Recent Searches
Clear

Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch

star-4.5121 Reviews
|
Napa, United States
Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch
34

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 7 days in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon5 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Make your day in wine country memorable on a fun tour aboard the Napa Valley Wine Trolley. The open-air cable car is a replica of the historic trolleys seen in San Francisco and offers gorgeous views of the vineyards as you travel to three wineries to sample the local blends. An expert guide will accompany you along the way, providing entertaining and factual commentary about Napa’s rich history. Midday, stop for a lunch at Ottimo Napa Valley, a local favorite.
  • Napa wine country tour by open-air trolley
  • Experience Napa’s gorgeous scenery from a fun and unique perspective
  • Ride in a replica of a historic San Francisco cable car
  • Visit three family-owned wineries or tasting rooms
  • Pickup and drop-off from Oxbow Market included
Saved to wishlist!
Lunch
Pick-up from San Francisco is NOT included
Gratuities
Wine-tasting fees at each winery (USD$30 to $40 at each winery)

Departure Point

610 1st St, Napa, CA 94559, USA

Departure Time

10:30 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Your wine country experience will begin with pickup at Oxbow Market in Napa. Hop aboard the open-air Napa Valley Wine Trolley and soak up the views as you take off. A local guide will join you on board to pass along stories about the region’s wine culture and history.

You’ll make stops at three family-run wineries or tastings rooms. Learn about the local cellars, their notable varietals and what makes this region one of the best in the world. (Please note that wine-tasting fees range between USD$25 - $35 and are not included with your ticket.)

Stop for lunch catered by Ottimo Napa Valley, a local favorite. All served family style!

After lunch with your fellow travelers and a full day of wine tasting, your trolley will return you to Oxbow Market. There are several wonderful dining options in the area if you’d like to continue exploring around Napa.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Oxbow Public Market
You’ll be picked up at Napa’s Oxbow Market in the late morning for a 6-hour tour on the Napa Valley Wine Trolley, an open-air vehicle modeled after a historic 1890s San Francisco cable car. Enjoy the wind in your air as you take in the beautiful sights and smells of Napa wine country. Your friendly, knowledgeable guide will keep you entertained with commentary and stories about Napa’s history and wine culture.
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Napa Valley
Visit four family-owned Napa Valley wineries for private wine-tasting sessions. Your hosts will explain the different varietals you taste and give you a background on the wineries (wine-tasting fees are not included; fees range between USD$20 and 35). Stop for lunch catered by French-country bistro The Girl & the Fig. Enjoy gourmet sandwiches, side salads, and desserts. All served family style! You’ll have plenty of wonderful photo opportunities throughout your tour, and your guide will be happy to take a photo of your group so you can document your memorable day in wine country. At the end of the day, you’ll be taken back to Oxbow Market – there are plenty of delicious dining options here if you’d like to have dinner after your tour.
Duration: 6 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Operates in all weather conditions; please dress appropriately
  • Jackets and rain protection are recommended in the winter months
  • Minimum age is 21 years
  • No consumption of alcoholic beverages is allowed while riding the trolley
  • You MUST advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Napa Valley Wine Trolley operates “Rain or Shine” year-round. However, if there is a chance of rain, high winds, or unforeseen mechanical problems, we may have to substitute the trolley for a mini-bus. Napa Valley Wine Trolley reserved the right to substitute or change wineries at any time.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Your pick up is at Oxbow Market and the Trolley Departs at 10:15 do not be late.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Foreign language guides offered with notice: Spanish, French and Mandarin. Please contact the supplier directly after booking
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Napa Valley Wine Trolley

If you cancel at least 7 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee.

If you cancel within 2 day(s) of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee.

If you cancel between 3 and 6 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Napa Valley Open Air Wine Trolley Tour with Lunch.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Yes, you need to purchase your tastings at each tour yourself, but this is clearly indicated in the sign up and if you've done any research ahead of time you'll find it is standard for any Napa tour." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
121 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 121 reviews
star-3
Less than impressive
Marietta_D
, Jul 2021
The wineries were poor. The acoustics on the trolley were terrible. You couldn’t hear him from the back of the trolley. Not a great tour. If they selected better wineries the tour would have been better. The lunch was over the top salty.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fun times
Karen_T
, Jul 2021
We had a great time and met a lot of fun people. The guide was very informative. We were able to see a lot of Napa and learn about its history.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Awesome and info filled!
Leah_Z
, Jul 2021
Richard was awesome! Very knowledgeable about Napa’s history and of course, wines! We’ll be back! It was such a memorable experience and the wineries we visited were not your average wineries, cool, off the beaten path!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Lots of fun and yum!
C_P
, Jul 2021
We had a wonderful time, our driver Richard was very knowledgeable and took great care of us! The wineries and the lunch exceeded our expectations! I’d highly recommend this tour!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thanks for the recommendations.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Napa wine trolley
Gary_B
, Jul 2021
Richard was truly an Informative driver and friendly professional wine enthusiast. Hope to have do this trip again to other wineries???
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you very much for the wonderful review.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Great experience
Lori_S
, Jun 2021
Great time. Great wineries. Great way to experience Napa. Would definitely go again if there is an option to visit different places
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you for the review
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Amazing!!!
Adrienne_S
, Jun 2021
So much fun visiting the wineries and meeting fun people from all over. Richard let us take our time at each winery. It was a beautiful fun day throughout the wine country.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Fun but not what we expected
Kellie_F
, May 2021
It was disappointing that the trolley had a flat tire and we ended up on a bus instead. Lunch was Panera and it was good but something local is what was expected. All three wineries we different styles and was a good experience. Our group that we initially sat and stayed with was fun so that made the disappointing things not our weigh the experience.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Thank you for your review and apologies for having to use one of our airconditioned comfortable buses. While the last thing we want to do is send out something other than a trolley, we found in our early morning safety check that we had to for your safety. While Panera, is a national company it is here locally and a local favorite.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Bus tour
L_V
, May 2021
We were extremely disappointed from the start, since we did not get to ride the trolley. We were put on a small tour bus. Our driver Richard was very friendly and knowledgeable. We stopped at 3 Wineries the third being a tremendous disappointment. We were ushered into to a dark room with no windows and were expected to do our wine tasting there. We immediately requested to sit outside since it was beautiful weather and tables were open, but we received the reply "Wine trolly? You sit inside". We then sat in a room looking out at the empty tables, finally for the last half hour we were granted permission to sit outside. Just a horrible experience. Lunch was a box from Panera, not the Buffet style Vineyard catered lunch as advertised. I would definitely not recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Very sorry that you had to take a bus rather than the trolley. In our morning safety check we had found an issue that kept us from sending out the Trolley. For your safety and comfort we sent a bus. I will check with the third winery and see what the situation was, but we normally sit outside at that winery and it gets wonderful review. As for the Buffet style lunch, due to covid this had to be changed to individual box lunches to keep with county safety guidelines. Most people these days of covid, are just happy to get out, on a tour and to a winery which are very difficult to make reservations for. Im very sorry you did not feel the same way and simply enjoy.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fun trip!
Anne_G
, May 2021
The trolley conductor was very informative, friendly and fun! It was an enjoyable trip! He took us to wineries we wouldn't have gone to on our own. The wineries all served delicious wines!
HelpfulHelpful

Explore Similar Things to Do