Recent Searches
Clear

One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour

star-4.5623 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
New Orleans, United States
One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Discover the historic crypts and monuments at New Orleans’ Saint Louis Cemetery #1 on a guided walking tour. While guests aren't allowed inside the cemetery at this time, you'll still hear stories about the city’s most colorful characters and luminaries from outside the gates and have options for photo shoots. Pay your respects to Marie Laveau, known as New Orleans’ ‘Voodoo Queen,’ see the tombs of the city’s greatest families and visit sections devoted to Louisiana’s different Christian denominations. Learn about New Orleans’ history and culture as you explore the city’s oldest cemetery.
  • Guided walking tour outside the gates of New Orleans' oldest cemetery
  • See tombs of the city's most famous citizens
  • Hear stories about Louisiana culture and heritage
  • Step back in time with a history tour
  • Small-group tour ensures a personal experience
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide
Gratuities
Food and drinks

Departure Point

710 St Louis St, New Orleans, LA 70130, USA

We do not meet at the cemetery! 710 St. Louis St. Between Royal & Bourbon St., on St. Louis.

Return Details

400 Basin St, New Orleans, LA 70112, USA

End of tour... does not start here. Basin Street Station Tourist Information Center

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • PLEASE NOTE: WE DO NOT MEET AT THE CEMETERY! YOU MUST CHECK IN 15 MIN. PRIOR TO TOUR TIME AT 710 ST. LOUIS ST.
  • Adult pricing applies to all travelers except children 5 and under, who are free.
  • A moderate amount of walking is involved (approximately one mile).
  • Due to uneven surfaces, this tour is not recommended for those with walking disabilities.
  • Please be sure to wear comfortable walking shoes & drink plenty of water, regardless of the temperature.
  • Please arrive 15 minutes early to check in with your guide. If you are late, you may join only in the first 10 minutes of the tour, during the walk down St. Louis St. You may reschedule up to 12 hours in advance of departure time with no rebooking fee.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • If you miss your tour, a rescheduling fee of $2.50/pp will apply for same day (if we are able to accommodate you). You must call to reschedule.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • During COVID-19 pandemic, all travelers are required to properly wear a mask & pods will social distance 6 ft.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
  • OPERATED BY French Quarter New Orleans Tours LLC

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour?
A:This activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
623 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 623 reviews
star-5
Pre Birthday getaway
Michele_M
, Aug 2021
The tour was awesome the tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable about the history of the cemetery and the city
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you for your review! We appreciate you spending your pre birthday with us! Please visit again soon!
star-5
Educational
Danny
, Aug 2021
We enjoyed our tour! Jane is awesome and knowledgeable about historical areas. Jane welcome any questions and suggest some great places to visit in New Orleans. Anna & family
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you, for your lovely review. We appreciate your business & taking the time to review us! Please visit us again soon & check out our other tours, as well!
star-4
Informative Tour of the City
Lisa_B
, Aug 2021
This was a very informative tour with a lot of information about the city. Was very surprised by some of the things we learned. The tour guide was knowledgeable and was considerate of the heat. The biggest disappointment was that we could not go into the cemetery. Was told that it stated that when we purchased the ticket, but I’m sure it was not. So just beware.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Unfortunately, the Archdiocese closed the cemetery, due to the pandemic. It is in the description, when you book your tour, as well as the email confirmation. A lot of people are missing this fact, not reading the entire description, so your guide has been instructed to reiterate, before the tour. We want everyone to fully understand they may take the modified tour or receive a full refund. If you chose a refund, it has been processed. We appreciate your support during this pandemic, and hope to see you in the future, when the cemetery reopens or for other tours. Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business.
star-5
Great history!
Chelsea_M
, Aug 2021
Loved hearing about the history of the buildings and cemetaries! Our guide was super knowledgeable! Would have been better if we could have gone into the cemetery
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to join us & leave your review. Please come back for this and other tours on your next visit.
star-5
Great Tour
LolaLorrindaH
, Jul 2021
We didn't get to go inside the cemetery but our tour guide was very knowledgeable and I definitely learned a lot ! I highly recommend this tour as their is lots to see and lots to learn.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for your review! We appreciate you & hope to see you again soon!
star-4
Good but covid-19 stopped it from being great.
Mark_C
, Jul 2021
The tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. We weren't able to go in cemetery due to covid-19 restrictions.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the modified tour!
star-1
Not a tour cemetery was closed
Frank_G
, Jul 2021
Was not a tour . The cemetery was closed . It did say so after listed all the stuff you would see when open. Read everything well before booking . After finding out we skipped it all together and just walked though the others
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Unfortunately, the Archdiocese closed the cemetery, due to the pandemic. It is in the description, when you book your tour, as well as the email confirmation. A lot of people are missing this fact, not reading the entire description, so your guide has been instructed to reiterate, before the tour. We want everyone to fully understand they may take the modified tour or receive a full refund. If you chose a refund, it has been processed. We appreciate your support during this pandemic and hope to see you in the future, when the cemetery reopens. Thank you for your review.
star-1
No one showed up to do the tour!
Roger_B
, Jul 2021
Zero stars as no one showed up to do the tour!!! We waited and no one was there. We were there 15 minutes before, the door to that building with the sign in front was locked. No one ever showed up. We left at 9:35 as we were pretty angry that no one showed up. I want my money back!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Please contact me as soon as possible! If this is the case, I will take care of your refund. (504) 513-0092
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Informative
Zelda_M
, Jul 2021
I enjoyed it all, the guide was friendly and well informed. it was very hot but the tour was short enough that I didn't mind
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your business! Please visit us again soon!
star-1
Bait and switch with no refund
Michael_W
, Jul 2021
Bait and switch. We called and specifically asked if the one hour cemetery tour would take us inside the cemetery. We were clearly told yes it be inside the cemetery by Irene. We then hung up and booked online as Irene was going to charge $10 more than what online pricing stated. Any and all following emails regarding the tour stated ‘modified’ tour but at NO TIME did it ever state that you wouldn’t be entering the cemetery. We checked in 15 minutes prior to the tour start and only at the start of the tour did the guide mention that we wouldn’t be going inside the cemetery. Every party looked around in shock. So clearly it wasn’t just us that didn’t know that! We didn’t go with the tour at all, neither did at least one other couple. Upon returning to our accommodation, we sent a message to Viator respectfully requesting a refund. We were denied a refund by Tamara. Don’t bother going on this tour. You won’t get what you’re paying for and you won’t get a refund either.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you for your review. There is no one working at this company, named Irene, therefore one from this company told you the cemetery was open. It is very clearly stated on ALL booking platforms, that the cemetery remains closed, due to COVID. Your guide reiterated, at the beginning of the tour, and you were given the option to take the modified tour or obtain a full refund. You opted to take the tour, therefore, no refund is available. The other 13 guests did join the tour. You say (above) you did not go on the tour, but you were checked in, by the guide, and at no time did you tell me (or the guide) you were leaving/left the tour. I will further investigate this matter.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour
One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour

star-4.5623

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$10.00

star-5132

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$25.00

star-00

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$10.00

star-534

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$29.13

star-510

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$30.00

star-4.5622

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$16.00

star-00

45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$20.00

star-4.599

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$27.00

Explore Similar Things to Do