Recent Searches

Step Back Into History Pearl Harbor Private Tour

star-4.511 Reviews
Honolulu, United States
Step Back Into History Pearl Harbor Private Tour
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon8 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more


Saved to wishlist!
USS Arizona Memorial, USS Missouri's tickets

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
We pick-up from any accommodations on Oahu.


  • Honolulu Intl Airport, 300 Rodgers Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819


  • Honolulu Pier 2
  • Honolulu Pier 11

Departure Time

9:00 AM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Personalized Hawaii Vacations

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Step Back Into History Pearl Harbor Private Tour?
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Step Back Into History Pearl Harbor Private Tour.
What is the policy on sanitization during Step Back Into History Pearl Harbor Private Tour?
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Step Back Into History Pearl Harbor Private Tour.
What is the social distancing policy during Step Back Into History Pearl Harbor Private Tour?
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Step Back Into History Pearl Harbor Private Tour.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Step Back Into History Pearl Harbor Private Tour?
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Step Back Into History Pearl Harbor Private Tour.
What is the maximum group size during Step Back Into History Pearl Harbor Private Tour?
This activity will have a maximum of 6 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Step Back Into History Pearl Harbor Private Tour.

Traveler Tips


11 Reviews
3 stars
1 star

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews
Amazing Tour
, Jul 2021
Our driver Antonio was amazing. He is so knowledgeable about the entire state of Hawaii we enjoyed hearing him talk about Hawaii and the sights we were seeing out of the car windows. This is a tour that is well worth your time. The memorial was beautiful and the the staff and volunteers are very helpful. I became overheated and a park employee gave me ice from here lunch bag to help me cool down and stayed with us until I felt normal.
Full day, worth every second
, Jun 2021
What a full and amazing day. We were en route from Maui to Kauai and had a 9 hour layover in Honolulu and wanted to see if we could fit all the sights in for one day and we did it! It was a full day, long day in the sun but we were able to see The Punchbowl, Crater of Diamonds, Arizona Memorial, Pearl Harbor, tour the Missouri, have lunch and be back at the airport on time. Yolonda our tour guide was spectacular and took care of everything we needed!
Overpriced for a self-guided tour.
, May 2021
First, let me say that the ladies were super nice. However, this is a grossly overcharged “tour” for activities that are otherwise free or relatively inexpensive. We started with a drive around downtown Honolulu. We got a very brief history of the palace and the Punchbowl cemetery, but it was mostly a drive-by (we got out only to stand by a statute for about 3 mins). Then the “personal guides” dropped us off at the gate to Pearl Harbor with instructions on what time we would be picked up again. We thought they would be coming in with us to give the history and, you know, be a tour guide, but it was completely self-led. Our group of 4 basically paid $850, plus tips for 2 guides because they switched halfway through, for an Uber drive from Ko Olina to Honolulu and back.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Aloha I’m sorry that you were dissatisfied with your “Step Back Into History” tour. Customer satisfaction is our highest priority. I’ve spoken with the two guides that provided the tour for you and would like to provide some information to clarify what you received in return for what you paid. One of the most basic services we provided was to obtain tickets to the USS Arizona Memorial and the USS Bowfin. To operate commercially at Pearl Harbor National Memorial, we must purchase from the National Park Service an annual permit that allows us to transport visitors to the Memorial and reserve USS Arizona Memorial tickets for them. The tickets for a given day are made available at precisely 3:00 p.m. the preceding day, and because they are in extremely high demand they are usually completely sold out a few seconds thereafter. Since the tickets are so difficult to obtain, we have to assign multiple members of our staff to purchase them for our customers using electronic devices with 5G technology. So, yes, the price per ticket is very low, but getting them costs every tour operator a lot of time and money. According to one of our guides, someone in your party mentioned that even though you had a rental car you booked with us because you wanted a stress-free tour. This we provided; the stress was ours, because if we don’t get the tickets we have to cancel the tour, and if we have to cancel the tour we lose our opportunity to earn revenue. En route to Punchbowl National Cemetery you heard a recorded lecture by a historian who described and explained the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor. Our guide also provided you with historical facts about the Cemetery, the Iolani Palace, and the King Kamehameha statue. Upon arrival to Pearl Harbor, you received a presentation of historical facts by the entrance display and advice on where to sit to get the best photos of the USS Arizona Memorial from the boat. At the visitor center, you received information on how to best navigate the different sites comprising the Memorial. Since Pearl Harbor is visited by thousands of people daily, the National Park Service prohibits tour guides from accompanying their customers throughout the site and permits them to be with their customers only at a designated area inside the visitor center. Consequently, we provided you with guidance during your ride to Pearl Harbor, at the entrance display, and at the designated area inside the visitor center. We try to keep our customers engaged, so we play trivia with them, and in your case you received official Pearl Harbor souvenir mugs as rewards for correct answers. You were also given cold bottled water and a small snack. Two drivers were necessary to accommodate you on account of your staying in Ko’olina, which is 18 miles from Pearl Harbor and 24 miles from Honolulu. We picked you up in Ko’olina at no extra charge, unlike other tour operators, who charge extra for such pick-ups because of the distance and the fact that traffic is often heavy. Our tour guides mentioned that they were surprised that they both were tipped; this was certainly not their expectation but they thought it was a really kind gesture. Usually when two guides contribute to the same tour only one of them is tipped and then that person splits the gratuity with her or his colleague. Since you have our phone number, we would be happy to return the entire gratuity. I hope the above helps you better understand our perspective that you received a great deal more than “an Uber drive from Ko’olina and back.” With aloha, Daniel M. Spencer General Partner Personalized Hawaii Vacations and Tours, LLP
A great tour!
, May 2021
This is the best way to see Pearl Harbor! Personalize service and very informative guide. We were given great instructions were able to see the site without feeling rushed at all. highly recommend it!
Book this tour direct and save $$$
, May 2021
I'm torn on how to write this review. The tour itself of the museums, the USS Missouri and the USS Arizona memorial is magnificent. Even my wife who had no real interest in going found it to be a wonderful and enlightening experience. However, booking our visit through the tour company was a terrible decision born out of my neglect to do just a little research. While our guide provided some history and insight along the way from our hotel to the location, and gave us good advice on navigating the grounds, it was no where near being worth the price we paid. Do yourself a favor and purchase your tickets directly with the department that operates the memorial. You'll save a bundle.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
I am so sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with our services. Would you please, provide us with information about date of your tour? That will help us to identify, more specific details. Is our company goal to make your experience absolutely wonderful, so please help us improving by providing more specific details about date, of your tour and if possible name of your tour guide. As authorized tour guides at Pearl Harbor, we only can provide commercial transportation, guidance during your ride to Pearl Harbor, reservation, tickets, and brief information while at visitor center in a designated area, after finishing at Pearl Harbor, we take our customers to Punchbowl National Cemetery also knowing as the Arlington of the Pacific, that is located inside a volcano crater, from there we visit the Iolani Palace and historical Honolulu, were customers learned all the history of Hawai’i. It has been our experience, that some of our customers after spending 4 or 5 hours at Pearl Harbor, choose to not go to second part of our tour, in that case is a personal preference. Was that your case? With warm aloha, Yolanda S
We had an experienced and knowledgeable guide
, May 2021
It was reassuring to be met at the airport and taken right to the exhibit. Our guide was very thoughtful and thorough. We knew exactly where to go and how to access each component of the Pearl Harbor experience.
Great experience
, Apr 2021
Yolonda was our tour guide very knowledgeable and informative. I feel like the trip was a little on the expensive side but it was the only tour available so I wasn’t going to miss out on Pearl Harbor wile being on the island!
, Apr 2021
Yolanda was very knowledgeable and friendly. I wish that we had booked more tours with a personal tour guide. My favorite part of the tour was exploring the Missouri.
Comments on Pearl Harbor private tour
, Feb 2020
Our guide was excellent- very personable, knowledgeable and responsive to our needs. Pickup was slightly late but that was ok as we were in contact with guide. The tour itself was remarkable - the Arizona monument very solemn and well organized. The displays and film were very informative and well done. The tour of the Missouri was also very interesting however our guide on the ship was not as knowledgeable as hoped and could have gone into more details about the very storied past of this remarkable vessel. All in all a good day without the hassle of driving nor arranging tickets. I would recommend this tour.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
Pearl Harbor Private Tour
, Jan 2020
Wonderful tour! It was nice having a your just for my husband and I. The guide picked us up at our hotel and arranged all of the tickets. My husband wanted to go to Pearl Harbor and it was nice we did not have to worry about obtaining tickets.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you have a good experience.

Explore Similar Things to Do