Recent Searches
Clear

Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo (MAUI / Ma'alaea Harbor)

|
Wailuku, United States
Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo (MAUI / Ma'alaea Harbor)

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Go snorkeling off the coast of Maui on this boat tour on board 'the Malolo,' a 55-foot (17-meter) power catamaran. Cruise to one of two snorkeling sites—either Molokini Crater or Coral Gardens—where you can swim along the reef system to watch for colorful fish and other marine life. The location is selected by the captain depending on the daily conditions. If you're lucky, you may spot turtles or whales, too. Equipment and instructions are provided by the crew. Lunch (hot dog and soda) by selecting the upgrade option when booking.
  • Maui snorkeling tour
  • Travel by catamaran to either Molokini Crater or Coral Gardens
  • Look for fish and other Hawaiian marine life along the reef
  • Optional lunch available for purchase when booking
Saved to wishlist!
Professional, safety-oriented captain and crew
Transport on a 55-foot power catamaran
Top-of-the-line snorkel equipment
Flotation devices
Lunch
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
Gratuities
DVD (available to purchase)
Wetsuit and underwater camera (available for rent)
Hotel pickup and drop-off NOT INCLUDED OR OFFERED

Departure Point

300 Maalaea Rd, Wailuku, HI 96793, USA

12:30PM Check-in // 1:00PM Departure Departure Point: Maalaea Harbor, Slip 87 Address: 300 Maalaea Rd, Wailuku, HI 96793, USA Directions: Meet at Boss Frog's Dive and Surf (Ma'alaea Location) Directly Across the Harbor Next Door to Beach Bums.

Departure Time

1:00 PM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Operates in most weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Vegetarian & Gluten-Free option is available; please advise at time of booking if required.
  • A 48-hour notice is required for cancellation or reschedule.
  • Mandatory Check-in 30 minutes prior to departure.
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Minimum drinking age: 21 years old.
  • Bring cash if you'd like to tip the crew!
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • All Snorkel Spots Are Determined Daily Weather Permitting. Please Understand and Respect Captain’s Decision on Snorkel Locations – In Your Best Interest.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 33 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Malolo Charters

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
Is there public parking near the departure point for the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini?
A:There are two parking lots nearby: the Ocean Center (complimentary) and Harbor Parking (fee)
Mar 2021
Q:
How long is the boat ride to Molokini on the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini! (Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:The boat ride is approximately 45 mins to 1 hour in each direction.
Mar 2021
Q:
How much time do we spend snorkeling during the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini?
A:On average, we spend approximately 1-1.5 hours snorkeling.
Mar 2021
Q:
Are there restrooms on board for the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini! (Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:Yes - there are two restrooms on board for your convenience.
Mar 2021
Q:
What should I bring with me on the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini! (Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:We recommend bringing sunscreen, swimwear, sunglasses, a towel, a camera, and cash/credit card for any additional purchases.
Mar 2021
Q:
Is there a Vegetarian/Vegan option for lunch on the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini?
A:Yes, but we must know in advance. Feel free to let us know of any dietary restrictions in the "Special Requirements" box at checkout.
Mar 2021
Q:
Can I bring my own food/drink on the Maui Afternoon Snorkeling Tour to Coral Gardens or Molokini! (Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:Yes, you may bring your own food and drink, however outside alcohol is not permitted.
Mar 2021
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo (MAUI / Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo (MAUI / Ma'alaea Harbor).
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo (MAUI / Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo (MAUI / Ma'alaea Harbor).
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo (MAUI / Ma'alaea Harbor)?
A:This activity will have a maximum of 33 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo (MAUI / Ma'alaea Harbor).

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.0
star-4
183 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 183 reviews
star-4
Great day at sea
Patricia_H
, Sep 2021
The coral was awesome to see. The crew were friendly. Many different fish. Just the right amount of time. The weather was a little windy. We were disappointed that we were not able to go to the crater
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for sharing your experience aboard the Malolo snorkeling tour. Weather conditions determine the snorkeling location but it is nice to hear that you saw plenty of fish and coral!
star-4
Good time.
Kassy_W
, Sep 2021
The crew was fun and definitely made us feel safe. If you are looking for a laid back relaxing snorkel trip this is definitely the one for you. Having a boiled hot dog lunch is perfectly okay just maybe a little better quality hot dog would be nice. But the cocktails were amazing!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Amazing cocktails and company! Thank you for joining us aboard the Malolo for a small group Molokini snorkeling tour.
star-5
A really fun trip.
Arturo_R
, Sep 2021
First time snorkeling. I didn’t know what to expect. I just followed the crowd and had a blast. The crew was great. I would love to go again.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Please come back soon! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the snorkeling tour to Molokini aboard Malolo.
star-1
Scam.
Fernando_G
, Sep 2021
The crew are great and helpful congratulations to the new captain. But the promotion of snorkeling to Molokini is misleading and should not be part of the promotion for the specific tour. Consumers are lead to believe for a cheap price, compare to the competition, is a great deal but sad when people get short changed and is not fair to consumers and should be refunded of their money.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Aloha, Thank you for reaching out. The afternoon snorkel aboard Malolo either goes to Molokini or Coral Gardens and is advertised as such. Weather conditions determine the best snorkeling location based on water clarity, passenger safety and comfort. We are sorry that this was not appropriately communicated to your group.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Did not go to Molikini crater, and never explained why
Ravinder_B
, Sep 2021
The snorkeling was good and the crew was friendly, but the never explained why we weren’t going to the Molikini crater, as that is what I signed up for. In addition, they spoke so fast that it was difficult comprehending all the information
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you kindly for your feedback. Current sea and weather conditions determine snorkeling locations on all of our tours. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the crew and snorkeling aboard Malolo.
star-4
Great afternoon on the water
David_M
, Sep 2021
crew was second to none! super friendly and professional, we felt safe at all times. couldn’t make it to the crater due to wind but Cptn found a great place to snorkel. lunch was a bit underwhelming, but i imagine anything more involved than a hotdog would be tough on a boat. all in all a nice afternoon
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
The Malolo crew is amazing! Thank you so much for sharing your experience aboard the snorkeling tour.
star-1
Bait and Switch
Gus
, Sep 2021
Bait and switch. Don’t take this tour if you want to go to the crater. I was so disappointed! Staff is aware of “once in a blue moon you can go to Molokini crater in the afternoon” and therefore the description is very deceptive. Not recommended.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback about your cruise. Providing fun, safe boating adventures is our highest priority, and we are very sorry to hear that your experience was anything less than wonderful. The snorkeling location is always based on current weather conditions so it sounds like those conditions may have made the trip to Molokini uncomfortable and the water clarity less than perfect for snorkeling.
star-3
We didn’t make it to...
Kathy_B
, Aug 2021
We didn’t make it to Ma’alaea harbor! The lunches were a simple hot dog. The service could of been a little better
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback about your cruise. Providing fun, safe boating adventures is our highest priority, and we are very sorry to hear that your experience was anything less than wonderful. Check in for this tour is at Ma'alaea Harbor so it sounds like that was not the issue. Most of our reviews note the excellent service from our vessel crew.
star-2
Waste of money
Jason_T
, Aug 2021
They advertise Molokini then tell you its only for the morning tour. Then you go next to the highway and snorkel. Total waste of money. You can find better snorkeling on your own
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback about your cruise. Providing fun, safe boating adventures is our highest priority, and we are very sorry to hear that your experience was anything less than wonderful. The snorkeling location is chosen by the captain based on current weather conditions with the goal of the best water clarity, the comfort and safety of our crew and passengers.
star-5
Snorkeling at Coral Gardens
eghunnie
, Aug 2021
Beautiful day snorkeling at Coral Gardens. We were a little disappointed that we couldn’t go to Molikini due to winds. The crew was very knowledgeable and helpful. Awesome time!!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you so much for the review! We appreciate you joining us aboard Malolo for the snorkeling tour and are happy to hear that you enjoyed our crew :)

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo (MAUI / Ma'alaea Harbor)
Afternoon (PM) Snorkel Aboard Malolo (MAUI / Ma'alaea Harbor)

star-4183

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$89.95

star-4.5642

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$119.95

star-4.557

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$69.95

star-543

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$52.51

star-4.5430

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$149.95

star-4.557

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$79.30

star-4.5506

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$74.25

star-4.569

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$174.69

star-579

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$90.02

Explore Similar Things to Do