Recent Searches
Clear

Day Trip from Naples: Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius

star-4.5176 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Naples, Italy
Day Trip from Naples: Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon7 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more

Overview

Visit the ruins of Pompeii and the top of Mt. Vesuvius on a tour from Naples. Learn about the history of the ancient Roman city and its destruction more than 2,000 years ago, and gain insight into the geology of the region from expert guides. Includes round-trip transportation from central Naples and the choice of a pizza lunch or wine tasting.
  • Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius tour from Naples
  • Learn about life in ancient Pompeii before the eruption on a guided walking tour
  • Discover the ecological history of Mt. Vesuvius from a professional volcanologist guide
  • Look inside the volcano that destroyed Pompeii
  • Includes pickup and drop-off at the cruise terminal, central train station, or central Naples hotels
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Live commentary on board
Bottled water
Hotel/port pickup and drop-off
Guaranteed to skip the long lines
Lunch
Pompeii entrance fee
Mt Vesuvius entrance fee
Gratuities

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
24 hours after the booking you will receive an email with the pickup time and the meeting instructions

Ports

  • Molo Beverello, Port of Naples


Departure Time

8:00 AM
After morning pickup from locations in central Naples, relax during the scenic drive to Pompeii. 

Begin with a walking tour of the ruins of the ancient Roman city of Pompeii, stopping to see the thermal baths, racy paintings in the Lupanare, the Basilica, Macellum (market square), and the formerly opulent residence known as the House of Faun. Your guide shares informative commentary about life in old Pompeii and the eruption of Mt. Vesuvius. 

After your time at the ruins, enjoy a delicious pizza lunch or wine tasting (option selected at checkout). Next up, rejoin your driver and travel up Mt. Vesuvius to 3,280 feet (1,000 meters). Disembark there and follow your guide up a winding path that leads to the top of the volcano (this is a moderately challenging walk). Peer into the volcano crater and learn about the geology of the volcano from a volcanologist guide.

Please note that the admission fees at both sites are at your own expense.

Your tour ends with return to your starting point in Naples in the late afternoon.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Pompeii Archaeological Park
Take the chance to visit in only 2 hours the ruins of the Roman city of Pompeii, the vast archaeological area under the UNESCO patronage.
Pass By:  
Forum
The Forum was the centre of Pompeii when it was first founded and even after the city's enlargement, when it could hardly be called 'central', it remained the focus of political, economic and religious life.
Pass By:  
Stabian Baths (Terme Stabiane)
The Stabian Baths take their name from the fact that they lie at the intersection of the Via Stabiana and the Via dell'Abbondanza. They are the oldest baths in Pompeii and four different building phases can be identified.
Pass By:  
Tempio di Giove Capitolino
The Temple of Jupiter, dedicated to the Capitoline triad of Jupiter, Juno and Minerva, dominates the north side of the Forum.
Pass By:  
Macellum
The Macellum, or food market, stands in the north-east corner of the Forum. The complex, built in the imperial age as a covered market, had a large number of shops on its periphery on the Via degli Augustali and on the Forum as well as on the inside under a colonnade around its large internal court.
Pass By:  
Vesuvius National Park
Painted over the centuries by various artists, Mt. Vesuvius is the natural landmark of the Bay of Naples. This volcano is a "must-see" sightseeing place for each tourist.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • During the low season (November - March) the live guide inside Pompeii ruins will be replaced by an audio guide for groups of less than six
  • Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Worldtours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
How can I let you know where to pick me up?
A:We offer pick ups from most hotels, if we are unable to pick you up from your hotel then we will provide you the nearest available alternative. Let us know where you are staying in the 'Special Requirements' box in the Traveler Details section during checkout. Or you can let us know after booking by visiting 'Manage my Booking' and emailing us there.
Jul 2019
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Day Trip from Naples: Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Day Trip from Naples: Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Day Trip from Naples: Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Day Trip from Naples: Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Day Trip from Naples: Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Day Trip from Naples: Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Climb to volcanic crate is not easy but worth a try." See review
  • "At Vesuvius it was beautiful but beware it is a strenuous hike but worth the view!" See review
  • "It was an excellent tour, with a very reasonable price." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
176 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 176 reviews
star-5
The Best Driver
Anonymous
, Jan 2022
By far the best Driver we have ever had on a tour. The safe & careful attention to the pickup & personal needs of each rider was greatly appreciated.
star-5
Spectacular history lesson
Kathleen_L
, Jan 2022
Experiencing the history that we have only read about in books. Our guide was very knowledgeable. Hiking up to the top of Mount Vesuvius and seeing that it was still producing steam. Plus the views of Napoli from the top of the volcano.
star-5
Enjoyable day trip
Bennet_G
, Jan 2022
Our guides were very informative and our driver was very patient with us when we were late. We accomplished a lot.
star-5
Amazing Trip! A must do when in Naples!
Deirdre_K
, Dec 2021
We visited Naples in early November and this tour was definitely the highlight of our trip! We were picked up close-by to our hotel in Naples by our wonderful guide Mariangelina and our lovely driver, in a luxury bus. We went first to Pompeii which was absolutely stunning and such an amazing experience. We had three hours or so to wander around here. Our amazing guide Mariangelina made sure that we had absolutely everything we needed to ensure we had the best time, from our tickets to our audio guides. She organised everything so perfectly. From here we drove to Mount Vesuvius and got dropped to the top nearly! A short walk up lead us to a guided tour around the volcanos crater where we were given an in depth insight into the history of Mount Vesuvius and its trajectory over the centuries. We had some free time to wander and then we headed back to the bus. The next stop was our lunch in a beautiful restaurant overlooking the mountains. It was just such a perfectly organised day and really was one of the best tours that we have ever experienced. Our guide Mariangelina is a true professional and was so helpful with anything that we needed, She went above and beyond to make sure we had a great time and helped us with many queries that we had to make our sty in Naples even more special. The tour was so good, we booked another tour to the Amalfi coast for the next day! Thank you for a great experience and we cant wait to return!
star-1
Save Your Money
Natashia_T
, Dec 2021
Paid for a Private Group tour of 8 people or less with an English guide. Contacted the tour operator the night before, to reconfirm the pickup time, at which point I was informed that they did not have enough people for a private group and so we would be moved to a “small group” (their site indicates a small group is 18 people or less) and refunded the difference between the cost of tours. We were not offered the option to cancel, they simply indicated they made the change. To be clear, this is after I’ve contacted them, had I not, I would have received no notice of the change. I expressed my dissatisfaction with the change, noting that I was concerned with a larger group of people due to Covid. In fact, despite my clearly conveyed concerns about group size, we were not transferred to a small group, rather we were put in to a large group (18+ people), with absolutely no notice from the tour operator— they simply refunded the difference between the private group to the large group, having never advised us of such. Further, the tour was not and English only tour, rather, the large group included Italian, French, Spanish, and English patrons. So, every word spoken on the bus ride had to be repeated in 4 languages. When the groups were divided for the tour of Pompeii, we were placed in an English/French group. Again, despite having reserved and paid for an English tour, this was not the case. Further, the guide was not a native English speaker, so spoke with a heavy accent that made interpreting his words very difficult, especially given that the group was so large that we were never anywhere close to the guide, having to trail yards behind him while listening through an earpiece— an earpiece that stopped working aprox 5 minutes in to the tour when the rain started pouring and only static could be heard. We attempted keeping up with the group, however, with so many people there was simply not enough room for everyone to be in the same small spaces together. So, by the time we made it to the next area of interest, the group was already moving to the next. So, we could hear nothing but static and had no time to view anything and no Idea what we were even looking at. Additionally, despite there being a country-wide mandate, every single person (excluding my companion and I) took off their masks upon entering the gates. The guide said absolutely nothing. This only furthered are inability to get closer to the speaker, as we had very real concerns about Covid transmission by people who chose not to take the required precautions. After aprox 30 minutes of frustratingly trying to make the situation work, it became obvious that we were not going to have the experience we were led to believe and decided to exit the site. Our guide was so far ahead of us and so inattentive that he had no idea we had left until we met up with the group later. After leaving, we immediately notified the tour operator of the issues we encountered. They expressed zero concern. The second part of excursion was a trip up Mt. Vesuvius. This ended up being cancelled due to the rain, a fact that we were not advised of until the very last moment while having lunch. When I inquired about this to the staff at the restaurant (the restaurant is just below the entrance to the mountain), I was told that the park always closes during heavy rains— and since it had been pouring for days, the tour operator would absolutely have known that it was not going to be open before our tour began. The operator simply chose to withhold this information as they knew it would result in cancellations. They refunded a minuscule portion of the fee, as a result of the closure. So, I was flat out lied to about the group size, misled about the spoken language, put at risk of illness due to their failure to follow Covid mandates, and manipulated in to believing the tour would include the Vesuvius portion, despite them knowing in advance it would not. After the small refunds issued, we still ended up being charged over $200 USD for a 16€ pizza lunch and 22€ in entrance fees. As far as I’m concerned, this company is operating fraudulently, as is Viator, who refuse to take responsibility for the situation. I wouldn’t recommend this tour, this tour operator, or Viator whatsoever.
star-5
Absolutely Must See Experience You’ll Love!!
LoriJo_S
, Nov 2021
We enjoyed very much this Tour with our guide Josie and our driver Roberto! Josie explained very well all that we would do and see! She was very patient, kind, informative and helpful! Roberto was a very safe and skilled driver! At Pompei Nancy our guide was good in her explanations, but the rain dampened our experience. I recommend bringing an umbrella! I think some highlights of Pompei were skipped. Our Lunch was included and was just excellent with great views! Mt. Vesuvius was totally magnificent with absolutely the best stunning, gorgeous views of entire region! The walk up is totally doable and totally worth seeing the amazing panoramic views, and actually seeing inside the Crater!!! Just an unbelievable site! This Tour is an adventure worth taking! An incredible once in a Lifetime experience I highly recommend!!! Thanks so much to all involved!
star-5
Great
Tiffany_E
, Oct 2021
Our tour guide (Martina) was great. She provided a lot of info and pointed things out in the way there. Pompeii was very cool and mount Vesuvius was unreal! And our driver (Antonio) knew what he was doing on the skinny mountain roads.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Best organised tour
GabrielTache_C
, Sep 2021
Very good organized; Alessandra (the guide) and Mario (the driver), very nice - september 2021; I strongly recomend this tour
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Day trip Naples
John_E
, Sep 2021
After paying $115 each for the tour, we were told we had to pay another $32 each when we got on the bus. This was not in my itinerary anywhere. Never had to pay extra for any other tour. Felt a little ripped off.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-1
Terrible Experience, Long Delays with Hours Sitting Around Doing Nothing, Bad Tour Guide, False Advertisement
Taysir_A
, Sep 2021
Overall HUGE delays doing absolutely nothing (sitting in a restaurant) causing a 7 hour tour to be >10 hours, Cant hear tour guide making all the extra money we paid for this worthless, "Wine Tasting" was literally 3 sips of wine, Food portion extremely small, Terrible Terrible Experience. More details below. This disaster of a trip began the day prior to our departure in which we were sent a message by our tour operator that the pick up time was moved from 8:00 to 9:15. We had limited time in Naples and thus I messaged them within 15 minutes of receiving this message stating this would be an issue for me. The response I received, over an hour and a half later, was that there is no other start time and that the tickets have already been purchased. (I have screenshots and pictures of all complaints in this email). I decided an hour would not be too big of a deal and thus went along with it given there was no other option. Once arriving in the bus, we were told that we may have to wait in lines and not go to the front which is typical for all guided tours. Once arriving to Pompeii, we were told our tour guide was not available. Thus, we were taken to a shop where they attempted to sell us jewelry while waiting. Another delay. Once in Pompeii, our tour guide did not speak loudly enough for anyone but the person next to her to hear. Furthermore, she often had us walking in lines so that it would be impossible for anyone not near the front of the line to hear. For a lot of the tour she actually was facing the closest tourist to her while speaking. Making things worse, she even would speak Italian with this tourist during our tour. I did not get the majority of information she provided and would not have unless I fought to be at the front of the line. Once leaving Pompeii, we were told that our trip to Mount Vesuvius was delayed and we would not be able to start hiking the mountain until 3.5 hours later. Thus, their solution was to take our time with lunch and take pictures around the restaurant. Once at the restaurant we were seated outside while all other guests were sitting inside with air-conditioning. Our "wine tasting" consisted of 3 VERY UNEVEN AND VERY SMALL POURS of wine. If adding up all the wine we were served together I would assume it would be half an actual glass of wine. We were subsequently given mini charcuterie board, pasta and some type of dessert. All of these were second rate at best. Extremely small portions and not even close to the standard the restaurant gives to its typical customers. I know this because we could see the food served to their customers with serving sizes 5 times as much and presentation of dishes making ours look like fast food. Needless to say we were extremely disappointed with the "wine tasting" and "meal" presented to us. They expect us to hike mount vesuvius during a 10 hour day while feeding us samplers from a restaurant. At this point, we asked to leave because it would be another hour before even starting our hike up the volcano. This supposed 7 hour tour quickly became a minimum of 10 hours. I paid almost $300 for my wife and I. While booking these tours, I know I am typically paying a premium for what I am getting. The value of entrance to any of the sites, transportation or meals we are fed are no where near what we pay. I expect to have excellent tour guides, front of the line experiences, punctuality and organization. This tour was disorganized with the majority of our time waiting in a restaurant or outside of Pompeii doing absolutely nothing. Our tour guide provided us little value. Our "wine tasting" was the definition of false advertisement. Food, wine and access to all sites is extremely cheap in Naples. My wife and I were always warned about pickpockets in Naples, however I can say that this tour was the greatest scam I experienced while traveling. Also, Viator did not support us in anyway despite us being customers with them for over ten years. Its Italy, so many amazing things to do and great ways to experience it so dont waste your time and money on this.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Dear Sir, We're sorry for your experience. Unfortunately,you booked a group tour and since there are different people on the bus,it can happen that the pickup time can vary according to the arrival of a new booking. With reference to the wine tasting, it was just a tasting,not a lunch.Therefore, it was provided a standard menu with a sample of different glass of wine+spaghetti and other finger food. Secondly,since it was a group tour,there were different participants of different languages such as Italian-speaking,English-speaking and so forth. It can happen with a group tour. Maybe, it would be better to book a private tour given that you would rather prefer a proper lunch and maybe choose the start time; a comfortable private tour would have been the right choice. Anyway, we look forward to welcoming you again in Naples. We would like to do our best to make your journey as beautiful as possible. Best regards,
1 traveler found this review helpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Day Trip from Naples: Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius
Day Trip from Naples: Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius

star-4.5176

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$129.98

star-428

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$89.72

star-4.5116

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$113.88

star-4.5108

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$170.24

star-414

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$97.77

star-42102

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$111.93

star-00

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$247.31

star-4.5527

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$103.53

star-5216

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$113.88

Explore Similar Things to Do