Recent Searches
Clear

Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik with Glacier Snowmobile Experience

|
Reykjavík, Iceland
Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik with Glacier Snowmobile Experience
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon11 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 9 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Combine a tour of Iceland's Golden Circle with an off-road ride in a super truck and a snowmobile experience. On this full-day tour, including pickup and drop-off from your Reykjavik accommodations, you get a true sense of the country's natural wonders through visits to Thingvellir National Park, Gullfoss Waterfall, and the Strokkur geyser, among other highlights.
  • Day trip including the Golden Circle Tour, exploring in a super truck, and snowmobiling adventure
  • Visit Golden Circle highlights such as Thingvellir National Park, Gullfoss Waterfall, and the Strokkur geyser
  • Ride a super truck over the rugged tundra
  • Snowmobile across glacial ice and snow fields
  • Round-trip transportation from your Reykjavik accommodations
  • Bus equipped with GPS-enabled tablets featuring travel information in 10 languages
Saved to wishlist!
In-bus audio guide with a choice of 10 languages (English, French, German, Dutch, Italian, Spanish, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Finnish)
English-speaking local guide
Free WiFi on board
USB charger
All necessary equipment for the snowmobile ride
Food and drinks
Headphones / earbuds for the on-board audio guide (please bring your own; or, they are available for purchase on site)
Hotel pickup is not included with your purchase. SmartBus™ hotel pickup is available at extra cost.
Single ride supplement for snowmobile payable on spot (if odd number of travellers, 1, 3 etc.)
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Reykjavik Terminal , Skógarhlíð 10, Reykjavík, Iceland

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

8:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
Be ready for convenient pickup at your Reykjavik accommodations. Board a comfortable bus and find your seat, equipped with Wi-Fi and a USB charger. Each seat also comes equipped with a tablet, which provides GPS-sensitive audio guides in several languages. 

The UNESCO-listed Thingvellir National Park is the first stop. There, learn about the Althing, one of the world's oldest parliaments. The park is also home to the location where the American and Eurasian tectonic plates have been dramatically pulled apart; the rift makes great photos. 

Continue to Geysir geothermal area, where you visit the very active Strokkur geyser. Take a walk around the Gullfoss Waterfall, where runoff from the Hvítá glacial river drops over two levels into a canyon. 

To keep exploring the rugged terrain of the central highlands, hop aboard a custom super-truck bound for the snowmobile base camp at the foot of the Langjökull Glacier. There, transfer to a snowmobile to ride across the snow and ice fields of the white wilderness.

After a day of adventure, relax onboard the bus as you're whisked back to Reykjavik and dropped off in the evening.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Thingvellir National Park
The tour starts with a visit to Þingvellir National Park, the birthplace of the longest running parliament in the world. It is also here that the great continental plates of America and Eurasia have dramatically pulled apart and the resulting rift valley is clearly visible on the shores of Iceland´s biggest lake.
Duration: 45 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Strokkur
The next stop is at Geysir Hot Springs, the home of the original geyser and one of the most photographed tourist attractions in world. Here the ground trembles and super heated water & steam erupts skywards from the spouting Strokkur geyser every few minutes.
Duration: 45 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Langjokull Glacier
Next we head to Gullfoss Waterfall where you will step aboard a custom-made Super Truck that´s capable of driving across rough snowy terrain thanks to its enormous tyres. The drive to the snowmobile base camp at the foot of the Langjökull Glacier is an unique Arctic highland experience and the snowmobile tour that follows is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure. Ride across the eternally frozen snow and ice fields of one of the biggest glaciers in the world on a guided snowmobile tour, exploring one of the last true wilderness areas in Europe and indeed the world. Please note that a valid driver's license is required to drive a snowmobile.
Duration: 3 hours 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Gullfoss Waterfall
When you return from your snowmobile adventure you can enjoy a leisurely walk down to Gullfoss Waterfall. There the Hvítá glacial river cascades down 32 metres on two levels into a narrow canyon with a thundering roar.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Minimum age is six years
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Please note, you must hold a valid drivers license to drive a snowmobile
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Reykjavik Sightseeing
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik with Glacier Snowmobile Experience?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik with Glacier Snowmobile Experience.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik with Glacier Snowmobile Experience?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik with Glacier Snowmobile Experience.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik with Glacier Snowmobile Experience?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik with Glacier Snowmobile Experience.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik with Glacier Snowmobile Experience?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik with Glacier Snowmobile Experience.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "You get the full gear but you will need hand warmers to place in your gloves (provided, but too thin to have any use) or use your own." See review
  • "Start the morning 07:30am a walk through the tectonic plates followed by the geysers and fulfils waterfalls, a day full of interesting sights." See review
  • "They just need to add a few 3x suits mind you this is from someone who is 6'5" tall and not small." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
73 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 73 reviews
star-3
Snowmobile trip
David_B
, Jun 2022
The snowmobile part of the tour went out in very bad weather. This part of the tour should have been canceled. The tour was cut short because of the visibility and weather. No one enjoyed this experience. Some sort of refund should occur.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you David for taking the time in writing us this review. We are sorry to see the weather played it's role with your tour. On the glacier the weather can change very fast and as our passengers safety is a top priority we had to take actions. We hope you have enjoyed the rest of the tour.
star-5
The best trip in Iceland
Catherine_P
, May 2022
The driver/guide was fantastic A character eager to answer all my questions. He was funny and looked after everyone. It was ver personal and the truck was a beast and very comfortable
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for taking time in writing us about your experience. We are happy to see you had a great time along the Golden Circle tour and we hope the snowmobiling ride was the cherry on the cake. Hope to see you again for even more adventures!
star-1
Dreadful customer care
Ian_V
, Mar 2022
Sadly not told pick up time correctly and no trip and very bad customer care tried to sort this out but not helpful Very disappointing Would not ever book again with them
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you Ian for taking time in leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear about this case, but as we informed your booking agent, all the information needed were on your voucher. All our customers are informed that pick up starts 30 min prior to tour departure time, if pick up service is included. We hope you will come back to Iceland again and hopefully next time your experience would be a 5 stars one.
star-5
Absolutely brilliant
gary_m
, Mar 2022
The snowmobiling was excellent. Excellent organisation. Would not hesitate booking it again. The guides on the buses were very knowledgeable and friendly. We loved it!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you Gary for taking time in writing us these kind words. We are glad to see you had a great time on our tour and we hope to have you back on board soon.
star-4
Great snowmobiling experience; the rest a bit long
Tony_C
, Mar 2022
The snowmobiling was excellent fun. Good staff and well organised. The monster truck type bus was a bit packed in to get there though. The rest of the Golden Circle tour was long (but it is a fair distance between things in Iceland).
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you Tony for taking time in writing us this review. We are glad to see you had a good time with us and we hope you will join us in he future for even more adventures.
star-1
Far too little excursion, far too mush time on buses. Avoid
David_M
, Mar 2022
So the scenery is great, people friendly and helpful. We were really looking forward to seeing the Golden Circle especially the waterfall. The snowmobile was an added extra. In the event we left Reykjavik about 7:40am and returned after 8:40pm - over 13 hours. Of this time, almost 10 hours was on buses. The tour tries to cram far too much into the time available. We were rushed through the first stop - the weather was poor so we couldn't walk anywhere. the Geysir is nice but is only a 10 minute stop. At Gulfoss, we were rushed to a 4x4 truck for the transfer to the snowmobile and then waited in the truck for over 30 minutes. We didn't get to see the waterfall at all. The transfer to the snowmobile camp should have been interesting however was over an hour each way - the vehicle was awful - cramped, cold, wet, almost no visibility. Over 50 people stuck in a tiny claustrophobic space for hours. The truck had a tyre problem so had to wait for over an hour for tools. Given this is a wilderness outing that suggests very poor planning and could have been serious. The snowmobiles were fine - but a lot of sitting on a cramped bus for a short ride. the journey back to Gulfoss also slow and painful arriving around 2 hours late. The final problem was the journey back to Reykjavik. Perhaps there is a low speed limit for coaches but the bus crawled back taking well over 2 hours to cover perhaps 70 miles. The roads were pretty deserted and almost every other vehicle overtook the coach. As a result we arrived back with no time to spare for our Northern Lights tour - nothing to eat, no chance even for a bathroom stop or clean up. We had just spent 13 hours - mostly on buses - and couldn't face another 4 hours so we cancelled that next trip and weren't able to reschedule. If we had known the transfer to the snowmobiles was going to be so long we would never have booked that part and simply enjoyed both the waterfall AND out Northern Lights trip. We didn't get the see the Golden Circle - despite this trip being advertised - the truck/coach to the snowmobiles was uncomfortable - there are newer vehicles doing the same trip so why did we have to be crammed into that old wreck? Why do the snowmobiles have to be so far away - given the ride is only 50 minutes it's madness to take 4 hours for the trip. This itinerary is far too ambitious. It's also very expensive. We felt badly let down and ripped off. A painful way to learn not to use coaches unless there is no alternative - trip with smaller minibuses have far less time sitting around.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you David for such a detailed feedback of your trip. We are sorry to see this tour did not met your expectations. The departure time of the Golden Circle tour is 08:00 and the tour never leaves earlier. The tour is being advertised as being 12h long. At each stop along the Golden Circle tour we allow from 30 min up to 1h time to visit, depending on the group pace and also weather conditions. The truck that it is used to transfer you on the glacier is a heavy modified truck. Not every vehicle can reach to the glacier. We are sorry that weather conditions on that day were not ideal, but it is hard to predict how weather can be on the glacier, hence why the delayed transfer. Iceland was severely hit by storms in the past weeks, making driving conditions not easy at some pointes. Our driver does adapt the speed according to the road conditions and we will never go beyond the point when it becomes dangerous! We do hope you will visit us again and join for more adventure in Iceland!
star-5
A must do experience!
Amanda_S
, Mar 2022
This is a must if you’re visiting Iceland. Was lots of snow when we were there so views on this trip were spectacular. A long day but well worth it.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you for writing us this review. We are happy to see you had a great time on the Golden Circle tour and we hope you will visit us again soon.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Don't book!
Josh_P
, Feb 2022
Experienced bad weather, however I didn't get an email saying it was cancelled until 11pm Don't book as it is very unreliable on communication
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hello Josh! Thank you for taking time in writing us this review. We are sad to see this though, as we consider it does not reflect the effort we put in informing our customers in time about any cancelation. Due to recent storms that hits Iceland for weeks, the weather forecast was very unreliable and we had to act even last minute. We do hope that you will join us in the future so you can have a better overview on how fun a tour with us is!
star-5
Fantastic trip
Charlotte_D
, Feb 2022
The trip is a must for any visitor to Iceland. Very well organised. Stunning scenery and great fun. Snowmobiles and glacier were fantastic.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you Charlotte for taking time in writing us this review. We are glad to see you had a great time on our Golden Circle tour and we hope to have you back on board to explore even more of Iceland
star-5
Snowtastic
goonerafc68
, Jan 2022
Really enjoyed the whole day however the snowmobiling has got to be the highlight Tour guide was really friendly and helpful
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you for taking time in writing us about your experience. We are happy to see you had a great time on the Golden Circle and Glacier Snowmobile tour. We hope to see you again so we can explore together even more of Iceland.
star-5
A most enjoyable trip to see Icelands natural wonders
Steph_J
, Jan 2022
A really good trip to see some of Icelands natural wonders. A full day with a good amount of time at each point to enjoy each feature. We had the most amazing guide and driver….. nicknamed Yoyo & Santa who made the trip even more fun. Their vast knowledge of Iceland accompanied with their humour made this one of our most enjoyable trips. I would like to add that my husband is disabled and both Yoyo and Santa did everything they could to make this trip inclusive for him.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
And the award to the most heart whelming review of the month goes to Steph! Thank you very much for taking time in writing us this review. We will make sure Santa and Yoyo will read it. We are very happy we could be part of your adventure in Iceland and we hope to see you again on board for even more fund and interesting trips!
star-1
Terrible, bad organisation and customer service.
Simon_C
, Dec 2021
Our activities were cancelled without telling us until we were at the first stop. It was terribly organised by the company from the moment we stepped on the bus. The guide was friendly but the company didn’t care - go with another company for your activities.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Hello Simon! Thank you for writing us this review. As much as we appreciate you taking time, I am afraid we have to disagree with your statement. The tour has departed from Reykjavik whilst the weather was closely monitored by our team. Unfortunately, as the weather worsen up and a weather warning was issued, we were forced to return the bus as the conditions became too dangerous. Our customers safety is a top priority and we could not take any risks. We are sorry that this happened so, but mother nature had a thing to say in this matter and I doubt other companies would have went against the weather. We hope you enjoyed your time in Iceland!
star-5
An absolute must-do !!
Magalie_C
, Dec 2021
This was a perfect day ! From pick up to drop off, the organisation was just excellent !! The sights were just breathtaking and mesmerising! Then the snowmobile experience is one in a lifetime experience to have !!! The Mountaineers of Iceland team was just excellent and patient, and they provided us with warm clothes for the journey in snowmobile. Cherry on the cake, our tour guide and driver did not hesitate to stop on our way back for us to see the beautiful Northern Lights !!! Incredible tour!!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Sounds like you had a memorable experience! We are happy we could be part of it and we appreciate you taking time in writing it down. Seeing the Northern Lights on your way back, after an adventurous day that is indeed cherry on the cake and we cannot imagine a better way to end a long and fun day.
star-4
Great tour - be prepared to travel!!
Jack_D
, Dec 2021
Be prepared to travel a lot! It was a great trip and we saw and did some amazing things, so definatley worth doing. However it was a 12 hour day and the majority of it is spent on a coach. It wasn't too bad in the morning but we got on the bus to come home at 3.30pm and didn't get back until 7.30pm. We took an unusual detour to pick people up from the secret lagoon that added on 1.5 hours. But overall the activities themselves were great and the tour guide was brill.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you Jack for taking time in writing us this feedback. We are happy to see you enjoyed both the scenic of the Golden Circle tour and the snowmobiling experience. Regarding the unusual detour picking up customers from Secret Lagoon, we can guarantee that the return way it is the same. We add this extra stop and consider this way you will also be able to see one of Iceland's oldest geothermal pools. We hope we'll have you back on board to explore even more of Iceland!
star-5
Very long, but outstanding tour!
kevin_g
, Dec 2021
First, it was a long long day. Every bit of like 12 hours from pick up to drop off! But, it was sooooo worth it and great fun! If you have the time to burn you can’t go wrong with this here tour!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you Kevin for taking time in writing us this review. We are happy to see the 12h long day was worth it. I bet the snowmobiling ride was cherry on the cake, right? Looking forward to see you again on board to explore even more of Iceland.
star-3
Tour needs to be shorter in the winter
Leonard_M
, Dec 2021
Overall it was a lot of fun, but it seems silly to me that the tour would continue around the whole “golden circle” after dark when it’s impossible to see anything - why not just return to Reykjavik by the shortest route? The snowmobiling was a bit of a let down. The group was far too large, so we had to stop and wait every 30 seconds for someone to catch up.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you Leonard for taking time in writing us this review. Life at the Arctic Circle means that we get only 3-4h of daylight during winter season. However, life in Iceland does not stop due to lack of daylight and we continue our operation, hoping this will actually give you a glimpse of how life is in Iceland on daily basis in cold season. We appreciate your suggestion to cut short the trip, but from our experience all our customers want to see all 3 main attractions for this trip, so cutting it short will not benefit anybody. We hope you had a nice time on our tours and you will visit again again one day.
star-5
Even better than expected
Luca_C
, Dec 2021
Very dark for first stop at national park, as you would expect when short hours of sunlight in December. Other stops were so good! Best to get food at Geysir stop(really great food here) as you won't get a chance after that
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you Luca for taking time in writing us this review. Being dark the majority of day in winter time is part of life at the Arctic Circle. We hope that this experience gave you a glimpse of how Icelanders live on a daily basis. We are happy to see you enjoyed this tour and we hope to have you back on board again to explore even more of what Iceland has to offer
star-5
Brilliant day out for the highlights
Lloyd_W
, Dec 2021
You can’t possibly see all of what Iceland has to offer in a single day, but this tour provides a great and informative overview of some of the key highlights. The snow mobile segment is a must-do too!
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you Lloyd for taking time in writing us a review! We are happy to see that you enjoyed this experience and we hope you will have the chance to visit us again and explore even more of Iceland.
star-4
Snowmobiling highlight of the day
Victoria_T
, Dec 2021
This was a good trip but the larger group meant a lot of waiting around and poor timing which meant crucial daylight was eaten into. The guides were good. The trip was fantastic itself, snow mobiling was the highlight, definitely worth it.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you Victoria for taking time in writing us this review! We are happy to see you enjoyed this experience and we hope to have you back on board again.
star-4
Highly recommend (snowmobile not for me)
Zoe_J
, Dec 2021
The day was long & tiring but boy was it worth it. The bus ride alone was spectacular with the stunning views. The snow mobiling was a BIG challenge. The snow was very deep and we tipped the snowmobile twice. Getting up in q super tight overall wasn't anything but fun. The people were all friendly and informative. My arms hurt three days later from holding onto the snowmobile so tight. Amazing day. Three things I would point out 1) The headphones they try sell you they charge approx £6 each for. You have to pay cash and we only had card. I wouldn't even recommend buying them as we hardly heard anything due to lack of content 2) go up a size in the snowmobile Jumpsuit (you do not want it tight) 3) Don't take a pack up like we did. As the tour details said food & drinks not included we thought for a 10+ hour round trip we'd need food & drink. We took a pack up which we didn't eat as we decided to eat at one of the two places we stopped at for something warm. Really enjoyed it though. Grey line were on time and the coach was comfortable (albeit tight for space when you have your layers & coat on).
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you Zoe for taking time in writing us about your experience. We are glad to see you had fun on the snowmobiling trip. We now how much fun you can have, especially when you have powder snow. We recommend our customers to bring their own headphones, but in case this is not possible you can buy them from us. You can also pay by card inside the Terminal before departure. Regarding the packed lunch, even though we do advertise there will be a lunch stop along the way, we encourage our customers who do not want to spend time at the restaurant to pack up something to eat. We leave it up to them how they would like to spend the time during the lunch stop at one of the attractions. We hope you now have plenty of nice memories from your Iceland trip and we hope to see you again on board for even more adventures in Iceland!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik with Glacier Snowmobile Experience
Likely to Sell Out
Golden Circle Day Trip from Reykjavik with Glacier Snowmobile Experience

star-473

11 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$233.37

star-4.5247

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$240.00

star-597

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$91.00

star-520

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$330.00

star-4.579

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$234.44

star-51020

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$129.00

star-4.596

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$199.11
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations