Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Destrehan Plantation and Swamp Tour Combo from New Orleans

star-4.5
|
New Orleans, United States

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon6 hours 15 minutes  (Approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Regular temperature checks for staff
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Explore Louisiana’s unique history and ecology on this combo day tour from New Orleans. Travel along the oak-lined River Road to Destrehan Plantation, where you can tour the 1787 sugar plantation home, grounds and slave quarters while learning about life in the antebellum South and the site’s changing role during the Civil War. Then, venture into the bayou on a narrated swamp cruise through wild wetlands that are home to turtles, otters, snakes and famous Louisiana gators.
  • Visit the historic Destrehan Plantation, a 1787 sugar plantation listed on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Learn about antebellum plantation life on a tour of the restored home, grounds and an old slave cabin
  • Cruise through the wild Louisiana swamps on a narrated boat tour
  • Includes hotel pickup and drop-off from New Orleans
Driver/guide
Hotel pickup: please list hotel you are being picked up from.
Hotel drop-off
Food and drinks
Gratuities

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
Pickup will be between 8:15 am and 8:45 am.

Departure Time

8:30 AM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Louisiana Tour company

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Destrehan Plantation and Swamp Tour Combo from New Orleans?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Destrehan Plantation and Swamp Tour Combo from New Orleans.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Destrehan Plantation and Swamp Tour Combo from New Orleans?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Destrehan Plantation and Swamp Tour Combo from New Orleans.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Destrehan Plantation and Swamp Tour Combo from New Orleans?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Destrehan Plantation and Swamp Tour Combo from New Orleans.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Destrehan Plantation and Swamp Tour Combo from New Orleans?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Destrehan Plantation and Swamp Tour Combo from New Orleans.

Traveler Tips


  • "There was a minimal amount of walking or stair climbing involved (being somewhat mobility limited, I appreciated this)." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
19 Reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-9 of 19 reviews
star-5
Plantation and Swamp Tour
Joel_N
, Mar 2020
The plantation tour was interesting in terms of information on the family who owned/ran the plantation as well as the buildings themselves. I most enjoyed the "trapper" who shared information on edible local plants as well as way of life for people who lived in the time period. I would have liked more information on the typical lives of the slaves, how they spent their days, how they were treated in different situations/locations, etc. Overall, I would say the Plantation Tour was good. The Swamp tour was FABULOUS! Where we got on out flat boat, there were numerous airboats for tours as well. They were so loud and fast that they couldn't see any alligators while we saw many on the side of the swamp. I took many pictures, some that moved away, and a few that just sat there on the bank as our quiet boat slowly moved near them. The Captain told us information about the life cycle of alligators as well as information on the swamp, such as the shrimp boats we passed on the way. Our boat captain also had a small live alligator that we were allowed to hold. One of the most interesting things I have ever done, and I used to be a Science teacher! One issue we did have was the tour bus operator. Our driver left and we were told we would have a different driver back. When the swamp tour was over, there were 3 buses from the company, but no-one seemed to know who we should ride back with. It was confusing, but we did get a ride back. On further issue was the behavior of a group from a "bachelorette party" who were rude, loud and cursing. Once a few of the other passengers asked them to stop being so rude, there was almost a fight right on board the bus. Our driver did her best to stop the behavior and pulled the bus over with permission to leave the bachelorette group on the side of the road. They quieted down and we continued. I mention this as I imagine that group will all write bad reviews about the driver, but she did her best in a difficult situation and I would congratulate her on her job (although I do wish they would have been left on the side of the road as they deserved it).
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
We can't thank you enough for the positive review! Most importantly, we thank you for your understanding of the difficult situation on the bus. Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it! Overall, we are glad that you enjoyed the tour.
star-3
Plantation nice, swamp tour bad
Yvonne_B
, Feb 2020
It was a rainy and cold day - okay to visit the plantation but not for the swamp Tour. Destrehan is very interesting. I liked the different, old fashioned men and women which have guided us through the rooms. I got a lot of insights about the life of former owners, deseases and slavery. The swamp tour is not recommended at cold degrees. There we’re no alligators to see, no fun during steamboat ride. The guide didn‘t cancel the senseless Tour, didn‘t help to protect for getting wet.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
We are sorry about your experience, but the weather is completely out of our control. For future reference, we do not make anyone get on the tour if they didn't want to. We would've gladly rescheduled you. We do not cancel the tours because some of guests still want to go on tour, so we leave the decision up to the guests. The wildlife do hibernate during the cold weather, so naturally, they wouldn't be out as a compared to a warmer day.
star-5
SUPER!
ligiapuiu676
, Oct 2019
It was interesting with wonderfull view.The story with the aligator was so lung. Sorry, I don't have time to compose a long review.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review!
star-1
Don’t believe refund policy
Roxanne K
, Oct 2019
I canceled my booking 48 hours before my booking, the day before my booking I receive a call from tour company, I told them I canceled the day before, they said they showed it was not canceled. I explained it was, they told me to contact aviator, so I did, they said they would check into it, came back with an email denying refund. I did everything correctly but because I have no proof, I have no recourse, I was busy doing touristy things that I did not go back to email to check if I received confirmation of my cancellation. I am out hundreds of dollars because of this, will never go through aviator again,
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
We are sorry that this happened to you, but because you booked through a third party, refunds are out of our company's control.
star-5
A really great tour
Coastal45608380042
, Aug 2019
We took this tour at the conclusion of our lower Mississippi River cruise. This was the best of all the tours we took on this trip. Both segments of this package (Destrehan Plantation and the swamp tour) were very interesting and educational. There was a minimal amount of walking or stair climbing involved (being somewhat mobility limited, I appreciated this). I would certainly recommend this tour to all--you won't be disappointed.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Thank you for the stellar review on the Destrehan and swamp combo tour. Were glad that our staff did a great job.
star-4
Nice tour!
Curious63931201063
, Apr 2019
Wonderful visit at the plantation. Wish we had longer to wander the plantations. Thought the swamp visit would include more of a tour of the swamp area and to learn about the vegetation and the area. It was still fun to look at the gators and feed them. The pick up service at the hotel was nice.
star-5
Excellent tour, excellent guides, and...
Laurie R
, Feb 2018
Excellent tour, excellent guides, and the pace was just right. Highly recommended.
star-5
Enjoyed the history of the Destrehan...
Pam
, Oct 2016
Enjoyed the history of the Destrehan Plantation as well as learning about the 1811 slave revolt. Swamp tour- we did the covered flat boar instead of the airboat due to my husband's back. It was awesome. Our guide Rocky was great. Had a chance to hold a 2 month old baby gator, a 2 year 2 foot gator and was able to pet the 6 footer he brought up to and on the boat. Highly recommend it.
star-5
Loved it - wish we had more time...
Patricia B
, Aug 2016
Loved it - wish we had more time though at the plantation. Would recommend this tour to anyone The swamp tour was really interesting. The guides in both places were extremely knowledgeable.

Product code: 15200P16

Explore Similar Things to Do