Recent Searches
Clear

Venado Caves Underground Experience from La Fortuna

star-4.526 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
San Carlos, Costa Rica
71

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Slip beneath the ground on a 4-hour tour through the Venado caves from La Fortuna, and follow underground trails into a series of remarkable grottoes and chambers. Gear up and follow your flashlight along an ancient seabed as you explore the caves with your guide. Get wet and get dirty on your way to fantastic rock formations and bristling stalactites and stalagmites, visit a bat colony that thrives in the cool, dark cave system, then return to the surface to enjoy a snack of tropical fruits.
  • Free hotel pickup and drop-off included
  • Snacks and Beverages included
  • Informative, friendly and professional guide
  • Separate driver ensures your guides full attention throughout the day
Saved to wishlist!
Bottled water
Snacks
Professional guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Exploration equipment (lanterns, flashlights, mask, helmet, rubber boots)
Transport by air-conditioned minivan with Wi-Fi
Towels
Photo package
Gratuities

Departure Point

Diagonal 301, Provincia de Alajuela, San Carlos, Costa Rica

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Minimum age is 8 years
  • May be operated by a multilingual guide
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Ecoterra Expeditions

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Venado Caves Underground Experience from La Fortuna?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Venado Caves Underground Experience from La Fortuna.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Venado Caves Underground Experience from La Fortuna?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Venado Caves Underground Experience from La Fortuna.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Venado Caves Underground Experience from La Fortuna?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Venado Caves Underground Experience from La Fortuna.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Venado Caves Underground Experience from La Fortuna?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Venado Caves Underground Experience from La Fortuna.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Venado Caves Underground Experience from La Fortuna?
A:This activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Venado Caves Underground Experience from La Fortuna.

Still Have Questions?


Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
26 Reviews
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-7 of 26 reviews
star-5
Great guide! Newfound respect for nature!
Joyce_L
, Apr 2021
We had an extraordinary experience with Minor, our guide. He was incredibly knowledgeable about the flora and fauna but also fully committed to conservation, which we deeply appreciated. We felt that his approach was all about respecting nature and taking only photos and leaving only footprints. It was non-exploitative and fully educational. Because of the pandemic, we were the only ones on the tour, so we in essence received a private tour for our family of 3. Very COVID safe. We gained a new respect for the environment. Minor was also warm, personable and conscientious. Definitely one of the highlights of our Costa Rica trip and highly, highly recommended to families!
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Absolutely fantastic experience!
Jacqueline_K
, Jan 2021
This tour is absolutely worth it! This is my second time to Costa Rica and I’m so glad I booked this tour. The guide was funny, knowledgeable and very much knew what he was doing. He was engaging and played some pranks on my boyfriend so I was happy! Lol! The caves were incredible. The small crevices to crawl through were cool. I’ve explored many caves and I’ll say this was completely worth it for both of us. It was very wet but that made it all the more fun.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Great Guides, No GoPro promised package
Michele J
, Sep 2019
The driver Miguel and guide Victor were professional and kind. I chose this particular tour ($20/person more than others offered) due to the advertised GoPro picture and video package. It would have allowed us to capture our adventure without worrying about carrying my phone. The intense rain made the cave a small river with sand and muddy surfaces. Though a great adventure, we unfortunately were unable to capture the memories. I have emailed the tour director EcoTerra as the guide and driver recommended (same email they confirmed my hotel information with), and have not yet heard back. I am hoping they make this right by refunding my 60$ extra I paid for pictures/video and the promised hiking boots that we never received
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hello Michelle, greetings from Ecoterra Expeditions! We hope you are doing well. First, we would like to apologize for this inconvenience, normally our tour guide takes photos all along the tour with a waterproof camera that we provide; however, it seems that they did not carry the camera with them that particular day. Either way, we are very sorry that this happened, we will be happy to refund the cost of the pictures. Please contact Trip Advisor Customer Service (Viator) so they can guide you through this process. Any additional request, do not hesitate to contact us (reservas@ecoterracostarica.com), we will be happy to assist you.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Be prepared to be physically and mentally challenged
Companion435433
, May 2019
This is for those that like a challenge or like to challenge their fears. I had to face my closterphobia with the tunnels, some with very small openings. Also if you have squeezy around spiders, you will have to be brave. You will get wet, muddy and aphysical workout. I am a 45 YO old woman who struggles with weight, but made it. My 9 YO handled it like a champ.
HelpfulHelpful2 travelers found this review helpful
star-4
The cave is very beautiful and is...
ericjin9000
, Mar 2017
The cave is very beautiful and is definitely an exotic experience. Even though the website says the tour is 4 hour long, the actual cave exploration is only a little over an hour. The transportation takes like two and a half hours. We wished to stay in the cave longer. The tour felt very rushed towards the end.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Tour of the caves was amazing. We...
colleen b
, Nov 2016
Tour of the caves was amazing. We couldn't take our Camera because of the moisture and we didn't have a water proof camera. THE guide Brandon said he would email the pics that night that he took so we didnt need tonworry, but it's been 4 nights and no email. I called and left a message but nope! Sad
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great experience! The tour guide...
Mark C
, Aug 2015
Great experience! The tour guide Mirllana or Miryana was wonderful very knowledgeable.
HelpfulHelpful

Explore Similar Things to Do