Recent Searches
Clear

Volcano National Park Adventure From Kona

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Kailua-Kona, United States
Volcano National Park Adventure From Kona
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon11 hours  (approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Many tours can take you to Volcanoes National Park, but only this one lets you spend your day with a geologist who can provide information that others can't. This small-group geologist-led tour offers a far richer experience of the world's most active volcano than you'd get anywhere else. You'll also visit a coffee farm, waterfall, and Punaluu Black Sand Beach.
  • Visit Volcanoes National Park in the company of a geologist
  • Learn more about the park's unique geology than most visitors
  • Small-group hotel (maximum 11): A more personalized experience
  • Hassle-free pickup from most major Kona hotels
Saved to wishlist!
Coffee and/or Tea
Lunch
Snacks
Water, drinks. Coats, raincoats, and umbrellas

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

1/17/2020 - 8/26/2023
Monday - Sunday:08:00 AM - 07:00 PM
This is for KONA pickups only not WAIKOLOA: If you are in WAIKOLOA, please choose the Adventure from Waikoloa booking! MUST Pick Hotel Location for Pickup: CALL TO DISCUSS OPTIONAL PICK UP LOCATIONS FOR VRBO AND AIRBNB - 7:50 Target Parking Lot (Optional) - 8:00 Seaside Hotel - 8:00 Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach - 8:00 Uncle Billy's Resort -8:00 Holiday Inn - 8:00 Royal Kona Resort - 8:00 Kona Reef Resort - 8:00 Wyndham- WorldMark - 8:00 Wyndham- Royal Hawaiian Resort - 8:05 Royal Sea Cliff - 8:10 Aston by the Sea - 8:10 Kona Bali Kai - 8:15 Kona Coast Resort - 8:15 Keauhou Shopping Center - 8:15 Kanaloa at Kona - 8:15 Wyndham - Mauna Loa Village - 8:15 Outrigger Kona Resort - Old Sheraton
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Hawaii Geo Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

5.0
star-5
167 Reviews
3 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 167 reviews
star-5
Island in a day
Eric_V
, Aug 2022
Just a great overview and experience for a first-time visitor. Coffee farm, Volcanoes, waterfall and overall great information from our guide!
star-5
Volcano National Park trip
Robert_J
, Jul 2022
Seeing the Lava on Kilauea. Getting to see the coastline where the lava flow met the ocean. Seeing the villages along the way and hearing the history of those locations from our guide.
star-5
An Excellent Adventure
Amanda_M
, Jul 2022
This was an amzaing addition to our travels, and we are so glad we incuded it! Our tour guide, Eric, was friendly, and made an effort to make the van environment welcoming, in such a way that the whole tour group felt friendly. (We even found ourselves visiting during the rest of our stay on Big Island with another tour member from our hotel, who we did not know prior to this tour!) Eric was also very knowledgable about the locations we visited, and had a wonderful rappaport with the staff at every stop. This tour is a quite an adventure - come prepared with good walking shoes, a camera, and lots of questions!
star-5
Marvelous tour
kajk193
, Jul 2022
This tour was everything I could of asked for. David our guide was marvelous. He was extremely knowledgeable in the areas he took us to and answered any and all questions we had. He kept the tour entertaining. The sites we went to were beyond description. The volcano crater, the lava fields, black sand beach and lava tube exploration will be something I will always take with me. I would recommend this company and tour to anyone.
star-5
Volcano park Tour - Excellent!
Rosemary_S
, Jul 2022
Dave was the best tour guide we encountered! Personable, extremely knowledgeable and took great care the entire day to make sure everyone was comfortable. I highly recommend Hawaiian Geo Tours. Our best day on Hawaii!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Highly Recommend
Elizabeth_M
, Jun 2022
Our tour guide Dave was amazing. Not only was he incredibly knowledgeable but also very engaging. It's a long day so be prepared mentally but Dave and the company take good care. Got to try my first Loko Moko of the trip during this experience and saw some incredible sights. The van was comfortable, snacks and water provided and Dave gave great advice for local hot spots.
star-2
Unsafe Driver Guide
Robert_M
, Jun 2022
This is a difficult review due to the fact that my party was very concerned throughout the 11-hour bus tour of the driver/tour guide operating the vehicle and being on his phone for a significant time. The bus seemed to sway back and forth and also ran a red light where over 10+ people could have been seriously injured. He also was operating a TV in the van while driving which also made me feel very unsafe. I would encourage him to pull over or complete tasks that require use of his mobile device at a break, but not while driving. This was very unprofessional, and I hope they learn from this feedback. The tour overall was fine, I had hoped to learn more about the island rather than the numerous stories about his personal life. I hope he does better in the future.
star-5
Awesome!
Renee_M
, Jun 2022
Our guide Erik was amazing! The fact that he is a geologist made it so much better! We learned so much but had a great time too!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great tour!!!
Amy_M
, May 2022
Dave was a fantastic tour guide and gem of a human. We learned so much about the Big Island. I recommend this trip early on in your stay. It was so helpful to learn about the island and tour most of it in one day. Bonuses included Dave’s recommendations for activities and places to eat later in our stay.
star-5
Very enjoyable . Was a...
tonya_h
, May 2022
Very enjoyable . Was a lovely day. Eric was a great guide and kept us very busy and informative. Recommend take this tour to see the island.
star-5
Saw, heard and learned a lot!!!!
Rosin_C
, May 2022
Definitely our tour guides knowledge. Zane was absolutely great. He has gone above and beyond offering his number if we had any questions or suggestions on where to go and see outside of his tour. I appreciate it that. He was so knowledgeable.
star-5
Awesome tour
Akash_P
, May 2022
Erik was knowledgeable and the trip did not feel rushed. Got ample time at each spot and a new perspective about the islands
star-5
Lava cliffs
John_C
, May 2022
We especially liked the lava cliffs overlooking the ocean. The waves crashed up the sides and it was very dramatic.
star-5
Fantastic tour
Pete_A
, May 2022
Erik, our tour guide, was fantastic! He not only knew everything about volcanos but he knew so much about the Island. I would definitely recommend this tour!
star-1
Disappointed and dissatisfied
Kim_C
, Apr 2022
Don’t have a medical emergency the night before a tour. No possibility of a refund, partial refund or another tour. Just told me that I signed up for no cancellation or refund within 24 hours. Hope this doesn’t happen to you!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
The soonest that you let us know of this medical issue was at 4:22 am on April 25, the morning of your tour day. Our cancellation policy, sent to you upon booking, clearly states that you must cancel within 24 hours. We would have happily moved you to another tour day but you didn’t respond back to us again until your refund request which wasn’t until 12:47am on April 26. We have a very lenient policy, which gives us very little time to fill your seats already, but letting us know 2 hours prior to our van departing, deprives not only us, but others of getting a chance to tour with us. We are a small, locally owned business just trying to make it in a very challenging environment.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Best day of my life
Mark_A
, Apr 2022
The waterfall was amazing. I'm taking a friend there on Monday to show him. Also the coffee farm was such a unique experience.
star-5
Best tour in all of Hawaii! Do not miss it!
Lori_B
, Apr 2022
This was our best tour in all of Hawaii! We went with our family of four and saw all major sights on the Big Island. The guide was a wealth of knowledge and we learned so much.
star-5
Big Island and Volcano tour
Diane_A
, Apr 2022
Erick our guide was wonderful He made the whole experience special. We learned so much. As a geologist Erick was able to share a lot of information . I would highly recommend this tour
star-5
Great way to get the most out of the big island in a single day!
Victoria_N
, Apr 2022
This tour is a long but fantastic way to see the best highlights of the big island in a single day. The tour guide, Zane, was very professional and knowledgeable though out the entire 300mi trip. The tour gave us some great to suggestions on where we wanted to go back to with the remainder of our stay. Highly recommended if you have a full day to spend to see as much of the island as possible.
star-5
Spent a nice day
Tina_L
, Mar 2022
Going through a Lava tube. Talking to fellow travelers. Hot, restaurant lunch. Black sand beach. Would recommend.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Volcano National Park Adventure From Kona
Likely to Sell Out
Volcano National Park Adventure From Kona

star-5167

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$219.00

star-593

11 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$219.00

star-5128

11 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$256.54

star-581

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$167.54

star-572

55 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$309.00

star-4.567

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$195.99

star-425

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$289.99
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations