Recent Searches
Clear

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour

star-4.5
|
New Orleans, United States

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon1 hour  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Discover the historic crypts and monuments at New Orleans’ Saint Louis Cemetery #1 on a guided walking tour. While guests aren't allowed inside the cemetery at this time, you'll still hear stories about the city’s most colorful characters and luminaries from outside the gates and have options for photo shoots. Pay your respects to Marie Laveau, known as New Orleans’ ‘Voodoo Queen,’ see the tombs of the city’s greatest families and visit sections devoted to Louisiana’s different Christian denominations. Learn about New Orleans’ history and culture as you explore the city’s oldest cemetery.
  • Guided walking tour outside the gates of New Orleans' oldest cemetery
  • See tombs of the city's most famous citizens
  • Hear stories about Louisiana culture and heritage
  • Step back in time with a history tour
  • Small-group tour ensures a personal experience
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide
Professional guide
Gratuities
Food and drinks

Departure Point

710 St Louis St, New Orleans, LA 70130, USA

Return Details

400 Basin St, New Orleans, LA 70112, USA
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • PLEASE NOTE: WE DO NOT MEET AT THE CEMETERY! YOU MUST CHECK IN 15 MIN. PRIOR TO TOUR TIME AT 710 ST. LOUIS ST.
  • Adult pricing applies to all travelers except children 5 and under, who are free.
  • A moderate amount of walking is involved (approximately one mile).
  • Due to uneven surfaces, this tour is not recommended for those with walking disabilities.
  • Please be sure to wear comfortable walking shoes & drink plenty of water, regardless of the temperature.
  • Please arrive 15 minutes early to check in with your guide. If you are late, you may join only in the first 10 minutes of the tour, during the walk down St. Louis St. You may reschedule up to 12 hours in advance of departure time with no rebooking fee.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • If you miss your tour, a rescheduling fee of $2.50/pp will apply for same day (if we are able to accommodate you). You must call to reschedule.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • During COVID-19 pandemic, all travelers are required to properly wear a mask & pods will social distance 6 ft.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY French Quarter New Orleans Tours LLC

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour?
A:
The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by One Hour Saint Louis Cemetery Number One Walking Tour.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Don't let the few negative reviews below put you off this tour." See review
  • "I recommend this tour to anyone who has an hour or so to spare." See review
  • "With all that said, definitely worth the time and money!" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
571 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 571 reviews
star-5
Great job
Cymitra_G
, Nov 2020
Started the tour on time, Awesome information was given, tour guide gave great energy. I Highly recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2020
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business! Our amazing guides have worked very hard to make this an awesome tour, including the history & photo options, although the cemetery remains closed. Please visit us again soon!
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
It was great but, needs some work
Sam_G
, Nov 2020
It was a great tour and Jamie was awesome. I wish when we booked it was stated we wouldn't go inside the cemetery (the overview has now been updated) and they need to change the meeting point. Me and my grandma kept going in circles until I contacted them and they stated the great London frog was no longer there. Other than that it was great
icon Response from Host , Nov 2020
We have not only changed the description on the booking sites, but have text each and every person and disclosed again at the tour that the cemetery is closed due to COVID-19. It is up to the customer whether they go on the tour. We continue to tour the outside of the cemetery & give its history. We have also added more French Quarter history to this tour. 710 St. Louis St. is still the meeting address. Unfortunately, the Great Frog London did not survive COVID, but the meeting place is still the same. We thank you for your business.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Pair up with Jamie
Sam_G
, Nov 2020
Great tour! Jamie was awesome and informative. However, when booking we were unaware that we wouldn't be able to go into the cemetery (they change the overview so now it reflects that change). Besides that Jamie made it fun and told alot of history. Highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2020
We have not only changed the description on the booking sites, but have text each and every person and disclosed again at the tour that the cemetery is closed due to COVID-19. It is up to the customer whether they go on the tour. We continue to tour the outside of the cemetery & give its history. We have also added more French Quarter history to this tour. 710 St. Louis St. is still the meeting address. Unfortunately, the Great Frog London did not survive COVID, but the meeting place is still the same. We thank you for your business.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Tour guide great, tour company thieves
Wendy_G
, Oct 2020
Our tour guide, Mikko, was great. He was knowledgeable and funny. However, we purchased a tour of the cemetery which the Archdiocese has closed. You knew it was closed, they revoked your tour license but you are selling tickets anyway. Very unethical.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2020
Wait, what? Our licenses are NOT revoked! We are all fully licensed by the city of New Orleans! Where did you EVER get that idea? The cemetery is simply closed, due to COVID and we, as a company, made the decision to revamp the tour so you may see the cemetery from the outside and the entrances. All the history was given and full disclosure was made before departure, with the choice to go or receive a refund. Our guides need to work and being open is for them and our guests. Thank you for your review.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great experience
Jennifer_P
, Oct 2020
Jamey? was very knowledgeable and answered questions with great enthusiasm. Although we couldn't get inside the cemetery it was still a great tour.this is our first time to the city and we really enjoyed ourselves.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2020
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your comments and you taking the tour, although the cemetery is closed. We keep hoping they will notify us of reopening soon. We appreciate your business. Please come again soon!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Loved it!
Ana_O
, Mar 2020
We loved the tour!!! Our guide Brie was the best. She was very funny and informative. Very amazed by the tombs and the structure and the stories. Brie knew what she was talking about.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2020
Thank you for touring with us! We appreciate your business & you taking the time to review us.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Review
Jayne
, Mar 2020
We did not realise that we were supposed to meet at the office rather than the cemetery- so it was a bit of a mess initially. The guide was enthusiastic but the group was too large ( 26 people) and she had to cater for those more interested in modern celebrity graves rather than the history of New Orleans . For people interested in history would suggest a smaller group.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thank you for your review! We appreciate that you did not realize we meet at 710 St. Louis St. 15 minutes prior to tour time, although it is within the description, rules & know before you go, before making your purchase. We are working on making this more readily accessible the day of the tour. We appreciate your business!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great tour!
Irina
, Mar 2020
Brie was great! She was very knowledgeable and passionate. Knows the history of New Orleans and tells it very well.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thank you, so much, for your review! We appreciate your business! Please visit again soon!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great tour
Amy_D
, Mar 2020
Jamie was great. He was very knowledgeable. We enjoyed our tour with him. I would definitely recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thank you, so much, for your review & recommendation! We appreciate your business! Please visit again soon!
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
St Louis Cemetery 1
Peter_V
, Mar 2020
Mikko was very interesting even though a touch coarse/opionated. He had a lot to offer but got thru to fast
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thank you, so much, for your review! We appreciate your business! Please visit again soon!
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 23149P5

Explore Similar Things to Do