Recent Searches
Clear

Street Food & Old Taverns Tour in the Historic Center of Lima

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Cercado de Lima, Peru
Street Food & Old Taverns Tour in the Historic Center of Lima

From $69.00

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon4 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Taste your way through historic Lima on an evening food tour that combines local landmarks with a series of food and drink tastings. Since Lima draws foods and traditions from all around the country, you’ll have the chance to try a wide range of treats, with a local guide to help find the very best versions among the overwhelming options in the city center.
  • Itinerary features key landmarks and historic sites
  • Enjoy included tastings—with the chance to purchase even more snacks
  • Group size is limited to 10 people for personal service or small groups
Saved to wishlist!
13 Food tasting
Beverages
All activities
Local guide
Dinner
Snacks
Pick-up and drop off
Local 18% sales tax, which can be exonerated sending us a passport scan/photo of every participant
Gran Hotel Bolivar Lima , Jirón de la Unión 958, Cercado de Lima 15001, Peru

At the front door of the Gran Hotel Bolivar facing the famous Plaza San Martin in the historic Center of Lima.

San Agustin Church , Jirón Ica 251, Cercado de Lima 15001, Peru
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Minimum drinking age is 18 years
  • Send us a photo of your passport ID page via email (pass@exquisitoperu.com) or WhatsApp (+51 915 155 430) before the tour and for all the tour participants. We will also need your date of entry to Peru. Sending your passport ID page, allow us to exonerate yourself from the 18% local tax. We're providing it to the Peruvian government, and it confirms them you're real visitors, and not living in the country. If you want to be exonerated from the tax, it's really important to send us your passport photo at least 1 day before the tour, otherwise, we'll have to send you a payment link corresponding to the amount of the tax
  • It is really important to advise any specific dietary restrictions at time of booking, otherwise we cannot assure we will be able to adapt the menu the day of the tour.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Please note that our Shared Tour is guided in English only. For non-English speakers, please book a Private Tour. For the comfort of the group, guides will not be providing their service in multiple languages simultaneously, even to those who speak Spanish.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • We cannot accommodate the menu to vegans
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 10 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Exquisito Perú
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

5.0
star-5
130 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 130 reviews
star-3
guide was excellent but...
susan_f
, May 2022
guide was excellent but food samples were disappointing and too much walking especially to first stop for a sample order of samples did not make sense - ex. a dessert before a meat
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Susan, We are sorry you didn't like the order of food and the walking distance. We definitely didn't want you to be disappointed. It is true that this tour includes a fair amount of walking (which is mentioned in the tour description) as we go through the most emblematic streets and sights of the Historic Center. We believe that's in fact a very positive trait of our tour for travelers who want to discover that area of Lima inside out. This food tour combines Peru' street food and a visit into the city center, including Lima's largest market and chinatown, which are 4 blocks away from Plaza de Armas. In total during 4 hours, guests are expected to walk 16 blocks, with at least 4 stops to sit and rest. We also feel that walking is the best way to discover the place and feel the true locals' vibe, and that the streets we go through are all important to learn about Lima, as well as Lima's food scene. Making it shorter wouldn't give our guests the full experience that we wish to provide them with. We don't think we will change that, but we will do our best to improve our communication around that aspect to avoid wrong expectations. After all, there are tours with buses that are great and more adapted to other crowds, and we would rather lose some sales instead of disappointing more guests – we really don't like that and genuinely take it at heart when we read negative reviews. As for the order in which food as been consumed – food stands tend to move in different corners/streets, so depending on the day, that order will change. If we were to respect the strict "Western tradition" of starting with salty foods and finishing with sweet ones, the walking distance might increase. That being said, we will take this piece of feedback very seriously to make some very quick adjustments as we understand how this could be unpleasant for some of our guests. We certainly don't want this feeling to be experienced again. Anyhow, we'd like to thank you for sharing your feedback. We sincerely hope that you have enjoyed the rest of your trip (it's been 3 weeks now, I'm guessing you are back in Ontario!) and that your next review, be it for us or someone else, will be 5 stars! We'll still let Ximena know that you thought her guiding was excellent. We are very proud of that. Best, Jessy - Co-Founder
star-5
El sabor de Perú
Judith_M
, May 2022
Nuestro Tour fue guiado por Zarela. Estuvimos la oportunidad de degustar jugos, frutas, licores y comida típica del Perú. Mientras conocíamos un pocos más del centro histórico de Lima. Visitamos un lugar donde vendían toda clase de vegetales, especies y carnes. Zarela se tomó su tiempo para explicar cada detalle. No olvides preguntar por Zarela para su tour. Gracias Our Tour was guided by Zarela. We had the opportunity to taste juices, fruits, liquors and typical Peruvian food. While we knew a few more of the historic center of Lima. We visited a place where they sold all kinds of vegetables, spices, and meats. Zarela took her time to explain every detail. Do not forget to ask for Zarela for your tour. Thank you
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Mil gracias Judith! Nos alegra muchísimo saber que disfruto de su tiempo con nuestra querida Zarela 😊. ¡¡Qué bien que le haya gustado la visita al Mercado Central, es cierto que es muy impresionante!! No dude en contactarse con nosotros si regresa a Perú en cualquier momento, nos encantaría tenerla en otra de nuestras experiencias culinarias! Saludos, Emilie
star-5
Fud, fun, and a new friend
Melissa_H
, Apr 2022
John Valentin was our guide. We were late because of traffic and he waited for us. He was amazing to me and my aunt. He started with Native fruit and filled Us in on all the history along the way. It was really an amazing experience and we were so full by the end that we took our last morsels home with us. You will enjoy this and you will be lucky if you get John!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Melissa, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with our tour in the Historic Center of Lima! We were truly happy that you were able to enjoy the tour finally! We made sure to share your kind words with John too, he was really happy to read you :) Enjoy the rest of your stay in Peru, and feel free to reach out if you'd like to discover another part of the city and more of Peruvian delicious gastronomy! Best regards, Emilie
star-3
Tasty but far too much needless walking!
jws1040
, Apr 2022
Lovely informative guide, however we had no idea so much of this tour would be walking around historic sites rather than food tastings! As everyone including the guide was masked, it was often virtually impossible to understand her narrative due to the noise level of the crowds in the major squares and busy streets! We found the initial 90 minutes of this tour repetitive of other site seeing tours and a waste of our time! I am elderly and wall with a cane and found the time spent walking through the squares and through shopping areas of no value except to extend the tour's length. By the time we finally got to start sampling street foods I was so worn out that we had to leave the tour before the final restaurant stop and Uber back to our hotel! We've taken food tours all over the world and they all spent the full time on food stops with a minimum of time wasting site seeing thrown in!!!±
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hi Jerry, We are sorry you didn't fully enjoy the experience. Being Easter weekend, the Historic Center was packed with locals. Added to that the political demonstration, our guide had to take a slightly different route to avoid bigger crowds. For the mask, sadly we can't do much as it's still required by Peru to wear it outside. However we will for sure take into account your feedback to improve how we deal with those extraordinary events so it affects the experience as little as possible. The first food stop though – a malt punch – is only 25 mins away from the tour start, followed by the Central Market 15 mins later. In all our tours we combine food with sightseeing, and we feel that's what most people like. For other travelers who see this: we do not recommend this tour to people who have difficulties walking.
star-5
I was stuffed
DOUGLAS_W
, Mar 2022
Alei was great and went above and beyond to help a few members of my group with a situation. Don’t eat before you go!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hey Douglas 😀 Many thanks for your kind words! Ali is always taking great care, making sure of the wellbeing of her groups, I'm glad you appreciated that :) Thanks for sharing your experience and have a wonderful stay in Peru! Best regards,
star-5
Best Street Food Tour in Lima
Shirleen_S
, Mar 2022
Our tour guide picked the best street food spots. Everything was fresh and delicious, so amazing. She was very knowledgeable about the city and it’s history. We had problems going back to our hotel due to protests and increased traffic; she made sure our safety was her first priority and stayed with us to organize a ride back. She went above and beyond to help us get our Covid test results prior to going back to the airport. Without her help we would not have made it home safe and sound.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hello Shirleen, Wow, what a wonderful review, many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us 😍 !! I'm glad you enjoyed Ali's company as for the food stops on our Street Food & Old Taverns Tour!! We made sure to share your kind words with her, she was truly grateful 😊 Thanks again for picking our food tour and hope to see you back in Peru someday! Best regards, Emilie
star-5
Excellent Way to Experience Peruvian Culture
Ansley_P
, Mar 2022
Wow! What an amazing way to understand more about Peruvian culture and all that goes into making the culture the way it is. My husband and I absolutely adored our tour guide, Ali. She was so knowledgeable and made us feel safe. We loved seeing a different part of Lima! I highly recommend this tour to those who want to learn more about city and culture in a unique way.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hello Ansley! Thank you SO much for this amazing review!!! Wow, we are so glad to see that you had a great time with Ali on our Street Food & Old Taverns Night Tour yesterday 😍 Feel free to reach out anytime if you'd like us to help you discover more of our incredible gastronomy 😊 Enjoy the rest of your trip! Best regards, Emilie
star-5
Perfect Start
Ray_A
, Mar 2022
Ximena was our tour guide she was perfect experience knowledgeable fluent both languages and the tour was just perfect our first to start this amazing Peru trip. Got picked up from the airport on time smooth travel and great spots to eat and see real local foods and street food. I am highly recommending this tour to all my friends and hope they have Ximena as their guide oh and not to forget our driver was even better really took care of us all the way to the end.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Hola Ray 🙋🏻‍♀️ Yeah!! What a great review, thank you so much!! We have made sure to share it with Ximena, she was grateful and happy to read you 🤗 Have a wonderful time in Peru and feel free to reach out anytime if you'd like to take part in another culinary experience with us!! Warm regards, Emilie and the whole Exquisito Peru team.
star-5
One of the best guides ever…..
Gary_B
, Feb 2022
Lourdes was an excellent guide—personalizing the tour to our small group’s interest. She covered everything on the itinerary and much more. I’ve done quite a few of these tours and I would rate her one of the best guides I’ve experienced.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Hola Gary, WOW, thank you so so much for taking the time to share this incredible feedback about your experience with Lourdes, it's much appreciated! We made sure to share it with her, she was so happy! We are sincerely happy that you enjoyed your experience and time spent with Lourdes during your visit to Lima's Historic Center. Please let us know if you ever come back to Peru, we will be more than happy to have you discover more of our exquisite gastronomy and culture! Warm regards, Emilie
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Safe Street Food and Loving History
Natalie_F
, Feb 2022
Ali was a wonderful guide. Her passion and knowledge about the city really enhanced every part of the experience. We are from the United States, and she let us know that the only places she would be taking us for street food used purified water and safe food practices. For young people with a stomach of iron, they may not mind consuming cow hearts that are a little bit under cooked, but as we are getting a little bit older, we appreciated being able to eat food off the street indiscriminately and taste all of the varieties she introduced us to. We were certainly full at the end and not even sure if we wanted to go to the last place. She reassured some members of our group who felt a little unsafe. She gave tips about how we could navigate the city after the tour and after dark in a safe way. I would absolutely recommend this tour. It was more wonderful than we were expecting. Anyone could recite history, but Ali shared it with her own experiences and stories which made us feel like we had a friend in Lima. This was a true cultural experience and not just a gringo tour.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Buenas noches Natalie, Thank you SO much for sharing this amazing feedback about Ali and our street food tour in Lima Historic Center, we are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us!! You're totally right, Ali is really passionate about her career and she is super detail-oriented on every aspect of her tours! We made sure to share your feedback with her directly too :) Enjoy the rest of your trip to Peru and feel free to reach out if you'd like to experience another food tour with us! Best regards, Emilie
star-5
Our tour guide Ali was...
Corey_A
, Feb 2022
Our tour guide Ali was very knowledgeable and helped us gain some insight into Peruvian cuisine and history. She made a few special requests on the preparation of our dishes to make it more palatable to us, for instance using bottled water in one of the dishes instead of tap water to avoid digestion issues. We tried a lot of dishes we wouldn't have normally tried, which is great! I wouldn't recommend going on an empty stomach because the first hour and a half or so are all walking and listening.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Hi Corey, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us, it's much appreciated! We are glad that you enjoyed your time with Ali and your visit to the historic Center. As a matter of fact, Ali is really passionate about her career and she gives a lot of details about history. The tastings usually come earlier in the tour though! Please let us know if you ever come back to Peru, we will be more than happy to have you discover more of our exquisite gastronomy and culture :) Best regards, Emilie
star-5
Must See
Ashley_C
, Aug 2021
This tour was absolutely amazing. Its a must when visiting Lima. Our Guide Ximena was very good and explained everything. She was also fun to be around during the tour.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hello Ashley, Thank you for this great review!! We are sincerely happy that you enjoyed your tour this way, as your guide Ximena! Thank you for choosing a second tour with us too, that's truly amazing! I'm sure you will have a great time with Ximena in Barranco today! Best regards, Emilie
star-5
Xiamen is awesome
Zola_B
, Aug 2021
Xiamen was such a good tour guide. We had a good time with her, she's knowledgeable and made sure nobody bothered us.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hello Zola, Thank you so much for this amazing review! We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your food tour in the historic center of Lima with Ximena! I hope your tour in Barranco will be as great as this one!! Saludos, Émilie
star-1
Not knowledgeable late, couldn’t hear her with only three people, horrible horrible not Street food all restaurants
Frank_K
, Feb 2020
Big big disappointment, this Tour was a complete lie, it shows fire a grill shish kebabs on the street and tables in the background looking like it’s outdoor and you’re going to have all this grilled food and really cool and there was no street food at all we stopped by four places they were all horrible foods one was greasy fried dough with sugar, one was beer and some chips one was a pork sandwich with bread an inch thick dry it out. I didn’t stay around for the last one I was so disappointed and the guide didn’t know much else going on so soft spoken you could even hear her and she touched on gas stone one of the top chefs in the whole country that open the cooking school I had to tell more about him and his wife the pastry chef and the cooking school that they opened and where he went to school and Europe where he went to court I’m blue in France and I actually knew more than she did which is really sad because I just learned it earlier in the day, I definitely want to get my money back on that disappointment anyway
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear Frank, Thank you for taking the time to review our experience. First of all I'd like to point out our guide wasn't late, and we have proof of that – we do GPS tracking via Whatsapp and the two other people on the tour, who wrote a great review, didn't report this. Our food tour in the historic center is not solely based on street food, which you missed as you left the tour more than an hour before it ends, but also on visiting old taverns. It's in the tour description, detailed stop by stop, we do not lie. The places we select are very popular among locals, and we can understand that they were not to your taste and we are sorry about that. However, we find that "horrible" is a bit exaggerated. The greasy fried dough with sugar is called churro, which is often the highlight of the tour as you can read in all the other reviews. Upon checking with our guide and the other people on the tour, they all mentioned that you were distant and not interested in listening to the others. Our guides all know about Astrid Gutsche and Gaston Acurio very well, however as it's not the point of this tour, thinking about the other clients (it's a shared service after all), she decided to focus on the places and foods that are included in the tour. It happens that some people know more than us in certain fields, and that's great. We know more than them in other areas. We like to think of our tours as vehicles for knowledge and cultural exchange – it only works if everyone is open-minded though. Although we disagree with most of what you are saying (some terms are borderline defamatory), we are sorry that our experience didn't meet your expectations and we hope that you'll have more luck with future bookings.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Wonderful Taste of Lima
sanewk002
, Feb 2020
Our Lima Tour was great!! My husband & I traveled by cruise ship to the port of Callao. We were required to take a bus from the port to the Miraflores area - 45min. ride. The tour company set up our transportation by taxi from Miraflores to Lima Center which was key for us as we do not speak any Spanish. Our tour guide, Desireé, spoke excellent English and gave us detailed historical information as we walked from venue to venue to taste the delicious food & drink that was offered for our tour. There was an abundance of food offered - no worries there!! She also made sure our return to Miraflores was flawless. Desireé was a very sweet lady & provided us a perfect "Taste of Lima"!!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Hey! Thank you very much for this great review! We are so glad to hear that our food tour in the historic center of Lima with Desirée, trying all the wonderful street food Peru can offer, has pleased you. Please do let us know if you ever visit Lima again – it would be great to connect with you again, and show you Lima through our other tours! Saludos, Jessy
star-5
Wow, the food of Peru!
jdtracy1
, Jan 2020
Guide Galia was great. There were only three people on our tour, so it was really nice. SO much food. All very tasty with a wonderful representation of the combination of different cultures that make food in Lima amazing. Recommend!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hey Jean, Thank you very much for the review! We are so glad to hear that our food tour in the historic center of Lima with Galia, trying all the wonderful street food Peru can offer, has pleased you. Please do let us know if you ever visit Lima again – it would be great to connect with you again! We have plenty of other tours that might interest you! Saludos, Jessy
star-5
Make this tour a priority
Warren N
, Oct 2019
One of the best tours I've been on in S America! We had to cut it short due to an ailing injury but Lorenza introduced us to some incredibly tasty and native treats I'm sure I would not have discovered on my own. She was very knowledgeable, accommodating, and friendly to me and my parents. I have to come back and do this again!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thank you so much Warren for sharing your feedback! We were a little bit sad to learn that you were not able to have the full experience because of your dad's knee issue, but what an amazing review! Please, reach out any time if you come back to Lima, we have so much more to show you :) Thanks again, Enjoy the rest of your stay to Peru, Emilie
star-5
Great tour!
JeanMarie_V
, Oct 2019
We had Nathaly as our guide and she is amazing. My best tour so far with Viator. Nathaly is very knowledgeable and very nice. It felt like hanging out with a friend. The food that we tried are really good! Best chicken soup I've ever tried! Go to the tour with empty stomach so you have enough space for all the delicious food!
star-5
Excellent evening with Nathaly
L2155VZnadined
, Sep 2019
Excellent evening with Nathaly, who explained a lot about the history of Peru and especially the foods and drink, we got to a point where we could really not eat any more. Good value for money, and a great insight into Peruvian food and culture. Highly recomended.
star-5
Great Communication
Tonya C
, Aug 2019
The tour operator was great in accommodating me when I ran late for the tour! She promptly responded to any questions I had. As far as the tour, the food was ok. I didn't care for the restaurants included but the guide Desiree was outstanding and funny. She knows Peruvian food and culture. Thanks Desiree for being a great guide.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Street Food & Old Taverns Tour in the Historic Center of Lima
Street Food & Old Taverns Tour in the Historic Center of Lima

star-5130

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$69.00

star-52

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.00

star-590

3 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$39.00

star-4200

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$79.00

star-58

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$50.00

star-00

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$89.24

star-4.5448

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$59.00

star-00

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations