Recent Searches

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

Alexandria Day Tours From Cairo Daily Trip To Alexandria From Cairo Giza hotels

Cairo, Egypt
Special Offer

From $79.20

$88.00  Save $8.80

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...

icon10 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Face masks provided for travelers
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
More questions?
(888) 651-9785


Explore the great city of Alexandria on a private tour from Cairo or Giza. Alexandria is the second biggest city in Egypt and was built by Alexander the Great under Cleopatra’s rule. Visit the city’s key landmarks like the Catacombs of Kom El Shoqafa, the Roman Amphitheater, and the great Alexandria Library and learn about the rich history of Egypt from your tour guide before heading back to your hotel.
  • Take a private tour from Cairo or Giza to Alexandria
  • See key landmarks like the catacombs and Alexandria Library
  • Learn about Alexander the Great and ancient Egypt
  • Enjoy a personalized experience with a private guide and vehicle
Saved to wishlist!
All taxes, fees and handling charges
Bottled water
Qualified Egyptologist guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Private tour
Transport by private vehicle
Entry fees

Departure Point

Traveler pickup is offered
All Cairo and Giza hotels

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY excursion cairo day tour

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Alexandria Day Tours From Cairo Daily Trip To Alexandria From Cairo Giza hotels?
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Alexandria Day Tours From Cairo Daily Trip To Alexandria From Cairo Giza hotels.
What is the policy on sanitization during Alexandria Day Tours From Cairo Daily Trip To Alexandria From Cairo Giza hotels?
The policy on sanitization is:

  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Alexandria Day Tours From Cairo Daily Trip To Alexandria From Cairo Giza hotels.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips

  • "hour drive from Cairo and there's plenty to see and do" See review


10 Reviews
3 stars
1 star
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-4 of 10 reviews
Its a cheap tour for a reason
, Mar 2021
We spent 10 days in Egypt, visiting most of the major sites along the Nile. We had guides for the entire trip. This tour was, by a huge margin, the worst tour/guide experience of the entire trip. It was bad literally from the moment that we booked the tour. Within 10 minutes of booking the tour, they flooded us with over 20 Whatsapp messages, attempting to sell us additional tours. This should have been a clear sign that all they cared about was extracting money from us, and not providing a good experience. On the day of the tour, they claimed that they would meet us in our hotel lobby at 8AM. A few minutes before 8AM, they messaged us that they were parked outside the hotel, and we should meet them there. We went outside, and they were no where to be found. We messaged them back stating that we were waiting outside and did not see them. A few minutes after 8AM, their car pulled up in front of our hotel. They were already running late, and informed us that it would take 3.5 to 4 hours to drive up to Alexandria. We were a bit puzzled why it would take so long when Google's driving directions suggested it should take much less. Less than an hour into the drive, they pulled off the road to get fuel for their car. Why they couldn't have taken care of this basic step before picking us up remains a mystery. That wasted 10 minutes. Less than an hour later, they announced that they were going to stop for a bathroom & coffee break taking "no more than 20 minutes". At no time did they ask us if we wanted or needed to stop. We used the bathroom in about 5 minutes, and then sat & waited for the driver & guide to drink their coffee for another 15 minutes. It was ridiculous that they were wasting our time for a coffee break that we didn't want. The tour was supposed to include a bottle of water. We didn't get the water until nearly 4 hours into the tour, once we were already in Alexandria, as the guide bought the water from a street vendor as we walked around. We ended up getting to Alexandria in about 3 hours. The first stop was the catacombs. When we needed to pay for the entry tickets, the guide initially insisted that we should pay with a 200 EGP note, as we would be unable to get change elsewhere later. As I was looking in my wallet at the denominations of currency that I had, the guide put her hand into my wallet to grab a 200EGP bank note, and I had to tell her "No" to get her to keep her hands off my money. To add insult to injury, when I attempted to use the 200EGP note, they refused to break it anyway, and I still had to pay in exact currency. The actual guiding was mediocre at best. It was very clear that she was reciting a memorized script, and she didn't even have all her facts straight. Her English was not great, and when we asked questions, she often didn't understand us well enough to answer them. At one point, I asked how long Alexandria had street trams, and the guide claimed it was since 1805, which was obviously not accurate. There were numerous other times when she recited information that we knew was inaccurate. Neither the driver nor the guide cared about our comfort or safety. Both of them had their car seats pushed all the way back, leaving us very little room for our legs, such that we had to sit side ways to even fit in the back seat. The temperature in the car was always either too warm or too cold, and we had to repeatedly ask them to adjust the temperature, which they would do for a while, then a few minutes later adjust it back to whatever they preferred. The driver routinely drove at speeds far exceeding the posted speed limit. He cruised at 130kph for much fo the drive to Alexandria and on the return drive, he was driving at nearly 150kph for over an hour. He was nearly always the fastest vehicle on the road by a large margin. Additionally, due to wet roads, his front wind shield was nearly completely obscured in dirt. Yet he drove under these conditions for nearly an hour, before eventually pulling over to clear the window. Despite very clear requirements that everyone was to wear masks the entire time, the guide often removed her mask while we were driving. For lunch, they took us to a seafood restaurant, initially claiming that it would cost 300 EGP/person, including water. The food was good, and we had a nice meal. However, after we paid, we suddenly were told that we owed an additional 40EGP/person for the water. In addition the fact that we should not have had to pay extra for water, the pricing was exorbitant for a small bottle of water in a country where 1.5L usually cost 10EGP. Additionally, this stop was the only time the entire day that the guide offered to take the money and pay on our behalf for anything, which also seemed rather suspicious. At all other stops, we were expected to pay at the ticket window ourselves. We suspect that the real cost o the lunch was far less than 300EGP/person, and we were likely subsidizing the driver & guide's lunches (they ate at the same table with us), and the cost of the water may have padded someone else's pockets. The tour was supposed to include the Library of Alexandria. However, when we got there just before 2PM, they were already sold out of tickets for the day, and the guide very casually commented that the tickets sold out around 9AM that day. If the tour company is running this day trip to Alexandria with any frequency, I find it hard to believe that we just happened to have bad luck that day. Much more likely is that the library tickets sell out early every day, and its likely impossible to buy a ticket by the time they drive to Alexandria. They offered us no compensation, or even an apology for not providing us with an opportunity to enter the library, even though it was listed on the official tour itinerary. Before we were even close to returning to Cairo, the guide was asking, then nagging us to write them a positive review on TripAdvisor. She went so far as to send us a WhatsApp msg "reminder" to right them a positive review while we were still in the car with them in Alexandria, explaining in great detail how to create a five star review. It bordered on harassment, as she seemed to hint that we should write the review while we were still enroute back to Cairo (which we declined to do). Later that same evening, the tour company continued to send us additional reminders to write them a positive review, and today they started emailing us asking when we would write a review. There was absolutely no justification for this level of harassment. This tour was simply not a good experience, as the driver & guide did a poor job, with no regard for our comfort or safety. They clearly wanted to get the entire thing finished, and get their positive review.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2021
thank you for review however not agree ith most of your point, your partner asked us for other trip , we sent our TripAdvisor trips to book with no push , the guide and driver arrived 7:45 am beside security point and you came late 8:15 and that's ok and they waited for you with pleurae .for coffe they should wait to give the van rest and driver to get more active that's nothing to wait 15 min .water include and they gave it to you on the tour in Alexandria ,no sense to have it 8 am and you just ate breakfast so the water lost its cold and fresh. For entry fees it is clearly mention exclude entry fees , please red what include and what exclude ,just the guide help you to get the correct note,about the seat, the guide is too short to let her chair back !!! for lunch it is exclude in program and 300 in sea fish market we got for you special price it means 14 dollar , if you pay by your self they will charge you more , she get for you Egyptian offer .for library unfortunately they close the ticket at 9 am , you asked to pick up at 8 am and we have drive 3 hours at least , so library from outside as the administration afraid about tourist in close place like library from Covid 19 .so this part out of our hand for review ,you said we had a great time we dont know why you change tour feedback but we are happy to receive it negative anyway ,we sent to you thourgh viator email to write the review , we neve ask you to write positive or negative , check your email in viator email !! you are welcome in Egypt
Alexandria Day Tour
, Feb 2020
Great city. Awesome tour guide. Definitely a must do while in Egypt. 3 hour drive from Cairo and there's plenty to see and do
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
Tour to Alexandria
, Jan 2020
We were pleased to see Catacomb, Pompypillar, ancient Fort, al Basha Mosque and new Library. It was an amazing experience. The Tour guide was professional, knowledgeable and friendly. The Tour Guide made our trip very interesting.
It is worth to visit Lovely...
, Oct 2017
It is worth to visit Lovely city , my guide was excellent and pleasent with tons on information .library was unbelievably You should try sea foods

Product code: 28954P93

Explore Similar Things to Do