Recent Searches
Clear

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Small Group Northern Lights Tour

|
Reykjavík, Iceland

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Witness nature’s spectacular lightshow with an unforgettable small-group Northern Lights tour from Reykjavík. Follow your guide on a 3-hour evening tour and hunt down the best viewing spots, far from the crowds of the city. Along the way, learn all there is to know about the mysterious Aurora Borealis and keep your camera close to hand, as you never know when the Lights will make an appearance!
  • 3-hour Northern Lights tour from Reykjavík
  • Escape the crowds to seek out the best Northern Lights viewing spots
  • Witness the dazzling phenomenon of the Aurora Borealis (not guaranteed)
  • Marvel over Iceland’s landscapes by night
  • Great-value tour includes hotel pick-up and transport by comfortable minibus
  • Once in a lifetime opportunity!
  • Small-group tour ensures a personalized experience
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Gratuities

Departure Point

1: Reykjavík, Iceland
2: Bus stop #1 - Ráðhúsið - City Hall, Vonarstræti 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
3: Tjörnin, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
4: Bus Stop #3 Lækjargata, Lækjargata 4, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
5: Miðbakki, Geirsgata, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
6: Bus stop #5 Harpa, Sculpture & Shore Walk 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
7: Bus Stop #6 - Safnahúsið The Culture House, Ingólfsstræti 1, 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
8: Hallgrimskirkja, Hallgrímstorg 1, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
9: Bus Stop #9 Snorrabraut, Snorrabraut 24, 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
10: Bus stop #10 Hlemmur Square, Laugavegur, Reykjavík, Iceland
11: Bus stop #11 Austurbær, Snorrabraut 37, Reykjavík, Iceland
12: Bus Stop #12 Höfðatorg, Þórunnartún 6, Reykjavík, Iceland
13: Bus Stop #13 Rauðarárstígur, Laugavegur 120, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
14: Bus Stop #14 - Skúlagata, Klapparstígur 5, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

Departure Time

9:00 PM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Begin your guided Northern Lights Hunt from Reykjavik with pick-up from your central hotel, then head out of the city to hunt down the best viewing points. Learn more about nature’s dazzling lightshow from your guide as you soak up the scenery of Iceland by night.

Stop at prime viewing points along the way and if you’re lucky, get chance to witness the spectacular Aurora Borealis and take some unforgettable photos. Best of all, enjoy an intimate, small-group experience, free from the crowds, and travel on-board a heated minibus (warm clothes still recommended).

Please note: the exact itinerary depends on the aurora forecast and sightings cannot be guaranteed.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Thingvellir National Park
The tours are weather dependable, our guides will take you to where the sky leads them. Our aim is to find clear sky and to take you to well known areas that are characteristic of Iceland's most famous sights.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Kerid Crater
The tours are weather dependable, our guides will take you to where the sky leads them. Our aim is to find clear sky and to take you to well known areas that are characteristic of Iceland's most famous sights.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
Stop At:  
Blue Lagoon
The tours are weather dependable, our guides will take you to where the sky leads them. Our aim is to find clear sky and to take you to well known areas that are characteristic of Iceland's most famous sights.
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Rebooking due to no Sighting. If no Northern Lights are found travellers are able to rebook the tour on any given date after the initial tour date free of charge.
  • Rebooking is available as long as seats are available. If a tour is booked in a minibus we reserve the rights to rebook on a regular bus or any available vehicle.
  • Infant seats available upon request
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • The Northern Lights tour are a natural phenomenon and sightings are not guaranteed
  • Most travelers can participate
  • OPERATED BY Trips

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Reviews

4.0
star-4
65 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 65 reviews
star-5
Our guide made this trip
ericacosentino
, Feb 2020
Our guide was very passionate about the northern lights and was very invested in making sure we were able to see them; he took us to 3 or 4 different locations before we finally saw them. When we did see them, he took really great pictures for everyone and gave us all hot cocoa and cookies.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear Erica, thank you for your kind words and this amazing review! Best Regards Trips Powered by SkyBus
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Small Group Northern Lights Tour
dorseydiane1031
, Jan 2020
The bus driver was wonderful with an amazing baritone, and cookies. I enjoyed the small bus and group. The only thing missing was the Northern Lights. I will not be back to Iceland anytime soon so I would have preferred even a parital refund instead of the opportunity to go again.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear Dorsey, Thank you so much for your review! We are sorry to hear that you didn't manage to see the Northern Lights on your tour. We try to collect all the best conditions to provide the full experience but as its a Natural phenomenon, we can't guarantee the Northern Lights, what we can guarantee is all the conditions to see that phenomenon. when you participate and don't manage to see the Northern Lights we let you move your booking free of charge so you can go again and with that increase your chances of seeing this spectacular Nature's Show. Please understand that our refund policy only applies to clients that, don't participate on our tour when we don't provide the tour due to weather conditions or other factors that don't allow us to give our guests the minimum conditions. Best Regards TRIPS Powered by Skybus
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
No luck
Hari P
, Nov 2019
This trip was well organised, driver was very patient to drive us to locations for northern lights, but no luck.We would have loved/enjoyed the tour if we had witnessed lights- bad luck although the KPI was showing 4 rating which is the maximum.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
I liked the small group experience...
KATHLEEN U
, Jan 2018
I liked the small group experience as we were free to go off the main highway and look for the lights. Our guide/ driver was enthusiastic and friendly. He offered us a fun albeit cold evening. He did offer hot chocolate and cookies about mid way through. overall very good. He changed course when he saw clouds in a particular direction. I Would recommend it.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Definitely worth booking a small...
christine G
, Apr 2017
Definitely worth booking a small group tour, our minibus arrived at the chosen location to find at least 10 large coahcloads of tourists...not what I had expected. However our driver/guide was happy to relocate to somewhere quieter. We did see a glimpse of the said Northern Lights but colours seen better through a camera lens.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Not worth the money. Even though in...
Lev
, Feb 2017
Not worth the money. Even though in a minivan, they travel in a convoy of 3 vans. This is no difference from travelling in a big bus, one awaiting the other. We waited n when the lights were spotted, they told us 5mins we will leave. These guys are too commercialised n not professional at all.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
The driver had clearly not slept for...
Krystle J
, Feb 2017
The driver had clearly not slept for a while as he kept falling asleep on the road and we had to repeatedly wake him so we didn't go off the road. then he dropped his cell phone and went searching for it while driving and almost took us off a bridge and to top it off almost hit the car in front of us because he wasn't paying attention while driving thought the tunnel. Thank God for prayers because I think that is the only thing that saved our life this night. As for the tour there northern lights little to no information given and there was barley a hint of their existence. really wish we hadn't gone and put our life in this mans hands
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great fun. Ari was our Icelandic...
Steve M
, Dec 2016
Great fun. Ari was our Icelandic guide. Very funny and entertaining. The lights were not strong, but did make some great photographs. We would do it again, hopefully with Ari.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
We did end up seeing the lights that...
gemma_mccrimmon
, Nov 2016
We did end up seeing the lights that were great. This tour however wasnt anything more than a taxi service, we were driven to a spot where we stood for 2.5 hours. No information was given about the lights and there were a number of other coach trips there so the small group part means nothing.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
We went out two nights running with...
John Stuart D
, Nov 2016
We went out two nights running with this tour operator and they were fantastic, shame we didn't get to see the lights but had lots of fun searching for them.
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 24204P5

Explore Similar Things to Do