Recent Searches
Clear

Grand Day Trip around Copenhagen

|
Badge of Excellence
|
København, Denmark
Grand Day Trip around Copenhagen
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

It's all castles and cathedrals. Head out of Copenhagen for the day on this guided small-group tour, visiting UNESCO World Heritage-listed Kronborg Castle, the sitting for Shakespeare's Hamlet, and then Frederiksborg Castle, the largest Renaissance-era castle in Scandinavia. After a tour of the fortresses head to stunning Roskilde Cathedral, the burial spot for numerous kings and queens. Finally, finish the tour at the Viking Ship Museum. This small-group tour is limited to just 16 people or fewer.
  • Visit UNESCO World Heritage-listed Kronborg Castle and Renaissance-era Frederiksborg Castle
  • Learn how the vikings constructed their ships at the Viking Ship Museum
  • Get picked up and dropped off at your hotel in Copenhagen
  • Small-group tour ensures lots of attention from the guide
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop-off from hotels in the center of Copenhagen
Transport by air-conditioned minivan
Small group size (no more than 16 people - usually less)
English speaking and knowledgeable guide
Lunch
In the months November to March - It will solely be a photostop outside the Roskilde Cathedral
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Coach parking Tivoli Copenhagen , H. C. Andersens Blvd. 26, 1553 København, Denmark

The starting point is a parking area for tour busses by the back of Tivoli Gardens right across the street from Copenhagen City Hall (Rådhuset). If you have any problems finding the pick-up point please feel free to call the local operator, Hamlet Tours, for directions at +4530700667.

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

This activity will end right where it started.We offer a hotel pickup from most hotels in the centre of Copenhagen. We will pick you up 30-50 minutes before the tour starts. You will receive an e-mail with the exact pickup time at least 24 hours prior to the tour. We do NOT go to hotels outside the city center. This includes hotels near the airport such as Crowne Plaza and AC Bella Sky and hotels in the Nordhavn area such as Adina Apartments. Certain hotels which are located within a few minutes' walk of the starting point are also not included because you would spend a lot more time getting picked up and then driven around to other pick ups rather than just walk a few minutes directly to the starting point of the tour if you are staying right next to it. You are very welcome to contact us to inquire about specific hotels. Your bus for the day is a plain white mini-bus. If you have any doubts regarding your pickup please feel free to call the tour operator, Hamlet Tours, at +4530700667. PLEASE NOTE: The tour will involve a lot of walking and steep stairs. As the historic sights are not equipped for accessibility, the tour is not suitable for people in wheelchairs or for people having difficulties with long distances of walking.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • The tour is unfortunately NOT suited for people with mobility problems. There is a lot of walking and steep stairs
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Hamlet Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Grand Day Trip around Copenhagen?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Grand Day Trip around Copenhagen.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Also an absolute must is to wear sensible walking shoes (ie sports shoes)." See review
  • "It helps when you are on a short schedule as you can go to a few landmarks in a day." See review
  • "Take a packed lunch so you have plenty of time to see The amazing Frederiksborg castle, I thoroughly recommend this tour - Enjoy!" See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
424 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 424 reviews
star-5
Perfect day trip from Copenhagen
Arden_S
, Jun 2022
Frank was a fantastic guide! This trip was better than we anticipated. Perfect blend of Danish history and seeing a variety of beautiful and important places. Relaxed despite busy agenda.
star-4
Tour was interesting. Beautiful city n countryside Was over an hour late picking us up. Traffic!
James_T
, Jun 2022
Viking museum was interesting. Could have used more time there. Castle. Tour guide was good. Beautiful city. Could have used more time
star-5
Grand tour from Copenhagen
Joanna_H
, Jun 2022
Great tour. 5 areas that we couldn’t see on our own. Loved it A comfortable mini bus and an intelligent guide who could answer all our questions We left at 9;30 and were dropped off at 6:30. Definitely a great referral from all of us. Joanna
star-5
An amazing tour overall
Ruby_S
, Jun 2022
I had an amazing time time. The views wer incredible and our tour guide Thomas was very knowledgeable.
star-4
Overall great experience.
Blic_M
, Jun 2022
It was great that we got to go to for different places! Our guide was very knowledge, kind and accommodating. I do wish that we had more time because we weren't able to finish roaming inside the castle.
star-5
Castles and palaces.
Rominder_P
, Jun 2022
Frank was very knowledgeable and genuinely interested in educating us about the history and culture of Denmark. He went above and beyond his expected duty.
star-4
Great trip to catch highlights
Sean_M
, Jun 2022
It was great to see these wonderful places. We would have loved to spend more time at each location, but to be able to see all 4 places in one day was great for our trip.
star-5
Very good tour
Geoffrey_W
, Jun 2022
A very good and interesting tour. Robert gave us many interesting facts not only about the sites we visited but also about the history of Denmark and current events and statistics about Denmark. Pickup at our hotel went smoothly and was very easy. Also the cafe valentin recommended had very tasty food. Strongly recommend this tour.
star-4
A quick knowledge built up tour
Gang_L
, Jun 2022
This tour was nice but very tied. We learnt a lot about Copenhagen and Denmark. Our guide was super nice but I’d hope he would give us enough time to look around ourselves instead of talking constantly.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
I'd love to give this...
Jennifer_W
, Jun 2022
I'd love to give this company a great review, but unfortunately we did not get to experience the tour, and are out over $400 in addition. Due to extreme weather conditions, we had a canceled and then a delayed flight that led us to miss an entire day in copenhagen, including the tour we prepaid for. We called them as soon as we landed, a couple hours into our scheduled tour, to let them know what happened. They sounded friendly and let us know they would reschedule us on a different day where they had space. Then I received an email stating they would actually reschedule us if we paid the full 400 something dollars again, for a total of $900. I replied that they made it sound like they were being kind and letting us do another day for the original payment. Got nowhere with them, and they wouldn't help us at all. Just a pay again or don't go reply. We of course can't afford to pay that much again. This trip is to celebrate my son's 9th birthday and the handling if this problem has left us all feeling pretty down. Would definitely not book with them because they will be completely unaccomodating if any issues out of your control should arise.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Let's imagine the opposite situation that a delay on our tour caused you to miss your flight. Would you also have expected the airline to give you new free plane tickets for another day even if it was stated very clearly in the terms and conditions of your flight that you had to show up at departure time to get on it? If you do not show up for the tour your money is lost. That is the standard terms and conditions for tours on Viator and they are stated very clearly when you book. You can cancel the tour up to 24 hours before it starts and get all your money back. But you can not write us after the tour and get new tickets if you missed it. This is not because we are bad people but because there is a limited number of seats on the tour. We booked two for you that we could have sold to other customers. We have to get paid for them in order to pay our expenses.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Our tour guide was...
Amelia_m
, May 2022
Our tour guide was wonderful. With only one day in Copenhagen I saw a lot .Will recommend this tour.
star-4
Castle tour
Sarah
, May 2022
Loved the castles! Loved the gardens! Nice tour. Very nice transportation in a new bus. Really enjoyed the varied stops.
star-5
Must do trip
Shipra_S
, May 2022
It was a well-organised trip. The bus was very comfortable. Nic, our guide/ bus driver, was very excellent at communication. He made our trip memorable.
star-5
Our guide was so...
Laurel_W
, May 2022
Our guide was so knowledgeable and personable. We had a gas tasting time!! I would recommend this to everyone
star-5
Outstanding!
Tere_G
, May 2022
This was a great tour. Thomas was an exceptional tour guide and it was a lovely experience. Wonderful to get out of Copenhagen and into the Denmark countryside. Thank you!!!
star-5
Amazing!
Shelly_H
, May 2022
We had an awesome time. Our guide was informative and funny. Picked us up on time in a nice small bus. A long day, but worth every minute. Definitely recommend!
star-3
Only 15 minutes at Viking museum.
Adrienne_S
, May 2022
There was so much to see and we were forever on time restraints. And then the must important thing we wanted to see - the Viking boat museum we had 15 minutes. because museum was closing. Disappointing
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
We are sorry that you have had that little time at the Viking Ship Museum. Normally, it is 45-50 minutes which most people think is enough to see the five ships. 15 minutes is certainly too little and we apologise for that.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
okay tour, plenty rooms to improve
Xia_Y
, May 2022
The good things are: 1. the tour guide robert was very nice. 2. the car was very nice and well equiped. However, there are two things that we were not satisfied with are: 1. the pickup time is early and it was only informed by email, which was hard to keep an eye during the vacation, the notification should be done by phone call or at least text, and because of the early pickup, we didnt have time for breakfast and the entire schedule was delayed 15mins; 2. the time for each tour site was not enough. two castles and the viking place needed more time. A little recommendation: 1. about the history of denmark, such as three dynasties, rivals with other countries, rumors of those kings, could be depicited on the way there. 2. could add some local traditions explainations or teach some easy danish words such as hello and thank you to give us more immersive experience.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thank you for your constructive feedback. That is very useful to us.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great tour!
lalgeyer
, May 2022
Thomas and Frank were excellent guides and shared a ton of history. Really enjoyed this tour! If you only have a short time in Copenhagen we would recommend this tour.
star-5
Out and about in historical Copenhagen countryside
Lee_G
, May 2022
What amazing castles we visited. Our guide Thomas was excellent and our driver Frank was so knowledgeable he to could have been our tour guide. They both were a great team and provided great information that made the castles history come alive. We would have never gotten a full understanding and appreciation about Denmark if we didn’t take this tour. Thanks again Thomas and Frank.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Grand Day Trip around Copenhagen
Likely to Sell Out
Grand Day Trip around Copenhagen

star-5424

8 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$164.08

star-53829

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$268.50

star-34

1 day

Free Cancellation

From
$59.17

star-4.53

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$188.89

star-4.5126

3 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$125.08

star-4.512

5 hours 6 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$174.53

star-4.54

6 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$285.48

star-524

3 hours 50 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$115.91
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations