Recent Searches
Clear

Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day

star-4.545 Reviews
|
Nice, France
Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day

From $122.20

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 to 12 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 4 more

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
Local taxes
Lunch
Driver/guide
Live commentary on board
Local guide
Professional guide
Fuel surcharge
Landing and facility fees
Snacks
Paul , Gare Sncf De Nice, Av. Thiers, 06000 Nice, France

Please arrive a bit before at 7.55am. The guide will be waiting in front of the main train station (boulangerie Paul, terrace) with a blue sign Nice Creative Tours and a hat.

8:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 3 days of travel. In this case confirmation will be received within 48 hours, subject to availability
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 25 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Nice Creative Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Excellent Trip far from the crowds of the Riviera Good commentary on the train, worth the time and value for money" See review
  • "All were incredibly beautiful and the visit to Notre Dame des Fountaines is a must as well." See review
  • "It is a long day for sure but well worth it!" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
45 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 45 reviews
star-5
Very knowledgeable tour guides
Nils_A
, Jun 2022
Worth the money. Tour was well organized, including lunch on a terrace overlooking the Alps. Note, the description said we would go to Tende, but we did not.
star-3
Average
ray_s
, Jun 2022
We were disappointed The tour guide seemed all over the place as we backed tracked a lot The tour stops did not correlate to what we did, in fact we did not visit tende and the stop and lunch at la brigge was far too long and the pace was rushed due to the guide
star-5
Highly recommended
Mary_L
, Jun 2022
This is a highly recommended trip. Both guides, Sam and Marc were very knowledgeable and helpful. We met a great group of people and enjoyed lunch together in the beautiful town of Tende. Saorge was also wonderful with spectacular views from the monastery. Thank you for a memorable day.
star-5
Great train trip in Nice
steve_t
, Jun 2022
This was a fantastic tour that we took when we were in Nice. Long day but well worth it. Many things to see and do. Highly recommend. And nice small group.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
This was a very nice...
Debra_P
, Jun 2022
This was a very nice excursion. However it did involve a lot of walking and some people might not be up to it. According to my phone, that day I walked over 5 miles and climbed the equivalent of 15 floors. Although I’m over 60, I walk a lot so it wasn’t a problem for me but it could be for many people. The trip information should clearly state how much walking is involved and how much is uphill. You should be specific - how many miles/kilometers is it? What percentage is uphill ?
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great experience!
Marija_U
, May 2022
We had a very nice day outside Nice, in Alps with a beautiful view and fresh mountain air! It was interesting to visit real Medieval town and to see how was were the streets and architecture that times. We definitely recommend to visit monastery. I am not sporty person and going up to the hills was rather difficult, but it was each step worth to go to monastery. Local guide's excursion was awesome! Excellent experience! Our guide, Helena, was very nice and helpful! Thank you very much for nice time and unforgettable experience!
star-3
Not clear
Alissa_L
, May 2022
It was a beautiful trip, filled with breathtaking views throughout the day. Our tour guide was a local. However, the description is not clear. Our entire group of 8 people did not know we had to book ahead of time for the extra excursion (rafting, horseback riding, biking), therefore we all missed out on that, which we found very disappointing( the main reason I booked this for more money instead of a different tour!!) Our day was filled with many many churches, with no time for shops/ exploring the two towns independently. The lunch was included but we had to go where the tour guide choose. In addition there was extra fees for church and monetary (which I believe would make more sense to exclude in the price). The train ride is 2.5 hours one way! So be prepared for 12+ hours (not 10) of travel.
star-5
Excellent trip & guide
Richard_P
, May 2022
Everything was perfect except the late train schedule which was the fault of the train line. Beautiful views and charming villages.
star-5
Lovely day in the Alps
Jean_H
, May 2022
What a beautiful train ride up into the Alps. Our guide Samuel was so knowledgeable about the medieval cities of Tende and Sospel So enjoyed all the history of the area. Treated to a very nice lunch.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you so much for your feedback Jean! We love this tour and our amazing countryside and we allways try to improve it! Best regards
star-5
Amazing trip!
Kathy_P
, Mar 2022
Let me preface by saying that I'm a travel agent that has been doing tours for over 30 years, and this was definitely one of the most unique tours I've ever done! I have a group of 8 and every one of us loved it! The scenery is beautiful, and the guides were so informative and helpful. We opted for the picnic lunch and it was more than we could have expected. I highly recommend!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you very much Kathy for your review from our Nice Creative Tours Team and specially Marc (our guide that day) ! We are very proud of this Train Experience Through the Alps that I created 5 years ago to get immersed inside some authentic villages of our countryside and a so special and spectacular valley. We make our best to improve every year this special tour sharing our passion for History, Culture and Heritage. Cheers, and see you maybe the next time you will come to the French Riviera ! Best regards
star-1
Trip was canceled
Kathryn_K
, Feb 2022
Our trip was canceled the day before we were supposed to go. I called to verify the pick up spot and was told that it was canceled because there weren't enough people booked. I was very disappointed.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hello dear Mrs. Kroll, we are so sorry you had this bad experience with us about this cancelation. Unfortunately when we have only 2 persons on the tour that is not enough for us to pay the professional guide, the train tickets, the food and the fees. Minimum number of participants is written on the general policy. I understand your disappointment but I don't understand your so severe bad review because we called you before to tell you that the minimum number was not met and we asked you if you was available to reschedule another day. We did the refund immediately. We apologies for the inconvenience and we hope we will be able to give proofs of our professionalism during your next trip on the French Riviera. Best regards
star-5
Immersive Day of Exploring
Mark_V
, Nov 2021
Samuel was an extremely knowledgeable and well spoken tour guide. We hit a few snags in the plan (totally out of his control, like the train suddenly stopping without warning), but what made the day so great was his ability to keep us moving along. He always gave us options of what to do in the towns we visited, so it was tailored to what we wanted to see and experience. At the end of the day, we had the option to wander or have a drink together at the local bar. Turns out they had karaoke, so our group joined the locals and sang some tunes with the most gorgeous view of the Alps behind us.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Mind blowing experience
kishinchand_P
, Oct 2021
Samuel , thats the right guy to show you around , very knowledgeable and friendly and took really good care of us , had an amazing time and experience .
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Breathtaking views and amazing architecture experience
Veda_B
, Oct 2021
Samuel, our guide was early and very knowledgeable of all areas and its history. The views are totally worth it from both the train ride and the hike. This is for those who are used to long walks, climbing up the stairs and up for a challenge. The restaurant where we had lunch served a really good meal and every one of us enjoyed it.
star-5
Nice is great, but take time to see more of the countryside
John_M
, Sep 2021
Samuel was a great guide. Highly recommended. Get to see villages in the countryside and learn the rich history.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-4
Samuel was knowledgeable...
Omid_K
, Aug 2021
Samuel was knowledgeable and nice guy who explained all the details of each spot and monument. The lunch at one of villages was great quality. However the tour is a bit expensive.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Train Experience
Janet_E
, Jul 2021
Our guide, Samuel, was excellent. Always providing interesting information about the mountains we passed thru and the villages we stopped at. Lunch at a medieval village was included in the tour price, which was a great surprise. We visited a monastery and had an interesting tour. It is a long day for sure but well worth it!
star-5
Interesting and fun!
jessica_p
, Jul 2021
This trip is enchanting! Samuel our guide was knowledgeable and flexible. We walked the villages with my two teens and a six year old and he customized the trip just for us! The highlight was a cold dip in a river with freezing alps water!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Travel cancelled due to strike
VenkateshBabu_O
, Dec 2019
Trip was cancelled due to train strike. Sam is prompt in informing us. We no need to follow up. He answers all queries very patiently. Nice person.
star-5
Not to be missed ,
Munbing C
, Oct 2019
Great trip, our tour guide Samuel was awesome, passionate, friendly, professional and very knowledgeable. We went off the beaten tracks, one of my best trips in the French Riviera.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day
Train Experience Through The Alps : The Baroque Royal Route & Salt Road Full Day

star-4.545

8 to 12 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$122.20

star-4.574

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$123.26

star-4.55

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$63.76

star-4.537

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$105.20

star-472

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.64

star-417

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$58.44

star-415

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$137.08

star-49

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$69.07
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations