Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

2-Day Tour: Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu by Train

star-4.5
|
Cusco, Peru

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Loading available options...


icon2 days  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Face masks provided for travelers
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
Regular temperature checks for staff
Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Discover the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu on this 2-day tour. Visit key sites such as Pisac, Urubamba, and Ollantaytambo and discover their individual archaeological sites with your guide. Spend the night at Aguas Calientes, the village at the base of Machu Picchu, and rest up before catching the sunrise at the famous Inca citadel the next day.
  • Explore the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu on this 2-day tour from Cusco
  • Visit the archaeological sites of Pisac, Urubamba, and Ollantaytambo
  • Watch the sunrise over the famous Machu Picchu and learn about the Incas
  • Breakfast and hotel accommodations included
  • Comfortable round-trip transport by bus and train

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

This tour lets you escape the crowds of Machu Picchu on the first day as you visit lesser-known archeological sites.
Breakfast
Transfers between your Cusco hotel and Ollantaytambo train station
Arrival and Departure airport transfers
English or Spanish-speaking guide
Sacred Valley of the Incas tour
One night at a 3-star hotel, including breakfast
Machu Picchu guided tour
1 Bottle of Water
Machupicchu access tickets
Round trip bus tickets in Machupicchu
Round trip train tickets (The Voyager Class)
Extra night hotel accommodations
Lunches and dinners
Sacred Valley or Cusco City tour entrance fees (depending on which option is chosen)
Waynapicchu Mountain climb entrance fees US$ 30 (Request in advance to provide if still available)
Hot springs entrance fees (optional, you can do on your arrival in Aguas Calientes)
Additional expenses
Gratuity (optional)
Hotel upgrade: For an extra cost (Upgrade your hotel to a 4 or 5 star hotel)
Vistadome Train Upgrade: (US$95, please request in advance)

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
We offer free pick up from any Cusco (Hotels, Hostels, Airbnb)

Departure Time

8:00 AM
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Passport name, number, DOB and country is required at time of booking for all participants
  • A current valid passport is required on the day of travel
  • Vegetarian option is available, please advise at time of booking if required
  • For the overnight in Aguas Calientes (Machupicchu town), please take a small backpack OR carry-on with some clothing enough for the overnight. The rest of the items you can keeped at your Cusco hotel or in our office. In order to avoid carrying unnecesary stuff that you won´t wear in Machupicchu.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Note: If you require a seat for the infant, we can assign one for an extra cost.
  • This tour does not have specific restrictions unless you are in a very bad serious health conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Machupicchu Latin America Journeys

All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during 2-Day Tour: Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu by Train?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by 2-Day Tour: Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu by Train.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during 2-Day Tour: Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu by Train?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by 2-Day Tour: Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu by Train.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during 2-Day Tour: Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu by Train?
A:
The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by 2-Day Tour: Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu by Train.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during 2-Day Tour: Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu by Train?
A:
The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by 2-Day Tour: Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu by Train.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during 2-Day Tour: Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu by Train?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 12 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by 2-Day Tour: Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu by Train.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
116 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 116 reviews
star-5
Great Logistics - Easy way to see the area for the first time.
Bruce_M
, Mar 2020
This was a great way to see the Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu. As a solo traveler going to Peru for the first time, I wanted to make this as simple as possible, especially as I was unsure as to how the altitude would effect me. First off, the logistics were handled flawlessly. From being picked up at the airport, to morning tours, to drop off back at the hotel and then airport at the end of the trip, every guide and driver was where they were supposed to be, when they said they would be there. This company is located at Aguas Calientes (Machu Picchu), and contracts out airport transfers and the Sacred Valley Tour, (as do a lot of others as well - as everyone on my first day tour was from a separate tour company) - but everything truly was seamless - if it wasn't for the different uniforms, and that the first tour company told us that, I would have not noticed. I enjoyed all aspects of the first day, even though you end up in some tourist shops, I enjoy the learning aspect of that, seeing how the crafts are made, and exploring markets. At no time did I fell overly pressured to buy anything. I also really enjoyed the lunch spot they brought us to. Some times on tours like this you can end up at a pretty crappy lunch spot. This was probably the best buffet tour lunch I have had. A slightly less expensive alternative was offered as well, which I appreciated. The second day was great. Its Machu Picchu. Not much I can add. The train ride in and out of Aguas Calientes was gorgeous, and they got me a window seat on the river side of the train. I would not have even known to ask for that, but if you are booking the train, see if they can make that happen. Might have just been a happy coincidence for me. As a bonus, the car ride back from Ollyentembo (SP) to Cusco, went over the high Andean plain and seeing those farming and lake communities at between 10,000 and 12,000 feet was amazing - lucky for the time of year, but do try and see it in the day light. The only downside, and this is probably a Peru thing, was the hotel in Aguas Calientes (Wyman SP?). It wasn't horrible, and I did get a good night's sleep. But it really is a step or two up from a nice hostel. My original room on the second floor was loud, I could hear everything being said in the Lobby. They were kind enough to move me to a room on the 5th floor, which was a little better once they finished cleaning the restaurant on the 6th floor. However the breakfast was better than acceptable in a beautiful room of the 6th floor. And the water pressure was excellent in the shower. If you are picky about hotel rooms, I would suggest seeing if you can upgrade the hotel - but the place is fine otherwise. And the staff is very friendly and helpful. Oh yea - make sure you are in decent shape before going - climbing the steps at altitude will tire you out. But the guides were good at measuring the pace and provided rest as we went.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Great experience.
Patrick_V
, Feb 2020
Great tour. Hotel was good. All tour guides were informative and friendly and made sure we knew what to expect. Would have liked a little more time exploring Ollantaytombo independently. Surprisingly delicious lunch. Would definitely recommend.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Not a Guided Tour just Transportation! Buyer Beware!
dam0nalexander
, Dec 2019
Unless you have an express kidnapping roleplay fetish or don't mind paying a lot of money for a self guided tour this may not be for you. Actual itinerary - stop at wool store, then quick visit to Pisac Site, stop at jewelry store for 20 minutes and half hour at market, one hour lunch (no Visa- cash only $25 USD per person), quickly visit Ollantaytambo for approx. 15 minutes then to the train station, then you are on your own. Aguas Caliente terrible hotel, "tour guide" picked us up late, took our money to store luggage put us on the bus and that's it. Machu Pichuu by ourselves. "Guided Tour not included in the price", back to the train station by ourselves, picked up by a man in a car that did not speak english. Car had been in an accident (driver air bag in steering wheel exploded and repaired) no working seatbelts. Driver says "it's no problem" but asks you to pull the belt over shoulder everytime we are near police. Scary as hell.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Dear Value Guest, First of all, thank you for traveled with usand I appreciate very much your feed back which unfortunately is not the best BUT help us a lot to keep improving our services and make sure to avoid in failing with this unconfortable situations during your trip with our team. We offer small goup tours to ensure a better and personalize service, in fact we were 4 people (2 couples) during your travel dates. Our standarts to visit the sacred valley is meanly stop at Pisac Inca site for at least one hour (that day we were 1.15 hour), in Ollantaytambo Inca site we visit at lesat 45 minutes (that day we were with you 50 minutes as you had an early train). In Urubamba we stopped for lunch and the rate was 55 soles per person (US$ 15 per person), unfortunatelly the restaurant card machine was out of service but our guide helped you to solve this issue borrowing you peruvian soles and pay for your lunch. We do really apologize for this ionconvinient and we already advise the restaurnat to have the maching always working to keep vising that property. In Machupicchu the hotel were you stayed is good hotel with 4* review on tripadvisor were usually we don´t have complaints but after your advise, we called and talked again with the hotel to keep working hard together and provide better services. In Machupicchu our guided picked you up from teh hotel in the morning for the tour and we stoped by the bus station and wait for 5 minutes the other participants in the group who were a bit late and we asked you to wait few extra minutes but you just took the bus and make Machupicchu on your own. We undertant that you were in time and would like to go Machupicchu as early you want but since this is a small group tour we ask for being a bit patient to joing the travel groups. Regarding the trnafser from Ollantaytambo back to Cusco, most of our drivers does not speak enhlish and fortuanelly in many years we almost never get any complaint about the lunguaje skills. But we do apologize for the car situation that day. Unfortunatelly our scheduled thatsportation had an issue with the vehicle so he called our office and informed athat we need to replace another transport for you because of the issue. For this situation we do really apology as it was our fault to last minte find a trancport inmediatly and be in time witrh you but I persolally fail and didn´t check that transport situation. We already take again actions ad checking very well our transports to be in good conditions and avoid any bad monet with our service. We are providing a partial refund, as unfortunatelly we failed specially with the transport on day 2. Again we do apologize for causing you some bad moments and Thank you for your advise and will allow us improving our services. Warm regards MLAT Team
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great Trip!
Li F
, Dec 2019
Machupicchu Latin America Journeys did a very good job arranging this trip. Their service was great! I lost my sunglasses in the car that they dropped me off at my hotel after tour. I didn't expect to get it back as I was leaving at 6 am next day for my flight to Lima. It turned out they delivered my sunglasses to my lobby around 5:30 am something next day. They do their best for their customers, which is awesome!
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great two day tour
Mary W
, Nov 2019
In the Sacred Valley we stopped at a few key spots and also stopped at some local stores. The only thing I'd say about that is that we didn't have enough time to buy everything we wanted - more time at both stores would have been appreciated. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. We had enough time at each of the Inca sites. Lunch was a buffet and had decent food. The guides that took us to the hotel and to Machu Picchu were not very friendly and weren't very considerate of the fact that we had a few people in our group that had to walk slow, luckily they weren't the main tour guides. At Machu Picchu we had a different tour guide - Alain. He was amazing. My grandma had some trouble walking around and he took care of her, taking her down paths that were easier and holding her purse, jacket, and water the whole time! Alain was also very knowledgeable about Machu Picchu and the Incas. Would definitely recommend this tour to anyone, I would also say to upgrade on the hotel.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great tour
zak1017
, Sep 2019
I had a great time on this tour. Both guides were knowledgeable and informative, and the pace worked really well for me. I have chronic foot pain that makes it difficult to be on my feet for long periods, and there was plenty of time on the bus in between locations on the Sacred Valley tour to rest. All the bus and train tickets were neatly organized for me and the directions were very clear. Highly recommended!
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Off To A Rocky Start
324hic2ri
, Sep 2019
This trip started off very rocky. The main issue was that there was ZERO communication regarding where/when to meet the week leading up to the trip. I have purchased many tours on viator in the past and have always been contacted by the tour company prior to the trip regarding the trip details and what time pick-up will be/etc. In this case, I heard nothing at all from this tour even in the days leading up to my purchased date, and I had to search online for contact information to get in touch with the company. There were others in my tour group who had the same issue. One lady said that she had not heard anything from the tour company even the NIGHT before her tour was supposed to depart. It was not until she messaged them urgently that they finally sent her communication and sent information about where to meet the next day. This gave us the impression that the tour company was trying to take our money without giving us the tour as we had all paid up front, and therefore the tour company had no incentive to actually take us on the tour if we did not contact them. That being said, once we finally were able to get ahold of the tour company, the rest of the trip was smooth. The experience is delivered as promised. Overall, this tour company just needs to fix the way they handle the start of the tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Great attraction, poor coordination
Passport745382
, Sep 2019
Loved Macchu Picchu and the local tour guides and operators, but the organization of the trip left a lot to be desired. Did not hear from the tour operator until we contacted them ourselves - he requested to meet the evening before the tour however called the hotel at our original meeting time and postponed it another 1.5 hours so our evening plans had to be readjusted. Our 3 star hotel had no hot water and we felt hustled into some sales. That being said, macchu picchu was amazing and the van pickups and train rides well coordinated.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Amazing 2 days
froggy121
, Sep 2019
Our trip was very well organised. Contact throughout via WhatsApp was very helpful, as was the face to face briefing the evening before when we were given a clear itinerary and all relevant tickets. Punctual pickup on the day. Sacred Valley and Machu Picchu were incredible. Our guide Fabricio, whose English was very good, was excellent. His friendly enthusiasm and knowledge made the visits very informative and enjoyable. Our experience could only be improved by maybe upgrading the overnight hotel from three to four star if you want to pay the extra for one night and a bit more comfort. Overall we were more than happy with all the arrangements and our trip.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Excellent!
Bryan K
, Sep 2019
Great coordination and communication. Tour guides were helpful and clear. Would def recommend to others.
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 19345P9

Explore Similar Things to Do