Recent Searches
Clear

Beyond the Market Food Tour in Montreal

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Montréal, Canada
Beyond the Market Food Tour in Montreal

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon3 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Visit buzzing eateries and busy watering holes on this market and food tour in Montreal. Explore Jean-Talon Market and a section of Little Italy with your guide and discover ‘farm-to-table’ produce, Canada-style. Gain insight into Montreal locals’ love of fresh food and sample some yourself at one of their hole-in-the-wall eateries. Meet the producers who work hard to keep standards high, and gain insight into the Vietnamese, Italian and Latino influences spicing up Canada’s cuisine.
  • Market and food tour in Montreal
  • Walk the local streets with an in-the-know guide and visit eateries
  • Visit Jean-Talon Market and a section of Little Italy
  • Sample delicious foods along the way
  • Learn about various influences on Canadian cuisine
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide
Food and drinks
Gratuities
Hotel pickup and drop-off
531 Rue Bélanger , 531 Rue Bélanger, Montréal, QC H2S 1G5, Canada

We meet outside of Los Planes restaurant. We can't wait for latecomers, we ask that you show up 10 minutes before go time.

Parc de la Petite-Italie , 6634 Rue Clark, Montréal, QC H2S 3C6, Canada
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • If you have any food restrictions or allergies, you must specify in the Special Requirements box at checkout
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • Vegetarian option is available; please advise at time of booking if required
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Spade & Palacio Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Marie was a fantastic tour guide, I really enjoyed the tour and it was great to try so many different kinds of food." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
188 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 188 reviews
star-5
Montreal hidden gem
Gerard_O
, Jul 2022
Amazing food experiences I would never have thought of especially the Farmers market. Marie our guide was Magnifique ♥️
star-5
Superb Tour, Poor Customer Service
Trinh_N
, Jun 2022
The tour (6/3) was excellent, but the customer service was rude. I called to notify 2/4 members of my party could not come. Right off the bat, I was scolded for not giving sufficient notice of their absence, which results in "tasting portions going to waste". Then I was given a lecture on how the representative grew up in a lower-income household, so food was not wasted, and that I was "wasting" the tasting food items. I was startled to receive such remark, and explained that the CDC requires a negative COVID-19 test 1 day prior to our flight back to the States, which happened to be on the same day as our food tour, and that the 2 who could not come had tested positive. To ensure the safety of others in the tour, we thought it was best for them not to come. To say the least, the extra 2 portions of tastings were eaten by us and the rest of the tour group, so no food was wasted :) In addition, Marie and her trainee (I forgot his name) were exceptionally informative and pleasant to eat with!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi there! Happy to hear that regardless of you missing the first stop due to your tardiness you still thought the tour was superb. The rest of your comments are unfair and not truthful. You did not call us to tell us you would be less guests than booked originally. We called you. We called you five minutes before tour time to see if you were close-by or running late. No answer. We called you at tour time, 5 minutes after and finally, 10 minutes after we were supposed to start to receive no answer. The rest of the group, that was able to show up on time, wasted their time and started with cold food because of your absence. When you did call, 15 minutes after the tour had started, you let us know that you might be running late. That's when we asked you where you four were located to find out that you were less guests than reserved originally. Running late is something you could make us aware of before start time, not after, it's common curtesy. It happens, we get it. Being real and not rude with you about how wasting food means a lot to us is a stance we will continue to take. There is a whole behind the scenes that goes on to make sure we do our best to host you... The CDC didn't create a testing rule for your family of four and you only. The rest of our group planned their tests appropriately when it came to timing and somehow made it on time. If you truly wanted to be responsible, being in close contact with those who tested positive should have meant a no-go, nada, and a call to warn us and a that's it that's all. We work very hard and have a great passion for the city we showcase to our guests in a laid back and informal but informative manner. We're a small business trying to do our best. It's not up to us to teach you how to be a better customer or guest. That doesn't mean we will not call you out for being the opposite. I believe this platform should be used for honest feedback, you could help us learn and become better. This shouldn't be a place for us to lie about our experiences because we messed up.. Thank for joining!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Thank you for sharing some of Montreal with us, Marie.
Jennifer_H
, Jun 2022
Marie was a fantastic tour guide. We really enjoyed our time with her. She clearly loves Montreal, and loves to share it with others. As she explained, this is not a tour for bagels, smoked meat, and poutine. There are plenty of opportunities to try those Montreal staples and she will happily make recommendations. This tour visits some lovely little family owned places and offers tastes of what makes this neighborhood (these neighborhoods?) a part of a very vibrant city. Oh, and by the way, I wish my town had a market like Jean-Talon. Incredible! I've not been to a market that great since our last trip to Europe.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Such a great read on our route. Google and your mom will tell you to get bagels, and they are right. You don't need us for that. We focus on all local, inspiring business stories and neighbourhood spots we want to share with you as our new friends in town. Thanks for coming!
star-5
This food tour is a “must-do” with Marie as a guide
Rochelle_P
, May 2022
We had a wide variety of tastings, but ending with a catered picnic was the “piece of resistance”. We are very happy to have included this tour in our visit to beautiful Montreal.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Love the variety of foods and areas on this tour, thanks for sharing.
star-5
Marie was a great tour...
Sharon_G
, May 2022
Marie was a great tour guide! She was attentive and knowledgeable . Good choices of tasting experiences throughout the tour
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Love the food tour. Happy Marie Pier showed you a good time. Thanks for coming!!
star-5
A unique experience you don’t want to miss
Jennifer_C
, May 2022
This was such a fun way to kick off our trip to Montreal. We went to places that I probably would not have tried otherwise because they were off the beaten path. Our guide Danny was like the cool kid who knows all the best places to go. Would do this again in a heartbeat.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Stop it, you’re a cool kid! The food tour is the best and we’re so happy after two years she’s back on. Come join us on a bike tour next! Cheers
star-5
Sensational tour!
Alan_F
, Oct 2021
Danny is a sensational tour guide. Knowledgable, passionate, humorous. The food selections and accompanying explanations were excellent. Schedule this tour with Danny with confidence. You won't regret it.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Awesome tour! Wonderful...
Mitzi_M
, Sep 2021
Awesome tour! Wonderful sampling of the tastes on offer in Montréal. Marie was so accommodating and insightful.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thanks for coming along, it’s been a tough year trying to get these running again. Can’t wait for the route to get back to « normal ». Happy to hear you enjoyed your time.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Cultural cuisine tour
Lisa_G
, Sep 2021
Our tour guide was super knowledgeable and friendly. The samples were also a great way to discover the market.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Heya! Happy to hear you enjoyed the route. We’re pretty pleased to be finally running these back up again. Thanks for sharing.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Danny is great!!
SpookyandTink
, Oct 2019
The food tour was awesome! We were thinking that like other food tours, we’d be so stuffed afterwards. It’s one reason I am always a little hesitant to book food tours. Anyway, this was perfect! Small plates, coffee, beer and moderate plates made this a great tour. Danny knows his stuff and made Montreal come to life as we walked and talked. This tour takes you to local places. Family owned, women owned. No chains. Amazing flavors. Then, he leaves you with a list of other places to try.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
You must GO!
Ken S
, Oct 2019
This tour was one of the highlights of my trip. Our guide, Marie, was an inspirational leader. She was funny, caring, knowledeable, and everyone had a great time. We visited many food sites, mostly "off the beaten path." This made the trip a lot of fun. We sampled, spices, ethnic foods, meats, cheeses, and lots more.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thanks for sharing your positive experience with others, it means a lot to us being the small company we are. Marie-Pier is such a lovely team member we're proud to have her.
star-5
Market Tour
John_L
, Oct 2019
Guide was fantastic, Great idea to tour market, food choices great. Would recommend to friend 5 stars
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thanks for sharing :) Happy to hear you enjoyed!
star-5
Excellent Tour
tessk1027
, Oct 2019
Marie was a fantastic tour guide, I really enjoyed the tour and it was great to try so many different kinds of food. Her passion for food in this foodie city was really easy to see.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thanks for sharing! This is a great route to see lesser visited parts and support local entrepreneurs. Happy Marie delivered. Cheers
star-5
Unusual, authentic, hip
Molly_K
, Sep 2019
My husband and I loved this tour—Danny took us to some unexpected places, and the best part was that he explained the particular back stories of each restaurant/vendor (rather than just talking about the food itself). It was a glimpse into the history and culture of the city as it is now, not just a fossilized version of what we think of as Québécois cuisine. The stops were nicely varied, with just a couple of larger plates interspersed among small samples, so we were satisfied but not overly full by the end. Merci à Danny!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Heya Happy you got to see the less visited hoods around the market area and were pleased with the local vendors and small businesses we promote. Glad Danny showed you a good time, he's a real gem. Thanks for sharing :)

 Cheers!
star-5
Best tour taken!!!
160spruce
, Sep 2019
The tour exceeded my husband and my expectations. Exploring off the beaten path sites and tasting local foods in a small group atmosphere was both informative and exciting. The food tastings were delicious and our guide, Amelia, made this our best tour taken!!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi there! We aim to showcase less visited spots through the local businesses we promote, so happy Amelie showed you a good time and you and your husband enjoyed the experience and and the delicious food. Cheers,
star-5
Beyond the Market Food Tour
rochelledunham11
, Sep 2019
Excellent neighborhood and food tour. Longer than anticipated but well worth it. Our tour guide Danny was very knowledgeable and personable. Great job!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Hi! The food tour is the best way to see an entirely different and missed section of the city. Happy Danny showed you a good time! Cheers
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Thoroughly enjoyable
chundert2019
, Sep 2019
Amelie is a fabulous guide and her passion for Montreal is contagious. The food we tasted was diverse and delicious and we learned tons of city tidbits along the way. I HIGHLY and wholeheartedly recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Heya Amelie is such a gem! A great ambassador for the company. We aim to showcase less visited spots through the local businesses we promote, so happy you enjoyed the experience and and all the delicious food along the way! Cheers,
star-5
Love the new places we visited!
BonniB_K
, Jul 2019
This is a most interesting tour as we walked through such diverse neighborhoods compared with the old town area where we are staying. We loved our guide, Amelie!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Hey! Happy we were able to show you a different style neighborhood from what you were used to, this tour definitely tries to take guests to a real and less visited part of our nothern hoods. So glad to hear you enjoyed! We’re so lucky to have Amelie with us! Cheers
star-5
Beyond the Market Food Tour Montreal
Tonja_W
, Jul 2019
My daughter and I really enjoyed this tour. Not only did we visit many vendors in the Market and restaurants in the area, but our tour guide provided lots of information on the area and took us off the beaten path. You could tell that he was very knowledgeable and not giving us an everyday generic tour. I was pleasantly surprised by all the tours we did during our trip to Montreal and Quebec City.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Heya! So glad to hear that we were able to show you and your daughter the hoods we live in and showcase our favourite food stops along the way. And happy to hear you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Montreal and Quebec City! Cheers
star-5
Excellent Tastes of Montreal
Alan_S
, Jul 2019
Our guide Marie did an excellent job of showing us the "flavors" of the neighborhoods through which we walked, as well as the flavors of the food we were provided at the various stops/sites along the way. Marie was friendly, articulate and always responsive to questions. I would strongly recommend this tour!
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Heya! Happy we were able to show you the hoods we live in and showcase our favourite food stops along the way. So glad you enjoyed the "flavors" as much as we do! And we’re so lucky to have Marie with us! Cheers

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Beyond the Market Food Tour in Montreal
Beyond the Market Food Tour in Montreal

star-5188

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$78.58

star-546

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$127.00

star-595

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$75.82

star-00

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$58.00

star-515

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$122.24

star-599

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$69.06

star-58

2 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$134.94

star-521

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$117.08
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations