Recent Searches

Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Geneva, Switzerland
Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon10 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds


Discover the allure of the European Alps on a full-day trip to Chamonix and Mont Blanc, the highest mountain in Europe, from Geneva. With a guide, travel through the splendor of the countryside to Chamonix, a picturesque Alpine town. Upgrade options include ticket to ascend the Aiguille de Midi peak in a modern cable car; a scenic railway ride to Montenvers, home to Mer de Glace; and a French-style lunch in Chamonix.
  • Full-day trip to Chamonix and Mont Blanc in France from Geneva, led by a professional guide
  • Drive through the Arve Valley to Chamonix
  • Choose from different tour options to suit your preferences
  • Ride the cable car to the summit of the Aiguille du Midi (if option selected)
  • Marvel at spectacular views of the Swiss, French, and Italian Alps, including Mont Blanc and the Matterhorn
  • Hop aboard the cog railway to Montenvers and enjoy a 3-course lunch in Chamonix (if option selected)
  • Tour includes round-trip travel from Geneva

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This tour offers both independent sightseeing and a guide on the coach to give you the scoop on Mont Blanc.
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Cable car ride to summit of Aiguille du Midi (if option selected)
Train ride to Montenvers (if option selected)
Lunch (if option selected)
Skip the line tickets
Guide if more than 10 people or driver guide for small groups

Departure Point

1201 Geneva, Switzerland

Place Dorcière 1201 Geneva

Departure Time

8:30 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Select from a variety of options and customize your tour according to your preferences. The guide provides historical insight on the region, and then climb aboard a comfortable coach in central Geneva to begin your journey. Admire stunning scenery as you drive to the Alpine village of Chamonix and marvel at the village’s majestic location at the foot of Mont Blanc on arrival.

Select from the tours listed in the Itinerary section to determine the schedule and price of your day in Chamonix and Mont Blanc. Please note from November 6th to December 15th is the annual closure of the Aiguille du Midi.
Stop At:  
Meet your guide at the Geneva Bus Station and board the bus
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Explore the stunning alpine scenery of Chamonix in the French Alps. Chamonix is a picturesque town and the most famous mountain resort in France; from everywhere in the city if you look at the sky …you will see It – The roof of Europe – The Majestic Mont-Blanc. Enjoy the bus ride to the third natural mountain spot most visited in the world.
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Statue of Balmat and Saussure
Take a photo of the most famous Alpinistes
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Montenvers - Mer de Glace Train
If option selected - Discover the well known Ice Sea, take the mountain train until the Montenvers station and enjoy the panorama. Go down to visit the Ice Caves or the Glaciorium
Duration: 3 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Aiguille du Midi
If option selected - Ride up the cable car and discover a spectacular panoramic view of the Chamonix Valley and the French, Swiss and Italian Alps at 3842m ! On a clear day, you may even see the Mattherhorn, the famous Swiss peak and icon of Switzerland – it’s even found on packages of delicious Toblerone chocolate. If it’s open, you can try the unique adventure: "Step into the Void" BREATHTAKING!
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for children aged 2 and under
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • Please dress appropriately for a day in the mountains; even if it is warm and sunny in Geneva, it can be cold and wet in Chamonix or at the top of the Aiguille du Midi and on the Mer de Glace
  • The operation of the Aiguille du Midi cable car and Mer de Glace train are both subject to local weather conditions on the day
  • Please note there is unplanned maintenance on the Aiguille du midi cable car at the moment, an alternative cable car will be offered with a similar view
  • If one of the activity closes, there will be alternative offers, or partial refunds, but the transports won't be refunded in any case
  • Please note that the official currency of France is the EURO. Swiss francs are unlikely to be accepted in Chamonix
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel, as you will be travelling from Geneva (Switzerland) to Chamonix (France)
  • Please note: guide will be present with you on the bus and the village. You will have free time in the cable car or train and the guide will meet you after.
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Keytours (Switzerland)
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva.
What is the policy on sanitization during Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva.
What is the social distancing policy during Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "Note to anyone going on this tour - it is extremely cold and windy - dress warmly and wear proper shoes!" See review
  • "If the weather is good, and the Mer de Glace glacier is open to visit, Montenvers is a must." See review
  • "The Mt Blanc gondola is subject to weather conditions, especially winds, even when the weather is otherwise clear." See review


749 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 749 reviews
, Oct 2021
We paíd to go to Aiguille du Midi, but when we arrived to the bus, they said us, that we can’t go there this day, for maintenance! without prior notice, they did not warn us that the activity had been suspended. We came from another country to go exclusively to Montblanc. If they had noticed, we would have changed the date of the trip. We had a great disappointment, IT WAS MY GIFT TO CELEBRATE MY 70 YEARS, OF MY FAMILY !!
1 traveler found this review helpful
We paid for this trip to...
, Sep 2021
We paid for this trip to have guid and lunch included then we are surprised they canceled that when we arrived The amount we paid it’s so much expensive for only transport to the chamonix nothing else even the ticket was given to us for the train and Cable car its cheaper in chamonix and no big line you can take it from anywhere there It’s much better you rent a car enjoy your day comeback any time you want
1 traveler found this review helpful
Best way to see everything with no stress!
, Aug 2021
After reading mixed reviews I was worried this would be a bad experience. It wasn’t. It was amazing. The bus ride was comfortable and along the way Niels told us interesting facts about Geneva and Chamonix. Once we arrived we were given clear instructions and were taken care of and knew where to go all day. We did all the extras and I’m so glad we did. Such an unforgettable day!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Hello, thank you so much for such a nice review! We're delighted to read that you enjoyed your tour in Chamonix and hope you left with memories of a lifetime. We hope to have the pleasure to see you again soon! Regards, The Keytours Team
Perfect day!
, Jul 2021
Both organisation and guide were amaizing, especially considering the pandemic. I wanted more time in Montenvert than Mont Blanc, and I was able to arrange it by my own schedule.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hello Ela, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your tour with us and hope to see you soon. Best regards, Keytours Team
No tour guide, no fun.
, Aug 2020
This was supposed to be a guided tour. But, upon arrival, I was informed that there was no tour guide and the driver just gave me a general description of where I should go and what I should do. Frankly, I should have just cancelled on the spot. After a mediocre day in Chamonix, I requested a partial refund for the fact that I paid for a guide who was not provided. This was not forthcoming. In hindsight, I should have cancelled on the spot.,
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Good morning, Thank you for your comment and we are sorry to read it. We hope you can understand the hard situation in tourism right now. You were the only person and still we did not cancel the bus, not to disapoint the customer. We informed you before going on the bus that for one person we didn't had a guide. But we had an english driver guide. On the guided tour, you are on your own on the activities and the driver guide met you afterwards to go around jus like what happens on the tour. We understand you felt disapointed but we do everything not to cancel because you have plan this day. Our drivers guides have been trained and know all the areas, it's a shame you didn't enjoy it. Chamonix is a wonderful place, one of the most beautiful in the world, we are sorry you found it mediocre. We could do everything the same, the only difference was a driver guide not a guide and we did refund you for this part. Best regards
2 travelers found this review helpful
Good views but poorly organised tour
, Aug 2020
Excellent scenery, well worth a visit. However, we found the tour poorly planned and organised; upon getting to the top of Mont Blanc, it was recommended that we do the glass box (main attraction), yet the guide gave us a meeting time that was less than the advertised queue time of this attraction. Feeling this was an important part of the trip, we did it anyway and the tour guide left without us. We followed the itinerary on the leaflet we had been given and waited at the next spot at the correct time, but the guide didn’t show. We didn’t see him again until the end of the day. He was running late and caused us to miss the first return bus.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Good morning, we would like to thank you for your review and we are sorry you feel disapointed. The glass box is up on the cable car, we cannot prevent the queue with the new restrictions, we still have an itinerary to if you have multiple options included in your day trip. If you cannot find the guide, or if you want to skip an activity to give priority to the other, you can always contact us, we contact the guide, our phone is available all day with a what s app number. As mentionned, we gave you the opportunity to take a later bus than the one planned in order for you to do all you wanted. We are again sorry but we are glad you enjoyed the view and the place. Best regards
Chamonix Mont-Blanc
, Jul 2020
The customer service was excellent our driver Tom is the best. He made sure we were well catered for? Also when we feel stranded on don't blanc due to cable times, the company rang to check on us and to make sure we are not left behind! We would recommend Swiss Tours they are the best 😁
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Good morning Helen, We would you to thank so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the tour. and the town of Chamonix as the view are amazing. Having you keeping good memories and good experience is our goal and we wish you a nice holiday!!
, Jul 2020
Our experience was terrible. We were given expired tickets. At Chamonix we had to leave the que because tickets were not valid. It took another 30 minutes to reach tour operator and another one hour to understand that nothing can be done. We had to purchase our own tickets and a refund of just 100 CHF PER person given. We lost our visit to glacier due to your mistake.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2020
Good morning, We would like to thank you for your review. We are sorry you felt a bad experience. As ysou could see the validity of the ticket was 30.11.20, so for us it was impossible to know it didn't pass. However you called the office, we told you we would talk the the cable car company and call you back straight away. We ve tried 13 times between 10 and 11, you did not pick up your phone. When we finally reached you, we gave you two solutions, either you paid now without waiting and we refund the pass or you wait that we brings you new passes. In order for you to do the glacier, we have organise a later bus at 18h30 instead of 17h so you wouldn't lose your activity. We are sorry for the problem that happened, we found solutions. It's a shame you didn not enjoy the view as it's one of the most fabulous view. Best regards
The top of Mont Blac
, Feb 2020
Niels was our guide and it was a great day trip!!! Amazing place to see - well worth it - very helpful having a guide to explain everything and show you where to go
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Good afternoon Ruth, thank you for the great review.The guide will be so glad. The reviews are important for us because we can grow up and become better everyday.
Poor trip to do in bad weather
, Feb 2020
It was a bad day weather wise and the train & cable car weren’t working. So we hung around Chamonix in the cold (the power was out) then the guide took us to Annecy. There was a bit of commentary on the bus but a lot of it was personal opinion. There wasn’t any ‘guiding’ per se. We were refunded the tickets for the cable car & train but still paid about $350 to sit on a bus for a day. Very disappointing.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Good morning, thank you for your review. Chamonix Mont Blanc is a mountain trip, it means we are subjected to mountain weather and conditions. As mention on the website, the bus is never cancelled because one of the point is to see Chamonix village which is a mountainery pretty village and really worth it. Furthermore, we leave Geneva at 8h30 and at this time, w can't know if the cable car or the train will open, the compagny is deicing, taking off the snow, checking the windm the info is only given at 10 when we arrive. And even at that time, sometimes the openings can be reported. As we care about the experience, instead of leaving our customers in the cold the whole daym we offer alternative such as visiting Annecy, which is another pretty city. We are sorry for the experience, unfortunately, we can't expect always good weather in the mountains. We hope you enjoyed the village of chamonix which is full of charms even under the snow. Best regards

Compare Similar Experiences

Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva
Chamonix and Mont Blanc Day Trip from Geneva


10 hours

Free Cancellation



8 hours 10 minutes

Free Cancellation



4 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation



6 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation



8 hours

Free Cancellation



9 hours

Free Cancellation



10 hours

Free Cancellation



10 hours

Free Cancellation



10 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do