Recent Searches
Clear

Are you interested in?

Historical Tours
392 Tours & Activities
Lower East Side Tours
23 Tours & Activities
Architecture Tours
61 Tours & Activities

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

A History of Housing the Poor: A Walk of New York's Lower East Side

star-4.5
|
New York, United States
6

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon1 hour 30 minutes to 2 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Enrich your understanding of New York as a city of immigrants, exiles, and refugees on this walking tour of the Lower East Side. With an informative guide leading the way, learn about the African burial ground beneath the city’s pavement, the Italian slum of Mulberry Bend, the Five Points neighborhood of “Gangs of New York” fame, and the waves of poor immigrants who called this corner of lower Manhattan home.
  • Explore the Lower East Side’s past as an immigrant enclave with a guide
  • Learn about the neighborhood’s notoriously wretched living conditions
  • Choose a convenient morning or afternoon tour to suit your travel schedule
  • Visit the Five Points neighborhood from the film 'Gangs of New York'
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide
Professional guide
Gratuities

Departure Point

Centre Street, Centre St, New York, NY, USA

Return Details

Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York, 171 Ludlow St, New York, NY 10002, USA
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • wear comfortable walking shoes
  • snacks and water are recommended to revitalize
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Manhattan Unlocked Historical and Architectural Walking Tours

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during A History of Housing the Poor: A Walk of New York's Lower East Side?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by A History of Housing the Poor: A Walk of New York's Lower East Side.

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
9 Reviews
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-4 of 9 reviews
star-1
Scam
Cam_J
, Apr 2020
Our tickets printed from the website had 10 a.m. at one point and 1 p.m. at another. We saw 1 p.m. and didn't question it to look the ticket over to see a different time elsewhere. We showed up at the statue at 1 p.m. waited 20 minutes and no one showed. Then we scrutinized the tickets and saw two different times listed. Apparently 10 a.m. was correct and 1 p.m. was a misprint. We walked to the Tenement Museum, which we thought from your website, we had to take one of your tours to get in. When we showed them the tickets to see if we could still get in, they said the tour had nothing to do with them. I don't see any way I could search the Tenement Museum and end up on your website led to believe the only way we could visit it was to take one of your tours, without being intentionally mislead by you, just as we were mislead by your tickets. I feel scammed.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2020
Why wouldn't you have contacted me sooner? Of course you can get a refund. Sorry about the two times printed on your ticket, there was a window of time when that was happening but it's been fixed. And as far as the Tenement Museum, people have made that mistake before and I've gone out of my way to make it clear that I am not associated with the museum (it's a wonderful museum, but I am different). The problem is with the Viator algorithm, this tour of tenement history shows up when you search Tenement Museum, that's because the Tenement Museum doesn't offer their own tours through the Viator platform but they are listed as a "site" on the platform and not a "tour". I've complained to Viator a number of times about this confusion for fear of this very thing. As you can see by my reviews, of course, this is not a scam and I'll gladly refund your money. So sorry about your experience.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Such an Interesting Tour
Daydream09537729925
, Nov 2019
My friend and loved this tour! The guide is so incredibly knowledgeable, we left having learned a lot. Learning about what it was like to immigrate to NYC is so interesting. This tour is a great complement to the things you learn about at Ellis Island and the Tenement Museum. If you are concerned about this being redundant to those things, it is not!
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Thank you so much for such a great review! You were really great to have on the tour and I hope I see you again--all best wishes, Rob
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Excellent tour!
abbeflitter
, Oct 2019
Robert was an incredibly knowledgeable tour guide. He brought the immigrant experience to life for us. We’re still talking about the hidden corners of the lower east side - those easily missed - he found for us.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Walking Tour - Senior Couple
heidibaker5609
, Aug 2019
This was a walking tour of where the tenements were located. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and distributed handouts that contained early photos of the outside environments and geographical changes over time. There were photos of the inside of tenements as well. We toured the area for 2 hours with guide pointing out important structures. Would liked to have toured an example.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
It was a pleasure taking you both around, and thank you for your review. All best wishes and I hope to see you again.
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 44899P4

Explore Similar Things to Do