Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Molokini Snorkel Adventure from Maalaea Harbor

star-4.5
|
Wailuku, United States

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon5 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Snorkeling in Molokini Crater is undeniably one of the best parts about visiting Maui. Here in this crescent, submerged volcano off Maui’s southern coastline, over 250 species of fish inhabit a world-class reef. Experience water so exceptionally clear you can see down 75 feet, and swim with schools of tropical fish while cruising the vibrant reef. You can also just sit and suntan on the deck, with sweeping views of Haleakala set just off the back of the boat.
  • View the underwater sights from the glass bottom viewing room
  • Four Winds Catamaran Features: • 2 Restrooms • Glass Bottom Viewing Room • 2 Spacious Decks • Plenty of Shade • 3 Boarding Ladders • Fresh Water Showers • Waterslide • Sport Fishing Equipment (Seasonal)
  • What to Expect • Abundant of Marine Life • Turtle Watching • Whale Watching (Seasonal) • Stunning views of Maui’s Coastline • Fun Music • Tattoos for Kids
Tropical Breakfast
Grilled BBQ Lunch
Beverages: Water, Soda, Beer, Wine and Juice
Snorkeling Gear and Flotation
Sea Boards (large flotations with clear bottoms) & Boogie Boards
Optical Masks
Instructional Guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Gratuities

Departure Point

101 Maalaea Rd, Wailuku, HI 96793, USA

Departure Time

7:00 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
From Maalaea Harbor, board a 55-foot, glass bottom catamaran for a Molokini snorkeling tour, where you’ll enjoy a breakfast of bagels and fruit served with juice and Kona coffee. On the hour long cruise to Molokini Crater, take in the views of Haleakala volcano, and try to identify the four other islands that are scattered across the horizon. You’ll also hear commentary from an onboard naturalist who serves as your guide.

Upon arrival at Molokini Crater, splash into the waters teeming with thousands of fish, and cruise over one of Hawaii’s healthiest coral reefs. With its deep sand channels, shallows sections of reef, and wealth of colorful marine life, Molokini Crater is an exceptional outing for experts and first-timers alike. You can also take a turn on the waterslide.

If you'd like to see the marine life without getting wet, peer through glass on the bottom of the boat, where children and families can watch schools of fish.

Once you've finished snorkeling in Molokini Crater, enjoy a freshly cooked BBQ lunch of chicken breasts, pulled pork, or hot dogs, with a garden burger option for vegetarians. Lunch is accompanied by chips and dessert, and an open bar of beer and wine is served on the cruise back home.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Maalaea
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Molokini Crater
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Maui Classic Charters
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Four Winds II
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Sailing subject to favorable weather conditions.
  • Snorkeling at Molokini crater is "weather permitting"
  • All Passengers Must Sign Waiver Prior to Tour.
  • Please bring reef-safe sunscreen, a hat, a change of clothing, swimsuit and sandals
  • For an additional fee, you can select the following:
  • SNUBA guided experience is available for purchase onboard - $62+tax
  • Video - Prices Vary
  • Underwater digital camera (pictures are downloaded onto a USB drive) - Prices Vary
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Wetsuit rental - $5 Cash
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 120 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Maui Classic Charters

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Molokini Snorkel Adventure from Maalaea Harbor?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 120 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Molokini Snorkel Adventure from Maalaea Harbor.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "This is a very minor thing so don't let it prevent you from going." See review
  • "Worth the extra cost on a cool day in February." See review
  • "It is not intense at all, so for more experienced snorkelers or those looking for something a little more advanced, then this may not be the best fit." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
230 Reviews
5 stars
167
4 stars
45
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 230 reviews
star-5
Great Family Experience
Clinton_S
, Mar 2020
Staff was fantastic and had a great knowledge of the area and animal life. Having the option on board to rent cameras and wet suits was a huge plus.
star-5
Just go, you won’t regret it!
Jennifer_k
, Mar 2020
Our family of 4 (teenagers 16 & 17) had a blast on the Four Winds II. Every member of the crew was friendly, welcoming and helpful. The food and drinks were good and plentiful. I could go on and on about the pictures, the souvenirs... the best bonus was seeing all the whales. It was AMAZING, we saw 2 whales breach the surface at the same time. The memories with the family are priceless. Thank you!!!
star-5
Great service and experience snorkeling
Sarah_H
, Feb 2020
The service for Four Winds was great. The crew was accomodating and helpful. We went out to Molokini and saw some whales along the way. The coral out there was great along the wall and I saw many fish. The food was also good. I recommend this company for snorkeling at Molokini.
star-5
A MUST DO IN MAUI
harleywaters94
, Feb 2020
Cannot say anything negative about this tour! Every crew member was friendly and welcoming, the food supplied was amazing and catered for all dietary requirements and the overall experience was exceptional. I would highly recommend these guys to anyone who wants to snorkel Molokini! It has been the absolute highlight of our trip to Maui!
star-5
Best day in Maui!!!!!
glabernik
, Jan 2020
We can’t even dream of a day that could be better than our day yesterday. Captain Dan and the crew were absolutely wonderful to the 3 of us! Food was great, snorkeling was great! The time and info spent whale watching were a HUGE bonus. TIP—spend the $5 for the wetsuit top-great insulation! If we could give them a 10 out of 5 rating, we would!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Aloha glabernik, We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we are thrilled to hear you had such an enjoyable experience. We hope to see you again! Mahalo, Nikki Andricci
star-5
Mahalo!
lbfrost6
, Jan 2020
The Four Winds II crew is very professional, knowledgeable, outgoing and friendly. One of our group is an adult who does not swim. The Four Winds II has a snorkeling board that allowed her to safely float in Molokini and enjoy the experience. The crew ensured her safety by providing a floating vest plus managing getting her off and on the boat. We observed the SNUBA group from above as the crew had two scuba divers give them a fabulous experience. The crew also provided lifeguards at Molokini for visitor safety. The Breakfast and Lunch are excellent. Since it was January we were fortunate to view several Humpback Whales during the excursion. The captain respectfully managed our interaction with these amazing animals.
star-5
A great morning of snorkeling.
ssawyer
, Jan 2020
Captain, crew, bartender--all professional, friendly, excellent! Captain Dave took us to an alternative site because of poor weather & we had a great time.
star-3
The monk seal was a great surprise!
Amy3171
, Sep 2019
The only reason I’m not rating this tour as “great” is because we hardly saw any fish. We did get to swim with the monk seal and saw turtles on way out. Crew was really fun! Food was great.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2019
Aloha Amy3171 and thank you for joining us on the Four Winds II! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your snorkel excursion with us. Wow! What an extraordinary experience, it is definitely not every day that you get to see a monk seal. I'm sorry to hear you did not see as many fish as you would of liked, but I am happy to hear you enjoyed the parts of the trip that we are able to control. We hope to see you with us again next time you are on Maui! Mahalo, Nikki Andricci PR Manager
star-4
Family adventure
holidaylightingllc
, Aug 2019
Came back after 35 years to see the reef again. Very sad how much the reef has died off, but the crew made sure we had fun on board and in the water with all their gear. They were very safety conscious without inhibiting the fun. Would have liked a few more salads and/or side dishes with the lunch. Burger and chips just wasn't enough after working up an appetite in the water.
star-5
Wonderful First Snorkeling Experience!
Tourist52567677617
, Jun 2019
This was probably the highlight of my trip to Hawaii with my husband for our one year anniversary. I had never snorkeled before and was a little nervous. The captain and crew did a marvelous job. There were a lot of them there to take care of all your needs and lend a helping hand. The captain also shared a lot of great information about the islands that was very interesting and helpful for the rest of our visit. You can also tell they take safety very seriously while also trying to make sure that everyone has a good time. The food was okay - had the pulled pork sandwich. They also provided all the gear you could possibly need (food, sunscreen, flippers, goggles, snorkels, and flotation included; wetsuits and underwater cameras could be rented for a fee). This is definitely a great excursion for families and first time snorkelers looking for a chill experience. It is not intense at all, so for more experienced snorkelers or those looking for something a little more advanced, then this may not be the best fit.

Product code: 5135_W0002

Explore Similar Things to Do