Recent Searches
Clear

Old Hobart Pub Walking Tour

star-4.553 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Hobart, Australia
Old Hobart Pub Walking Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Discover the secrets of the old taverns, brothels and pubs of old Hobart during a 1.5-hour walking tour. Your guide shares entertaining stories of the smugglers, convicts and other characters that were involved in shaping the city's history and legends.
  • 1.5-hour walking tour of Hobart's historic pubs
  • Hear about old Hobart's legendary pubs
  • Purchase a drink while enjoying the tour
  • Uncover the seamier side of Hobart's past
Saved to wishlist!
Local guide
Food and drinks
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Tasmanian Travel & Information Centre , 20 Davey St (and Elizabeth Mall Information Hub, Elizabeth St, Hobart TAS 7000, Australia

Departure Point: Hobart Travel & Information Centre Corner of Davey and Elizabeth Streets

Salamanca Place , Salamanca Pl, Hobart TAS 7000, Australia
Discover more than 200 alcohol-fueled years of history and legend in Hobart's old waterfront taverns. Meet your knowledgeable guide at the Hobart Travel Centre to start your 1.5-hour tour.

Learn about the underbelly of old world Hobart while sipping a drink (own expense) with your guide. Hear about the pubs, brothels, smugglers and convicts that have played a role in the murky history of Hobart.

Go back in time as you discover the stories of the city with a small group limited to 12 people, which ensures a more customized experience.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Hobart
Join the Old Hobart Pub Tour and learn about old taverns, pubs, brothels, smugglers, convicts and the characters involved.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 18 years
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Historic Hobart Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Old Hobart Pub Walking Tour?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Old Hobart Pub Walking Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Old Hobart Pub Walking Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Old Hobart Pub Walking Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Old Hobart Pub Walking Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Old Hobart Pub Walking Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
53 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 53 reviews
star-3
Escaping the QLD sun holiday in Tassie
Danni_H
, Jul 2022
Very knowledgeable guide however he did talk a lot outside and it was freezing. Would have liked to go to more than two pubs though.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for your feedback which we have taken on board. It certainly gets cold in Hobart during this time of year and we do aim to spend as much time inside as feasible, however the outdoor component of the tour is also a vital part of the experience. Kind regards, Christina and the Hobart Historic Tours team
star-5
Maggie knew what she was...
Jodi_C
, Jun 2022
Maggie knew what she was talking about and had me listening intently. My husband and I enjoyed the tour very much and wished it had been longer.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks you very much for your feedback. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our Old Hobart Pub Tour with Maggie! Many thanks, Christina and the Hobart Historic Tours team
star-5
Walking pub tour.
Tracey_K
, Jun 2022
Ash was great, full of information and history. Really enjoyed the evening. Would highly recommend this walking tour.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Tracey, Thank you kindly for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a great time on our Old Hobart Pub Tour with Ash. Kind regards, Christina and the Hobart Historic Tours team
star-5
Informative Tour
Kathryn_F
, Jun 2022
Very informative into the life of convicts Maggie was awesome a wealth of knowledge we really enjoyed this tour
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you kindly for your feedback. We loved to hear that you really enjoyed the Old Hobart Pub Tour with Maggie. Kind regards, Christina and the Hobart Historic Tours team
star-4
Great way to see and learn about the history
Christine_W
, Mar 2022
We loved learning about some of the old history of the pubs and some of their stories. Walking around is a great way to learn, and appreciate the buildings.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you kindly for your feedback. It is great to hear that you loved learning about the history and the old pubs in Hobart. Kind regards, Christina and the Hobart Historic Tours team
star-1
Worst tour in m life
trays
, Mar 2022
Nothing. Felt embarrassed to be a Tasmanian. Could not hear anything with traffic going past all the time. The tour was nothing like advertised.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the tour. We are currently operating this tour slightly differently due to Covid-19 and hence we are spending less time indoors in pubs. This is only an interim phase until we can return to our usual program. It is mentioned on our website as well as the booking confirmation that program alterations are in place currently. We are more than happy to discuss your concerns in more details and you can reach us on 03 6234 5550 or via email to info@hobarthistorictours.com.au. Kind regards, Christina and the Hobart Historic Tours team
star-5
Worth doing and it doesn’t take long
KellyAnne_K
, Feb 2022
Great drinks, great people, great stories. A good way to spend a few hours and have some laughs. We enjoyed the Stormy Seas cocktail at Hope and Anchor.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you so much for your feedback. It is great to hear that you had a great time! Many thanks, Christina and the Hobart Historic Tours team
star-3
Disappointing to only enter one pub
Christina_W
, Feb 2022
Historic information and stories of convict times. Guide was informative and engaging but only entered one pub
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed about only visiting one pub. We usually visit three pubs, however due to COVID, we are operating a slightly different tour currently in order to keep our customers as well as staff as safe as possible. Each venue is slightly different in terms of space to ensure social distancing. And each venue has different rules currently. We look forward to returning to our normal schedule in due course. It is great to hear that you found our guide to be informative and engaging. Kind regards, Christina and the Hobart Historic Tours team
star-5
Learning the original...
Andrea_D
, Feb 2022
Learning the original shoreline and oldest buildings in Hobart. Plus have a drink at the oldest pub in Australia
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thank you for your feedback! Kind regards, Christina and the Hobart Historic Tours team
star-4
A great jaunt
Anthony_B
, Dec 2021
Maggie was terrific and we were told of many great tales of merriment and revelling. Worth a walk. Enjoyed gin beer wines ..all too good
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thanks for your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our Old Hobart Pub Tour with Maggie. Thanks Christina and the Hobart Historic Tours Team
star-5
Excellent tour guide
Jane_S
, Oct 2021
Excellent our tour guide was awesome she was professional and very engaging. The first venue wasn't friendly and felt we were in the way. Quite rude.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you for your feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you found our guide professional and engaging. Thank you also for letting us know about your disappointing expedience at one of the venues. We will look into it. Kind regards, Christina and the Hobart Historic Tours team
star-5
Our guide Brendon was very friendly and has so much information, our questions were answered so well. Thoroughly enjo
Sandy_W
, Sep 2021
History was very informative. We enjoyed our experience very much. Thankyou Brendon. Mark and Sandy.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear Mark and Sandy, We are so happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your tour with our guide Brendon. Thank you so much for your feedback. Kind regards, Christina and the Hobart Historic Tours Team
star-5
Good tour!
Clive_M
, Sep 2021
Interesting stories, very knowledgable tour guide, recommended. We enjoyed the tour very much, happy that we did it
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our Old Hobart Pub Tours. Kind regards, Christina and the Hobart Historic Tours team
star-5
Great fun
Stuart_w
, Aug 2021
We had a fantastic evening, Our guide Maggie was lovely and had a good knowledge of local history and a obvious love for the town in which she lives. Good Value.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi Stuart, Thank you so much for your feedback. How wonderful to hear that our guide Maggie was able to share her love and knowledge for Hobart with you on the Old Hobart Pub Tour. Best regards, Christina and the Hobart Historic Tours team
star-5
Fantastic
Kayleigh_R
, Feb 2021
Our guide was passionate about the history of Hobart. We received lots of information and stories about the pubs and surrounding buildings.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2021
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide some feedback about our Old Hobart Pub Tour. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the tour. Kind regards, Christina and the Hobart Historic Tours Team
star-5
Excellent Walking Tour!!
ChelZ43
, Nov 2019
Really loved this tour a lot!! Gained a lot of knowledge of the history of Hobart and went to some really interesting pubs. It was a perfect combination of history and socializing/fun! Would highly recommend.
star-5
Fantastic
David_Y
, Oct 2019
A really interesting tour, lots to look at, lots of rich amazing history, coupled with a drink! Our guide was easy going, and quite an interesting fellow himself. We have already recommended this tour to friends & family. We only had two nights in Hobart, this was 1.5hrs very well spent, do yourself a favour.
star-5
Wet and Windy Walk through Hobart History
Kathryn_J
, Sep 2019
What a great way to start a holiday in Hobart, grounding yourself in the history around you. Informative and fun, the cold crazy weather only made it more memorable and helped you get a feel of what it would have been like in the early 1800s, living in tents and all the other hardships faced during settlement.. Maggie was lovely, full of energy and extremely knowledgable about Hobarts architecture and its progression into the city it is today.
star-4
Guide very knowledgeable. Would swap...
Cathy_B
, Apr 2018
Guide very knowledgeable. Would swap the order of the tour to finish at the best pub Hope and Anchor Tavern. Was a great place for a drink and dinner.
star-3
Disappointing, guide obviously knew...
Sharon W
, Oct 2017
Disappointing, guide obviously knew a lot about the area. Was expecting to actually go into the pubs and hear the history over a beer but instead mostly stood outside in the noisy busy street, hogging the paths and people having to navigate around us.
1 traveler found this review helpful

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Old Hobart Pub Walking Tour
Old Hobart Pub Walking Tour

star-4.553

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$27.45

star-537

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$27.45

star-4.513

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$43.34

star-513

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$27.45

star-4.515

2 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$46.95

star-5118

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$27.45

star-4.5230

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$25.28

star-00

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$958.01

star-00

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$120.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations