Recent Searches

Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

Geneva, Switzerland
Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon6 to 10 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more
Good for avoiding crowds


Explore the mountainous majesty of Chamonix, a picturesque village nestled at the foot of the magnificent Mont Blanc, on a half- or full-day tour from Geneva. Cross the border between Switzerland and France in a vehicle and admire quaint Alpine villages as you travel. Explore the beautiful village of Chamonix independently and ascend to the summit of the Aiguille du Midi in a cable car if you opt for the full-day option. Choose to include a train ride up to the renowned Mer de Glace glacier when booking your tour.
  • Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc tour from Geneva
  • Enjoy a scenic coach ride through the Arve Valley to the foot of Mont Blanc
  • Explore the beautiful Alpine village of Chamonix on your own
  • Ride the Aiguille du Midi cable car for incredible views over the Swiss, French, and Italian Alps (if option selected)
  • Combine your cable car ride with a train journey to Mer de Glace glacier (if option selected)
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Local host in Chamonix village
Aiguille du Midi cable car ride (if option selected)
Mer de Glace train ride (if option selected)
3-course Lunch (only if option with lunch selected)
Skip the line ticket
Magnificient views on the Alps mountains
Visit the charming village of the Chamonix Mont Blanc village
Geneva Bus Station , 1201 Geneva, Switzerland

Place Dorcière - 1201 Geneva

This activity will end right where it started.
Depart from a centrally located pickup point in Geneva and admire the sublime Swiss countryside as you cross the Switzerland-France border in a comfortable, air-conditioned minivan. Weave your way through the gorgeous Arve Valley and gaze at the sky-piercing summit of Mont Blanc as you approach the village of Chamonix. Feel your excitement heighten as you disembark and begin your exploration of the 15,780-foot (4,800-meter) peak. 

Select from the three tour options to determine the duration, schedule, and price of your tour. Each tour includes a local on board guide-assistant and round-trip transportation from Geneva. Vehicles depart at a pre-arranged time at the end of your tour.
Stop At:  
Geneva Bus Station
Board your bus for a scenic 90 minutes drive on the white highway
Duration: 10 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Aiguille du Midi
Enjoy an incredible cable car ride to the Aiguille du midi or the Brévent
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Brevent Cable Car
If you buy a multipass, you have access to the brévent cable car to have another point of view on the Mont Blanc
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Enjoy a typical savoy meal with french cheese and mountain specialities
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Discover the alpine village, the highest mountain of Europe. It's the world famous village for sports and outdoor activities such as skiing, snowboarding, climbing, paragliding, speedflying and alpinism.
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Place de la Mer de Glace
Ride the cogwheel mountain train to the largest glacier of France: Mer de Glace
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for child aged 2 and under
  • Please note that this tour will not be accompanied by a guide, only a local assistant im the village
  • Please dress appropriately for a day in the mountains; even if it is warm and sunny in Geneva, it can be cold and wet in Chamonix or at the top of the Aiguille du Midi and on the Mer de Glace
  • The operation of the Aiguille du Midi cable car and Mer de Glace train are both subject to local weather conditions on the day
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel, as you will be traveling from Geneva (Switzerland) to Chamonix (France)
  • If an activity is close for maintenance or weather conditions, you will be ofered alternatives but no refund
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Keytours (Switzerland)
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva.
What is the policy on sanitization during Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva.
What is the social distancing policy during Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "It is half of the named tour that was not available and if you spend this kind of money, you should have all these changes listed so your customers have the option of whether or not to purchase." See review


152 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 152 reviews
, May 2022
Loved the ice box and the ice glacier What I did not like is the fact that I tried numerous times to get my 10 Percent discount on one of my tours! No one could help me. I booked many many tours, and felt upset that not ONE Got a discount!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Good morning, thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the tour and the views. The discount is not our hand as you booked through trip advisor, please contact them for this issue
Magnificent scenery
, Apr 2022
The trip was facilitated. We came in April but the it was snowing and it was a winter for us. The scenery was awesome and it is worth it. The only slight problem is that we thought the package we chose was to include lunch( whereas excluded). But that’s okay In overall, the trip was thrilled and I am happy to see the beautiful champnix
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hello Soksa, thanks for your review. Unfortunately due to the Covid we don't provide the Lunch at this part of the year, but we are happy that you enjoyed your tour. I'm sure you found a nice place in the Village for the lunch ! Kind regards,
Chamonix is really pretty...
, Oct 2021
Chamonix is really pretty and I would definitely recommend a visit,but the excursion was poorly organised and, as we expressed our dissatisfaction, the guide reacted with arrogance and contempt. Pity!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Good morning, We would like to thank your for your review. You booked an independant tour, which means there is no tour guide, so we don't know who you are talking about. If you have entrance included, we give it to you at the entrance and explain the day with a map but then the day is on your own as it's independant. We are sorry you feel disapointed but the office is always available if you feel lost or confuse. Again, there is no tour guide on an independant tour. Best regards
1 traveler found this review helpful
Well worth it!
, Oct 2021
We had a lovely day even though the cable car was closed for repairs. Started with a short bus ride up to Chamonix where our driver really took care of that we got to the right place at the right time. Then a train ride up to Mer de glace (which also was closed) but at least we managed to get to the entrance and have a peek inside. Fantastic views everywhere, just stunning. Somewhat disturbing though is to see the markers for the glacier level over the years. Very soon it'll be gone all together. Then the train back down and a bit of sightseeing in the village. Very pretty everywhere and that grand mountain in the background makes it a very special place. Had a really nice meal at 1904 before it was time to get back. Awesome tour, highly recommended.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
Hi Peter, we would like to thank you very much for your review. We are sorry the cable car and the train was closed. We do depends a lot on the weather. We are glad you enjoyed the views and lanscapes anyway because it is a stunning place. Best regards
Tour office was very...
, Sep 2021
Tour office was very disorganized. I was misdirected to the bus pickup so missed the tour so I switched to a later tour but neither the ticket nor the agent provided any direction as to how to pick up the written guide so I ended up in Chamonix with no trolley tickets or anything else. It just turned out to be a very expensive "bus ride". Note to Key Tours: don't accept same day reservations less than 3 hours before a tour if you can't efficiently manage it.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Perfect day trip !
, Jun 2021
We enjoyed our trip to Chamonix and Mont Blanc. We only wish we had more time in the area. There is so much to do, it is wise to map out your day so that you can see all you want to see.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Good morning, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the scenery which is unique ! We wish you a nice holiday!
All closed and no information
, Dec 2019
As we arrived all activities were closed, which we had no been informed about beforehand. There was no local host present to give information. We could just have taken the normal coach to Chamonix and saved a lot of money.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Good morning and thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by this day. However we always warn our customers before boarding about the status of the activities and the various options offered in case of closure. Unfortunately this month in Chamonix the activities were closed for a short time because of a storm and we have refund off all the planned activities. If this is not the case for you, please contact us. We also propose in these cases other activities or other tours because even if it is our company that plans the activities we can not predict the weather that will make the same day. But we are still trying to find solutions like changing the date of the excursion or another tour.We are still sorry to hear you were disappointed by the closure of the activities but we still hope that you enjoyed for coming to Geneva. Best regards. Keytours Team
Most beautiful Chamonix, but disappointing tour operator
, Aug 2019
Keytour office staff in Geneva friendly and helpful. Yet, person responsible to Today @CITESCoP18, discussing amongst others, Review of Convention. We're here, representing South Africa's wildlife us with cable car passes in Chamonix was very unclear on meeting point, resulting us all waiting for him close to an hour, amongst hundreds of people queuing. Missed our bus back from Chamonix to Geneva due to insufficient and clear info. Chaos!! Keytours did not provide any assistance when phoning the. Communication in English also clearly a problem. However, Chamonix is the most beautiful place and cable car experience was unforgettable
Great Tour
, Aug 2019
The host was great. he gave us tips on the way to the mountain on how to navigate around the area. Overall, the event was great as we had a great time visiting the mountain and the bus was punctual.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Good morning, Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your day and the help of the local host. We wish you a nice holiday!
Excellent tour!
, Jul 2019
I highly recommend this tour; Mont Blanc was absolutely gorgeous and the photos I have are all frame worthy! The bus ride there was just over an hour from Geneva and the tour guide informed us of a variety of things during the ride, which was nice. His sense of humor was engaging too! The only thing was that we were under the impression our tour was only 6 hours long (we did the cable car only) so we thought we’d get back at 2ish. However, regardless of what you book you are there for the full time so the bus didn’t leave Chamonix until 5. That being said, the town of Chamonix is absolutely beautiful and quaint! We had 3 hours to tool around and did so without any problem! So many cute stores, cafes, picture opportunities! The rest of the people on the tour opted to do the train to the glacier so if you don’t want to have to kill extra time I would just recommend doing the train too! No one opted for lunch so I can’t speak on that one. Anyway, all in all this was an excellent tour with magnificent views. We loved the fact that it was independent. The guide got us started and gave us a suggested itinerary and we just went with it. Recommend!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
Good morning Jason, we would like to thank you very much for your review. If you take the cable car only, you have an option to come back for 2 pm but there is also later buses specially in the summer time. Many people wants to stay longer to enjoy the views. We are glad for you you had good weather and a nice experience on the french alps. We wish you a nice holiday. Best regards
a long bus ride with offensive guide
, Jun 2019
This excursion could have been much more enjoyable if our viator tour guide was friendly or pleasant. Instead he started the tour with "Well, this is gonna be a miserable day". He was rude, an equal offender of many nationalities. He would not answer questions,only dictated the rules to the passengers. It was a long bus ride listening to him drown on with negativity, clearly he was bored with his job and is many trips to Mont Blanc. But it was my first trip to the alps and he made the trip miserable.
1 traveler found this review helpful
A perfect journey
, Apr 2019
Excellent train drive to summit A perfect journey through the mountains A lively and lovely visit to a hill station
1 traveler found this review helpful
Day Trip to France from Geneva
Jessica F
, Nov 2018
We had a wonderful time in Chamonix!! Gorgeous ski town tucked away in the French Alps. Beautiful walking town, cute shops, delicious restaurants. During the tour, you have a few hours of independent time to do your own thing. This was our favorite part of the tour! Mont Blanc I'm sure is beautiful but unfortunately we were not able to make it up to the top due to the cable car being out of service for repairs. We understood that this is our of the tour company's control but Viator should display these changes. It is half of the named tour that was not available and if you spend this kind of money, you should have all these changes listed so your customers have the option of whether or not to purchase. Or atleast the tour company should have a sufficient alternate to provide to their customers. Thankfully Chamonix made it worth it though but if this was my first time to the Alps, I would have been very disappointed. Tour guide was a nice old man, knew a lot of great information and tips.
Excellent trip to Mont Blanc
Jay G
, Oct 2018
I was very pleased with the trip. Money well spent and worth. Tour guide Neal was excellent in herding 28 people on the bus.Thank you!!!
Beautiful Day
, Aug 2018
This tour was good, and we do not regret taking it. However, I agree with many reviewers who spoke about tour guide named Neil and mentioned that he had a little attitude. We noticed it, too. Aside from that, because we came during high season and had to take cable car at a specific time when going back, we felt rushed to catch the mountain train early enough to be back in time for our bus departure. However, even though we rushed, we came to Glacier Mer de Glace just to find out that we have no time to go to the ice cave because the line to board the train for return was very long. Basically, purchasing these train tickets was a waste of money.I cannot imagine how restricted in time were those who signed up for the lunch. We knew from forums not to do that in order to have a little more flexibility there.Having said all that, what we saw on this day was incredible. We want to return there some day.
Once in a lifetime experience!
, Aug 2018
What an unbelievable day! I know you don't want to read a whole novel of my trip so here are some general things that are good to know: - As the itinerary explicitly says, this is an independent tour! Our coordinator, Neil, was excellent for info about the trip and explained exactly what to do. If you listen to your coordinator, you will be fine, and will have a great time. - This trip gives you freedom so spend time seeing what you want to see because you are not stuck to a guide the whole time! I loved getting to explore on my own, but to also have a person I knew I could find for help if I needed - Spend more time at the top of the mountain and hiking in the area just after the first cable car rather than visiting the mer de glace and the ice glacier cave. The cave was cool, but didn't take too long to see...the stairs to get there did take about 20 minutes (I went fast though...). I would say seeing the ice cave was cool, but if I did this trip again I would forego the cave to spend more time hiking the mountains - The views are incredible! Getting to the aiguille du midi was amazing, and you will be awestruck by what you see at the top! I highly recommend this tour. The company was fantastic, as were the views!
Magic in the Mountains
Nick T
, Jun 2018
A trip to Chamonix is a brilliant way to get a taste of the majestic Alps. This tour is the perfect way to get there and presents a number of options following your arrival. The on-board guide was knowledgeable and helpful but the real value of this tour is the location itself. Naturally, given the landscape, the weather can play a big role in just what is possible following arrival but Chamonix offers so much: shops, many beautiful restaurants, hikes and of course the advertised gondola ride and/or train ride. Not knowing what the weather would be like, I waited until arriving in Chamonix to decide which activities to do. It's very easy to buy the tickets in the town itself. Luck was on our side this day and the weather was phenomenal, so I opted to travel up the gondola to the Brevent and take a walk across the snowy landscape. The area was a hive of activity, with hikers, rock climbers and the majestic parasails; truly a sight to behold. I feel the independence of this trip is its best selling point - especially if you're happy to look after yourself and don't need a guide to lead you around. Chamonix is compact, with a new surprise around every corner, so do yourselves a favour and book a return trip to this beautiful town.
Everything went smoothly and the...
John H
, Mar 2018
Everything went smoothly and the views from the top of the cable car are amazing! Bit short of oxygen at the top of the elevator though. The glacier was spectacular too, after an awful lot of stairs. Well worth the trip.
The drive in itself was lovely...
Mahrukh U
, Jan 2018
The drive in itself was lovely... The driver was great and to be fair that what I paid for. However, the guide we had, a lady called Caroline was absolutely useless and not helpful at all. She couldn't even confirm correctly where the drop off and pick up points were and when I asked her a question for some information, I was abruptly brushed off.
great day trip! lots of time for site...
Tammy M
, Nov 2017
great day trip! lots of time for site seeing and getting a feel for the area

Compare Similar Experiences

Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva
Independent Chamonix and Mont Blanc Tour from Geneva


6 to 10 hours

Free Cancellation



10 hours

Free Cancellation



10 hours

Free Cancellation



6 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation



9 hours

Free Cancellation



11 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation



5 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do