Recent Searches

Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik

star-4.5171 Reviews
Badge of Excellence
Reykjavík, Iceland
Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon3 to 5 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds


Brave the winter chill in search of the Northern Lights on this guided Aurora Borealis tour from Reykjavik. After pickup from your Reykjavik lodging, head out away from city lights in a comfortable minivan until reaching a secluded spot in the Icelandic countryside. Watch the natural light show, and then return to your Reykjavik hotel.
  • Northern Lights tour from Reykjavik
  • Head far from the city lights in a comfortable minivan
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off included
  • Expert guidance to spot the lights
Saved to wishlist!
English-speaking Driver/Guide
Transport by minibus small-group tour max 19 passenger
Pickup and drop-off from your location in Reykjavik or nearest Tour Bus Stops
Free WI-FI with unlimited free browsing
We also pick up from the Cruise Ship Port in Reykjavik (tell us the port and the cruise ship name)
3-hour tour searching for the Northern Lights
A lot of FUN
Luggage are not allowed, only back packs
Refreshments not included
Tripod not included
Warm Clothes, shoes, gloves, and hat not included

Departure Point

Hallgrímstorg 1, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

* If you don’t add a pickup location Meet us at Tour Bus stop #8 Hallgrimskirkja Cathedral * If you can´t find your address on the list, you can add it manually, and after we receive your pickup information, we will notify you of your pick up time and location 6 to 24 hours before the departure time

Departure Time

9:00 PM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • If you are a Tour Agency please book with the email and mobile phone number of the traveler, so we can deliver addition information
  • To avoid any misunderstanding and negative reviews, we’d like to inform you that this tour is a very much weather depending and can be cancelled up to one hour before the departure time. In this event you will get a full refund if we can't reschedule your tour to another date. (Please note: This is not for the clients that had already joined the tour)
  • Seeing the Northern Lights is not guaranteed even though the tour is operated. The Northern Lights are a natural phenomenon and as part of nature, unpredictable. We cannot guarantee how much you will see on the night you go. The supplier does not offer refunds for customers that have joined the tour
  • We send reconfirmation email about pick up time and location 6 to 24 hours before the tour begins. Please kindly check your email when you are in Iceland
  • Tour may be cancelled up to 1 hour before the tour starts due to unfavourable weather conditions
  • Please check your emails for any updates up to 1 hour before the tour start
  • Minimum age is 5 years, children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Refunds will not be issued if tour/activity is missed due to late or no show
  • We are picking up more passengers, please be at your pickup location on time, the pickup can last up to 45 minutes
  • Tour can take sometimes longer then 3 hours due to Northern Lights appearance
  • Pickup is offered at all Reykjavik hotels, hostels and guesthouses, private homes but you might have to make your way to the nearest Tour Bus Stops. Your hotel reception will help you find it
  • Dress very warm for the weather, it is Iceland very cold nights
  • Tripod very necessary for phones and photo cameras if you have one bring it with you
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Go to joy Iceland reserves the right to delay, alter or cancel any tour due to weather or any other unsafe conditions for the safety of our clients
  • Rebooking northern Lights tour due to bad weather cancellation to the 24-25-26-31 of December and first of January for additional cost difference due to Holidays prices
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Go to joy Iceland

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the pick up location?
A:We only offer pickup from central districts. Let us know where you are staying in the 'Special Requirements' box in the Traveler Details section during checkout. Or you can let us know after booking by visiting 'Manage my Booking' and emailing us there.
Jul 2019
What is the policy on sanitization during Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik.
What is the maximum group size during Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik?
A:This activity will have a maximum of 19 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik.

Traveler Photos


171 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 171 reviews
, Mar 2020
Overall the service was great, changed the pick up point for the bus with no fuss. The coach driver was very attentive and knowledgeable about the experience.
Great time
, Mar 2020
Our guide was one of the nicest people I have encountered on these trips . Very helpful making sure we all new what settings were needed for both smart phones as well as cameras. Had so much fun that night
No lights
, Feb 2020
Guide was friendly and very helpful with advice on taking photos of the lights. He tried his best to find them but wasn’t successful. Comfortable warm mini bus. He did manage to get a photo with his camera and put it on Facebook for us all
poor show
, Feb 2020
disorganised pick up, couldn't get us to a optimum viewing location, basically paid over £120 to sit in a van for two hours
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear Glyn Thank you for your time and sharing your experience with us, we apologize for any inconvenience. Our pick up and all other tour operators in Reykjavik are the same, we pick up directly from some hotels and the hotels they are in downtown they have to go to tour bus stops near there hotels due to restricted area set by Reykjavik city, you was on bus stop 6 we picked you up on time and we informed you with all the instructions on email send to you before the tour start, we don’t understand why you said disorganized pickup? Due to the snow on the roads sometime we cannot enter all the area’s we visit due to safety we have to stay on parkings beside the rods, because we don’t want to be stocked in the middle of nowhere with a bus full of passengers waiting for another bus to come to save us, we prefer to stay safe and the Guide explained that, we appreciate your understanding. The Northern Lights are a nature phenomenon and we don’t have any control of it and need a lot of patience, you didn’t have to seat on the bus for all the time you could stay outside but sorry we hear you was complaining that is too cold outside there. We hope you still enjoyed your vacation in Iceland. Best Regards,
Shy Mother Nature
, Feb 2020
Mother Nature was a bit shy I’m afraid. Our guide couldn’t have been more kind. He worked quite hard to find a spotting as we moved to 5 different locations. Finally, at the 4th stop as well as the 5th we were able to see a slight showing! Bucket list....CHECK!
Great guide
, Feb 2020
The tour was great. Our guide was very knowable. He tried to help our tour get their cameras ready before we saw the lights. The one thing I wish I knew was to look into photo apps before going on the tour. Most phones cannot take photos of the lights without a special app. We didn’t pay for phone service so we couldn’t download the app on the sport. The lights are only seen through a photo so I felt like we missed out on part of the experience by not being able to take photos. Our guide did take photos that we could purchase. He took a few beautiful ones of us. We purchased one and wish we had purchased more.
Someone turn the lights on
, Feb 2020
We were supposed to be back at 11.00, and arrived back at 1.30am. However, the guide was determined for us to see something. I’m sorry to say... and it saddens me that what you see on these pictures is not what we saw with a naked eye which was disappointing. Don’t be fooled into thinking this what you will expect to see.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hi Laviniaj, Thank you for taking time to express your experience here, we are sorry, but the tour start at 9:00 pm and is 3 hours minimum, so you should be back to Reykjavik at midnight and not 11:00 pm and we also describe that, sometimes it can be even longer due to the late appearance of the lights, sorry that you have missed that information. we again sorry that the light didn't reach your expectation, we explain to our clients that the Northern lights is a mother nature phenomenon and is not in our control, it’s not the same what you see on the photos and what you see with your necked eyes, even the photos are real and not photoshopped is just because they have long exposure and our eyes see the reality, we explain this during the tour. We encourage our guests to read little bit about the Aurora borealis before they book there trip or at least before the trip begins. We still hope that you like our service and you had a good time in Iceland.
Northern Lights were beautiful!
, Feb 2020
My partner and i went on this tour and it was amazing! Our guide was very passionate about the northern lights and very knowledgable. We saw the lights and got some good pictures. Thank you again!
Searching for northern lights
, Feb 2020
Fantastic tour and determined guide! We arrived in Iceland first night tour was cancelled due to cloud cover it got cancelled and moved every day until our last night it was a go ahead!! We searched for 3 hours until our guide knew where to go and sure enough he found them for us! Definitely recommend this tour
A great experience!
, Feb 2020
Our guide, Pawel, was excellent. Super attentive and friendly. We got to see great northern lights. Even after leaving to go back to the city, we stopped spontaneously as the lights became a lot stronger. We would highly recommend this tour!
1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik
Northern Lights Small-Group Minibus Tour from Reykjavik


3 to 5 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



8 hours 40 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

$102.46 $76.85


1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

$128.68 $96.51


3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do