Recent Searches
Clear

The Grand Canyon of Europe and Its Lavender Fields Small group day Tour

star-4.536 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Nice, France
The Grand Canyon of Europe and Its Lavender Fields Small group day Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon10 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Leave the city’s bustle behind for a day, and discover some of southern France’s most spectacular scenery, on this small-group tour. Following pickup from your Nice hotel, travel in the comfort of an air-conditioned minivan. Pass by the Gorges du Loup and Castellane before arriving at the Verdon Gorge: a dramatic, river-carved gorge, often described as the “Grand Canyon of Europe.” After exploring, stop at a charming medieval village, Moustiers-Sainte-Marie, before returning to Nice.
  • Visit the striking Verdon Gorge: the “Grand Canyon of Europe”
  • Round-trip transit from your Nice hotel via air-conditioned minivan
  • Discover some of southern France’s top scenery without the hassle
  • A small-group tour provides a comfortable, personal way to sightsee
Saved to wishlist!
Driver/guide
Professional guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Food and drinks

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

8:00 AM
We pick up travelers anywhere in Nice.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Take your camera for the beautifull landscapes
  • Good shoes are better
  • Minimum 2 persons per booking is required
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour is available only from Nice
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
  • OPERATED BY STAR TOUR
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during The Grand Canyon of Europe and Its Lavender Fields Small group day Tour?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by The Grand Canyon of Europe and Its Lavender Fields Small group day Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during The Grand Canyon of Europe and Its Lavender Fields Small group day Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by The Grand Canyon of Europe and Its Lavender Fields Small group day Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during The Grand Canyon of Europe and Its Lavender Fields Small group day Tour?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by The Grand Canyon of Europe and Its Lavender Fields Small group day Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
36 Reviews
3 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews
star-5
Amazing experience
Martina_B
, Aug 2022
The guide was amazing. We were a small group and each stop was good. There were plenty of good spots to take pictures. 100% recommended.
star-1
Over £100 each to sit on a bus all day
Rebekah_H
, Aug 2022
Over £100 each to sit on a bus all day. We didn’t even go to the lavender fields. We were taken to a lake but not told to bring swimwear so we couldn’t enjoy it. Asked for partial refund which wasn’t granted. Don’t waste your money.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
First of all, if you see where you are going before to book and if you are a minimum interested in the tour that you book... you can easly see that to go to the grand canyon it take 3 hours so of course this is a sightseeing tour where you stay a minimum of 6 hours in the car.... is the same with the lake if you know before to go where you go you know that there is a lake... that's the problem when you book just reading a title and not all details.... and when you go to a canyon, you can also think by yoursel that there is a river and maybe a place to swim.... that's obvious.... for the lavender its only 30mn in a 10 hours tour so this is not the highlight, the highlight is the grand canyon... and the lavender fields are bloeming one month per year 15june to 15july in general of course it depend of weather and rain, and when the farmers they harvest it they don't call us before to ask us if they can!!! So you did see the waterfalls, Castellane, the Canyon, Moustiers sainte marie, the lake and you ask for a refund because you did not see the fields wich is only 30mn in the tour, you saw and did 95% of the tour so we agree to refund you 5%.... Best regards
star-1
Do not take if you want to feel safe!!!
Samantha_R
, Jul 2022
The views of this trip were amazing, however, the tour itself was not. We felt unsafe the entire time. The driver, Francis, was falling asleep at the wheel. He was not friendly at all. Ruined the experience
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hello, We are sorry to hear that about Francois and not Francis, its an experienced guide who did this tour more than hundred times, so maybe tte narrow roads in the mountains did scarry you but actually Francois never had an accident or something like that, when you say is was falling asleep, maybe this your opinion the other clients were happy, and as i said Francois never had an accident in 10 years, is not a youg driver he have experience, he is also not old (50 years old) so we are surprised. Then when you say that he was not friendly we apologize for that, it looks like it was not the opinion of the other clients, sometime we cant make 100%people happy, sorry about that. Best regards
star-4
Beautiful all day tour with lots of stops for photos.
Dimitris_S
, Jul 2022
My girlfriend and I took the tour yesterday. First off it was beautiful and as first timers we would do it again. We wish we had a little more time in the main stops. 1 hour went by so fast and that’s without eating. If you wanted to sit down to eat it would force you to miss the whole town. I also wish they recommended bringing a bathing suit as there’s an amazing lake they took us to that was not clear in the description. Overall I thought this was great for first timers.
star-5
The guide was very...
Samuel_C
, Jun 2022
The guide was very friendly and did their best to guide us. The scenery was perfect, and I would like to visit again if I have a chance. I recommend it.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Great views, horrible driver
Barbara_W
, Jun 2022
The trip is amazing. The sites are phenomenal. Our driver was literally insane. He drove too fast, erratically and the entire van of people kept asking him to slow down. The area was windy, high up and had few guardrails. We all thought we were going to crash and tumble into the deep ravine. Another driver would have made the trip spectacular. Our driver almost hit another car. Made it incredibly stressful.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello, Please we don't find your booking, do you have a date of excursion? Your Name? Driver guide name? We need a minimum of information to find if your review is true or not... Best regards
star-5
Great and amazing tour and it's guide was great Noora
Sharif_A
, Jun 2022
One of the best your ever - great tour guide Noora - worth it's money highly recommended - many activities with many incredible attractions
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Worthy experience
MICHELLE_T
, May 2022
This was a really nice trip. The views were amazing as was also the scenic drive to the canyon. We stop multiple times along the way and got to explore 2 different towns. We also stop in the lavander fields but since the season has not started yet we were not able to enjoy the field. As an advice if the lavander fields is a must for you make sure is the right season. Otherwise you won’t get to see them. Overall it was a nice experience to explore and see another part of France. I also have to say our guide Francois was very nice and welcoming.
star-4
A nice day tour from Avignon
Stephen_C
, Nov 2021
Anna was very informative and interesting and she was a good driver. We saw the Pont du Gard and Les Baux. I thought we’d also have time in San Remy but we only stopped on the outskirts.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Natural beauty of the Alps and remote villages
John_M
, Sep 2021
The tour guide was great. Knowledgeable, considerate and accommodating. Visited two alpine villages, lake and Gorge. Wish We could have seen the lavender fields, but these were out of season. Overall a great time.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Beauty of Alps
SID
, Aug 2021
It is one of the best experiences of my life. The places are picturesque and memorable. Moustiers Sainte Marie is the most beautiful village of France and worth spending whole day there. I would like to visit it again next year.
star-5
Really beautiful tour
Naomi_C
, Jul 2021
Nathan was knowledgeable, and very friendly. Would have liked a little more time in the shops, but we had a great time.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Nathan will be happy to see your review, he always try to do the best for our customers. Thanks a lot.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great tour!
RADU_M
, Sep 2020
Very exciting and interesting tour!Very nice guide!You can enjoy a great view!! I highly recommended!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Wonderful!
331jillz
, Oct 2019
We loved visiting the mountains! Our guide (Placido) was knowledgeable and friendly. We enjoyed the tour with 3 other people that were fun to chat with. He took us on long but scenic drives that I would never want to do myself. Well worth the money! Thank you!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hello, We'd like to thank you for choosing Startour as well as for your nice comment. We're very happy to hear you had a great trip with our driver/guide Placido. The tour to the Canyon is a wonderfull tour, it was a good choice and if you ever come back to Nice we'd be very pleased to see you again for another tour maybe. Have a nice day, the Startour team
star-5
Must-do day trip
Debjani D
, Sep 2019
This full-day trip was amazing and an absolute must if you're in Nice or surrounding areas. Our tour guide, Parfait, was the perfect guide. He was knowledgeable, accommodating, timely, helpful, efficient, and well-planned. It was a long day, but you barely noticed because there was so much to see and do - natural beauty, history, delicious food options, gorgeous French country-side, etc. One of my favorite days of my trip. Totally worth every penny.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hello, Thank you very much for choosing Startour. We are very pleased to hear you had a good trip with our driver/guide Parfait. Thanks also for your friendly comment wich we've transferred to Parfait. If you decide to come back to the côte d'Azur we'd be very happy to see you again. Have a lovely day. The Startour team
star-5
Merci à notre guide Et...
LUDIVINE_G
, Aug 2022
Merci à notre guide Et chauffeur Nathan dont la bonne humeur et le professionnalisme nous ont fait passer une merveilleuse journée !
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
sehr geduldiger guide....
bjrn_s
, May 2022
sehr geduldiger guide. der auf viele sonderwünsche eingegangen ist und ruhig und gelassen blieb. danke.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Très belle journée
Alexandra_F
, May 2022
Le guide était vraiment très agréable. Nous avons passé une superbe journée. Les paysages étaient époustouflants 🙂.
star-5
Bonne expérience
Karojan_P
, Aug 2021
Star était très gentilles il nous a expliqué en anglais et en français. Ponctualité et tranquillité.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thanks for this nice review, we always do our best for our customers. Merci beaucoup.
star-4
Une très bonne journée !
Marion
, Aug 2021
Nathan était un guide incroyable: toujours souriant et très attentif. Nous avons passé une très belle journée et nous le referions sans hésiter ! Le seul petit bémol est que nous n’avons pas eu la chance de visiter les champs de lavandes car ils avaient tous déjà été labourés. Nous avons appris le matin-même de notre excursion que cette activité n’était pratiquée qu’au mois de juillet. Il serait peut-être bon de le préciser sur le site internet pour éviter les mauvaises surprises.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Nathan sera ravi de votre commentaire. Merci a vous de nous avoir fait confiance.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
The Grand Canyon of Europe and Its Lavender Fields Small group day Tour
The Grand Canyon of Europe and Its Lavender Fields Small group day Tour

star-4.536

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$128.11

star-3.5114

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$92.24

star-4.576

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$118.88

star-00

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$174.23

star-4.524

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$92.24

star-4.514

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$132.21

star-4.577

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$66.62

star-4.517

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$66.62

star-4.540

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$101.46
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations