Recent Searches
Clear

Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

|
Geneva, Switzerland
Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 to 4 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Enjoy an alternative sightseeing experience in Geneva, the city hailed as Switzerland’s cultural capital, on a tour by coach, tram, and boat. See the city’s most spectacular attractions from a variety of vantage points and delve into Geneva’s rich history with commentary from a professional guide. Cruise on a coach and see natural landmarks like Lake Geneva and the Geneva Water Fountain; stroll the Old Town and listen to intriguing commentary as you take a tram tour down winding backstreets.
  • Geneva sightseeing tour and Lake Geneva cruise
  • See the Geneva Water Fountain and the Flower Clock
  • Tramway tour with intriguing commentary about Geneva's past
  • Enjoy a cruise on Lake Geneva
Saved to wishlist!
Transport by coach
Mini train or walking tour in the Old town ( depends on weather)
Orientation tour of the city of Geneva
Admire the beauty of Geneva lake and its famous fountain
Relax with a cruise on Lake Geneva
Photo stop at the emblem of Geneva: the broken chair and the United nations
Hotel pickup and drop off
Geneva Bus Station , 1201 Geneva, Switzerland

Place Dorcière 1201 Geneva

Quai du Mont-Blanc , Quai du Mont-Blanc, 1201 Genève, Switzerland

The tour finished after the cruise on the lakeside, which is only one block down from the original starting point the bus station

After pickup at a centrally located spot in Geneva, settle into your seat on a coach and gaze at Geneva’s impressive landmarks as you listen to informative commentary from an expert guide. Marvel at the vibrant Geneva Flower Clock, a picturesque dial suspended over beautiful gardens, and capture photographs of the equally impressive Geneva Fountain (Jet d’Eau), a water feature that propels water to a height of 140 meters (459 feet). 

Continue your tour on a tram ride through the ambient tangle of city streets.

Climb aboard a boat for the tour’s dramatic finale, a cruise on the shimmering surface of Lake Geneva, widely considered Europe’s most beautiful lake. Absorb sweeping vistas of the city from your idyllic vantage point and then scour the scenery for the snow-capped perimeter of the Alps. 

Return to dry land and bid your guide and group farewell at a central location.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Keytours SA
Meet your guide & Board the coach
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Palais des Nations
See the European headquarters of the United nations on the Nations Square, you will see the flag of all the countries members!
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Broken Chair Sculpture
One of the symbol of Geneva: the broken chair that represent landmines
Duration: 2 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Pass By:  
International Red Cross and Red Crescent Museum
Snap a picture of the first organisation of Geneva: the red cross
Pass By:  
Jet d'Eau
Discover the majestic fountain of geneva, 140 meters high
Pass By:  
The Flower Clock
The biggest flower clock of the world representing importance of watches and botanic
Pass By:  
L'ancien arsenal
Discover the old grain storage which is now an arsenal keeping the canons, the square is decorated with 3 mosaics that represent 3 important moment in the history of Geneva
Pass By:  
Mon-Repos Park
20 % of Geneva is gree areas, discover one of our beautiful park of the city!
Stop At:  
St Pierre Cathedral
Discover the old town walking in winter time and by mini train in summer
Duration: 45 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Tour runs all year round, however please note that the visit by mini-train is possible only if the weather allow it
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • please note the cruise depends on the boat company, sometimes there is one hour waiting between the city tour and the cruise
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 45 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Keytours (Switzerland)
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.0
star-4
256 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 256 reviews
star-5
Perfect city tour
Tanya_B
, Aug 2022
Great way to see the city, especially the old town. The cruise on the lake at the end was very much worth it. Note that the tour is longer than advertised because the boat crew takes a lunch break just as the trolley segment ends so you have an hour or so to eat lunch yourselves. Also keep in mind that it is an audio tour so be firm with the guide to use the headsets so you have a choice of language otherwise they pick the language of the majority and play it on the speakers. There is a guide accompanying the tour but he answers questions only.
star-1
Tour description did not reflect reality
Kim_H
, Aug 2022
According to the description of the tour, I booked three different items: - tour of Geneva by bus. However, it was not clear from the description that this was a mere tour of the international organisations in Geneva (buildings of ILO, Unicef, WHO). It was impossible to take pictures as the bus kept on driving all the time, except for a 5 min break at the UN building and a 5 min break at a park (not really a photo stop) - tour by train through the old town. We had to wait 25 min in between the bus tour and the train tour (waste of time). The description of the tour stated that entry and admission of the cathedral was included. However, we were not allowed to get out of the train at the cathedral. Therefore, no entry into the cathedral and not even the possibility to take a picture of the building. - boat tour. The boat tour was supposed to start after the train. However, the boat broke down (which the organisation already knew at the start of the tour, but deliberately had not mentioned it). Therefore, tickets were given for a boat tour with another company. However, this tour started 75 min after the train tour. No reimbursement of the boat tour was possible. All in all, a waste of time and money.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Good morning, thank you for you review. We are very surprise that you did not like any part of the tour. The bus drives at 30km per hour, and you have a photo stop at the United nations, where you can see the WIPO, ITU, UNHCR, CICR and you can take pictures during the stop. The cathedral has a free entrance. The boat we usually take is electro solar for 0 emission carbon, asit was windy, they cancelled it so you took the boat with engine which is the same price. We hope you will still keep good memories of the city
star-1
Don’t waste your time.
Christy_W
, Aug 2022
The entire tour was underwhelming, the bus portion consisted of the bus slowly driving past things and the guide giving tidbits about the different sites, some of which were so set back you couldn’t really tell what he was talking about. It was also challenging because he was repeating himself in three languages. Then we got on a little tourist train that had a prerecorded audio tour that showed a little of old town. It was ok but not terribly exciting. After that we got on a large tour boat and had a 45min cruise around the lake shore, pretty but not any guide/interpretation about what we were seeing. After doing other tours this was not comparable. I would not recommend.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Good morning, we are sorry to read your review. As mentionned, you visited the international area which is the new city, the old town and the lakeside which is a complet tour of Geneva. Best regards
star-4
Excellent to see Geneva in 3 hours!
yusufp
, Aug 2022
Had a very good city tour. Driver Norman and Guide Gabrielle were very friendly. Gabrielle explained in detail about each landmark. He was patient enough to answer all queries.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Good morning, thank you very much for your review! We re glad you enjoyed your trip and our city. We try to show you the most in 3 hours! We will pass your message to Normund and Gabriel! best regards and safe travel
star-5
Great brief tour of Geneva and the lake.
James_S
, Aug 2022
The tour guide Gabriél was great. He was knowledgeable and affable. He kept us on time so we wouldn’t miss the boat tour of the lake. We loved seeing the official buildings of the WHO, and, of course, the UN.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Good morning, thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoy the tour! We will pass your message to Gabriel! Hope you keep good memories.
star-4
I enjoyed the tour just...
Girsie_L
, Aug 2022
I enjoyed the tour just didn't understand why they wouldn't transport you back to the spot where you got on the bus
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Good morning, thank you for your review, you stopped the tour one block down because you are in the shopping area and lakeside. The guide is coming back to the bus station if you want to accompagny him, it's a 2 minutes walk
star-1
Got ripped off and lied to — took our money and did not provide a tour
NOREALDEIN_A
, Aug 2022
Tour guide took off on us lied about looking for us did not even call us just said “meet at bus station “ A family of 7 is hard to miss We arrived 3 minutes before Aviator and Swiss Tours refused to refund
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Good morning, May we remind you that that the tour is at 10 and you arrive at 10h25. You insulted us in the office. and you require a private service on a regular tour. Please that you have been reported to swiss authorities and you are not welcome here again.
star-5
3h trip in Geneva
Abas_F
, Aug 2022
The Guide was super Nice and friendly ( Gabriel) , you see the international side and old side of Geneva and the wonderful lake
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Good morning, thank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoy the tour. We will pass your message to Gabriel, have a nice travel!
star-1
So unorganized -not the right company to take a tour with
Karisa_D
, Jul 2022
We got to the tour company and found out that the start of our tour would be cancelled and we would have to take a hop-on / hop-off bus to start it. Once done we would take a small train around Old Town - no stops just sit and the train was faster than the voice providing us the information for the sites. That wasn't the worst part when we got dropped off at the dock the boat wasn't there and the train conductor left us there. No one from the tour company was there and most of the people from the tour left. The boat finally did arrive and we spent over an hour in the heat circling in the middle of Lake Geneva with no air. It was miserable. I would not recommend this trip to anyone or even recommend this tour company.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Good morning, you booked a guided city tour, as the guide had a problem, we have proposed an alternative tour as the hop on hop off, with a partial refund, which you accepted by the way. The boat is open, so it's not possible to have no air. Your comment is really dishonnest.
star-5
Loved it
8k4mpggj9m
, Jul 2022
Everything was smooth and well planned. I do really recommend it for first visit of Geneve, you’ll get understanding of everything
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Good morning, thank you for your review, we are happy you liked the tour and you enjoyed our beautiful city, take care
star-5
Fun time in Geneva
Shontelle_H
, Jul 2022
This was a great tour, even if you are solo, you can make friends. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. The boat was a little late but that gave us time to get something to drink since there were no other stops for food.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks Shontel for your 5 stars :), we are really happy that you enjoyed your tour !
star-5
Great city tour with...
Gary_P
, Jul 2022
Great city tour with Gabriel who was very informative and friendly. Jose was a great driver. The train tour was excellent. Our captain for the boat cruise was great!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Good morning, thank you very much for your review, we are glad you know all our staff now :), we are happy you have good memories of Geneva city! Have a safe travel
star-2
Improvised Sightseeing!
JuanJose_V
, Jul 2022
Keytours simply did not delivered as offered. At the last minute the Guide reported Sick, so we were pushed to accept an afternoon option, refund or self guided (partial refund for guide absence). We only had morning available in Geneve so we accepted self guided option, but we ended losing most of morning due to improvised and wrong information. Despite hassles we really enjoyed the one hour boat trip and the sight seeing through Lines 1 & 3. Would suggest Viator to promote tour operators with reasonable back up plans.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Good morning, we are sorry the guide got sick, unfortunately it happened. We have found a replacement guide for the afternoon and we have offer alternative such as the sightseeing that started at the same time. We could'not do more. Best regards
star-5
We enjoyed all three...
Carol_E
, Jul 2022
We enjoyed all three parts of this tour. It was great to take the tram ride through Old Town as my husband has some mobility problems.
star-5
Shoutout to Gabriel!
Jacorry_L
, Jul 2022
Gabriel was absolutely fantastic and a pleasure to learn from. He was kind and patient and genuinely happy to do such great work.
star-4
A well planned city tour...
Shabnam_R
, Jul 2022
A well planned city tour by bus, train & boat. Gabriel was an excellent guide. Wish we had more time in the old Town & could explore it on foot.
star-4
Breathtaking!!
Sivaraman_V
, Jul 2022
Seeing the water jet and to be on the lake was mesmerising and a dream come true. History everywhere
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Historical knowledge was...
Paula_S
, Jul 2022
Historical knowledge was great. Beautiful area. Boat cruise was lo ng but enjoyable. Would recommend to friends.
star-4
Very nice tour with lots of sightseeing
FAHAD_S
, Jun 2022
Nice tour. The coach part was fun with an enthusiastic guide. The tram was ok. The boat was nice and refreshing but could have been better with a guide.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Good morning, thank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed the tour and the guide. We hope you have good memories of Geneva.
star-2
Poorly run, poor excuses, utterly avoid.
James_L
, Jun 2022
Saw minimal landmarks and delays in coach part of the tour meant no bathroom breaks or drinks available or time to purchase drinks on a day with 30°C heat and a 7 year old child on board! The boat captain had to get one of the bottles of water they had for the crew for us due to the disorganisation of the tour and poor management of time by the guide and driver. Guide was very good at stating the obvious which could be seen out the window, not so good at giving any real information beyond what it said on the outside of abuilding!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Good morning, you took a city tour of 2 hours, you can understand if we stop for drinks, you lose 20 minutes on a short tour. It starts at 2.15 right after lunch time. So you had plenty of time to buy something before, moreover on the departure point, there is a coffee shop you can buy water. Our day trips allow time of course for breaks and drinking or eating time. on this beautiful day in june, with the sun, we are sorry you could not enjoy our beautiful city. Best regards and good travel back

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise
Geneva City Tour and Boat Cruise

star-4256

3 to 4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$80.40

star-4187

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$58.96

star-4134

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$73.97

star-4.562

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$116.85

star-00

1 hour 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$34.09

star-4.54

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$165.09

star-00

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$90.05

star-4.55

4 hours 10 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$95.41

star-41

15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$61.85
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations