Recent Searches
Clear

Mont Saint-Michel Guided Day Trip from Paris

|
Paris, France
Mont Saint-Michel Guided Day Trip from Paris
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon14 hours  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 4 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Travel through scenic Normandy en route to the medieval Mont-St-Michel on a full-day trip from Paris. Discover the UNESCO World-Heritage-listed island and its iconic Gothic abbey, with a guide, and listen to fascinating history and legendary stories about the site. Enjoy ample time to explore the island, and admire views of the surrounding bay before traveling back to the French capital.
  • Explore the UNESCO-listed Mont-St-Michel on a day trip from Paris—ideal for those short on time
  • Brush up on your history with fascinating and informative commentary from your guide
  • Marvel at panoramic views of the Normandy Coast and the wild Atlantic Ocean
  • Round-trip transportation included as an added convenience
Saved to wishlist!
Service of a Professional Licensed Guide
Entrance ticket to the Abbey
Return transportation from Paris
Gratuities
Hotel Pick-up & Drop-off in Paris
Lunch
22 Rue Jean Rey , 22 Rue Jean Rey, 75015 Paris, France

Meeting time 30 minutes prior to the departure, HOTEL PULLMAN PARIS TOUR EIFFEL 18 avenue de Suffren, 75015 Paris - Meeting point 22 Rue Jean Rey with our guide with a Paris City Vision sign

7:15 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
Choose between an early hotel pickup or meet your group at a central Paris location, then set out toward the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Mont-St-Michel. Relax on board and enjoy picture-perfect views of the Normandy coast en route to the rocky island.

Follow your guide up the narrow paths of the tiny village toward the top for panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean and surrounding bay.

Continue in the footsteps of medieval pilgrims, as your guide reveals some of the fascinating history of Mont-St-Michel, the extreme tides that shape its coast, and its famous Benedictine Abbey. Then, enjoy free time to explore the island’s shops, museums, and inspiring nature at your leisure.

After your time here, travel back to Paris where your tour concludes.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
22 Rue Jean Rey
If you love captivating French history and wonderful views, this tour is for you! From central Paris, through the picture-postcard Normandy coast, a long relaxing drive will transport you to a unique UNESCO World Heritage Site - the magical rocky island of Mont St Michel. On the drive through Normandy, your guide will recount the rich history of the region marked by invasions, first by the Romans and then the Barbarians, only to end up being fought over in the Hundred Years’ War.
Stop At:  
Abbaye du Mont-Saint-Michel
The famous Abbey and admire the Gothic buildings built one on top of the other over the centuries, such as the Cloister and the Monks’ dining hall. You can finally stroll freely on the Mount and so let yourself be carried by the medieval atmosphere of its cobbled alleys discovering the museums and shops where many discounts await you ....
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Fortifications du Mont-Saint-Michel
Your guide will lead you up narrow paths to the top of the tiny village for incredible Atlantic views, while revealing its fascinating history. Retrace the steps of pilgrims of the Middle Ages to discover the famous Benedictine abbey - legend has it, the Archangel Michael appeared here to the bishop of Avranches. Hear about the extreme tides surrounding the island, giving it a fairytale feel
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Pass By:  
Paris
Complete your day with a drive back through the French countryside. Back to the departure point around 8.45/9PM (approx.)
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Confirmation will be sent after booking
  • Arrangements and itinerary will be finalized once your booking is complete
  • Coach journey from Paris to Mont-Michel is approx. 4-5 hours each way
  • Time spent at Mont St-Michel is approx. 4 hours
  • This tour involves quite a lot of walking with steps and uphill paths so is not suitable for those with mobility difficulties
  • The tour takes place all year round, so dress for the weather, including appropriate shoes!
  • From April 1st 2022 lunch on your own
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Paris CityVision
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Mont Saint-Michel Guided Day Trip from Paris?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Mont Saint-Michel Guided Day Trip from Paris.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Mont Saint-Michel Guided Day Trip from Paris?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Mont Saint-Michel Guided Day Trip from Paris.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Mont Saint-Michel Guided Day Trip from Paris?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Mont Saint-Michel Guided Day Trip from Paris.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Mont Saint-Michel Guided Day Trip from Paris?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Mont Saint-Michel Guided Day Trip from Paris.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Don't stop for long, as the bus will leave promptly at the appointed time!" See review
  • "This tour is long hours, tire and exhausted but totally worth it." See review
  • "It is a long 5 hours drive but worth the visit." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
976 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 976 reviews
star-3
A lot for a little
Sara_D
, Jun 2022
The Abbey & town itself is a place I would recommend experiencing however this tour felt less like a tour and more like just a bus ride. The ride itself takes about 5 hours each way with an extremely long stop at a gas station both ways. The tour guide strongly encouraged everyone to eat lunch before going to the abbey however there really isn't that much to do once you get to the destination besides tour the abbey which takes about 90 mins and then you have about 2 hours to kill. It's difficult to walk around the town because of the crowds & most of the gift shops are cheesy & overpriced. Would really have liked to have a nice lunch at one of the restaurants instead of filling up on gas station sandwiches.
star-5
Incredible experience.
Pamela_K
, Jun 2022
Fantastic guide and Mont St Michel is a beautiful place. The skies were clear and the temperature mild. Couldn’t have been better!
star-3
Nice venue, long day
Richard_M
, Jun 2022
I cannot give our guide a positive review. Visitors take a shuttle bus from the parking lot to the bridge. As soon as our guide exited the bus, he bolted and started the narration. By the time we exited the bus, he had exceeded the range of his transmitter. When we caught up and asked him not to make us run, he was defensive as if it was our fault. Another tour member offered that the guide's transmitter did not have much range. Zsa Zsa's answer was to make sure we had our volume turned up (instead of, "OK, I'll do better moving at a pace where we can all stay together.") People considering this tour should know that it's a 14 hour ordeal. You spend twice as long in the bus as you do at the tour site. As is obvious from the photos of Mont St Michel, there is a lot of uphill/up stairs walking. I counted that day as a full workout. After the guided tour, you have an opportunity to eat lunch and there are many options. The place we chose was good and offered a nice view of the bay. On both outbound and inbound bus legs, we made a pit stop at a nice rest stop store with a good selection of food.
star-4
Mont Saint-Michel on my wish list
Nuria_B
, May 2022
Visiting Mont Saint Michel has been on my travel list and I am happy I was able to complete it. The experience was wonderful, it is a must see scenery if you travel to France. Rocio our tour guide was very nice, helpful, knowledge and made her self understand pretty well, always ensuring the group was together to avoid inconveniences. Nevertheless this is an expensive tour and I am not happy and disappointed that the Spanish tour guide group was affected with time delays because of the other tourists that were traveling in their own and that we had to share the same bus from/to Paris. Language groups that chooses an pay a higher price for a tour guide should travel separately. Viator needs to include more description regarding the tour so tourist know better that it is a 4 hour ride from a Paris to Mont Saint-Michel and additional 4 hours to get back. The effective time at the tour place is 4 hours.
star-5
Great tour. Long day ion the bus
Susan_K
, May 2022
Long day but if you want to go Mount St Michele from Paris. Go it was fun. We had time in the Abbey and a quick dinner.. so super long day. 8 hrs on the bus. Just be prepared.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Greatly Disappointed!! Pls avoid
Antria_K
, May 2022
Greatly disappointed! Not recommended. Same bus for 3 different groups -packed & not convenient at all. The guide was talking only for 1 hour out of a 12-hour journey! No guide in the Abbey, only in the bus and then you are alone to explore the abbey and the city. Also, not the guide's english not good, didn't understand the descriptions.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing experience, so...
Sydney_D
, May 2022
Amazing experience, so beautiful and so much history. Our tour guide was awesome and very knowledgeable!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Beautiful place.
Amber_C
, May 2022
What a beautiful place to visit! A long day, but I highly recommend. Anticipate a lot of steps that are needed to reach the top.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Viator canceled this tour...
Thomas_T
, May 2022
Viator canceled this tour with the provider and I had to pay again $318 euros. They keep me thinking I was booked but canceled in the background. I will be requesting a full refund from Viator shortly. Thanks to the city tour provider they found space and provided how Viator canceled my reservation. This is the first time thus happen but very disappointed.
star-4
The information about the...
Beng
, May 2022
The information about the abbey was very educational and the trip itself was comfortable. The guides were friendly
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
As advertised, a lot of...
Josianne_L
, May 2022
As advertised, a lot of time on the road but I'm happy to have been able to squish the visit in a day. The guide was kind and informative. There were too many people waiting for the shuttle on the way back we had to walk from the Mont St-Michel to the parking, which took about 35 minutes. Great experience overall.
star-2
Disappointed @ Mont Saint Michel
teresa_s
, May 2022
It was hard to understand our guide. Our guide was really good at instructing us and caring for us but it felt like he marched us up to the top room, said a few things and told us we would want time to explore ourselves. An hour exploring would be plenty. It was an expensive trip to feel like he kind of dropped us off.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Good day trip away from Paris
Prashan_W
, Apr 2022
Very good opportunity to escape Paris for a day to see the countryside. Guide was really good. Lot of history and worth checking more.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
We cancel within 15 min due to medical reason,, but they still charged us!!
Christine_V
, Apr 2022
On the website we saw that it was an 1 & 1/2 hour and we booked it. Afterwards, we found it was at least 4 hours ride to & from Saint-Michel Due to medical reasons my husband cannot sit for 4 hours. We tried to cancel within 15 min. But it would not let us. We called and emailed and they responded: “We are following up on your request. Thank you for your patience and please note that we will be in contact within the next 7 - 10 working days.” Regards, Bonifacio Viator Customer Service So far nothing. They charged us 376.40€ anyway. We didn’t go on the trip. We will never book with Viator again.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Will not book from Viator again
Mark_T
, Apr 2022
Booked the tour with lunch but it came without it. When I asked for refund of the lunch paid, Viator said they are unable to issue a refund. This is totally unacceptable.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Mark, If you had read the description you'll have seen that lunch was included only until March 31st and will noticed that price was about 20€ higher in March than in April because of the lunch. You are not entitled to a refund because you were charged without lunch. Shame that you are so concentrate in the lunchand not in the beauty of the site you visited, the quality of the guide and all the rest of the tour.
star-2
Waste of money for never offered English guiding
ILIAS_G
, Mar 2022
I booked the guided tour in English with the lunch included on 25/02/2022. Pick up on time, no waiting time. All OK until this. BUT, a big big BUT, big as Mont Saint-Michel, the tour turned to be Spanish speaking, as i was the ONLY English speaking person. At the beginning the guide was speaking both English and Spanish and this due the fact that in the same bus were also persons who booked: a) only the trip, b) self guided trip, c) guided trip with the lunch, which was Ok , no problem. After a while the guide said to the Spanish speaking to turn on the audio guide in CH5. Time was passing, NO English, After 1h 20-30min, she realises that might be in the bus also an English speaking person and starts to search for him, ha ha ha. I raised my hand to find me and she comes to my seat. She says politely that she is amenable to repeat the speech only for me, the spanish ones were about 12-15. I was the tricked minority. I could demand it but this would ruin and the others experience. There was also a funny excuse that were two in the group who spoke both English/Spanish and selected finally Spanish. No problem with the guide, she was doing her job but company policy is a disaster. I complained/explained my thoughts, i asked and was given a self guided set (map + voice device) and went my on my own, but wasted 70€ more than the simple trip booking. Another funny excuse i heard: i had the right to follow the Spanish guided group using my self guided set and also have my prepaid lunch. Ha ha ha, hello there, i was just traveling, i was not starving to be in need of your lunch. A plus for the tour guide, somewhere inside Mont Saint Michel she realised me and asked if all all were OK. Except the transfer to and from, a total waste of some money that could be spended in other activities than a guiding that failed to be offered.
3 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
A fun day trip to the coast
jdong10023
, Jan 2022
It was a long day trip, most spent on the 4 hr drive each way - which is fine as you can get a lot done on your phone with emails etc. The landmark abbey is a unique sight atop of the hill/island, somewhat surreal under a dark sky. The guide was informative and professional. The included lunch was simple, at the end of the morning drive and before the climb up the stone steps to the abbey.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-1
Two Languages, No Time
Carter_F
, Jan 2022
When I booked the tour, it was marketed as "English." There was absolutely no indication that we would be put with a half English, half Spanish speaking group and tour guide. This should be VERY CLEARLY marked. The tour guide had to say everything twice in two languages and it caused our tour of the abbey to be twice as long, giving us less time to explore the town and get photos. Not to mention the pain of having to listen to two languages the entire day, not just at Mont Saint-Michel, but during the 8+ hours on the bus. This was really, really silly. Please mark your tours clearly. We would not have paid this much to go on a tour that was going to do that - we would not have gone at all and would have looked for another option.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Great site to visit but group too big
Edric_K
, Nov 2021
Wonderful UNESCO site to visit. But not recommended for those who want smaller group. No social distancing at all, very packed bus. Felt really uncomfortable as some passengers don't wear their masks and guides don't enforce it.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Best excursion of the 3 we took out of Paris
MichelleBowkerWhite
, Nov 2021
Fascinating! Tour guide was very informative. Normally, we would not have been able to keep our headsets on the whole time, but for some reason, security did not stop our guide, so we got a detailed audio tour. Down side was we did not realize we had more time to explore on our own & I REALLY regret that I did not do so. (we allowed too much time to get back to the tour bus - we walked back (took about an hour), rather than waiting on the shuttles (which were packed in like sardines - yes, even during a pandemic) & then sat there for another hour waiting for everyone else to return - with nothing to do). Now we need to go back just so I can get that 1 hour back to explore MSM village and also the village on the mainland. Fortunately, we saw 2 hotels on MSM itself & more in the village on the mainland. Lunch was above average. Be ready to climb 300+ steps. Down side of this trip is that it is a LONG bus ride from Paris with only two bathroom stops. Traffic getting back into Paris will blow any dinner reservations you may have made. Allow 12 - 14 hours for this excursion. Note, everyone arrived back to the bus on time, but the guide explained that he has had to leave w/o people if they are not back on time.
2 travelers found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Mont Saint-Michel Guided Day Trip from Paris
Likely to Sell Out
Mont Saint-Michel Guided Day Trip from Paris

star-4976

14 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$183.12

star-4.5178

14 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$137.05

star-4124

14 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$160.30

star-4.59

13 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$408.00

star-5102

12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$225.92

star-424

14 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$188.27

star-53

14 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$267.21

star-4638

14 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$163.45

star-52

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$376.54
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations