Recent Searches
Clear

Great Smoky Mountains National Park Self Driving Tour

|
Swain County, United States
Great Smoky Mountains National Park Self Driving Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 to 3 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
Flexible Planning
Works Offline
Live GPS Map
Audios, Images, and Text
Family-friendly
Email, Chat, Call Support
Entrance Ticket
Vehicle Rental
Food, Drinks & Parking

Departure Point

1194 Newfound Gap Rd, North Carolina 28719, USA

After booking the tour, please make sure that you have downloaded the app and the tour in advance. For the best experience, we advise doing this while you have a strong internet connection.

Departure Time

Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
7/22/2020 - 2/2/2023
Monday - Sunday:06:00 AM - 07:00 PM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point

Departure Point

1224-1288, US-441, Gatlinburg, TN 37738, USA

Departure Time

Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
7/22/2020 - 2/2/2023
Monday - Sunday:06:00 AM - 07:00 PM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • No expiration — the tour is available from the minute you book until forever!
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Paradise Travel
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Great Smoky Mountains National Park Self Driving Tour ?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Great Smoky Mountains National Park Self Driving Tour .

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.0
star-4
54 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 54 reviews
star-5
Would definitely recommend this audio tour.
Barry_M
, Jan 2022
We attempted to start the morning off with a visit to the Great Smoky Mountains BUT we didn’t get too far. Due to the snow/ice/downed trees that occurred a few days prior, the roads were still closed so we rearranged our itinerary and luckily were able to visit later in the day! The information provided in the audio was very interesting throughout the drive. More snow on the way tomorrow!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thanks, Barry! I’m so glad they cleared up the roads in time for an afternoon visit. The park looks amazing in the snow!
star-4
Godly sights
Lennie_D
, Jan 2022
Godly sights, needed some nature, got it and history too. People were mostly patient. Some of the tour was 'road closed'. Wanted to start in Cherokee but link to phone picked up where we were. If we wanted to catch up, we would stop and listen for a bit. Skipped section about the fires..last year's in No Ca heard enough about fires forever.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Thanks, Lennie! I’m glad you enjoyed the tour! You can use this guide again if you visit in the summer when the winter closures are lifted! We also have more tours at ActionTourGuide.com for your future travels. Thanks again!
star-5
Gorgeous views!
Terrena_S
, Nov 2021
My breath was taken away by the gorgeous views of the Smokies! Definitely recommend. Learned so much about the Cherokee tribe during this tour and I loved it.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Yay, thank you so much! I’m thrilled that our tour was able to add so much to your Smokies trip, and help make it a truly special day! The park is absolutely gorgeous and jam-packed with wonderful stories hidden behind the scenery. We have more self-guided audio tours of other parks and cities across the country at ActionTourGuide.com. Thanks again!
star-2
A nice idea whose time has not yet arrived.
Tonya_W
, Nov 2021
Very hard to use this app. Most of the roadway is one way. One loop is only 6 miles long, but takes a full hour to drive. We desperately wanted to view the thousand drips, and although we listened carefully and watched carefully, somehow we did not see it. Nothing was easy. We spent a day fighting with it, missing things we wanted to see, and could not feasibly return to. We got so frustrated after missing the thousand drips, we just gave up and went back to our hotel. We drove past less than half of the attractions. I would have been better off with a transcript. It is suppose to sync with your navigation system, but that is not really refined yet. It is a nice idea whose time has not yet arrived.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hi Tonya, I’m so sorry to hear about your experience! Please keep an eye out for an email with the next steps. I would like to address some points as well — Great Smoky is not one-way. We offer bonus stories along the Great Smoky tour for the Roaring Fork Trail Detour, which is a one-way loop. Thousand Drips is a waterfall along Roaring Fork and is visible right off the side of the road. Additionally, the app displays this waterfall stop right on the Map View and ListView. And lastly, a transcript is already available for every stop (select the transcript icon in the app).
star-4
Lost in Gatlinburg.
ELLIS_T
, Nov 2021
What I remember most is h Getting lost in Gatlinburg. This was the program's fault. It said "continue the tour." It didn't say turn around.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hi Ellis, I’m sorry you got lost but I’m glad you still enjoyed the tour. Our Smokies tour is mainly a straight, one-directional path through the park. After most audios, the tour asks you to “look at the map when it pops back up and follows the route to the next stop”. There are no u-turns. I’d love to understand exactly what happened — please feel free to contact us via our website.
star-5
Smokey birthday
Jennifer_C
, Nov 2021
Gorgeous views! Great information and great stories! Really enjoyed the sunset at the top! I go hiking trails!
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thanks, Jennifer! I’m so glad you enjoyed the stories and the views! It’s definitely a fantastic park with tons to do. We have more self-guided tours all over the country at ActionTourGuide.com. Thanks again!
star-5
History on the move
Dawn_M
, Nov 2021
We loved all the extra information we learned as we drove along. The beauty of the mountains is breathtaking. Another neat spot was standing where FDR stood. I wouldn't have known that info if the app hadn't shared.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thanks Dawn! I’m thrilled that we were able to make your visit to Great Smoky so special! I also love being “in the footsteps” of history. We have similar self-guided tours of other parks and historical sites at ActionTourGuide.com. Thanks again!
star-5
The way the audio matched...
David_S
, Nov 2021
The way the audio matched to our locations and gave us time to think about stopping or not. Great experience
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thanks, David! Thrilled that our tour could make your family’s visit special! I’m glad that our stories and info helped you guys enjoy the park. For more self-guided experiences, we have more tours at ActionTourGuide.com for your future travels. Thanks again!
star-1
So sad from Indiana!
Lynn_C
, Oct 2021
We got in the wrong lane and missed our tour. Then, we were stuck in traffic for 4 hours and didn’t get to enjoy the park and all that it offered! Too many people!!! :-(
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
I’m so sorry about the traffic! Luckily, this tour is yours forever — so you can literally take it anytime! Hopefully, you return to the park before your visit to this area is over. I highly recommend visiting in off-peak hours (not on weekends) for the month of October (a very very busy time for the park). Please also consider changing your rating when you get the chance to actually try the tour so that it reflects the quality of the tour (instead of the traffic). Good luck!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
No audio do to wifi issues
jennifer_h
, Oct 2021
We was able to find the Smokey mountains. But was unable to connect to audio do to wifi issues. It’s the mountains. So we still the the drive without the tour guide audio

Explore Similar Things to Do