Recent Searches
Clear

Picton Shore Excursion : Marlborough Wine Tour

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Picton, New Zealand
Picton Shore Excursion : Marlborough Wine Tour
36

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 to 6 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

When your cruise ship docks in Picton, take the opportunity to go wine tasting on a tour that visits some of Marlborough’s award-winning wineries. Visit up to five wineries in Blenheim for tastings and vineyard tours, discovering both internationally famous wines and lesser-known New Zealand gems. You’ll also stop for lunch (own expense) and sample locally made chocolates as you head back to Picton at the end of your tour.
  • Wine tour shore excursion from Picton with port pickup and drop-off
  • Sample some of New Zealand’s famous Marlborough wines
  • Taste a variety of wines during stops at four or five wineries
  • Try chocolates made by local producers
  • Hear about the Marlborough region’s role in New Zealand’s wine industry
  • Numbers limited to 12 for a small-group experience
Saved to wishlist!
Wine tasting at 4-5 award-winning wineries
Local guide
Port pickup and drop-off
Small group tour by minivan
Vineyard tour
Chocolate tasting
Air-conditioned vehicle
Lunch
Personal expenses

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
This tour is specifically tailored for CRUISE SHIP PASSENGERS. It is only available on cruise ship days and starts from and returns to the Picton Information Centre. Please check emails from Tripadvisor prior to your ship departure - there may be some variation in the tour departure time (variance in docking times). We will ALWAYS send a departure time confirmation email prior to your sailing. This is our only means of contacting you.

Ports

  • Picton


  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 1 day of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Minimum age is 18 years
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 11 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Jade Marlborough Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Picton Shore Excursion : Marlborough Wine Tour ?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Picton Shore Excursion : Marlborough Wine Tour .
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Picton Shore Excursion : Marlborough Wine Tour ?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Picton Shore Excursion : Marlborough Wine Tour .
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Picton Shore Excursion : Marlborough Wine Tour ?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Picton Shore Excursion : Marlborough Wine Tour .
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Picton Shore Excursion : Marlborough Wine Tour ?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 11 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Picton Shore Excursion : Marlborough Wine Tour .

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "This wine tour is a must for all those who enjoy good wine and a fun time!" See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
61 Reviews
3 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 61 reviews
star-2
Disappointing experience
UDFAN
, Mar 2020
Although the wineries were very good and the hosts at each very knowledgeable and engaging, I was very unhappy with Jade Tours. Jade booked the van entirely full. We had to sit in the back, bench seat with two other guests. Four adults in that seat is absolutely infeasible and made for an extremely uncomfortable ride. Just because the vehicle manufacturer says the vehicle can hold 13 passengers does not mean you should hold 13 passengers - particularly if you want your guests to be comfortable... In addition, the sound system was very poor and we could not hear any of the commentary throughout the trip. We repeatedly requested the volume be adjusted but there didn’t seem to be a solution. The three folks in front is us could not hear either. If you are unfortunate enough to be one of the seven guests who do not get optimum seating, you will lose the benefit of commentary on the tour and you may be in for a very tight ride. It ended up being simply a means of transportation- something we could have gotten via taxi, Uber, or Hop On/Hop Off for a lot less money and much more comfort.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
We are sorry that you were disappointed in the minibus transportation. Arriving 30 minutes after your agreed meeting time meant that you only had the back seating available. The tour was on the point of leaving without you. Each person had an allocated seat but some fill those seats more than others and we had 12 passengers owing to the popularity of the tour. We sent a second van to collect you from the last winery for the 30 minutes back to Picton but you declined the offer. We will investigate your issue of the sound system - turning it up too high causes crackling but the issue has not been raised with us before. The emphasis of our tours is to provide information and stories, none of which is available on the other modes of transport you mention.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great wines in Marlborough
Dan_N
, Feb 2020
This was a great small group tour. Our guide, Mike was from the local area and was extremely knowledgeable of all the winery’s we visited. I highly recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks for your review. We try to make our tours as fun and informative as the group wants so we all have a great day out. Thank you for your company
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Lovely Tour.
kooka55
, Jan 2020
We enjoyed visiting all four wineries and having lunch at Giesen. Our tour guide Sue was very informative and efficient. Time was managed very well. I would recommend this tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Overall pleasant experience
sdignan121
, Nov 2019
Mike was a very polished and informative guide during the wine tour. The lunch experience at one of the wineries was especially nice. It would be OK to drop the "chocolate factory" at end of tour -- it's really a shop with very expensive candies and mobbed with other tourists.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Many thanks for your review and I'm glad that you enjoyed your tour. I agree, the chocolates are pricey but the chocolate stop is one of the most anticipated stops for many
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
If you like small group tours this is for you
A2704UFpeterr
, Oct 2019
We were staying in Picton and there was some confusion over the cost to leave from there. Other than that we would thoroughly recommend this tour. Mike from Jade Tours was a fountain of knowledge and adapted the itinerary to suit our groups needs. A really good day.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Many thanks for your review and I'm glad that you enjoyed your tour. Sorry for your confusion over the tours - you chose to book our Picton Shore Ecxcursion which is designed for passengers off cruise ships. All our other tours start and finish in Blenheim so we need to arrange special transfers for guests who are staying in Picton. I have asked Tripadvisor to try to correct this in the tour descriptions
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fabulous wineries, wonderful lunch and decadent chocolates!
maurinek
, Mar 2019
This was an amazing 1/2 day tour! We were a little concerned about it not being an excursion booked through our cruise ship and the strict time constraints but they totally cater to the cruise ship schedules! Before our tour we were even asked what ship we were on and they already knew when we needed to be back so all was good and we could relax and really enjoy the day. The 4 wineries we visited were absolutely marvelous! They were beautiful, the wine was all quite good and the scenery along the way was really top notch. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and super friendly! All the staff at the wineries really gave us a personal wine tasting for each wine explaining the smell, taste, type of grape, etc. It was just fantastic! The final stop was at the Chocolate factory were we had samples of some really tasty chocolate delicacies. We all bought at least one (or more) boxes of chocolates. Thank you for one of the most memorable tours of the trip!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
5 wineries
my_chuby
, Mar 2019
Thank you sue, she is our guide.. we went to 5 wineries here in Marlborough , they are all great!! We love st Clair and hunters winery.. their reisling , Cabernet Sauvignon are the best.. there were 6 of us in this tour..we were almost drunk when we get back to the cruise ship.. will recommend this tour instead of the shore excursions from the ship
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Marlborough at it's best
Cathy P
, Mar 2019
Sue is a friendly and helpful guide. She made the visit very interesting and enjoyable. The wineries were excellent and the lunch venue was fantastic! Highly recommended!
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
A great way to spend a day!
PKTouring
, Feb 2019
Excellent tour visiting several winery’s and a chocolate factory. Lunch at Wither Hills which was not included in the price was the highlight of the day.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fantastic wine tour!
SuenBob
, Dec 2018
This wine tour is a must for all those who enjoy good wine and a fun time! Our tour guide Mike took us to 5 different wineries. We travelled though the beautiful Blenheim region,sampled some great wines, had a delicious lunch and ended up in the best chocolate factory I've ever been too. Thanks Mike for a fantastic tour.
HelpfulHelpful

Explore Similar Things to Do