Recent Searches
Clear

Active Volcano Hike Tour from Reykjavik

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Reykjavik, Iceland
Active Volcano Hike Tour from Reykjavik
38

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon6 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
Crampons (if needed)
WiFi on board
Dinner

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
Please select a hotel or bus stop close to your accommodation from the drop down list.
Most inner city hotels are unavailable due to local law. If your hotel is not listed choose a bus stop. There are various bus stops around the city. When choosing pick up from the drop down menu look under "ports".
YOU MUST SELECT A SPECIFIC BUS STOP. WE DO NOT GO TO ALL BUS STOPS!

Pick ups at individual addresses like airbnb's at random locations are not possible.
You must also choose a specific pick up point close to your accommodation.



Ports

  • Bus Stop #1 Ráðhús City Hall, Vonarstræti 10, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
  • Bus stop #5 Harpa, Sculpture & Shore Walk 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
  • Bus Stop #6 - Safnahúsið The Culture House, Ingólfsstræti 1, 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
  • Bus stop #10 Hlemmur Square, Laugavegur, Reykjavík, Iceland
  • Bus Stop #12 Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 6, Reykjavík, Iceland
  • BSÍ Parking, Reykjavík, Iceland
  • Skarfabakki Harbour, Reykjavík, Iceland


  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Glaciers and Waterfalls ehf

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Active Volcano Hike Tour from Reykjavik?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Active Volcano Hike Tour from Reykjavik.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Summer Tips: as you climb, it gets colder, damper, and windier so bring layers, preferably warm windbreakers or rain jacket/pants." See review
  • "Tours are based on circumstances and can be moved/changed at anytime." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
106 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 106 reviews
star-5
Amazing experience
Delina_W
, Jul 2021
Lovely trip. The guide was very friendly and made sure everyone kept on the same paths and made it back to the bus. Some areas going up were a bit steep and slippery, yet the experience of the rain and wind, and then finally watching the volcano reacting, was indeed worth it.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great guide and experience
Kristina
, Jul 2021
The weather did not cooperate, forcing a cancellation of the full hike, but the tour was great about communicating alternate arrangements and our guide was great. I also appreciated the tour’s flexibility in dropping me off at a destination near the airport once the tour was finished, so I was able to make it to my flight with plenty of time to spare
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fantastic and a must-do!
Earle_B
, Jul 2021
The guide, Lorenzo, was fantastic. The hike itself was a little more than “moderate”, so people should be in pretty good condition to participate, but if you get lucky like we did, and see the volcano while it was angry and erupting, it was an unforgettable experience, and worth every penny.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Great guide, but no view on the volcano
Lina
, Jul 2021
The guide was really friendly and tried to make the best out of the day. Due to the bad weather we couldn’t do the hike to the volcano und just saw a little bit of hardened lava. But he tried to show us some other things like hot springs or the bridge between the continents. Not his fault, but I was a little disappointed.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Sulphur dioxide reacts with the humid weather creating thick fog. There is nothing we can do about that, sorry.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
No tour, no reason provided
Samiran_S
, Jul 2021
The tour did not take place. There was no prior information. The tour operator shared the information on the day at the pick-up location. Very disappointing.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
No reason provided? Please tell the truth when writing reviews. The tour was cancelled due to weather, which we told you about in person at your pick up location. I personally talked to you. You need to respect the fact that this is a tour to an active volcano, not to see something like a statue in a city centre. Volcanoes are dangerous. Hiking in bad weather is dangerous. Hiking in bad weather to an active volcano is stupidity. We know how bad the conditions can get at the eruption site. We know our weather. You should respect that.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Fantastic experience
PhelpsA
, Jul 2021
Highly recommend taking this tour! You'll definitely be lucky if you get Einar as your tour guide!! Timely pick up, interesting information shared along the way to the hiking location. As you'll see in other reviews, the route taken (although there could be a new route since it's an ever changing situation) was a bit steep, but Einar kept a perfect pace for people of limited/moderate fitness. Amazing experience -- don't miss it!!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Lava!
Cary_H
, Jul 2021
An amazing experience, well planned and well executed. Our guide Lorrenzo, was friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating, and did his best to make sure the entire group (of only 13) was able to enjoy the tour. We have spoken to several others who took this same tour (but we don’t know with which providers) and shared that they didn’t enjoy the same views or access that we did, so we feel fortunate to have had such a great trip. Highly recommend this tour from its ease of booking and pleasant contact to it’s professional execution. 5stars!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Very Strenuous Hike but Worth It
james_a
, Jul 2021
Guide was very good-knowledgeable and friendly. The hike was strenuous over difficult terrain. Our tour got to see the lava, but we heard that the weather is very fickle and clouds may obscure everything. I think a pair of binoculars is essential. With them you could actually see the leaving racing along, without you just saw red glow.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Breathtaking If You’re Prepared
Michelle_S
, Jul 2021
Fair warning: if you are not in excellent physical condition, don’t go on this hike. It’s incredibly strenuous. That said, it was one of the most amazing experiences. Truly stunning landscape and adventure. Our guide, Lorenzo, was also great. Very engaging, knowledgeable, and kind. If you’re up for it, I 10/10 recommend. It’s about 6.5 miles roundtrip taking 3-4 hours. The first half is almost entirely straight uphill. But you literally get to be in the clouds and it’s incredible. Even if you don’t see the erupting molten lava due to weather/ poor visibility. It’s still worth it! The hardened lava is a must see. Overall breathtaking experience. Summer Tips: as you climb, it gets colder, damper, and windier so bring layers, preferably warm windbreakers or rain jacket/pants. Good hiking shoes are a must. Bring snacks and water. I’d also recommend tissues because the cold can make your nose run. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did
HelpfulHelpful2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Best best best!
Chi
, Jul 2021
Lorenzo(?) who was our guide was amazing!! We took the 6pm tour and he is knowledgeable and took care of everyone in the group well throughout the hike. We saw red light glowing from the crater as we hiked up and Lorenzo found a good spot for us to sit and enjoy view of the crater from behind a big rock to block the wind. He even offered my friend his own jacket cuz he thought she is cold. We eventually saw lava sparks and all got the pictures/video everyone wanted. Lorenzo even took the extra mile and stopped at 2 more geothermal activity spots along the way back to Reykjavik. He even stopped for a 3rd which is a viewpoint of the lake when it's almost midnight already (still bright outside cuz midnight sun). But everyone was tired at that point so we didn't get off the car and just saw it as we drove by. It was one of my most memorable night in Iceland! Thank you!
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Active Volcano Hike Tour from Reykjavik
Current
Active Volcano Hike Tour from Reykjavik

star-5106

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$86.20

star-4.517

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$99.08

star-4.53

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$199.00

star-4.52

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.90

star-51

11 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$171.15

star-52

14 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$161.08

star-4.55

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$75.00

star-51

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$110.00

star-4.534

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$201.79

Explore Similar Things to Do