded by otherworldly scenery. Change into your bathing suit and grab your included, and relax with a restorative soak in the warm, steam-clouded waters.

Finally, return to Reykjavik by super truck, where your tour ends with a hotel drop-off.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Age limit 6 years and older
  • Children over 6 must be accompanied by an adult
  • Operates in cold weather conditions, please dress appropriately (we recommend warm layers, waterproof gear, hat and gloves)
  • Good walking boots or shoes are recommended
  • Please remember to bring a bathing suit for the Secret Lagoon visit (alternatively you can rent one at own expense)
  • Please note the price is per person and there are 2 passengers per snowmobile
  • You must have a valid drivers license to drive a snowmobile
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Skalpi ehf Mountaineers of Iceland
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Snowmobiling on Langjökull Glacier and Bathing in the Secret Lagoon?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Snowmobiling on Langjökull Glacier and Bathing in the Secret Lagoon.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Snowmobiling on Langjökull Glacier and Bathing in the Secret Lagoon?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Snowmobiling on Langjökull Glacier and Bathing in the Secret Lagoon.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Snowmobiling on Langjökull Glacier and Bathing in the Secret Lagoon?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Snowmobiling on Langjökull Glacier and Bathing in the Secret Lagoon.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Although I enjoyed the tour I think if the weather is bad its not worth the money as you miss out completely on the point of the tour!" See review
  • "What an amazing experience from pick up at our hotel to drop off." See review
  • "Not much explaining in this tour so i would recommend reading up on places before going to this tour." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
90 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 90 reviews
star-5
Terrific day
Lisa_K
, Jun 2022
We had a wonderful driver, visited a gorgeous glacier, and visited a relaxing lagoon! It was an all-around amazing day.
star-5
Lots of fun!
Iram_Y
, Jun 2022
The snowsuits and gloves they provide are excellent, no need to bring your own, but do wear some good boots: the snow is deeper than it looks! The tour was very fun, the machines were easy to use and the views were stunning! It’s like being on another planet!
star-5
The whole group from tour...
Ben_K
, May 2022
The whole group from tour guide all way too the instructor was very kind, funny and enjoyable too be around, they made sure your questions were answered to best of there knowledge
star-5
When can we do it again!
Nigel_T
, Apr 2022
This trip was absolutely fantastic and represents great value for money - my wife (who has parkinsonism) and I are in our mid sixties and thoroughly enjoyed the company of younger trip members - having never riden a motor bike or skidoo - it was so easy to do - would recommend this to anybody for an exilerating experience - many thanks to all the staff for their support/ instructions during our visit- can't wait to come back and do it again - finished the day relaxing in the secret lagoon
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your kind review. We're so glad that you enjoyed your day with us.
star-4
A must do trip
Louise_L
, Mar 2022
Amazing experience, highly recommend. Secret lagoon is a very quick visit, 1 hour max So bear this in mind if this is your only planned lagoon visit.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed the tour.
star-5
Amazing!
Katy_S
, Mar 2022
Fantastic day, we couldn't gave asked for better weather on the glacier. Our guide Oscar was brilliant gave us lots of little facts on route. Would highly recommend!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed the tour.
star-5
Snowmobiling was great...
Shane_D
, Feb 2022
Snowmobiling was great fun. Tough road conditions on the return from glacier but we were in safe hands with out driver Anton. Secret lagoon was perfect end to the day.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed the tour.
star-5
Best day of my life!!
MARK_a
, Feb 2022
The whole day was amazing! Super jeep was amazing and the snowmobiling was out of this world. Felt so safe in the hands of Anton the driver. Wonderful day!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed your day with us.
star-5
Amazing day !!!
Karine_P
, Feb 2022
Thank you ENNARR, the guide made the entire difference, we felt super safe we had a fantastic day, it was an amazing experience the ride in the 4by4 was a superbe experience, we had an amazing time on the snowmobile ride on the glacier relaxing to end up at the secret lagoon, very authentic definitely to recommend
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed the tour and I will tell Einar about your experience.
star-5
Worth it!
Charlie_B
, Feb 2022
Had the best time 100%worth every penny. Our driver was lovely, the roads were super icy and he handled everything so well such an excellent driver in those weather conditions l. The snowmobiling was 10/10 so exciting and fun. The secret lagoon was a lovely way to end such a action packed morning couldn’t ask for better.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review. We're overjoyed that you enjoyed your day with us
star-5
Snowmobile and Secret pool
Tracy_B
, Feb 2022
Breathtaking scenery, snowmobiles were great fun, surprisingly fast 53kmph. Out for at least an hour on the glacier. Disappointed we were unable to see the ice cave. Secret pool was lovely and warm!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you liked the tour.
star-5
Should be on your bucket list
James_P
, Feb 2022
This trip was amazing and is definitely worth the money! Snowmobiling is a great experience and should be on your bucket list. The glacier was very scenic and completed the experience. I would just add that the snowmobiling wasn’t on for as long as I expected ( around 40 minutes) and if you are swapping drivers you don’t get too long each. The secret lagoon was surprisingly good as well!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you liked the tour. The time on the snowmobile are usually for 1 hour but if the weather is not good we do need to cut it short sometimes.
star-4
Fantastic experience
Alison_S
, Feb 2022
So worth doing. Small group. Tip - try to avoid back row of vehicle as very tight squeeze. Also - when you stop after 1 1/2 hours - but some food then as you don’t get to buy food again until nearly 3pm.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed the tour with us.
star-5
Amazing
Lauren_F
, Jan 2022
Had the most amazing day! Thank you so much! Snowmobiling was epic, got to see so many beautiful parts of Iceland. The service and jokes were amazing! Well worth the money, a must do trip!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed the tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
The snowmobiling guides were excellent
Anne_C
, Dec 2021
Definitely the snowmobiling. However, albeit the drivers experience in driving was excellent, he had some very uncouth habits. For example he kept snorting Phlegm constantly throughout the drive.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review. I apologize on behalf of the staff member that showed signs of the poor habit that you describe. I'll address this matter internally.
star-5
Amazing experience and a great guide
Stella_C
, Oct 2021
An amazing trip with a great guide. Very informative and a good balance of excitement and relaxation. Thanks for a lovely time.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your day with us! Please come back anytime!
star-5
First timer
Pamela_H
, Oct 2021
I’ve always wanted to snowmobile so I thought what cooler way than on a glacier and it did not disappoint. The views were so beautiful. We lucked out and had a very sunny day. Magnus was our guide and he was great.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your day with us! Please come back anytime!
star-1
No Ice Cave - Buyer Beware False Advertising
Mindy_H
, Sep 2021
We were super excited to go see an Ice Cave hence the only reason we booked this tour. When we were on our way to the glacier we were told the ice cave didn't exist anymore, due to higher temps this summer and that we would be refunded. We didn't get the refund so I had to request it which they approved a very small portion. This is false advertising and very poor customer service as the ice cave hasn't been in operation for a bit. Don't book this tour if you are going for the ice cave there are many cheaper options to do the snowmobiling.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Sorry for the late response. Yes, it's true. We've experienced a lot of complications due to the ice cave being inaccessible. We've modified the tour description since. The price difference between the snowmobile tour and ice cave+snowmobile is what was refunded. However, if the ice cave was the main reason for booking I understand and apologize for any inconvenience caused.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Great fun.
Joseph_A
, Aug 2021
We really enjoyed the snow mobile ride and seeing the glacier.Magnus was an outstanding guide. Unfortunately the ice cave melted so it was not available.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your day with us!
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Comprehensive snow mobile/ glacier/ice cave and golden circle
Marina_G
, Jul 2021
Awesome super jeep and very spacey and the snowmobile was exhilarating. Highly recommend doing but don’t do a separate golden circle tour if you will do this tour. You will see everything in this tour but a bit more limited only cause you have to make it to snowmobile trip to the glacier. Try to be quick when driver makes stops. Tell the driver to give you a time to come back cause he won’t tell you and then get a bit of worried why you’re taking so long. Not much explaining in this tour so i would recommend reading up on places before going to this tour.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed your day with us!
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Snowmobiling on Langjökull Glacier and Bathing in the Secret Lagoon
Snowmobiling on Langjökull Glacier and Bathing in the Secret Lagoon

star-4.590

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$332.85

star-5136

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$325.43

star-4.596

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$197.16

star-531

2 days

Free Cancellation

From
$546.00

star-4.5247

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$240.00

star-525

10 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$288.86

star-52

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$683.70

star-4.553

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$234.26

star-54

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$371.01
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations