Recent Searches

Delightful Elephanta Caves Excursion Mumbai (Guided Half Day Sightseeing Tour)

star-3.510 Reviews
Mumbai, India
Delightful Elephanta Caves Excursion Mumbai (Guided Half Day Sightseeing Tour)

From $31.03

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

icon4 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English


Saved to wishlist!
Ferry Ride to Elephanta Caves
Bottled water
Storyteller to make this experience engaging who can speak English and Hindi
Entry fee to any historical site like caves
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Gateway Of India Mumbai , Apollo Bandar, Colaba, Mumbai, Maharashtra 400001, India

Meet us at the Entrance Gate of Gateway of India, Mumbai

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

This activity will end right where it started.You can meet us at Entrance Gate of Gateway of India, Mumbai OR We provide pickup and drop facility on additional charges, please contact us for more details.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Yo Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

Traveler Photos


10 Reviews
3 stars

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-6 of 10 reviews
My guide was an excellent photographer.
, Apr 2022
Avinash, my guide, was anxious to make sure I had the right information so our meeting would be easy. He was a knowledgeable guide and I learnt a lot from his talk. He is a magnificent photographer: if he is your guide, I suggest you hand him your phone and leave the photos to him! Good shopping in the shade on the way to and from the ferry. No drink or snacks offered.
Great thing to do but not with this tour operator
, Dec 2019
Communication is quite poor and things are poorly organised. Entry fee to the caves are not included and it is not clear at all how much extra one is going to pay on a spot, so comes as a bit of unexpected surprise that you still have to pay another INR600 to get into the caves. Bottled water and snacks are not provided as they was late and instead of 1000am ferry we took 1100am ferry. Practically, the company only organises return ferry tickets that are easy to get anyway, and would cost cheaper if doing it without them. I would recommend this tour but not recommend this company.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Dear guest we apologize for the inconvenience caused to you, this is not the Yo Tours experience we provide, we acknowledge that there was a delay in the start of the tour due to last minute change of storyteller who had to attend to an emergency, however this cannot be used as an excuse to make up for the loss of your precious time which went in waiting. The entry fee is specifically excluded and can be read on clicking the exclusions tab on viator, but bottled water and snacks is definitely included in the price. We take feedback very seriously and will ensure necessary action is taken against the storyteller who did not offer the same to you, please help us know how we can correct our mistake. i apologise once again on behalf of our on ground team, we feel terrible.
trip did not happen due to communication issues. Refund requested
, Nov 2019
I did not get the e-mail send the day before changing the time, so I was there at 9, and finally paid my way on the boat and the Island. Requesting refund.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Dear guest thanks for writing, our Guide was waiting at meeting point since 9 AM, we called on the given number and even to the hotel, tried every possible scenarios to reach out to you, but we haven't received any response from your side, our guide waited for 1.5 hours just for you and even we contacted the Viator customer support to reach out to you. The 9 AM was requested for your pickup from hotel a day prior and we haven't received any single response from your end till today. Once again our apologies for the inconveniences caused.
Caves, monkeys and good company
, Oct 2019
I took a 9am ferry over with guide Sameer and was accompanied by 3*tourists with Reality Tours, this made it much more enjoyable sharing the experience with other English speaking tourists. Once on the island Sameer showed us the caves and gave very good account of the history, explaining other important Indian context such as the Diwali festival of lights coming up. Seen a few monkeys around the stairwell and had an enjoyable dinner with one of the families on the island. The boat trip is 1hr each way to Mumbai which is cumbersome but other than that a great tour
Horrible and Cheating
, Oct 2019
Booked for AC Private guided trip and what I got was normal non ac ferry with 200 people and a shared Guide. To make things worse, I was asked to pay and buy tickets at ticket window. What is that they organised? A shared guide? The guides are available for INR 500. I was charged INR 9600. Is it fare? Is this lowest guaranteed? After protest, I was returned INR 500 out of 615INR I had spent for buying tickets in addition to tour price. Will never recommend the organisers, Viator to anybody. Keep away from them. They would loot you
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
First of all, its never mentioned private AC Boat ride, it was private AC Vehicle to Gateway in case of option with tranport has been choosen (which was not the case), usually we request guest to meet us a Gateway but out of courtesy, our guide went to hotel to pickup hotel and avoid any hassle. No one runs a private boat to caves it was private guided tour not privae boat ride (Though we will still work on specifically mentioning that the ride would shared government ferry ride). Coming to the guide price its controlled by government body and local caves organization and standard price is 1600 person just for guiding, not sure where guest can get the guide as it required only license guide at caves which comes under the ASI monument. It was private guided tour for the guest for 4 hours, we have given the full services. It's very easy to call everything a scam or cheapting, we have runs hundreds of tour and this is first time we are receiving this kind of feedback. We would request guest to check if any Elephanta tour services are available at cheaper than our price we will do the refund of amount. Still our sincere apologies in case we won't able to provide our services upto the guest expectation.
Amazing experience
, Jun 2019
This is a "do not miss" experience. I thoroughly enjoyed it and cannot say enough positive things about my guide Vrushali. She was so knowledgeable and hospitable...she made the trip a great experience.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Delightful Elephanta Caves Excursion Mumbai (Guided Half Day Sightseeing Tour)
Delightful Elephanta Caves Excursion Mumbai (Guided Half Day Sightseeing Tour)


4 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



5 hours

Free Cancellation



8 hours

Free Cancellation



2 hours

Free Cancellation

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations