Recent Searches
Clear

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary PREMIUM Tour

|
Melbourne, Australia

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon12 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks provided for travelers
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Regular temperature checks for staff
Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Travelers short on time in the Melbourne area don't need to miss out on one of Australia's greatest coastal road trips. This Great Ocean Road day tour includes many of the route's highlights, including the Twelve Apostles, Apollo Bay, and London Bridge. And, because this itinerary is the reverse of what many travelers take, you'll be skipping the worst of the crowds.
  • This premium tour includes hotel pick-up from Melbourne CBD and Southbank
  • Enjoy live commentary on board the bus from your guide
  • Receive personalized attention, and more legroom, on a small-group tour
  • An easy way to travel the Great Ocean Road from Melbourne
  • We travel in reverse itinerary to beat the crowds
Saved to wishlist!
National Park fees
Live commentary on board
Professional guide
Pickup and drop-off from designated meeting points
Guaranteed to skip the long lines
Air-conditioned vehicle
Bottled water
WiFi on board
Disposable Face Masks
Hand Sanitizer
Food and drinks

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
Pickups from Melbourne CBD and Southbank Hotels.
Please send us a message specifying your pickup location and we will soon reply with your pickup time.

Departure Time

7:05 AM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • We are not able to accommodate children under 7 years of age on this tour, as according to VicRoads regulations they must travel on child restraints, which are not available in our minibuses. Passengers who show up with under 7 years old kids will be refused boarding without refund.
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Near public transportation
  • Expected to be back to Melbourne around 7 PM.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
  • OPERATED BY HIT THE ROAD TOURS

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary PREMIUM Tour?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary PREMIUM Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary PREMIUM Tour?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary PREMIUM Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary PREMIUM Tour?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary PREMIUM Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary PREMIUM Tour?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary PREMIUM Tour.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary PREMIUM Tour?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Great Ocean Road Reverse Itinerary PREMIUM Tour.

Traveler Tips


  • "It is a long day of driving, but the views of the ocean, seeing koalas and kangaroos in nature was worth it!" See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
136 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 136 reviews
star-5
As advertised!
Honest
, Mar 2020
We took this tour during a difficult time with the Cove-19 alerts. We could not have been more pleased. Under difficult circumstances Jack, our guide, was professional, friendly and humorous. As this was a very long tour (8 hrs.) he interacted with the guests just the right amount. He shared his knowledge and he was also quiet for long periods of time (unlike other guides who continually fill up the air). We would highly recommend the REVERSE tour as you get the long drive over with first. There is a lot of variety offered in the day and all the sites were well worth the visit. This tour will go down as a highlight of our Australian tour. The beauty of the Ocean Road is unparelled! We would highly recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2020
Thanks a lot! We appreciate your review Honest!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Amazing experience with tour and guide. Highly recommended!
Elvedin_Fazlagic
, Mar 2020
Amazing experience with tour and guide, breathtaking landscape. Highly recommended, something not to miss in Australia!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thank you very much!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great Ocean Road Reverse Tour
JMG
, Mar 2020
What a lovely day with Brendan, our driver and guide. He was very knowledgeable and made the trip very enjoyable.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thanks a lot JMG! Nice to hear you had a knowledgeable and enjoyable trip with us :)
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Breathtaking landscapes
Michael_S
, Mar 2020
Ben was an amazing guide. He was very informative, friendly and organized while taking us through this unforgettable landscapes.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thank you so much Micheal! Was great having you on the tour :)
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Amazing tour
Jean_D
, Mar 2020
Great experience with an excellent guide (Brendan). The van was clean and comfortable. Pick-up on time at two minutes from our location and same for drop-off. Excellent value for the money. We saw everything that was expected and more. The ride was a bit long but we knew it before departure. Brendan stopped a few times when needed however we were right on schedule. What we saw was just amazing, thank you Brendan.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thank you very much Jean_D! So glad to hear you've had an amazing time !
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Wonderful Trip
IdaM_W
, Mar 2020
Wonderful trip with Brendan (driver). Pickup was timely, stops on Great Ocean Highway allowed plenty of time to view/explore, and narration/explanations of sites was informative.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thanks a lot IdaM_W! So happy to hear you had a wonderful trip with us :)
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
A beautiful drive on the Ocean Road
Ernie_F
, Feb 2020
The idea of a reverse itinerary is great for avoiding crowds at each stop. I definitely enjoyed this feature. Jack is a great tour guide and geneal host. He brings a good combination of historical knowledge, entertaining humor, and cultural/environmental sensitivity. We were a cohort of several nationalities, but everyone seemed to enjoy the that equally.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks a lot Ernie_F! So delighted to hear you had a great time on the bus and ofcourse on the tour :)
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great itinerary and guide
Linda_S
, Feb 2020
We had a wonderful day on our Great Ocean Road trip. Jack, our guide, was knowledgable, had a nice sense of humor, and was a good driver. He made sure we had plenty of time to see all of the sites that had been advertised. And, he pulled along the side of the road at an unadvertised spot so we could see koalas in the trees. It was a great day.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks a lot Linda_S! Great that you saw the koalas! And good to hear you had a great day :)
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Gorgeous scenery
Jennifer_B
, Feb 2020
Gui our tour guide was wonderful. It is a long day of driving, but the views of the ocean, seeing koalas and kangaroos in nature was worth it!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank very much Jennifer! For sure seeing the koalas and kangaroos and the nature is worth the visit!
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Shortcomings of Viator as an intermediary
mmmannix
, Feb 2020
I was very happy with the tour itself but the experience with Viator as an intermediary was uniformly bad. I wont' be using Viator as an intermediary service provider ever again. I was unable to communicate with Viator and as of the day before the tour I had not been advised of the time and place of pickup for the tour. Moreover, I eventually was able to "chat" with Viator and the Viator person I did the chat with was unable to assist me and initially recorded me as staying in Sydney before I corrected her by telling her my hotel was in Melborne.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear customer, I don’t know exactly what happened in your communication with Viator, but we, Hit the Road Tours, did our best to provide you a great experience as you also mentioned in the review. This 1 star review drops our average score big time. I appreciate your frustration with Viator but please don’t punish ourselves as there was nothing wrong from our side. Your understanding of this matter will be much appreciated. Kind regards, Orlando
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 72740P7

Explore Similar Things to Do