Recent Searches
Clear

Classic Bologna Food Tour

|
Bologna, Italy
Classic Bologna Food Tour
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

From $123.42

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Explore the culinary traditions of Bologna with this half-day food tour. Join a guide for a small-group walking tour and taste local specialties such as Parmigiano Reggiano cheese, Bolognese ragu, and mortadella. Begin the tour with a gourmet coffee, visit markets, and meet artisans at work to see how tortellini are made. Lunch at a historic osteria and a gelato tasting are included.
  • Taste your way through Bologna with a food tour
  • Sample gourmet coffee and browse market stalls
  • Try local specialties including Bolognese ragu
  • Watch food artisans make pasta such as tortellini
Saved to wishlist!
Breakfast with gourmet coffee
Different tastings including bolognese ragù, cured meat, Parmigiano Reggiano cheese, Balsamic vinegar Tradizionale of Modena, bread, dessert, local wine like Pignoletto or Lambrusco
Artisan gelato tasting
Local English speaking guide
Hotel pickup
Hotel drop-off
Piazza Maggiore , Piazza Maggiore, Bologna BO, Italy

At the tobacconist in the corner with Via De Pignattari, just at the right of San Petronio Basilica

Piazza of Santo Stefano , Piazza Santo Stefano, 40125 Bologna BO, Italy

End points can change

  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Non-eating children under 6 years old do not require a ticket
  • Minimum drinking age is 18 years
  • Please advise any specific dietary requirements at time of booking
  • Available for vegetarians, pescatarians and gluten free with prior notice. Please advise when booking.
  • Not recommended for vegans
  • A moderate amount of walking is involved (3km)
  • Comfortable walking shoes are recommended
  • Tour starts with at least 2 people
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Taste Bologna
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Classic Bologna Food Tour?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Classic Bologna Food Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Classic Bologna Food Tour?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
See all safety measures taken by Classic Bologna Food Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Classic Bologna Food Tour?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Classic Bologna Food Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Classic Bologna Food Tour?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Classic Bologna Food Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Plenty to eat and drink - you won't be hungry after this tour!" See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
138 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 138 reviews
star-5
Everything was great!...
Lance_J
, Jun 2022
Everything was great! Matt did an amazing job with some history and tons of food culture. We would definitely do another tour.
star-5
Great tour of bologna
Vikki_D
, Jun 2022
Our guide Marco was fantastic. Marco is very personable and answered all questions and had a great sense of humor. This is a must tour if you are visiting Bologna.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Leaving you with a full belly and a large smile is our main goal. So happy you loved our time together, thanks a lot! Andrea and Marco - Taste Bologna
star-5
Great tour. Guide was...
Brian_S
, Jun 2022
Great tour. Guide was nice and knowledgeable. Great food. Great way to see Bologna with a little history.
star-5
Great food tour with a great guide.
Stevette_P
, Jun 2022
A really good tour and Francesco was a great guide. Lots of information on the architecture and history as well a the food.
star-2
Everything shut down
radamchak
, Jun 2022
Looking forward to the food tour only to find out on arrival a festival in town closed most venues on the tour. No prior notification by our tour company. They even brought us to a food court for pasta. Argh. Lol.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
I owe you an apology. It was my duty to inform you that June 2nd is a holiday in Italy, so the food markets are much less alive than usual. I decided to run the tour nevertheless because I thought we could guarantee the same quality as always. All the food stops we usually visit on standard days were open. And I also thought you could appreciate the place where you had pasta, as it's inside Mercato di Mezzo, the middle age food market of Bologna. Please get in touch by mail and I'll do my best to fix the issue. Thanks, Andrea - Taste Bologna
star-3
Not the best
Debra_H
, May 2022
This tour was not socially distanced and when we asked to be farther apart from the tour mates, it caused a weird divide. No one wore a mask. I enjoyed that the guide took us to places that were family owned. Unfortunately we felt the guide spoke too quickly and softly and was hard to hear and understand when we walked with the group. I asked several times for our guide to repeat words so I could understand her. The food was okay and a good representation of the local fare. We waited too long for food and wine and it was awkward. Everything was at room temperature- not cold or hot- just warm. Odd to me. No ice was offered although it was a very hot day. The small historic pub we went to for our appetizers had a hole in the floor as a toilet. I understand that is acceptable in some countries, but for me that was just not manageable without touching the walls around me which were very dirty and unsanitary. Hello? Covid? It was just okay but could have and should have been much better.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
I'm sorry our tour didn't completely meet your expectations, so I've looked into what happened that day. We take health issues as a top priority, before and after Covid. So we follow the guidelines of the Italian government. You took the tour in May 2022 and masks and social distancing are no longer required. About the toilet inside the osteria. You're right, it won't win the competition for the best toilets in the world, maybe the one for the weird ones. That said, we always suggest a much better toilet, only a few steps from that one. I will continue to recommend all guides to direct customers to the right bathroom. Take care and I hope to have you soon again in Bologna for a second chance, Andrea
star-5
Francesco our guide was...
Casey_S
, May 2022
Francesco our guide was great, it saad the perfect amount of walking + eating. Loved eating at the Osteria. Great way to get to know the city!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thanks so much Casey, we hope to have you again in Bologna with us. There's always more to eat and walk :) Andrea and Francesco - Taste Bologna
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Tasty treats in Bologna.
Mary_H
, May 2022
Our guide, Stella was fabulous. Fun and very knowledgeable. The food was delicious and plentiful. We met wonderful people on the tour.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
What a great review, thanks a lot Mary! We're always over the moon when people engage and connect during our food tours. Looking forward to having you again with us, Andrea and Stella - Taste Bologna
star-5
Bologna walking food tour.
Lee_O
, Apr 2022
Great tour- interesting and informative. The food was typical and all delicious. Stella was fabulous. Thanks.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Many thanks to you for this amazing review. We are happy you went back home with great food memories. These are the ones that last longer :) Andrea and Stella - Taste Bologna
star-5
Fun, Delicious, Educational!
Jocelyn_C
, Apr 2022
Marco was awesome; super fun, sweet, and knowledgeable! We had a great time with our tour group and got to visit lots of cool places and eat some amazing, authentic food. It was a really fun experience that ended early enough for us to enjoy the rest of the day doing other things, too. It'll easily fit into your schedule, and you'll learn a lot while having fun. Do it! :)
icon Response from Host , May 2022
What else can we say? Thank you so so much, it makes us incredibly happy to read such an enthusiastic review. Andrea and Marco - Taste Bologna
star-5
Great experience
David_P
, Apr 2022
Wonderful tour exploring the city and its culinary magic. The tourguide was very very nice and knowledgeable
star-5
Great introduction to Bologna
Eric_N
, Dec 2021
Outstanding food tour with Elena. Each selection was visually appealing and very authentic. Great history and tastes from the city. Would recommend that the tour company provide the full name of the tour guide, and the names and addresses of the places we visited - so we would be able to return to them in the future if we wanted - or could recommend one or more of them to other travelers. Without this we are left to document our tour on our own - and that is a very difficult thing to do while trying to follow our guide
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Sara,...
Beverly_Z
, Oct 2021
Sara, We had an amazing experience from cafe and Croissants pasta picnic with wine and gelato and a wonderful tour guide. I will tell everyone at American Airlines. I can’t wait to come back Grazie mille 😄👏🏻🍷
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thanks Lynda, I'd be happy to see flights full of foodies in the next years :) But mostly to have you again with us. A presto! Andrea and Sara - Taste Bologna
star-5
Wonderful (and filling) tour!
Claude_R
, Oct 2021
Wonderful tour! Benedetta was our lovely and knowledgeable guide and showered us with both amazing food options and fascinating information about the food and history of Bologna. We enjoyed every moment of this experience and would highly recommend it. Do it early in your visit to the city of Bologna as it will give you ideas/inspiration for other activities to do on subsequent days of your time here.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Grazie mille Claude for taking the time to leave this superb review! It has been our pleasure to have you in Bologna, we hope you will come again soon. A presto :) Andrea and Benedetta - Taste Bologna Food Tours
star-5
Fun and full!
Samantha_H
, Sep 2021
Sara was our guide, and she was so kind, knowledgeable, and fun. My mom and I SO enjoyed our food and city tour, and walked away very happy and full!! Thank you, Sara!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thank you Samantha for taking the time to leave this amazing review! See you soon again in Italy, Andrea - Taste Bologna Food Tours
star-5
Fascinating culture & cuisine
Nancy_W
, Sep 2021
Our guide (Benedetta) was enthusiastic and clearly passionate about the food culture in Bologna! She included lots of historical information, and made the city & its culture come alive. The food was amazing, and we were very full by the end. I highly recommend this as one of the best tours ever!
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thanks a lot Nancy for this enthusiastic review. We're happy to create new Bologna food addicts around the globe :) We do hope to have you again soon with us, a presto! Andrea and Benedetta - Taste Bologna
star-4
Delicious but not a great value
Michael_R
, Aug 2021
Great experience. Food was delicious, but certainly not close to the amount and variety we expected for the price we paid. We filled up mostly on bread towards the end of the tour. It would have been better if we had eaten less bread and had more of a variety. We had cappuccino and pastries to start the tour. The. We watched pasta being made. We had a small plate before walking a bit more. We had bread, meat, and cheese and got to try some authentic balsamic vinegar before a final gelato stop. In all, I think the food would have cost $30 to 40 for one person. I think $80 to $100 would be a fairer price for the experience.
star-4
Average food tour
Debjani_G
, Aug 2021
Overall an average experience but found it somewhat informal. The final stop with a picnic-like feel and more designed for students was disappointing and would have preferred a proper dining experience at a restaurant, rather than our guide providing the food in plastic containers over a refectory type table. Also, no chance to try cooked tortellini/tortelloni which surely is one of Bologna's claims to fame. Overall tour was decent but average and too informal and i had a better food tour with a different company a few years ago.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hi Debjani, I'm very sorry you weren't completely satisfied with your experience. We decided not to visit a proper restaurant for lunch because Bologna was (and still is) a city of taverns and osterie where everybody could share the same table and food. Students and lawyers, old men and politicians together in a friendly atmosphere. About the pasta you had gramigna: less famous than tortellini and tortelloni but not less delicious :) I hope you can give us another chance in the future. Take care and see you soon in Bologna, Andrea - Taste Bologna PS. we only offer food in recyclable paper, never plastic :)
star-5
Excellent
Theo_S
, Sep 2020
The tour was excellent. The food was lovely and the guide was very knowledgeable, about food and the city. I definitely recommend.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Thanks a lot Theo, it means a lot for us getting great feedback especially in this hard time. See you soon again in Bologna! Andrea - Taste Bologna
star-5
Tortellini-making ladies and tagliatelle tasting
Jason_S
, Aug 2020
Guide was very friendly, engaging and informatibe about food and the city in general. It was apparent that our guide had a good personal relationship with all of the vendors at the shops we visited. Take this tour if you get a chance.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Thanks so much Christopher for this great review. We collaborate with local family businesses that work with quality and passion: I'm happy you appreciate it. Hope to have you soon again in Bologna, Best Andrea - Taste Bologna

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Classic Bologna Food Tour
Likely to Sell Out
Classic Bologna Food Tour

star-5138

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$123.42

star-577

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$114.84

star-5208

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$90.72

star-00

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$326.33

star-526

1 hour 55 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$112.69

star-4.553

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$86.39

star-3.53

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$192.11

star-321

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$41.86

star-4.52

2 hours 10 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$112.69
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations